DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 5-7 and 9-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 contains the limitation “a support adjacent to a solar cell including the plurality of solar cell elements” which is unclear. For the purpose of this Office Action, the above limitation will be treated as if it reads “a support adjacent to the plurality of solar cell elements”.
Claims 9-11, 13, 15-16, 18 and 20 are additionally rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim and including all of the limitations thereof.
Claim 5 and 11-15 contains the limitation “wherein the first surface includes a first end area at an end of the first surface in the first direction, and the first end area curves more in a third direction at a farther position in the first direction, and the third direction is along a thickness direction of the first protective layer and extends from the first surface to the second surface” which is unclear. It is unclear what structure is being required by the claim. What is the limitation “curves more” referring to? Curves more than what? A farther position in the first direction with respect to which starting point? Appropriate correction and clarification is required.
Claims 6 and 16-20 contain the limitation “wherein the plurality of solar cell elements includes one or more solar cell elements, each of the one or more solar cell elements includes a first element surface facing the second surface and a second element surface opposite to the first element surface, the first element surface curves convexly, and the second element surface curves concavely”. The claim allows for “one” solar cell element and also requires “a plurality of solar cell elements” which is unclear. For the purpose of this Office Action, the above limitation will be treated as if it reads “wherein at least one of the plurality of solar cell elements includes a first element surface facing the second surface and a second element surface opposite to the first element surface, the first element surface curves convexly, and the second element surface curves concavely. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 is additionally rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim and including all of the limitations thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jang et al. (US 2014/0109952).
Regarding claim 1, Jang discloses a solar cell module in Figures 10 and 16, comprising:
a first protective layer (front substrate 110) comprising a light-transmissive resin ([109]-[111], the front substrate can be resin) and including a first surface (top surface) and a second surface (bottom surface) opposite to the first surface (Figure 16);
a plurality of solar cell elements (150) facing the second surface and arranged along the second surface ([39]-[40]); and
a filler (first seal layer 131) in contact with the second surface and covering the plurality of solar cell elements (150) ([45]), wherein the plurality of solar cell elements (150) includes two solar cell elements arranged in a first direction, the first surface (top surface) includes a first area above the plurality of solar cell elements (150) and a second area (peripheral area A2) different from the first area (Figures 10, 16 and 17 and [94]-[95] and [102]), and
the first surface (top surface of front substrate 110) includes one or more linear recesses (recessed grooves 112) in the second area (peripheral area A2) (Figures 10, 16, 17 and [100], [102]-[103]).
Regarding claim 2, Jang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Jang additionally discloses a support (second substrate 200) adjacent to a solar cell (150) including the plurality of solar cell elements (Figure 16 and [39]), wherein the support (200) includes a first portion (top surface) facing the second surface of the first protective layer (110a) and a second portion (bottom surface) away from the solar cell (150) (Figure 16), and the filler (131) includes a portion located between the second surface (bottom surface of 110a) and the first portion (top surface of substrate 200) (Figure 16).
Regarding claim 3, Jang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Jang additionally discloses that the one or more linear recesses include a first linear recess and a second linear recess connecting with the first linear recess (112d and e, see Figures 10 and 17 and [102]-[105]), the first linear recess is located above a first gap (A2) between the two solar cell elements (150) and extends in a second direction intersecting with the first direction (Figures 10, 16 and 17 and [102]-[105]), and the second linear recess extends in the first direction (Figures 10 and 17).
Regarding claim 4, Jang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Jang additionally discloses that the second linear recess extends to an edge of the first surface in the first direction ([91], the linear recesses 112 can extend to the peripheral area (PA) of the first protective layer which includes the edge of the first surface).
Regarding claim 8, Jang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Jang additionally discloses a second protective layer (second seal layer 132), wherein the second protective layer is in contact with a surface of the filler (131) opposite to a surface of the filler in contact with the first protective layer (110a), and the plurality of solar cell elements (150) is located between the second surface and the second protective layer (132) (Figure 16 and [39]).
Regarding claim 9, Jang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Jang additionally disclose that the one or more linear recesses include a first linear recess and a second linear recess connecting with the first linear recess (112d and e, see Figures 10 and 17 and [102]-[105]), the first linear recess is located above a first gap (A2) between the two solar cell elements (150) and extends in a second direction intersecting with the first direction (Figures 10, 16 and 17 and [102]-[105]), and the second linear recess extends in the first direction (Figures 10 and 17).
Regarding claim 10, Jang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Jang additionally discloses that the second linear recess extends to an edge of the first surface in the first direction ([91], the linear recesses 112 can extend to the peripheral area (PA) of the first protective layer which includes the edge of the first surface).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (US 2014/0109952).
Regarding claims 5 and 11-15, Jang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Jang does not disclose that the first surface includes a first end area at an end of the first surface in the first direction, and the first end area curves more in a third direction at a farther position in the first direction, and the third direction is along a thickness direction of the first protective layer and extends from the first surface to the second surface. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the device of Jang such that that the first surface includes a first end area at an end of the first surface in the first direction, and the first end area curves more in a third direction at a farther position in the first direction, and the third direction is along a thickness direction of the first protective layer and extends from the first surface to the second surface, as such modification would involve a mere change in configuration. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claims 6-7 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (US 2014/0109952) in view of Ooka (JP 2012-074530A, listed on IDS filed 11/25/2024, see English machine translation provided for mapping).
Regarding claims 6-7 and 16-20, Jang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Jang does not disclose that the plurality of solar cell elements includes one or more solar cell elements, each of the one or more solar cell elements includes a first element surface facing the second surface and a second element surface opposite to the first element surface, the first element surface curves convexly, and the second element surface curves concavely, wherein the first surface curves convexly following the first element surface of each of the one or more solar cell elements.
Ooka discloses a solar cell module in Figure 9 comprising a plurality of solar cell elements (51) wherein each of the solar cell elements includes a first element surface facing the second surface and a second element surface opposite to the first element surface, the first element surface curves convexly, and the second element surface curves concavely, wherein the first surface (91) curves convexly following the first element surface of each of the one or more solar cell elements (51) ([45], [48] and [53]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as filed to modify the device of Jang, such that each of the solar cell elements includes a first element surface facing the second surface and a second element surface opposite to the first element surface, the first element surface curves convexly, and the second element surface curves concavely, wherein the first surface curves convexly following the first element surface of each of the one or more solar cell elements, as taught by Ooka, because the curved shape of the solar cells reduces cracking of the cells during manufacturing (Ooka, [53]).
Conclusion
/LINDSEY A BUCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728