DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the thermoelectric elements are located in contact with the wiring conductors facing each other" in lines 8-9. It is unclear if the intention is to further define where the thermoelectric elements are located or what they are in contact with. It is suggested to amend the limitation to “the thermoelectric elements are in contact with and located between the wiring conductors that are facing each other” for clarification of language.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a second region located subsequent to the first region”. It is unclear how the second region can be located “subsequent” to the first region when the commonly accepted definition for the word “subsequent” is “something coming or happening after something else in time, order, or place” and there was no listing being provided for something to be coming after something else. It is suggested to amend the limitation to recite “a second region located adjacent to the first region” for clarification of language.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the wiring conductors comprise an extended portion extending over the second region” in the third to the last clause. It is unclear which of the wiring conductors located on the first substrate or the second substrate is being referenced by the limitation. It is noted the limitation has been interpreted to be directed to wiring conductors that are located on the first substrate. Clarification is requested.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the support substrate” in the last clause. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because it is unclear which of the first and second substrates is being referenced particularly by “the support substrate” in the limitation. Clarification is requested.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the connector is fixed to one of the support substrates” in lines 1-2. However, claim 1 from which claim 2 depends upon recites the connector faces “the support substrate”, as previously mentioned, such that it is unclear how the connector is also recited to be fixed to one of the support substrates in claim 2. It is unclear if the connector is fixed to one of the support substrates and is facing another support substrate. Clarification is requested.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the wiring conductors” in line 2. It is unclear which of the wiring conductors on the first and second substrates are being referenced by the limitation. Clarification is requested.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the extended portion is covered with a resin at a portion near the first region other than a portion overlapping the connector in a plan perspective view.” It is unclear what is meant by “a portion overlapping the connector in a plan perspective view” without specifying what is being referred to with “a portion overlapping the connector”. It is unclear if the intention is to describe the location of the resin 8 because only the same is recited in the specification in paragraph [0025]. Looking at Figures 4 and 5, the only thing that can be drawn from the figure is that resin 8 covers part of the extended portion in the second region as well as part of the fixing member 6 and does not overlap with the connector 4 at all. Clarification is requested.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the resin covers a portion between the first substrate and the second substrate, the portion facing the connector” in the last clause. It is unclear what portion is being recited to be covered by the resin. Clarification is requested.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the first substrate comprises slits in a lattice shape at a position facing the second region.” It is unclear how the first substrate is to comprise slits at a position facing the second region when the first substrate is recited in claim 1 to comprise the second region. Looking at Figure 6, it is unclear how the first substrate can comprise slits 9 that “face the second region” 112 as recited when the slits are shown to be in or part of the second region 112. Clarification is requested.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “a fitting portion of the connector…the fitting portion comprises side walls…and sandwiching a fitting region in which the connector is fitted.” It is unclear what is encompassed by the limitation “a fitting portion of the connector” because it appears the “fitting portion” is not part of the connector at all from the description. Paragraph [0031] of the specification states:
As illustrated in FIG. 7, the second region 112 may include a fitting portion 1121 of the connector 4, and the fitting portion 1121 may include side walls 10 located along a direction in which the extended portion extends with sandwiching a fitting region 1122 to which the connector 4 is fitted. Thus, the connector 4 is sandwiched between the side walls 10, and thus movement in a direction parallel to the second direction (Y) during use can be reduced. As a result, the thermoelectric module 100 of the present disclosure is excellent in durability. In FIG. 7, the fitting portion 1121 is indicated by a dashed line.
Therefore, it is unclear how the dashed box in Figure 7 “comprises side walls 10” when it can be seen that side walls 10 are not part of the “fitting portion 1121” at all. Side walls 10 are also not part of the connector 4, and it is unclear what is being described as the “fitting portion” in the claim or specification without further guidance. Based on Figure 7 and paragraph [0031], it is not immediately clear the difference between the fitting portion 1121 indicated by the dashed lines and the fitting region 1122 in which the connector 4 is fitted based on the description, such that it is unclear the metes and bounds of the claim limitations and what exactly is encompassed by the limitations. Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sogou et al. (US 2007/0028955).
Regarding claim 1, Sogou discloses a thermoelectric module (91; see Figure 42) comprising:
support substrates (92 and 94);
wiring conductors (96 and 99); and
thermoelectric elements (3a and 3b),
wherein the support substrates comprise a first substrate (92) and a second substrate (94) facing each other, the wiring conductors are located on the first substrate and the second substrate (see Figure 42), the thermoelectric elements are located in contact with the wiring conductors facing each other (see Figure 42), the first substrate comprises a first region in which the thermoelectric elements are located (region that is boxed in the below figure) and a second region located subsequent to the first region (region that is not boxed in the below figure), the wiring conductors comprise an extended portion extending over the second region (see Figure 42), the thermoelectric module further comprising a connector (105), and a surface of the connector facing the support substrate is surface-connected to the extended portion (via hole wiring 102).
Regarding claim 2, Sogou discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the connector is fixed to one of the support substrates via a fixing member (104).
Regarding claim 3, Sogou discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the connector is connected to the wiring conductors via an electrically conductive bonding material (hole wiring 102), the fixing member comprises a surrounding portion surrounding the electrically conductive bonding material (see Figure 42), and the connector is placed on the surrounding portion (see Figure 42).
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Furukawa (US 2020/0279988).
Regarding claim 1, Furukawa discloses a thermoelectric module (10; see Figure 1) comprising:
support substrates (11 and 12);
wiring conductors (21 and 22); and
thermoelectric elements (3),
wherein the support substrates comprise a first substrate (11) and a second substrate (12) facing each other, the wiring conductors are located on the first substrate and the second substrate (see Figure 3), the thermoelectric elements are located in contact with the wiring conductors facing each other (see Figure 3), the first substrate comprises a first region in which the thermoelectric elements are located (portion that is not the extended portion 111) and a second region located subsequent to the first region (extended portion 111), the wiring conductors comprise an extended portion extending over the second region (see Figure 3), the thermoelectric module further comprising a connector (41), and a surface of the connector facing the support substrate is surface-connected to the extended portion (see Figure 7).
Regarding claim 2, Furukawa discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the connector is fixed to one of the support substrates via a fixing member (resin material 6).
Regarding claim 3, Furukawa discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the connector is connected to the wiring conductors via an electrically conductive bonding material (conductive joining material 5), the fixing member comprises a surrounding portion surrounding the electrically conductive bonding material (see Figure 7), and the connector is placed on the surrounding portion (see Figure 7).
Regarding claim 5, Furukawa discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the extended portion is covered with a resin (resin material 6) at a portion near the first region other than a portion overlapping the connector in a plan perspective view (see Figure 7), and the resin covers a portion between the first substrate and the second substrate, the portion facing the connector (see Figure 7).
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Niimi et al. (US 2006/0289051).
Regarding claim 1, Niimi discloses a thermoelectric module (1; see Figure 1b) comprising:
support substrates (21 and 31);
wiring conductors (22 and 32); and
thermoelectric elements (12 and 13),
wherein the support substrates comprise a first substrate (21) and a second substrate (31) facing each other, the wiring conductors are located on the first substrate and the second substrate (see Figure 1b), the thermoelectric elements are located in contact with the wiring conductors facing each other (see Figure 1b), the first substrate comprises a first region in which the thermoelectric elements are located (see Figure 1c) and a second region located subsequent to the first region (2B), the wiring conductors comprise an extended portion extending over the second region (22b), the thermoelectric module further comprising a connector (5), and a surface of the connector facing the support substrate is surface-connected to the extended portion (see Figure 1b).
Regarding claim 4, Niimi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses a width of the extended portion (22b) is smaller than a width of each of the wiring conductors located in the first region (22a) (see Figure 1c).
Regarding claim 5, Niimi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the extended portion is covered with a resin (11) at a portion near the first region other than a portion overlapping the connector in a plan perspective view (see Figure 1B), and the resin covers a portion between the first substrate and the second substrate, the portion facing the connector (see Figure 1B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furukawa (US 2020/0279988) in view of Furukawa (US 2018/0175269) (hereinafter Furukawa 2018).
Regarding claim 7, Furukawa discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above, but the reference does not expressly disclose a fitting portion of the connector in the second region, wherein the fitting portion comprises side walls located along a direction in which the extended portion extends and sandwiching a fitting region in which the connector is fitted.
Furukawa 2018 discloses a thermoelectric module comprising a cover material 5 covering where the lead member 4 is joined to the wiring conductor 21 on the substrate, where the covering material is joined to the protruding portion 111 (see Figures 1 and 2b). The cover material serves as a reinforcement material for restraining the lead member 4 from becoming detached from the wiring conductor 21 ([0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a fitting portion comprising side walls located along a direction in which the extended portion extends and sandwiches a fitting region in which the connector is fitted in the device of Furukawa, as taught by Furukawa 2018 above, so that the leads are prevented from becoming detached from the wiring conductor and the junction between the lead and the wiring member can be protected by the cover, as set forth by Furukawa 2018 ([0036]-[0037]).
Conclusion
/CHRISTINA CHERN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722