DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “planar portion” as recited in claim 1; and a “camber” in the planar portion, as recited in claim 26 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 1, it is unclear from the specification to what or which structure applicant is referring with the recited “planar portion”. Applicant’s arguments, filed 09/24/2026, indicates the planar portion is disclosed with reference numeral 12, however those arguments contradict the Amendment to the Written Description which discloses reference numeral 12 as “central portion”. Further, Applicant arguments indicated reference numeral 12 is the planar portion, but reference numeral 12 appears to be the same surface as reference numeral 16 in figure 2, however in figure 3, reference numeral 16 is not planar. Regarding claim 26, it is unclear which structure is referred as a “camber” of the planar portion. Applicant’s Written Description mention the terms of the “planar portion” and the “camber” of the planar portion, but fails to properly disclose what exactly is the “planar portion” and its “camber”. Nowhere in the written description is a reference numeral identifying any of the planar portion and a camber of the planar portion. Regarding claims 12-27, the claims are rejected because inherit the same issues from independent claim 11 based on its dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-15, 17, 19, 21 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wilkinson (US 2020/0237144).
Claim 11
Wilkinson discloses a carrier (10) for items to be cooked, comprising a sheet-like base (defined by 100 in combination with 200) including a planar portion (110) with alternately relatively higher portion (defined by top surface of 130) and deeper (defined by bottom of 130) portions (see figures 6 and 7), with the higher portions forming closed elevations capable of supporting the items to be cooked, and with the deeper portions between the elevations having each a plurality of base apertures (132), wherein the base contains a placement portion (240), said planar portion being arranged above the placement portion in a height direction, wherein the placement portion encloses the planar portion in a frame-shaped manner (see figure 6).
Claim 12
Wilkinson further discloses the carrier is constructed in a form of a baking tray (see figure 6).
Claim 13
Wilkinson further discloses the elevations are ridges (see figures 6 and 7).
Claim 14
Wilkinson further discloses the deeper portions are channels (see figure 6).
Claim 15
Wilkinson further discloses the plurality of base apertures are uniformly spaced (see figure 6).
Claim 17
Wilkinson further discloses the placement portion is arranged adjacent to a wall of the carrier which wall extends away from the base (see figure above).
Claim 19
Wilkinson discloses a carrier (10) for items to be cooked, the carrier comprising a base (100) including a planar portion having alternating higher portions (defined by top surface of 130) and deeper portions (defined by bottom of 130) (see figures 6 and 7), wherein the base is shaped as a sheet, wherein the higher portions form elevations capable of supporting the items to be cooked, and wherein the deeper portions are arranged between the higher portions and each deeper portion comprises a plurality of base apertures (132), wherein the base contains a placement portion (140), wherein the planar portion is arranged above the placement portion in a height direction (see figure 4).
Claim 21
Wilkinson further discloses the base apertures are shaped configured as slots which extend parallel to the closed elevations at a lowest point of the planar portion in a height direction (see figure 7).
Claim 26
Wilkinson further discloses the planar portion has a camber in a negative height/downward direction (see figure 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20, 24, 25 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilkinson (US 2020/0237144) as applied to claims 11, 16, or 26 above.
Claims 20, 24, 25 and 27
Wilkinson is silent disclosing distance between the planar portion and the placement portion; distance between the base apertures and the crest portions; distance between base apertures; and a sized of the camber in the planar portion, as required. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the carrier of Wilkinson having the required distance between the planar portion and the placement portion; distance between the base apertures and the crest portions; and distance between base apertures as required depending the desired size of the carrier and/or drainage effectiveness of the carrier when food is placed over the carrier. Please note that applicant’s specification does not disclose any criticality for the distances and/or measurements required for the carrier.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding applicant argument with respect to the drawing objection, the examiner disagrees. The amendment of the Applicant’s Written Description indicates the planar portion is reference numeral 12, however this is inconsistent with the Amended Written Description which discloses reference numeral 12 is “central portion”. Regarding the arguments that the “camber”, recited in claims 26 and 27, does not need to be shown, the examiner disagrees. Every single structural feature required in the claims needs to be shown for complete and proper understanding of the invention. See MPEP 608.02(d). With respect to the argument of the 112, second paragraph, the examiner disagrees. Applicant’s arguments, filed 09/24/2026, indicates the planar portion is disclosed with reference numeral 12 which contradict the Amendment to the Written Description that discloses reference numeral 12 as “central portion”. In addition, Applicant arguments indicated reference numeral 12 is the planar portion, but reference numeral 12 appears to be the same surface and/or structure as reference numeral 16 in figure 2. Furthermore, figure 3, reference numeral 16, is not planar. Nowhere in the written description is a reference numeral explicitly indicating what is the “planar portion”, and in a same way disclosing what structure is the “camber” of the planar portion. The definiteness of the claim elements is not determined by the presence of reference labels in the specification but helps to better understand the feature applicant is referring to and properly interpret the claimed invention. Regarding applicant’s argument with respect to the prior art, the arguments are moot because the claims are rejected based on the teachings of a new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the applicant, in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or prior art(s) disclosed by the Examiner (in the attached PTO-892 form).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RAFAEL A. ORTIZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3736
/RAFAEL A ORTIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736