DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “cognitive test interface unit” in claim 1.
Examiner notes the phrase “wired or wireless means” (claim 1) appears to invoke 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 – 7 and 17 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. With regard to claims 3, 6, and 19, the claims are directed to “software”; however, software is not a structural element, as it is merely refers to underlying code. In contrast, certain other claims indicate the element “configured to…” provide a result, which more clearly requires the structure have the capability set forth after the claim without specifically referring to the software/firmware that supports execution of the algorithm. Further, Examiner notes that the originally filed specification does not describe any particular software code. With regard to claim 7, the claim is directed to a system but merely implies a step is performed. With regard to claim 17, the claim is directed to a system but merely implies steps are performed (“uses an independent clock”; “is synchronized, in signal processing, to…”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 9, 11, 14, 15, and 18 – 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticiapted by Kim et al. (USPGPub 2018/0103917). Kim et al. teach a head mounted display EEG device (Figures 1, 4 and the descriptions thereof) configured to provide a visual stimulus to the wearer and measure responses thereto including evoked potentials, etc. (paragraph [0037]-[0039]). The system can include EEG sensor and test interface/processors (paragraphs [0076] – [0077]) in communication with portable electronic devices (paragraphs [0039] – [0042]; [0054] – [0060]). The portable electronic devices (paragraph [0040]) encompass embodiments that include communication with the Internet. Kim et al. recognize that a variety of communication and control configurations may be relied upon to coordinate operations of the system (paragraph [0102]). The user can select the test to be run (Figure 6; paragraph [0078]). Additionally, Kim et al. teach that the system may include sensors to measure the response of a user (paragraph [0089]) and speakers (paragraph [0100]-[0101]).
Claim(s) 1 and 9 – 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (USPGPub 2017/0339484). Kim teaches a head mounted EEG sensing arrangement (Figure 5 and the description thereof) in which EEG sensors and additional sensors, including pulse/PPG sensors (paragraph [0038]), are incorporated into over the ear headphones for assessing user response to sound stimuli (Figures 9, 10, 15 and the descriptions thereof).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (USPGPub 2018/0103917) as applied to claim 1 above. Kim et al. teach all of the features of the claimed invention including EEG sensor, processing elements, and display to provide stimuli consistent with a selected test procedure, but do not particularly discuss whether the display is synchronized with the processor when the test is administered or if the processor receives time information from an independent clock associated with the display for time alignment through signal processing. However, one of ordinary skill would 1) recognize that correct processing of stimulus response would require the processor to have information regarding the times of both the stimuli and the patient response for analysis of the subject’s condition and 2) recognize both timing via a single control clock and alignment of data from independently operating clocks as known manners to use time information in a data collection arrangement. As such, absent a showing of criticality or unexpected results, it would have been within the skill level of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have relied on known timing coordination configurations when implementing the data collection of Kim et al.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cimenser et al. (USPGPub 10,660,570) and Dvorak et al. (USPGPub 2023/0190185) teach additional head mounted EEG sensing configurations that may include a mobile device/smartphone as part of the data collection/analysis arrangement.
/ERIC F WINAKUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791