Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c).
In the present instance, claim 4 recites the broad recitation of “alkyl or acyl”, and the claim also recites “preferably methyl or ethyl…preferably CH3CO or C2H5C” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
In the present instance, claim 8 recites the broad recitation of “propoxy and ethoxy”, and the claim also recites “most preferably ethoxy” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
In the present instance, claim 9 recites the broad recitation of “propoxy and ethoxy”, and the claim also recites “more preferably 6 to 8, most preferably 6.1 to 7.0” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boutique (US 2009/0005287) in view of Kiwala (US 4,335,008).
Boutique teaches a liquid laundry detergent composition comprising amphiphilic graft polymers [0002]. Boutique teaches these polymers are hydrophilic soil removal polymer, specifically ethoxysulfated hexamethylene diamine dimethyl quat ([0007] and Table 1). This compound is an alkoxylated zwitterionic polyamine polymer. Boutique further teaches the composition comprises a surfactant system [0023] and a perfume ([0007] and Table 1).
Boutique does not teach the perfume comprises a cyclohexyl moiety.
Kiwala teaches phenethyl cyclohexylether is used as perfumes in liquid detergents (col 1, lines 10-20). Kiwala teaches the exemplary compound has the structure shown below
col 4, lines 5-10
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art to make the claimed invention before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the following reasons. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to add the perfume compound in Kiwala into the laundry composition of Boutique. One of ordinary skill in the art would achieve the predictable result enhancing the scent of the laundry. Therefore, the invention as a whole would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Kiwala teaches a composition can contain as little as 0.5% or 20% or more depending on the strength sought for the final product. Therefore, the amount is a result effective variable. With respect to optimal ranges, it is not inventive to discover such regimens by routine experimentation when general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP §2144.05(II).
Regarding claim 9, Boutique teaches the composition has a pH range of 6.5-11. Which overlaps with the instantly claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 244.05(I).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boutique and Kiwala as applied to claims 1-4 and 6-9 above, and further in view of Conrad (US 4,130,509)
The teachings of Boutique and Kiwala are discussed above. The references do not teach 2-tert-Butylcyclohexyl acetate or 3,3,5-Trimethylcyclohexylethyl ether.
Conrad teaches 3,3,5-trimethylcyclohexenylethyl ether is a known perfume having natural and pleasant fragrances (column 1, lines 5-25).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art to make the claimed invention before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by adding the 3,3,5-trimethylcyclohexenylethyl ether as taught by Conrad. One of ordinary skill in the art would achieve the predictable result of enhancing the scent of the detergent with natural and pleasant fragrance. Therefore, the invention as a whole would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
/ANGELA C BROWN-PETTIGREW/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1761