Response to Arguments
Claims 1, 3-8, 12 and 14-16 were amended, , and new claim 17 has been added. Claims 1-17 are currently pending.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 06/10/2026, and in light of Applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 16 and 17 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new rejection (see infra).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 9-11, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KOMATSU et al. (US 20190377166 A1, hereinafter “KOMATSU”), in view of Japanese Patent Publication No. JP 2003219246 A to YOKONUMA NORIKAZU (employing the provided machine translation and hereafter “YOKONUMA”).
Regarding claim 1, KOMATSU teaches an information processing device (Figs. 1&4: signal processing unit 120) comprising:
a memory storing a program, and at least one processor configured to execute the program to perform operations (Figs. 1&4, [0119], [0127]&[0162]: The signal processing unit 120 processes a signal output from the image sensor 110 to generate image data for output. In this case, correction processing of focus breathing is also executed. Program that is executed by the microcomputer is stored in the ROM.) comprising:
acquiring meta-information regarding breathing correction of a moving image (Figs. 1&4-7, [0161]-[0162]&[0173]: an angle-of-view correction information storage unit 120D stores correction information of the angle of view needed in a case where the angle-of-view correction unit 120C subjects source image data to the magnification and reduction processing. Image data is subjected to the magnification and reduction processing (also referred to as an electronic beam or a digital zoom) depending on the focus position, whereby it is possible to correct fluctuation of the angle of view, and to correct focus breathing.); and Figs. 1&4-7, [0161]-[0162]&[0173]: In the angle-of-view correction information storage unit 120D, information regarding the magnification/reduction rate determined for each focus position at each focal length is stored as information regarding the correction amount of the angle of view. Image data is subjected to the magnification and reduction processing (also referred to as an electronic beam or a digital zoom) depending on the focus position, whereby it is possible to correct fluctuation of the angle of view, and to correct focus breathing.).
KOMATSU does not disclose associating the meta-information with the moving image.
However, YOKONUMA discloses associating the meta-information with the moving image (In recording image data in an internal or external recording part, distortion correction information indicating the degree of distortion of an image of an object is generated on the basis of prestored distortion information, and the distortion correction information is associated with the image data to be stored. If the distortion correction information and the image data are stored respectively and are associated with each other, non-distortion image can be acquired, and also the degree of freedom to select as to whether to correct distortion is given to the user).
Therefore, taking the combination teaching of KOMATSU in view of YOKONUMA as a whole, after considering the concept of acquiring information regarding the correction amount of the angle of view from the angle-of-view correction information storage as taught in KOMATSU, and the concept of correction information is associated with the image data to be stored as taught in YOKONUMA. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate associating the meta-information with the moving image as taught by YOKONUMA into KOMATSU information processing device. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would be to allow a non-distortion image can be acquired, and also the degree of freedom to select as to whether to correct distortion is given to the user (YOKONUMA: [0040]-[0041]).
Regarding claim 2, KOMATSU and YOKONUMA combination teaches the information processing device according to claim 1, in addition in addition KOMATSU discloses further comprising: an imaging element configured to capture an object image incident through a lens device including a focus lens (Fig. 1, [0072]&[0115]: imaging apparatus body 100 comprises an image sensor 110 as imaging means and first lens group G1 is a focusing lens group).
Regarding claim 3, KOMATSU and YOKONUMA combination teaches the information processing device according to claim 1, in addition KOMATSU discloses wherein the operations further comprise: performing internal breathing correction for the moving image on a basis of the meta-information (Figs. 1&4-7, [0161]-[0162]&[0173]: the angle-of-view correction information storage unit 120D stores correction information of the angle of view needed in a case where the angle-of-view correction unit 120C subjects source image data to the magnification and reduction processing. Image data is subjected to the magnification and reduction processing (also referred to as an electronic beam or a digital zoom) depending on the focus position, whereby it is possible to correct fluctuation of the angle of view, and to correct focus breathing.).
Regarding claim 6, KOMATSU and YOKONUMA combination teaches the information processing device according to claim 1, in addition KOMATSU discloses wherein the meta-information includes information regarding a minimum value and a maximum value of the internal breathing correction amount of the breathing correction (Fig. 7 : [0164]&[0190]-[0203]: the angle of view changes depending on the focus position. Accordingly, image data is subjected to the magnification and reduction processing (also referred to as an electronic beam or a digital zoom) depending on the focus position, whereby it is possible to correct fluctuation of the angle of view, and to correct focus breathing. A minimum angle of view or a maximum angle of view out of the angle of view of output image data (image data of the output area) fluctuating with focusing is set as the reference angle of view at each focal length.).
Regarding claim 7, KOMATSU and YOKONUMA combination teaches the information processing device according to claim 1, in addition KOMATSU discloses wherein the meta-information includes at least one of information regarding presence or absence of execution of the internal breathing correction or information regarding the internal breathing correction amount when the internal breathing correction is performed (Fig. 6, [0180]-[0181]: In the angle-of-view correction unit 120C, a case where the reduction processing can be executed is limited to a case where the output area is set to be smaller than the effective area. Since the reduction processing is processing for magnifying the angle of view, in a case where there is no image having an angle of view greater than the angle of view of the output area, the image cannot be reduced. For this reason, a case where the reduction processing can be executed is limited to a case where the output area is set to be smaller than the effective area.).
Regarding claim 9, KOMATSU and YOKONUMA combination teaches the information processing device according to claim 1, in addition KOMATSU discloses wherein the meta-information includes information regarding a position of a focus lens and a position of a zoom lens detected at an interval shorter than an imaging cycle of each frame constituting the moving image (Fig. 6, [0177]-[0180]: the function of acquiring information regarding the current focus position (position of the of the focusing lens group) from the imaging lens 10A is provided by the focus position information acquisition unit 140D, and the function of acquiring information regarding the current focal length (position of the zoom lens) is provided by the focal length information acquisition unit 140E.).
Regarding claim 10, KOMATSU and YOKONUMA combination teaches the information processing device according to claim 2, in addition KOMATSU discloses wherein the meta-information includes information regarding a setting of the imaging element at a time of capturing the moving image ([0129]: information acquisition unit that acquires information regarding a size of the image sensor from an imaging apparatus body in which the zoom lens is mounted, and an area setting unit that sets the effective area and the output area based on information regarding a size of an image circle of the zoom lens and information regarding the size of the image sensor.).
Regarding claim 11, KOMATSU and YOKONUMA combination teaches the information processing device according to claim 1, in addition KOMATSU discloses wherein the meta-information includes information regarding presence or absence of execution of optical breathing correction for the moving image (Fig. 6, [0180]-[0181]: In the angle-of-view correction unit 120C, a case where the reduction processing can be executed is limited to a case where the output area is set to be smaller than the effective area. Since the reduction processing is processing for magnifying the angle of view, in a case where there is no image having an angle of view greater than the angle of view of the output area, the image cannot be reduced. For this reason, a case where the reduction processing can be executed is limited to a case where the output area is set to be smaller than the effective area.)
Regarding claim 16, Method claim 16 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 1. Therefore, method claim 16 corresponds to apparatus claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 1 and in accordance with KOMATSU's further teaching on: non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program, the program being executable by a processor to perform operations ([0006]: a non-transitory computer readable recording medium storing a signal processing program for an imaging apparatus capable of capturing a high quality image with a compact configuration.).
Claims 4-5, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over the KOMATSU and YOKONUMA combination as applied above, in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 20170034421 A1, hereinafter “Yamazaki”).
Regarding claim 4, KOMATSU and YOKONUMA combination teaches the information processing device according to claim 1, except wherein the meta-information associating unit is capable of switching whether or not to associate the moving image with the meta-information.
However, Yamazaki discloses wherein the meta-information associating unit is capable of switching whether or not to associate the moving image with the meta-information (Fig. 6, [0076]-[0081]: In Step S608, the parameter generating unit 117 records the metadata in the volatile memory 105 based on the result of determination in Step S607. Then either add the metadata generated at S608 to the image acquired by photographing based on the status of the switch SW2 at S609).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the meta-information associating unit is capable of switching whether or not to associate the moving image with the meta-information as taught by Yamazaki into KOMATSU and YOKONUMA combination. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would be to perform breathing correction in order to quickly determine whether or not refocusing for bringing a plurality of objects on the photographed image into focus is possible (Yamazaki: [0008]).
Regarding claim 5, KOMATSU, YOKONUMA and Yamazaki combination teaches the information processing device according to claim 4, in addition Yamazaki discloses wherein the meta-information associating unit is capable of switching whether or not to associate the moving image with the meta-information on a basis of at least one of diaphragm information at a time of capturing the moving image, information of an imaging element, information of a position of a focus lens and a position of a zoom lens, information regarding internal breathing correction, or information regarding a recording medium on which the moving image is recorded (Fig. 6, [0076]-[0081]: In Step S608, the parameter generating unit 117 records the metadata in the volatile memory 105 based on the result of determination in Step S607 which determines whether or not the refocusing for bringing each of the objects into focus is possible).
Regarding claim 14, KOMATSU and YOKONUMA combination teaches the information processing device according to claim 1, except wherein the operations further comprise: changing the meta-information to be associated with on a basis of a predetermined condition.
However, Yamazaki discloses wherein the operations further comprise: changing the meta-information to be associated with on a basis of a predetermined condition (Fig. 6, [0076]-[0081]: In Step S608, the parameter generating unit 117 records the metadata in the volatile memory 105 based on the result of determination in Step S607 which determines whether or not the refocusing for bringing each of the objects into focus is possible. Then either add the metadata generated at S608 to the image acquired by photographing based on the status of the switch SW2 at S609).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the operations further comprise: changing the meta-information to be associated with on a basis of a predetermined condition as taught by Yamazaki into KOMATSU and YOKONUMA combination. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would be to perform breathing correction in order to quickly determine whether or not refocusing for bringing a plurality of objects on the photographed image into focus is possible (Yamazaki: [0008]).
Regarding claim 15, KOMATSU, YOKONUMA and Yamazaki combination teaches the information processing device according to claim 14, in addition Yamazaki discloses wherein the operations further comprise: switching the meta-information to be associated with the moving image on a basis of at least one of diaphragm information at a time of capturing the moving image, information of an imaging element, information of a position of a focus lens and a position of a zoom lens, information regarding internal breathing correction, or information regarding a recording medium on which the moving image is recorded (Fig. 6, [0076]-[0081]: In Step S608, the parameter generating unit 117 records the metadata in the volatile memory 105 based on the result of determination in Step S607 which determines whether or not the refocusing for bringing each of the objects into focus is possible).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over the KOMATSU and YOKONUMA combination as applied above, in view of STERN; Jonathan Michael (US 20170134620 A1, hereinafter “STERN”).
Regarding claim 12, KOMATSU and YOKONUMA combination teaches the information processing device according to claim 1, except wherein the meta-information includes information regarding executability of breathing correction based on the internal breathing correction amount for each line of each frame constituting the moving image.
However, STERN discloses wherein the meta-information includes information regarding executability of breathing correction based on the internal breathing correction amount for each line of each frame constituting the moving image (Figs. 1-3, [0047]: image breathing correction process involves using a one line buffer in the memory and applying the correction to form a corrected line of image data line by line.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the meta-information includes information regarding executability of breathing correction based on the internal breathing correction amount for each line of each frame constituting the moving image as taught by STERN into KOMATSU and YOKONUMA combination. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would be to enable real time processing of high-speed scans, significantly reducing latency and memory requirements, essential for artifacts corrections.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over the KOMATSU and YOKONUMA combination as applied above, in view of KOBAYASHI et al. (US 20250024154 A1, hereinafter “KOBAYASHI”).
Regarding claim 13, KOMATSU and YOKONUMA combination teaches the information processing device according to claim 1, except wherein the meta-information is classified into one of frame meta-information associated with each frame constituting the moving image and clip meta-information associated with the moving image.
However, KOBAYASHI discloses wherein the meta-information is classified into one of frame meta-information associated with each frame constituting the moving image (Fig. 11, [0095]: first assignment unit 44C includes the whole-related information 74, which is acquired by the acquisition unit 44A, in the metadata 80 to assign the whole-related information 74 to the moving image file 78. The whole-related information 74 included in the metadata 80 is an example of “first accessory information” and “information related to all the frames included in the frame group” according to the present disclosed technology.) and clip meta-information associated with the moving image (Fig. 10, [0095]: second assignment unit 44D includes the plurality of pieces of partial plurality-of-frame-related information 64, which are acquired by the acquisition unit 44A, in the metadata 80 to assign the plurality of pieces of partial plurality-of-frame-related information 64 to the moving image file 78. The plurality of pieces of frame-related information 56 and the plurality of pieces of partial plurality-of-frame-related information 64, which are included in the metadata 80, are examples of “second accessory information” according to the present disclosed technology.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the meta-information is classified into one of frame meta-information associated with each frame constituting the moving image as taught by KOBAYASHI into KOMATSU and YOKONUMA combination. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would be to provide a generation method capable of understanding a content of an image file without reproducing the image file (KOBAYASHI: [0004]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Stokking et al. (US 20190378289 A1) a system and method may obtain image data of the object from a camera, obtain camera metadata indicative of an angle of view of the camera, estimate an object distance between the object and the camera, and estimate a physical size of the object in physical space by determining an image size of the object in the image data, and determining a relation between the image size and the physical size of the object on the basis of the camera metadata and the object distance.
MIYATANI et al. (US 20200396380 A1) a method of associating the detection image with the metadata is not especially limited as long as a correspondence relationship between the detection image and the metadata may be specified. For example, by assigning the metadata to image data including the detection image, assigning the same ID to the detection image and the metadata, or recording the detection image and the metadata on the same recording medium 130, the detection image and the metadata are associated with each other.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/ABDELAAZIZ TISSIRE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638