DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s preliminary claim amendment filed 11/25/2024 is acknowledged.
Claims 21-24 are cancelled.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3,7,9,12-14,18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Baldemair (US 20230291509).
Re claim 1:
Baldemair discloses a method of determining a dynamic codebook, performed by a communication device, the method comprising (Para.[0045] Being able to use a dynamic HARQ codebook is advantageous since it leads to lower overhead compared to a semi-statically configured HARQ codebook):
determining a quantity of pieces of scheduling signaling corresponding to a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback transmitted on a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), wherein at least one piece of scheduling signaling in the pieces of scheduling signaling is used to schedule physical downlink shared channels (PDSCH) in at least two cells (Para.[0086] In order to ensure proper HARQ feedback bit insertion into the HARQ feedback indication, such as the HARQ codebook, when a single DCI schedules PDSCHs on a plurality of cells, a pre-defined order may be used in the HARQ feedback indication to insert the HARQ feedback bits for the PDSCHs on the plurality of cells scheduled in the single DCI and Para.[0009] The information for scheduling may include at least one of a PUCCH resource indicator, a counter Downlink Assignment Indicator (C-DAI) and total Downlink Assignment Indicator (T-DAI), and a HARQ process ID indicator. The PUCCH resource indicator may indicate at least one resource for a radio node (e.g. UE) to use for transmitting HARQ feedback);
determining a quantity of bits of a HARQ-ACK corresponding to each piece of the scheduling signaling (Para.[0091] In order to still be able to provide a correct HARQ feedback indication, e.g. a HARQ codebook, a number of HARQ feedback bits with regard to each DCI is set to a maximum number of HARQ bits that need to be sent in response to a maximum number of cells scheduled by the multi-PDSCH DCI. For example, if during a sequence of PMOs there is a first multi-PDSCH DCI scheduling 2 cells and a second multi-PDSCH DCI scheduling 3 cells, then the maximum number of HARQ bits for all DCIs of the sequence of PMOs is set to the number of HARQ bits necessary for 3 cells);
determining the dynamic codebook transmitted on the first PUCCH based on the quantity of the pieces of the scheduling signaling and the quantity of bits of the HARQ-ACK corresponding to each piece of the scheduling signaling (Para.[0091] In order to still be able to provide a correct HARQ feedback indication, e.g. a HARQ codebook, a number of HARQ feedback bits with regard to each DCI is set to a maximum number of HARQ bits that need to be sent in response to a maximum number of cells scheduled by the multi-PDSCH DCI. For example, if during a sequence of PMOs there is a first multi-PDSCH DCI scheduling 2 cells and a second multi-PDSCH DCI scheduling 3 cells, then the maximum number of HARQ bits for all DCIs of the sequence of PMOs is set to the number of HARQ bits necessary for 3 cells).
Re claim 2:
Baldemair discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein determining the quantity of pieces of the scheduling signaling corresponding to the HARQ-ACK feedback transmitted on the first PUCCH comprises: determining a target cell on which a transmitted counter downlink assignment index (C- DAI) counts, wherein the target cell is one of cells scheduled by the piece of the scheduling signaling, or a cell that transmits the piece of the scheduling signaling (Para.[088] As shown in FIG. 10A, an ordering of the HARQ feedback bits in the HARQ codebook may be done based on cell index, wherein the HARQ feedback bits of the cell with lower cell index are inserted before the HARQ feedback bits of the cell with higher cell index and Para.[0066] According to an embodiment, the C-DAI and the T-DAI may depend on a number of cells scheduled by the single DCI. This means that the C-DAI and the T-DAI may reflect on how many cells PDSCHs have been scheduled and Para.[0067] More specifically, the C-DAI may count the number of PDSCHs scheduled in a single DCI, e.g. up to the current PDCCH cell and current PDCCH monitoring occasion, i.e. it is increased, for example, by the network node 110 by one for each PDSCH scheduled in the DCIs (multi-PDSCH DCI and single PDSCH DCI));
determining a counting order of the C-DAI according to the target cell on which the C-DAI counts (Para.[088] As shown in FIG. 10A, an ordering of the HARQ feedback bits in the HARQ codebook may be done based on cell index, wherein the HARQ feedback bits of the cell with lower cell index are inserted before the HARQ feedback bits of the cell with higher cell index);
determining the quantity of pieces of the scheduling signaling corresponding to the HARQ- ACK feedback transmitted on the first PUCCH according to the counting order of the C-DAI (Para. [0072] This can be seen for PMO 3, where a PDSCH is not scheduled only on one cell but on two cells by a single DCI. Therefore, for PMO 3 the C-DAI is increased from 3 to 5 (instead of from 3 to 4 as it would be done in the prior art). If the C-DAI is expressed as an integer number, the radio node 120 can determine from C-DAIs received in PMO 1 and PMO 5 that it has missed 4 PDSCHs. Thus, the radio node 120 is able to correctly determine the number of PDSCHs which have been missed and thus can correctly report the HARQ codebook with a correct size and order (of HARQ bits)).
Re claim 3:
Baldemair discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein one of the cells scheduled by the piece of the scheduling signaling comprises one of the following: a cell with a smallest cell index in the cells scheduled by the piece of the scheduling signaling; a cell with a largest cell index in the cells scheduled by the piece of the scheduling signaling; or a cell in which reception time of a scheduled PDSCH is latest in the cells scheduled by the piece of the scheduling signaling (Para.[088] As shown in FIG. 10A, an ordering of the HARQ feedback bits in the HARQ codebook may be done based on cell index, wherein the HARQ feedback bits of the cell with lower cell index are inserted before the HARQ feedback bits of the cell with higher cell index).
Re claim 7:
Baldemair discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein determining the quantity of bits of the HARQ-ACK corresponding to each piece of the scheduling signaling comprises: obtaining a maximum quantity of schedulable cells corresponding to one piece of the scheduling signaling; determining the quantity of bits of the HARQ-ACK corresponding to the piece of the scheduling signaling according to the maximum quantity of the schedulable cells and a quantity of bits of feedback in each schedulable cell (Para.[0091] In order to still be able to provide a correct HARQ feedback indication, e.g. a HARQ codebook, a number of HARQ feedback bits with regard to each DCI is set to a maximum number of HARQ bits that need to be sent in response to a maximum number of cells scheduled by the multi-PDSCH DCI. For example, if during a sequence of PMOs there is a first multi-PDSCH DCI scheduling 2 cells and a second multi-PDSCH DCI scheduling 3 cells, then the maximum number of HARQ bits for all DCIs of the sequence of PMOs is set to the number of HARQ bits necessary for 3 cells).
Re claim 9:
Baldemair discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein determining the quantity of bits of the HARQ-ACK corresponding to the piece of the scheduling signaling according to the maximum quantity of the schedulable cells and the quantity of bits of feedback in each schedulable cell comprises: when determining the maximum quantity of the schedulable cells and the quantity of bits corresponding to each pre-configured cell, adding quantities of bits respectively corresponding to schedulable cells to obtain the quantity of bits of the HARQ-ACK corresponding to the piece of the scheduling signaling (Para.[0091] In order to still be able to provide a correct HARQ feedback indication, e.g. a HARQ codebook, a number of HARQ feedback bits with regard to each DCI is set to a maximum number of HARQ bits that need to be sent in response to a maximum number of cells scheduled by the multi-PDSCH DCI. For example, if during a sequence of PMOs there is a first multi-PDSCH DCI scheduling 2 cells and a second multi-PDSCH DCI scheduling 3 cells, then the maximum number of HARQ bits for all DCIs of the sequence of PMOs is set to the number of HARQ bits necessary for 3 cells).
Re claim 12: Claim 12 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1.
Re claim 13: Claim 13 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 2.
Re claim 14: Claim 14 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 3.
Re claim 18: Claim 18 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 7.
Re claim 20: Claim 20 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldemair (US 20230291509) in view of Wang (US 20250062864).
Re claim 4:
As discussed above, Baldemair meets all the limitations of the parent claims.
Baldemair further discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein determining the counting order of the C-DAI according to the target cell on which the C-DAI counts comprises one or more of the following: in a case that the target cell is a cell that transmits the piece of the scheduling signaling, there are two pieces of the scheduling signaling in a (Para. [0101] For example, the maximum number of HARQ bits inserted into the HARQ feedback indication for each entry may be determined by a largest number of cells configured by at least one DCI across a plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions. This leads to a HARQ feedback indication with entries having the maximum number of HARQ bits available for each DCI, irrespective of whether each DCI schedules one cell or a plurality of cells), and
in a case that at least one piece of the scheduling signaling in the two pieces of the scheduling signaling schedules PDSCHs in at least two cells, determining (Para.[0086] In order to ensure proper HARQ feedback bit insertion into the HARQ feedback indication, such as the HARQ codebook, when a single DCI schedules PDSCHs on a plurality of cells, a pre-defined order may be used in the HARQ feedback indication to insert the HARQ feedback bits for the PDSCHs on the plurality of cells scheduled in the single DCI and Para.[0067] As already explained above, the C-DAI may represent a counter based on the current scheduling assignment. More specifically, the C-DAI may count the number of PDSCHs scheduled in a single DCI, e.g. up to the current PDCCH cell and current PDCCH monitoring occasion and Para.[0066] According to an embodiment, the C-DAI and the T-DAI may depend on a number of cells scheduled by the single DCI. This means that the C-DAI and the T-DAI may reflect on how many cells PDSCHs have been scheduled);
determining the counting order of the C-DAI according to the index of the target cell on which the C-DAI counts (Para.[088] As shown in FIG. 10A, an ordering of the HARQ feedback bits in the HARQ codebook may be done based on cell index, wherein the HARQ feedback bits of the cell with lower cell index are inserted before the HARQ feedback bits of the cell with higher cell index);
determining (Para. [0071] FIG. 9 shows an example how the C-DAI is increased for each PDCCH monitoring occasion (PMO) according to an embodiment. FIG. 9 shows the same scenario as FIG. 2, but in FIG. 9 the C-DAIs are increased by the number of scheduled cells).
Baldemair does not explicitly disclose in a same PDCCH transmission occasion, determining the counting order according to time of scheduling, determining the counting order according to a transmission occasion.
Wang discloses in a same PDCCH transmission occasion, determining the counting order according to time of scheduling, determining the counting order according to a transmission occasion (Fig. 1A shows multiple C-DAI in a same PDCCH monitoring occasion and Para. [0029] For example, C-DAI is counted [0030] first, if the UE supports for more than one PDSCH reception on a serving cell that are scheduled from a same PDCCH monitoring occasion, in increasing order of the PDSCH reception starting time for the same {reference serving cell, PDCCH monitoring occasion} pair, [0031] second in ascending order of reference serving cell index, and [0032] third in ascending order of PDCCH monitoring occasion index m, where 0≤m<M).
Baldemair and Wang are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Baldemair to include determining counting order according to scheduling and transmission occasions as taught by Wang in order to increase flexibility and spectral/power efficiency (Wang Para.[0017]).
Re claim 5:
As discussed above, Baldemair in view of Wang meets all the limitations of the parent claims.
Baldemair does not explicitly disclose the method according to claim 4, wherein determining the counting order of the C-DAI according to the time of scheduling the PDSCHs of the multiple cells comprises: selecting, according to an order of scheduling the PDSCHs by the piece of the scheduling signaling, N-th PDSCHs respectively scheduled by the two pieces of the scheduling signaling; if target time of the Nth PDSCHs scheduled by the two pieces of the scheduling signaling is different, arranging the C-DAI corresponding to the PDSCH with earlier target time at an earlier position; wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1, and the target time comprises a start time or an end time.
Wang discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein determining the counting order of the C-DAI according to the time of scheduling the PDSCHs of the multiple cells comprises: selecting, according to an order of scheduling the PDSCHs by the piece of the scheduling signaling, N-th PDSCHs respectively scheduled by the two pieces of the scheduling signaling; if target time of the Nth PDSCHs scheduled by the two pieces of the scheduling signaling is different, arranging the C-DAI corresponding to the PDSCH with earlier target time at an earlier position; wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1, and the target time comprises a start time or an end time (Fig. 1A shows two PDSCHs scheduled with different target times and Para. [0029] For example, C-DAI is counted [0030] first, if the UE supports for more than one PDSCH reception on a serving cell that are scheduled from a same PDCCH monitoring occasion, in increasing order of the PDSCH reception starting time for the same {reference serving cell, PDCCH monitoring occasion} pair, [0031] second in ascending order of reference serving cell index, and [0032] third in ascending order of PDCCH monitoring occasion index m, where 0≤m<M).
Baldemair and Wang are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Baldemair to include determining counting order according to scheduling and transmission occasions as taught by Wang in order to increase flexibility and spectral/power efficiency (Wang Para.[0017]).
Re claim 6:
As discussed above, Baldemair in view of Wang meets all the limitations of the parent claims.
Baldemair does not explicitly disclose the method according to claim 4, wherein determining the counting order of the C-DAI according to the time of scheduling the PDSCHs of the multiple cells comprises: selecting, according to an order of scheduling the PDSCHs by the piece of the scheduling signaling, Nth PDSCHs respectively scheduled by the two pieces of the scheduling signaling; if target time of the Nth PDSCHs scheduled by the two pieces of the scheduling signaling is same, selecting (N+1)th PDSCHs respectively scheduled by the two pieces of the scheduling signaling, and when the target time of the (N +1)th PDSCHs scheduled by the two pieces of the scheduling signaling is different, arranging the C-DAI corresponding to the PDSCH with earlier target time at an earlier position; or if the target time of the Nth PDSCHs scheduled by the two pieces of the scheduling signaling is same, determining a counting order of the C-DAIs corresponding to the two pieces of the scheduling signaling according to the target cells on which the C-DAIs count; wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1, and the target time comprises a start time or an end time.
Wang discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein determining the counting order of the C-DAI according to the time of scheduling the PDSCHs of the multiple cells comprises: selecting, according to an order of scheduling the PDSCHs by the piece of the scheduling signaling, Nth PDSCHs respectively scheduled by the two pieces of the scheduling signaling; if target time of the Nth PDSCHs scheduled by the two pieces of the scheduling signaling is same, selecting (N+1)th PDSCHs respectively scheduled by the two pieces of the scheduling signaling, and when the target time of the (N +1)th PDSCHs scheduled by the two pieces of the scheduling signaling is different, arranging the C-DAI corresponding to the PDSCH with earlier target time at an earlier position; or if the target time of the Nth PDSCHs scheduled by the two pieces of the scheduling signaling is same, determining a counting order of the C-DAIs corresponding to the two pieces of the scheduling signaling according to the target cells on which the C-DAIs count; wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1, and the target time comprises a start time or an end time (Fig. 1A shows two PDSCHs scheduled with the same and different target times and Para. [0029] For example, C-DAI is counted [0030] first, if the UE supports for more than one PDSCH reception on a serving cell that are scheduled from a same PDCCH monitoring occasion, in increasing order of the PDSCH reception starting time for the same {reference serving cell, PDCCH monitoring occasion} pair, [0031] second in ascending order of reference serving cell index, and [0032] third in ascending order of PDCCH monitoring occasion index m, where 0≤m<M).
Baldemair and Wang are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Baldemair to include determining counting order according to scheduling and transmission occasions as taught by Wang in order to increase flexibility and spectral/power efficiency (Wang Para.[0017]).
Re claim 15: Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 4.
Re claim 16: Claim 16 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 5.
Re claim 17: Claim 17 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 6.
Claim(s) 8,10,11, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldemair (US 20230291509) in view of Yi (US 20240057108).
Re claim 8:
As discussed above, Baldemair meets all the limitations of the parent claims.
Baldemair does not explicitly disclose the method according to claim 7, wherein obtaining the maximum quantity of the schedulable cells corresponding to one piece of the scheduling signaling comprises: determining the maximum quantity, configured by higher layer signaling, of the schedulable cells corresponding to one piece of the scheduling signaling; or
determining the maximum quantity of the schedulable cells corresponding to one piece of the scheduling signaling according to a configured first target time domain resource allocation TDRA table.
Yi discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein obtaining the maximum quantity of the schedulable cells corresponding to one piece of the scheduling signaling comprises: determining the maximum quantity, configured by higher layer signaling, of the schedulable cells corresponding to one piece of the scheduling signaling (Para.[0359] For example, the base station may transmit one or more RRC messages indicating configuration parameters. The configuration parameters may indicate a first multi-cell scheduling. For the first multi-cell scheduling, a first cell is a scheduling cell and a multi-cell DCI of the first multi-cell scheduling schedules resources of the first cell and a second cell. The configuration parameters may indicate a second multi-cell scheduling. For the second multi-cell scheduling, a third cell is a scheduling cell and a multi-cell DCI of the second multi-cell scheduling schedules resources of the third cell, a fourth cell and a fifth cell. For example, the wireless device may determine a maximum number N of scheduled cells by a multi-cell DCI across one or more configured serving cells. In the above example, the wireless device may determine 3 as the maximum number of scheduled cells. The wireless device may determine N*P bits of HARQ-ACK information bits corresponding to a multi-cell DCI, when the wireless device receives the multi-cell DCI comprising a C-DAI/DAI); or
determining the maximum quantity of the schedulable cells corresponding to one piece of the scheduling signaling according to a configured first target time domain resource allocation TDRA table (alternative limitation has been addressed above).
Baldemair and Yi are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Baldemair to include configuring using higher layer signaling as taught by Yi in order to allow efficient HARQ codebook determination (Yi Para.[0319]).
Re claim 10:
As discussed above, Baldemair meets all the limitations of the parent claims.
Baldemair discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein determining the quantity of bits of the HARQ-ACK corresponding to each piece of the scheduling signaling comprises: quantity of bits of feedback in each cell (Para.[0091] In order to still be able to provide a correct HARQ feedback indication, e.g. a HARQ codebook, a number of HARQ feedback bits with regard to each DCI is set to a maximum number of HARQ bits that need to be sent in response to a maximum number of cells scheduled by the multi-PDSCH DCI. For example, if during a sequence of PMOs there is a first multi-PDSCH DCI scheduling 2 cells and a second multi-PDSCH DCI scheduling 3 cells, then the maximum number of HARQ bits for all DCIs of the sequence of PMOs is set to the number of HARQ bits necessary for 3 cells).
Baldemair does not explicitly disclose obtaining a second target TDRA table; determining a schedulable cell in each row in the second target TDRA table; the quantity of schedulable cells in each row.
Yi discloses obtaining a second target TDRA table; determining a schedulable cell in each row in the second target TDRA table; the quantity of schedulable cells in each row (Para. [0300] In an example, a base station may transmit a DCI. The DCI may comprise a time domain resource allocation field. A value of the time domain resource allocation field (e.g., m) may indicate a row index m+1 of a time domain resource allocation lists/a time domain resource allocation table and Para.[0361] The configuration parameters may indicate a first list of time domain resource allocation (TDRA) entries for the first cell. The first list of TDRA entries may be used for one or more DCI formats of a single cell scheduling. The configuration parameters may indicate a second list of time domain resource allocation (TDRA) entries for the first cell (and the second cell). The second list of TDRA entries may be used for one or more second DCI formats of a multi-cell scheduling…The wireless device may determine a HARQ-ACK codebook based on the first list of TDRA entries – Examiner Note Baldemair discloses the relationship between the quantity of HARQ-ACK bits and the quantity of cells. Yi explicitly shows the quantity of cells can be in a TDRA table row and the HARQ-ACK codebook is based on a TDRA table).
Baldemair and Yi are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Baldemair to include a TDRA table as taught by Yi in order to allow efficient HARQ codebook determination (Yi Para.[0319]).
Re claim 11:
As discussed above, Baldemair in view of Yi meets all the limitations of the parent claims.
Baldemair discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein determining the quantity of bits of the HARQ-ACK corresponding to one piece of the scheduling signaling comprises: determining the quantity of bits of the HARQ-ACK (Para.[0091] In order to still be able to provide a correct HARQ feedback indication, e.g. a HARQ codebook, a number of HARQ feedback bits with regard to each DCI is set to a maximum number of HARQ bits that need to be sent in response to a maximum number of cells scheduled by the multi-PDSCH DCI. For example, if during a sequence of PMOs there is a first multi-PDSCH DCI scheduling 2 cells and a second multi-PDSCH DCI scheduling 3 cells, then the maximum number of HARQ bits for all DCIs of the sequence of PMOs is set to the number of HARQ bits necessary for 3 cells);
selecting, according to the quantity of bits of the HARQ-ACK (Para.[0091] In order to still be able to provide a correct HARQ feedback indication, e.g. a HARQ codebook, a number of HARQ feedback bits with regard to each DCI is set to a maximum number of HARQ bits that need to be sent in response to a maximum number of cells scheduled by the multi-PDSCH DCI. For example, if during a sequence of PMOs there is a first multi-PDSCH DCI scheduling 2 cells and a second multi-PDSCH DCI scheduling 3 cells, then the maximum number of HARQ bits for all DCIs of the sequence of PMOs is set to the number of HARQ bits necessary for 3 cells).
Baldemair does not explicitly disclose HARQ-ACK corresponding to each row, schedulable cells in each row.
Yi discloses HARQ-ACK corresponding to each row, schedulable cells in each row (Para. [0300] In an example, a base station may transmit a DCI. The DCI may comprise a time domain resource allocation field. A value of the time domain resource allocation field (e.g., m) may indicate a row index m+1 of a time domain resource allocation lists/a time domain resource allocation table and Para.[0361] The configuration parameters may indicate a first list of time domain resource allocation (TDRA) entries for the first cell. The first list of TDRA entries may be used for one or more DCI formats of a single cell scheduling. The configuration parameters may indicate a second list of time domain resource allocation (TDRA) entries for the first cell (and the second cell). The second list of TDRA entries may be used for one or more second DCI formats of a multi-cell scheduling…The wireless device may determine a HARQ-ACK codebook based on the first list of TDRA entries – Examiner Note Baldemair discloses the relationship between the quantity of HARQ-ACK bits and the quantity of cells. Yi explicitly shows the quantity of cells can be in a TDRA table row and the HARQ-ACK codebook is based on a TDRA table); or
determining the maximum quantity of the schedulable cells corresponding to one piece of the scheduling signaling according to a configured first target time domain resource allocation TDRA table (alternative limitation has been addressed above).
Baldemair and Yi are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Baldemair to include configuring using higher layer signaling as taught by Yi in order to allow efficient HARQ codebook determination (Yi Para.[0319]).
Re claim 19: Claim 19 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. MolavianJazi (US 20230139269) shows multi-cell PDSCH scheduling and dynamic HARQ codebook.
/MOHAMMAD S ADHAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471