DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
Claims 33, 34, 37, 40-47, 50, 53-55, 58 and 62-65 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20240236939 A9 (AGIWAL et al. (hereinafter AGIWAL).
In re claims 33 and 54, AGIWAL discloses a method and an apparatus ([0008], “The disclosure relates to a method and an apparatus for a paging procedure in a wireless communication system”) of reducing power consumption at a next generation Node B (gNB) ([0049], “In the 5th generation (also referred as NR or New Radio) wireless communication system, the UE may use Discontinuous Reception (DRX) in RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE state in order to reduce power consumption”. [0027], “In the disclosure, an evolved node B (eNB) may be interchangeably used with a next-generation node B (gNB) for convenience of explanation. That is, a base station (BS) described by an eNB may represent a gNB”) comprising: one or more processors (Fig. 8:810), coupled to a memory (Fig. 8:830), configured to: select, for a plurality of user equipment (UEs), N paging frames (PFs) within a paging cycle, where N is a positive integer and N<4 (Fig. 1, [0049], “In the RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE state UE wake ups at regular intervals (i.e. every DRX cycle) for short periods to receive paging, to receive SI update notification and to receive emergency notifications. Paging message is transmitted using physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)”. [0050] The PF for a UE is the radio frame with system frame number ‘SFN’ which satisfies the equation (SFN+PF_offset) mod T= (T div N) * (UE_ID mod N)”); select, for each of the PFs, Ns paging occasions (POs), where Ns is a positive integer and Ns ≥ 4 (Fig. 2:201, Fig. 7, [0118], “In step 301, the UE may receive paging configuration information about the number of paging frames (N), number of paging occasions per paging frame (Ns) and number of paging groups or subgroups based on UE identity (P) from gNB”. [0049], “In RRC connected state, UE can monitor any PO in paging DRX cycle and monitors at least one PO in SI modification period. In the RRC idle/inactive mode UE monitors PO every DRX cycle in its active DL BWP. A PO is a set of ‘S’ PDCCH monitoring occasions for paging, where ‘S’ is the number of transmitted SSBs (i.e. the Synchronization Signal and PBCH block (SSB) consists of primary and secondary synchronization signals (PSS, SSS) and PBCH) in cell”. [0055], “N: number of total paging frames in T”. [0056],“Ns: number of paging occasions for a PF”); and encode, at the gNB, a paging configuration message, that defines N PFs and Ns POs per PF in the paging cycle, for transmission to one or more of the plurality of UEs, the paging configuration message configuring each of the one or more of the plurality of UEs to monitor one of the POs within one or more paging cycles ([0049], “In the 5th generation (also referred as NR or New Radio) wireless communication system, the UE may use Discontinuous Reception (DRX) in RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE state in order to reduce power consumption. In the RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE state UE wake ups at regular intervals (i.e. every DRX cycle) for short periods to receive paging, to receive SI update notification and to receive emergency notifications. Paging message is transmitted using physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH). Physical downlink common control channel (PDCCH) is addressed to P-RNTI if there is a paging message in PDSCH. P-RNTI is common for all UEs. UE identity (i.e. S-TMSI for RRC_IDLE UE or I-RNTI for RRC_INACTIVE UE) is included in paging message to indicate paging for a specific UE. Paging message may include multiple UE identities to page multiple UEs. Paging message is broadcasted (i.e. PDCCH is masked with P-RNTI) over data channel (i.e. PDSCH). SI update and emergency notifications are included in DCI and PDCCH carrying this DCI is addressed to P-RNTI. In the RRC idle/inactive mode UE monitors one paging occasion (PO) every DRX cycle”).
In re claims 34 and 55, AGIWAL discloses the apparatus of claim 33 and the method of claim 54, wherein N <3, or N < 2, or N =1 (Fig. 1, Fig, 7, [0078], “UEs monitoring the same PO are divided into paging groups or subgroups. UE paging group ID or subgroup ID=(UE_ID/N*Ns) mod P, where N is the number of Paging frames, Ns is the number of POs per paging frame and P is the number of paging groups or subgroups based on UE identity. Parameters (N, Ns and P) are signaled by the gNB in a paging configuration. UE_ID=5G-S-TMSI mod 1024”. [0079], “The maximum value of N, which can be configured by network (i.e. base station) = 256” (if cycle length is 256, N = 1 and so on). The maximum value of Ns, which can be configured by network (i.e. base station) =4 and P>1. As a result, when N*Ns*P>1024, all UEs of a PO will be get mapped to the same paging group or subgroup”. [0092], “In an alternate embodiment, X=1024*Max value of P which can be configured by the gNB. For example, if configurable values of P are 2, 4, 8 and 16, max value of P which can be configured by the gNB is 16 and X=1024*16. If configurable values of P are 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 and 8, maximum value of P which can be configured by the gNB is 8 and hence X=1024*8=8192. Note that the gNB may configure a value less than maximum value that can be configured but X is based on the maximum value i.e. X=1024*8=8192” (N and Ns are limited by the formula)).
In re claims 37 and 58, AGIWAL discloses the apparatus of claim 33 and the method of claim 54, wherein Ns > 4 or Ns > 4 or Ns > 16 or Ns = 32 (Fig. 7, [0079], “The maximum value of N, which can be configured by network (i.e. base station) = 256” (if cycle length is 256, N = 1 and so on). The maximum value of Ns, which can be configured by network (i.e. base station) =4 and P>1. As a result, when N*Ns*P>1024, all UEs of a PO will be get mapped to the same paging group or subgroup” (N<4, for P=2, Ns is limited by the formula and well known in the art)).
In re claim 40, AGIWAL discloses wherein the paging cycle is a DRX cycle ([0049], “In the RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE state UE wake ups at regular intervals (i.e. every DRX cycle) for short periods to receive paging, to receive SI update notification and to receive emergency notifications. Paging message is transmitted using physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)”. [0225], “T is DRX cycle of the UE”).
In re claims 41 and 62, AGIWAL discloses the apparatus of claim 33 and the method of claim 54, wherein the paging cycle consists of T frames, where T > 128 and includes N paging frames, where N = T/32 or T/64 or T/128 (Fig. 2:211, Fig. 7:703, [0079], “The maximum value of N, which can be configured by network (i.e. base station) =256. The maximum value of Ns, which can be configured by network (i.e. base station) =4 and P>1. As a result, when N*Ns*P>1024, all UEs of a PO will be get mapped to the same paging group or subgroup”. Various combinations well known in the art)).
In re claims 42 and 63, AGIWAL discloses the apparatus of claim 33 and the method of claim 54, further comprising: encoding, at the gNB, a plurality of paging early indicators (PEIs) for transmission to one or more of the plurality of UEs, the PEIs indicating when one or more of the plurality of UEs is to monitor one of the POs associated with one of the PFs (Fig. 2:201, [0426], “The method may comprise: receiving, from a base station, paging early indication (PEI) configuration information including a parameter indicating a number of UE identity (ID) based paging subgroups; determining a paging subgroup ID corresponding to the UE, based on a maximum value of the parameter; monitoring PEI information on a PEI occasion, based on the PEI configuration information; and in case that the PEI information indicates the paging subgroup ID, monitoring paging downlink control information (DCI) on a paging occasion (PO)”. [0049], “UE first determines the paging frame (PF) and then determines the PO with respect to the determined PF. One PF is a radio frame (10 ms). [0050] The PF for a UE is the radio frame with system frame number ‘SFN’ which satisfies the equation (SFN+PF_offset) mod T= (T div N) *(UE_ID mod N)”).
In re claims 43 and 64, the combination discloses the apparatus of claim 42 and the method of claim 63, wherein AGIWAL discloses wherein each of the plurality of PEIs indicates a maximum of one PF ([0100], “In step 215, the UE then may use the determined UE_ID to further determine PF, PO and UE paging group or paging subgroup ID for monitoring early paging indication and/or paging DCI”. [0101], “The PF for a UE is the radio frame with system frame number ‘SFN’ which satisfies the equation (SFN+PF_offset) mod T= (T div N)*(UE_ID mod N)”. [0102], “Index (i_s), indicating the index of the PO is determined by i_s=floor (UE_ID/N) mod Ns”. [0103], “UE paging group or subgroup ID=(UE_ID/(N*Ns)) mod P”. [0104], “T is DRX cycle of the UE”. [0105], “In RRC_INACTIVE state, T is determined by the shortest of the UE specific DRX value configured by the RRC, UE specific DRX value configured by non-access stratum (NAS), and a default DRX value broadcast in system information”. [0107], “N: the number of total paging frames in T”. [0108],” Ns: the number of paging occasions for a PF” (UE monitors the number of paging occasion for a paging frame in the paging early indication by the gNB)).
In re claims 44 and 65, AGIWAL discloses the apparatus of claim 42 and the method of claim 63, wherein at least one of the plurality of PEIs indicates Ns/2 or fewer of the POs associated with one of the plurality of PFs ([0049], “In the RRC idle/inactive mode UE monitors one paging occasion (PO) every DRX cycle”. [0061], “When SearchSpaceId=0 is configured for pagingSearchSpace, Ns is either 1 or 2. For Ns=1, there is only one PO which starts from the first PDCCH monitoring occasion for paging in the PF. For Ns=2, PO is either in the first half frame (i_s=0) or the second half frame (i_s=1) of the PF”).
In re claim 45, AGIWAL discloses an apparatus ([0008], “The disclosure relates to a method and an apparatus for a paging procedure in a wireless communication system”) of a next generation Node B (gNB) ([0049], “In the 5th generation (also referred as NR or New Radio) wireless communication system, the UE may use Discontinuous Reception (DRX) in RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE state in order to reduce power consumption”. [0027], “In the disclosure, an evolved node B (eNB) may be interchangeably used with a next-generation node B (gNB) for convenience of explanation. That is, a base station (BS) described by an eNB may represent a gNB”) comprising: one or more processors (Fig. 8:810), coupled to a memory (Fig. 8:830), configured to: select, for a plurality of user equipment (UEs), a system frame number (SFN) of a paging frame (PF) for each of the UEs within a paging cycle (Fig. 1, [0049], “In the RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE state UE wake ups at regular intervals (i.e. every DRX cycle) for short periods to receive paging, to receive SI update notification and to receive emergency notifications. Paging message is transmitted using physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)”. [0050], “The PF for a UE is the radio frame with system frame number ‘SFN’ which satisfies the equation (SFN+PF_offset) mod T= (T div N) * (UE_ID mod N)”); wherein the SFN of the PF for each UE is selected by: (SFN + PF_offset) mod T = (T div N)*(UE_ID mod N) where SFN = a system frame number, PF_offset = an offset assigned to each UE, T = a number of frames in a paging cycle, N; select, for each of the PFs, Ns paging occasions (POs), where Ns is a positive integer and Ns >4 (Fig. 2:201, Fig. 7, [0118], “In step 301, the UE may receive paging configuration information about the number of paging frames (N), number of paging occasions per paging frame (Ns) and number of paging groups or subgroups based on UE identity (P) from gNB”. [0049], “In RRC connected state, UE can monitor any PO in paging DRX cycle and monitors at least one PO in SI modification period. In the RRC idle/inactive mode UE monitors PO every DRX cycle in its active DL BWP. A PO is a set of ‘S’ PDCCH monitoring occasions for paging, where ‘S’ is the number of transmitted SSBs (i.e. the Synchronization Signal and PBCH block (SSB) consists of primary and secondary synchronization signals (PSS, SSS) and PBCH) in cell”. [0055], “N: number of total paging frames in T”. [0056],“Ns: number of paging occasions for a PF”); and encode, at the gNB, a paging configuration message, that defines N PFs and Ns POs per PF in the paging cycle, for transmission to one or more of the plurality of UEs, the paging configuration message configuring each of the one or more of the plurality of UEs to monitor one of the POs within one or more paging cycles ([0049], “In the 5th generation (also referred as NR or New Radio) wireless communication system, the UE may use Discontinuous Reception (DRX) in RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE state in order to reduce power consumption. In the RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE state UE wake ups at regular intervals (i.e. every DRX cycle) for short periods to receive paging, to receive SI update notification and to receive emergency notifications. Paging message is transmitted using physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH). Physical downlink common control channel (PDCCH) is addressed to P-RNTI if there is a paging message in PDSCH. P-RNTI is common for all UEs. UE identity (i.e. S-TMSI for RRC_IDLE UE or I-RNTI for RRC_INACTIVE UE) is included in paging message to indicate paging for a specific UE. Paging message may include multiple UE identities to page multiple UEs. Paging message is broadcasted (i.e. PDCCH is masked with P-RNTI) over data channel (i.e. PDSCH). SI update and emergency notifications are included in DCI and PDCCH carrying this DCI is addressed to P-RNTI. In the RRC idle/inactive mode UE monitors one paging occasion (PO) every DRX cycle”).
In re claim 46, AGIWAL discloses the apparatus of claim 45, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: determine, for each of the plurality of UEs, an index of a subframe in a PF for a paging opportunity (PO); wherein the index is determined by: i_s = floor (UE_ID/N) mod Ns where i_s = an index of a subframe, and Ns ≥ 4 ([0051], “Index (i_s), indicating the index of the PO is determined by i_s=floor(UE_ID/N) mod Ns“. (Fig. 7, [0079], “The maximum value of N, which can be configured by network (i.e. base station) = 256” (if cycle length is 256, N = 1 and so on). The maximum value of Ns, which can be configured by network (i.e. base station) =4 and P>1. As a result, when N*Ns*P>1024, all UEs of a PO will be get mapped to the same paging group or subgroup” (N<4, for P=2, Ns is limited by the formula and well known in the art)).
In re claim 47, AGIWAL discloses the apparatus of claim 45, wherein N <3, or N < 2, or N =1 (Fig. 1, Fig, 7, [0078], “UEs monitoring the same PO are divided into paging groups or subgroups. UE paging group ID or subgroup ID=(UE_ID/N*Ns) mod P, where N is the number of Paging frames, Ns is the number of POs per paging frame and P is the number of paging groups or subgroups based on UE identity. Parameters (N, Ns and P) are signaled by the gNB in a paging configuration. UE_ID=5G-S-TMSI mod 1024”. [0079], “The maximum value of N, which can be configured by network (i.e. base station) = 256” (if cycle length is 256, N = 1 and so on). The maximum value of Ns, which can be configured by network (i.e. base station) =4 and P>1. As a result, when N*Ns*P>1024, all UEs of a PO will be get mapped to the same paging group or subgroup”. [0092], “In an alternate embodiment, X=1024*Max value of P which can be configured by the gNB. For example, if configurable values of P are 2, 4, 8 and 16, max value of P which can be configured by the gNB is 16 and X=1024*16. If configurable values of P are 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 and 8, maximum value of P which can be configured by the gNB is 8 and hence X=1024*8=8192. Note that the gNB may configure a value less than maximum value that can be configured but X is based on the maximum value i.e. X=1024*8=8192” (N and Ns are limited by the formula)).
In re claim 50, AGIWAL discloses the apparatus of claim 45, wherein Ns > 4 or Ns > 8 or Ns > 16 or Ns = 32 (Fig. 7, [0079], “The maximum value of N, which can be configured by network (i.e. base station) = 256” (if cycle length is 256, N = 1 and so on). The maximum value of Ns, which can be configured by network (i.e. base station) =4 and P>1. As a result, when N*Ns*P>1024, all UEs of a PO will be get mapped to the same paging group or subgroup” (N<4, for P=2, Ns is limited by the formula)).
In re claim 53, AGIWAL discloses the apparatus of claim 45, wherein the paging cycle is a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle ([0049], “In the RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE state UE wake ups at regular intervals (i.e. every DRX cycle) for short periods to receive paging, to receive SI update notification and to receive emergency notifications. Paging message is transmitted using physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)”. [0225], “T is DRX cycle of the UE”).
Contact
/SWATI JAIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2649