DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-10 are amended. Claim 11 is cancelled. Claim 12 is new.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 08/19/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIANG (Liang, Y., Qiu, L., Lu, T., Fang, Z., Tu, D., Yang, J., ... & He, L. OralViewer: 3D demonstration of dental surgeries for patient education with oral cavity reconstruction from a 2D panoramic X-ray. In Proceedings of the 26th International Conference on Intelligent User Interfaces (pp. 553-563). (Year: 2021) “Liang”) in view of LI (No. US-20210186659-A1 “Li”) in further view of KOSUGE (No. US-20090274997-A1 “Kosuge”).
Regarding claim 1, Liang teaches “receiving two dimensional (2D) image data from a 2D X-ray images- of originally existing natural teeth of the patient that are to be replaced” (takes a single 2D panoramic dental X-ray; Abstract);
“generating, by the deep learning model, a virtual 3D model for the dental prosthesis of the patient” (to reconstruct patient-specific 3D teeth structures; Abstract);
“the virtual 3D model representing a reconstruction of the originally existing natural teeth of the patient” (to reconstruct patient-specific 3D teeth structures; Abstract);
However, while Liang fails to teach “A method for visualizing and modelling dental prostheses for a patient, the method comprising: ... inputting the 2D image data into a deep learning model, the deep learning model trained using 2D comparative image data and three dimensional (3D) comparative data assigned to the 2D comparative image data of at least individual teeth or oral cavity regions wherein the 2D comparative image data includes real data sets of comparison persons and/or synthetically generated data sets”.
LI teaches “A method for visualizing and modelling dental prostheses for a patient, the method comprising:” (methods for optimizing a 3D model of an individual's teeth; Abstract);
“inputting the 2D image data into a deep learning model,” (2D X-ray as input (a), ... a novel deep learning model; Pg.553, Fig.1 Desc);
“the deep learning model trained using 2D comparative image data and three dimensional (3D) comparative data assigned to the 2D comparative image data of at least individual teeth or oral cavity regions” (machine learning model can be trained with multiple instances of ground truth 3D parameters (or 3D dental models), and original 2D input images (or processed 2D images); Para 0087);
“wherein the 2D comparative image data includes real data sets of comparison persons and/or synthetically generated data sets; and” (machine learning model with the extracted features from the 2D original images, ... from historical patient data for a certain population; Para 0086);
However, while Liang and Li fail to teach “by comparing the 2D image data with the 2D comparative image data”.
Kosuge teaches “by comparing the 2D image data with the 2D comparative image data,” (comparing dental X-ray images including ... a dental X-ray test image and a dental X-ray reference image; Para 0006); (the similarity calculator ... indicating a similarity between the dental X-ray test image ... and the dental X-ray reference image; Para 0072);
Liang discloses receiving a 2D panoramic dental X ray image of a patient and using deep learning reconstruction technique to generate a patient specific virtual 3D model of the patient’s tooth structures. Li discloses training a machine learning model using 2D images and corresponding 3D dental parameters obtained from historical patient data. Thus, in combination teaching the use of 2D comparative image data and associated 3D comparative data for training a dental reconstruction model. Kosuge discloses comparing a dental X ray test image with a dental X ray reference image and calculating similarity between the images. Kosuge supplies the teaching of comparing patient specific 2D dental image with comparative 2D dental image data. The combination of Liang, Li and Kosuge provides the reconstructing of patient specific 3D dental teeth using deep learning and comparative dental imagining information for prosthesis modeling.
Liang, Li and Kosuge are analogous art as they are related to dental 3D imaging and 3D dental reconstruction.
The motivation for the above is to improve the accuracy of patient specific dental reconstruction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Liang by inputting the 2D image data into a deep learning model, the deep learning model trained using 2D comparative image data and three dimensional (3D) comparative data assigned to the 2D comparative image data of at least individual teeth or oral cavity regions wherein the 2D comparative image data includes real data sets of comparison persons and/or synthetically generated data sets as taught by Li and by comparing the 2D image data with the 2D comparative image data as taught by Kosuge.
Regarding claim 4, Li further teaches “The method according to claim 1, further comprising determining matches and/or deviations of the 2D image data of the patient and the 2D comparative image data in an automated, iterative process.” (an EM algorithm can be used as an iterative technique in which each variable is optimized individually at each step of the algorithm to find 3D models whose 2D rendering most closely matches the 2D image; Para 0006);
Li discloses iteratively comparing 2D renderings to close matches from the 2D images.
The motivation for the above is to have accurate comparison of image data for improving the resulting virtual 3D dental modeling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Liang and Kosuge by determining matches and/or deviations of the 2D image data of the patient and the 2D comparative image data in an automated, iterative process as taught by Li.
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIANG in view of LI in further view of KOSUGE and in further view of KRAUSER (No. US-20200125070-A1 “Krauser”).
Regarding claim 2, while Liang, LI and Kosuge fail to teach the limitation, Krauser teaches “The method according to claim 1, further comprising fabricating the dental prosthesis and/or a physical model of the dental prosthesis is based on the virtual 3D model.” (for fabricating 3D printed dental prostheses... functional dental prosthesis model, using digital information from X-rays, 3D cone-beams, and/or any other scanning data; Para 0046);
Krauser discloses fabricating a dental prosthesis using digital dental information obtained from X rays or tother scanning techniques. Thus, Krauser supplies Liang, Li by teaching the fabrication of dental protheses for digital 3D dental models. The reconstructed 3D dental model generated using the teachings of Liang and Li could be used as the digital input to Krauser’s fabrication process. Using the reconstructed 3D dental model generated by Liang and Li as input to the known digital fabrication of Krauser to manufacture a patient specific dental prosthesis of physical model.
The motivation for the above is to have efficient modeling of dental prostheses for user efficiency.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Liang, LI and Kosuge by fabricating the dental prosthesis and/or a physical model of the dental prosthesis is based on the virtual 3D model as taught by Krauser.
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIANG in view of LI in further view of KOSUGE and in further view of KATZMAN (No. US-20210158607-A1 “Katzman”).
Regarding claim 3, Kosuge further teaches “The method according to claim 1 wherein generating the virtual 3D model comprises determining an optimal match of the 2D image data of the patient with the 2D comparative image data based on a comparative analysis, and” (One “dental X-ray test image” was compared with the 250 “dental X-ray reference images.” Thereby, the comparison score was calculated for each paired dental X-ray images; Para 0087);
However, while Liang, Li and Kosuge fail to teach “creating the virtual 3D model from the 3D comparative data linked to the matched 2D comparative image data”.
Katzman teaches “creating the virtual 3D model from the 3D comparative data linked to the matched 2D comparative image data.” (generates a 3D model of the dental arch; Abstract); (training images of a respective dental arch and a three-dimensional (3D) training model of the respective dental arch; Para 0004);
Kosuge discloses comparing a dental X ray test image with multiple dental X ray references images and calculating a comparison score for each image pair to determine similarity, Thus teaching performing comparative analysis to identify the most closely matching reference image. Katzman discloses generating a 3D dental arch model using ML system trained with 2D dental images and corresponding 3D training models. Kosuge provides the technique for identifying a matching comparative 2D dental image while Katzman provides the use of associated 3D dental information for generating a virtual 3D dental model.
The motivation for the above is to improve the accuracy of patient specific 3D dental reconstruction by matching comparative dental images and using corresponding 3D information to generate virtual 3D model.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Liang, LI and Kosuge by creating the virtual 3D model from the 3D comparative data linked to the matched 2D comparative image data as taught by Katzman.
Claim(s) 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIANG in view of LI in further view of KOSUGE and in further view of WIRJADI (No. US-20210153986-A1 “Wirjadi”).
Regarding claim 5, Wirjadi teaches “The method according to claim 1 further comprising producing the dental prosthesis and/or a physical functional model from the virtual 3D model in an automated process, wherein the automated process includes an additive or subtractive fabricating process.” (to a CAD/CAM module 206 for adaptation to a 3D model of a patient's oral cavity and/or for subsequent manufacturing through means such as milling, grinding or additive manufacturing; Para 0048);
Wirjadi discloses a CAD/CAM module that can create the 3D model though means of additive manufacturing. This teaches the claimed subject matter of an additive fabricating process since it involves the automated process of producing the 3D model. Wirjadi supplied with the teachings of Liang, Li and Kosuge provide a known technique for converting reconstructed virtual dental geometry into a physical dental prothesis.
The motivation for the above is to have efficient and accurate workflow form digital dental reconstruction to physical prothesis.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Liang, LI and Kosuge by producing the dental prosthesis and/or a physical functional model from the virtual 3D model in an automated process, wherein the automated process includes an additive or subtractive fabricating process as taught by Wirjadi.
Regarding claim 6, Wirjadi teaches “The method according to claim 5 wherein producing the dental prosthesis and/or the physical functional model comprises processing the virtual 3D model with Computer-Aided Design-Computer- Aided Manufacturing (CAD-CAM) software.” (manufacturing a physical dental restoration from the final digital dental restoration using a computer-aided design/computer-aided manufacturing (CAD/CAM) system; Para 0016);
Wirjadi discloses a CAD/CAM system that allows for the manufacturing of a physical dental restoration which teaches the claimed subject matter of the fabrication of dental prosthesis physical model via the CAD/CAM software.
The motivation for the above is to have a reconstructed 3D dental model into a manufactured ready geometry and enable automated fabrication of dental prothesis.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Liang, LI and Kosuge by producing the dental prosthesis and/or the physical functional model comprises processing the virtual 3D model with Computer-Aided Design-Computer- Aided Manufacturing (CAD-CAM) software as taught by Wirjadi.
Regarding claim 7, Wirjadi teaches “The method according to claim 1 further comprising transferring the 2D image data obtained from the 2D X-ray images as an image of the natural teeth that are to be replaced to a data memory of a cloud or a server.” (may be used to transfer software or data or other information between the computer system 100 and a remote server or cloud-based storage; Para 0086);
Wirjadi discloses a server or cloud-based storage that store data and other information. This teaches the claimed subject matter of 2D image data transferred and stored in the data memory of a cloud or server. It is obvious to infer other information can included the 2D image data as other data stored in the cloud or server.
The motivation for the above is to improve the accessibility and management of dental imaging information used for 3D reconstruction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Liang, LI and Kosuge by transferring the 2D image data obtained from the 2D X-ray images as an image of the natural teeth that are to be replaced to a data memory of a cloud or a server as taught by Wirjadi.
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable LIANG in view of LI in further view of KOSUGE and in further view of CHEN (No. US-8761493-B2 “Chen”).
Regarding claim 8, while Liang, LI and Kosuge do not teach the limitation, Chen teaches “The method according to claim 1 wherein the deep learning model is generated based on a shape analysis and correspondence finding of a training data volume from computer tomography (CT) and digital volume tomography (DVT) data sets.” (digital CBCT Volume three dimensional teeth segmentation; Col 1, Line 7-8); (3D geometry models of teeth and jaw bones were created based on input CT image data; Col 1, Line 40-41); (reconstructed CT Volume is formed using standard reconstruction algorithms; Col 5, Line 8-9);
Chen discloses CT and CBCT which teach the claimed subject matter of Computer Tomography and Digital Volume Tomography. It is known in the art that CBCT and DVT refer to the same 3D imaging technology, so it is obvious to substitute DVT with CBCT. In combination with the deep learning model taught by Liang and Li.
Liang, Li, Kosuge and Chen are analogous art as they are related to dental imaging.
The motivation for the above is to have accurate algorithm to efficiently generate dental model.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Liang, LI and Kosuge by wherein the deep learning model is generated based on a shape analysis and correspondence finding of a training data volume from computer tomography (CT) and digital volume tomography (DVT) data sets as taught by Chen.
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIANG in view of LI in further view of KOSUGE and in further view of MARSHALL (No. US-8199988-B2 “Marshall”).
Regarding claim 9, while Liang, LI and Kosuge do not teach the limitation, Marshall teaches “The method according to claim 1, further comprising spatially referencing the virtual 3D model and a 3D model data set of an actual state of the patient to each other using a correspondence finding procedure.” (the scan operation 310 can acquire positional information on the bite record in order to properly reference together the two sets of data acquired in the scans; Col 11, Line 7-9);
Marshall discloses a scan operation that teaches the subject matter of a finding procedure. This scan operation quires positional information of two sets of data that teach the claimed subject matter of spatially referenced 3D model data set and virtual 3D model.
Liang, Li, Kosuge and Marshall are analogous art as they are related to dental 3D models and dental imaging.
The motivation for the above is to have efficient finding of data set for user friendly usage.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Liang, LI and Kosuge by spatially referencing the virtual 3D model and a 3D model data set of an actual state of the patient to each other using a correspondence finding procedure as taught by Marshall.
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIANG in view of LI in further view of KOSUGE and in further view of KOPELMAN (No. US-10791936-B2 “Kopelman”).
Regarding claim 10, while Liang, LI and Kosuge do not teach the limitation, Kopelman teaches “The method according to claim 1, further comprising deriving a portion for replacement by the dental prosthesis is based on a differential image analysis of the virtual 3D model and a 3D data set of a current state of the patient.” (the removed/modified teeth are rescanned and these replace the parts of the original virtual model corresponding to these teeth; Col 16, Line 61-63); (applying a corresponding function.... wherein said portion of said virtual model is replaced with a corresponding part of said second 3D virtual model representative of a second physical portion of said second physical part; outputting said modified virtual model; Col 5, Line 5-13);
Kopelman discloses the replacement of parts of the virtual model based on a function. This teaches the claimed subject matter of image analysis of the virtual model to replace a portion.
Liang, Li, Kosuge and Kopelman are analogous art as they are related to dental 3D models and dental imaging.
The motivation for the above is to have accurate replacement of part within the dental model.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Liang, LI and Kosuge by deriving a portion for replacement by the dental prosthesis is based on a differential image analysis of the virtual 3D model and a 3D data set of a current state of the patient as taught by Kopelman.
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIANG in view of LI in further view of KOSUGE and in further view of ZHIVAGO (No. US-20120015330-A1 “Zhivago”).
Regarding claim 12, while Liang, LI and Kosuge do not teach the limitation, Zhivago teaches “The method according to claim 1, further comprising exporting the virtual 3D model as a 3D mesh file.” (This mesh is now converted to a .stl file. A .stl file can be read by a 3D printer to make a temporary dental prosthetic; 0069); (based on the exported .ztl file; Para 0070);
Zhivago discloses converting digital dental mesh into an STL file that can be read by a 3D printer to manufacture a temporary dental prosthetic. Thus, Zhivago teaches exporting digital dental geometry in a 3D mesh file for dental manufacturing. It would be obvious to a person skilled in the art to implement Zhivago’s STL mesh file technique into the dental reconstruing of Liang, Li and Kosuge to enable the reconstructed virtual 3D dental model to be transferred to dental CAD/CAM and printing systems and allow the fabrication of patient specific dental protheses.
Liang, Li, Kosuge and Kopelman are analogous art as they are related to 3D models and imaging.
The motivation for the above is to have.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Liang, LI and Kosuge by exporting the virtual 3D model as a 3D mesh file as taught by Zhivago.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg.7, filed 08/19/2026, with respect to Drawings have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Objection of 05/19/2026 has been withdrawn.
The replacement drawings sheets corrected the previous objection, thus overcome the previous drawings objection.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg.7, filed 08/19/2026, with respect to Claims 1-3, 5-7 and 10 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Rejection of 05/19/2026 has been withdrawn.
The amendments to claims 1-3, 5-7 and 10 have been considered and overcome the previous 112 rejection.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg.8, filed 08/19/2026, with respect to Claim 11 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Rejection of 05/19/2026 has been withdrawn.
Claim 11 has been canceled and thus the 35 USC § 102 rejection for claim 11 has been withdrawal as the claim is no longer relevant.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg.8, filed 08/19/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of LIANG in view of LI in further view of KOSUGE.
Applicant argues that Wirjadi, alone or in combination with Geng, fails to disclose or suggest the foregoing features of amended claim 1. Wirjadi is directed to translating 2D dental designs 2 (such as dental sketches), having design constraints into 3D dental restoration geometries. Wirjadi therefore does not disclose inputting 2D image data from a 2D X-ray image of the patient's originally existing natural teeth into a deep learning model, nor does Wirjadi disclose generating a virtual 3D model "representing a reconstruction of the originally existing natural teeth of the patient," as required by amended claim 1. Geng cannot cure the deficiencies of Wirjadi noted above. Geng was relied upon for disclosing a method to "design and simulate a virtual 3D model of a dental prosthesis based on the 3D digital impression." Geng involves no X-ray image data of the patient's originally existing natural teeth and no deep learning model trained on 2D comparative image data of comparison persons with assigned 3D comparative data as required by amended claim 1. Applicant also argues that Wirjadi and Geng do not disclose the foregoing features of amended claim 1. Nor do Wirjadi and Geng suggest these features. And that Li, Chen, Marshall, and Kopelman fail to cure the above-described deficiencies of Wirjadi and Geng.
Examiner replies that the present rejection relies upon LIANG in view of LI in further view of KOSUGE. Liang discloses receiving a panoramic dental X ray and reconstructing patient specific 3D tooth structures using deep learning reconstruction technique. (SEE Abstract). Li discloses training a model with multiple dental imaging examples and associated 3D dental parameters including information obtained from historical patient datasets. (SEE 0086-0087). The arguments directed at Wirjadi and Geng do not overcome the combined teachings of Liang and Li. In addition, incorporating Kosuge’s dental image similarity analysis (SEE 0006, 0072) into Liang’s reconstruction framework and Li’s providing corresponding 2D and 3D comparative training information, facilitates an evaluation of tooth structures during dental reconstruction. The modification of the combined teachings would employ an established dental image comparison technique in a dental imaging application to improve the selection or evaluation of comparative dental information. Also, unlike the previous cited restoration design reference, Liang directly teaches reconstruction of patient dental anatomy. The use of reconstructed geometry for dental prothesis design is further supported by the CAD/CAM techniques and dental restoration discussed in the additional resources. Regarding dependent claims 2-10 and new claim 12, they are rejected at least by virtue of dependency on rejected base claim 1 under Liang in view of Li in further view of Kosuge.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20190029783-A1 (Wu) – Discloses generating a scan model that is a mathematical model to simulate an imaging process performed by an x-ray imaging device that created a two-dimensional x-ray image of at least one tooth. The scan model uses an initial estimate of one or more parameters of the x-ray imaging device to simulate the imaging process on a three-dimensional model.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.D.P./Examiner, Art Unit 2612
/Said Broome/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2612