Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/25/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (2022/0086946), hereinafter Huang.
Re. Claims 1 and 7¸ Huang teaches a user equipment (UE) comprising: a transceiver; and processing hardware (Fig. 3) configured to perform the method comprising: monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) using a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI), during a small data transmission (SDT) procedure and when the UE operates in an inactive state (¶0005 - The UE monitors, when the UE is in RRC inactive state, the PDCCH using the RNTI. & ¶0240 - During the SDT procedure, the UE may monitor Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) to receive DL transmissions from the NW); transitioning from the inactive state to a connected state in response to a command from a radio access network (RAN) (¶0227 - if there is more data that is not (e.g., cannot be) transmitted and/or received within the first UL transmission and/or the first DL transmission, the NW may transit (e.g., transition) the UE to RRC_CONNECTED state (e.g., RRC connected state)); and monitoring the PDCCH using the RNTI after the transitioning, when the UE operates in the connected state (¶0282 - the UE may maintain and/or apply the C-RNTI when the UE is in RRC_CONNECTED state)).
Re. Claim 8, Huang teaches a method for wireless communication implemented in a radio access network (RAN) node, the method comprising: performing a small data transmission (SDT) procedure with a user equipment (UE), when the UE operates in an inactive state, using a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) (0240 - During the SDT procedure, the UE may monitor Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) to receive DL transmissions from the NW); transmitting, to the UE, a command to transition from the inactive state to a connected state (¶0227 - if there is more data that is not (e.g., cannot be) transmitted and/or received within the first UL transmission and/or the first DL transmission, the NW may transit (e.g., transition) the UE to RRC_CONNECTED state (e.g., RRC connected state)); and communicating with the UE using the RNTI, when the UE operates in the connected state (¶0282 - the UE may maintain and/or apply the C-RNTI when the UE is in RRC_CONNECTED state))..
Re. Claims 2, 9, and 16, Huang teaches Claims 1, 7 and 8.
Additionally, Huang further teaches wherein: the RNTI is a cell RNTI (C-RNTI) (¶0282 - the UE may need (e.g., may be required) to monitor the PDCCH by C-RNTI).
Re. Claims 3, 10, 17, and 18, Huang teaches Claims 1, 7, 8, and 16.
Additionally, Huang further teaches wherein: the command from the RAN includes a radio resource control (RRC) resume message (¶0228 - A RRC release message (e.g., RRCRelease), that is in response to a RRC resume request message (e.g., RRCResumeRequest), may be included in the first DL transmission).
Re. Claims 4, 11, and 19, Huang teaches Claims 1, 7 and 8.
Additionally, Huang further teaches wherein: the command from the RAN includes an RRC setup message (¶0227 - the NW may transit (e.g., transition) the UE to RRC_CONNECTED state (e.g., RRC connected state)).
Re. Claims 5, 12, and 20, Huang teaches Claims 1, 7 and 8.
Additionally, Huang further teaches wherein: the monitoring of the PDCCH using the RNTI after the transitioning is in response to the command (¶0282 - the UE may maintain and/or apply the C-RNTI when the UE is in RRC_CONNECTED state)).
Re. Claims 6, 13, and 21, Huang teaches Claims 1, 7 and 8.
Additionally, Huang further teaches wherein: the SDT procedure is a configured grant SDT (CG-SDT) procedure (¶0229 - After the first UL transmission and/or the first DL transmission (e.g., the first UL small data transmission and/or the first DL small data transmission that are performed via the SDT procedure, such as via RACH-based SDT and/or via pre-configured PUSCH resources-based SDT), one or more subsequent UL transmissions (e.g., one or more subsequent UL small data transmissions) may be performed via one or more configured grants (CGs) when the UE is in RRC_INACTIVE state).
Re. Claim 14, Huang teaches Claim 8.
Additionally, Huang further teaches transmitting, to the UE prior to performing the SDT procedure, an RRC message including the RNTI (¶0005 - the UE receives, when the UE is in Radio Resource Control (RRC) connected state, a first Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) in a first RRC message).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Feltrin et al. (2024/0215075) - ¶0084-0156
/N.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/HASHIM S BHATTI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475