DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shirochi et al. (US 2021/0299758) in view of Makino (JP2008132570 – machine translation provided by applicant) and claim 9 is further rejected over Shirochi and Makino in view of Tanibuchi (US 2007/0227298).
Considering claim 1, Shirochi teaches a coated cutting tool (abstract) of a cemented carbide substrate with a coating thereon (Paragraph 12) having a residual stress of the cutting edge of the cemented carbide (i.e. the surface, “b”) S1 ranging from -0.5-0.0 GPa and where the residual stress of the cemented carbide at a position 2 mm or more away from the cutting edge (i.e. the base, “a”) S2 ranges from -2.0 to -0.3 GPa where S2<S1 (Paragraphs 17-18). The cemented carbide comprises WC and Co as binder (Paragraph 21). However, Shirochi does not teach where the base comprises a solid solution of W,C, and Ti.
In a related field of endeavor, Makino teaches a cutting tool of a cemented carbide (abstract) which comprises a substrate of cemented carbides of WC, a solid-solution β-phase which improves thermal conductivity and maintains hardness, and a binder an iron group metal (Paragraphs 9 and 14). Examples of the β-phase include (W,Ti)C, etc. (Paragraph 24).
As both Shirochi and Makino teach cemented carbide cutting tools they are considered analogous. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of Shirochi and to include the β-phase solid solution optionally of (W,Ti)C taught by Makino as this is known to improve thermal conductivity and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success. Further, the residual stress taught by modified Shirochi overlaps that which is claimed and the courts have held that where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside of those disclosed in the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 2-3, Shirochi teaches where the residual stress of the cutting edge of the cemented carbide (i.e. the surface, “b”) S1 ranging from -0.5-0.0 GPa and where the residual stress of the cemented carbide at a position 2 mm or more away from the cutting edge (i.e. the base, “a”) S2 ranges from -2.0 to -0.3 GPa where S2<S1 (Paragraphs 17-18) overlapping that which is claimed. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claims 4-5, Shirochi teaches compressive residual stresses overlapping that which is claimed which encompasses the claimed ratios a/b. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claims 6-7, Makino teaches where the β-phase comprises Nb (Paragraph 30).
Considering claim 8, Makino teaches where the coating comprises in order TiN, TiCN, Al2O3, and TiN (Paragraph 47).
Considering claim 9, Shirochi teaches where the coated cemented carbide is an insert for milling turning, etc. (Paragraph 37), but does not teach the claimed tool with holder.
In a related field of endeavor, Tanibuchi teaches a cutting tool of cemented carbide (abstract). The tool is optionally coated with a hard coating layer (Paragraph 50). The tool comprises a holder extending from a first to second end with a pocket with the cemented carbide tool fixed therein (Paragraphs 55-56; Fig. 3).
As Shirochi, Makino, and Tanibuchi teach cemented carbide cutting tools they are considered analogous. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the teachings of Shirochi and Makino with the tool holder and structure taught by Tanibuchi as this is considered a combination of a conventionally known cutting tool with a holder conventionally known to be used in milling and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Saito et al. (US 5,145,505), Isobe et al. (US 5,577,424), and Holzschuh et al. (US 2011/0045283) teach cemented carbides with residual stress features similar to that which is claimed.
SETH DUMBRIS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/SETH DUMBRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784