DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “planar portion” as recited in claim 1; and a “camber” in the planar portion, as recited in claim 26 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 1, it is unclear to what or which structure applicant is referring with the recited “planar portion”. Regarding claim 26, it is unclear which structure is referred as a “camber” of the planar portion. Nowhere in the written description is a reference numeral identifying any of the planar portion and a camber of the planar portion. Regarding claims 12-27, the claims are rejected because inherit the same issues from independent claim 11 based on its dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-18, 21 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anderson (3,834,606).
Claims 11, 13 and 14
As best understood, Anderson discloses a carrier (2) capable to be used for items to be cooked, comprising a sheet-like base (4) including a planar portion with alternately relatively higher/ridges (defined by raised portions 8) and deeper/channel portions (defined by portions between the raised portions 8), with the higher portions forming closed elevations capable of supporting the items to be cooked, and with the deeper portions between the elevations having each a plurality of base apertures (7) (see figure 1).
Claim 12
Anderson further discloses the carrier having a form of a baking tray (see figure 1).
Claim 15
Anderson further discloses the plurality of base apertures are uniformly spaced (see figure 1).
Claim 16
Anderson further discloses the base contains a placement portion (defined by recess formed around the periphery of the carrier adjacent to raised portion 8 as shown in figure 2), said planar portion being arranged above the placement portion in a height direction.
Claim 17
Anderson further discloses the placement portion is arranged adjacent to a wall of the carrier which wall extends away from the base (see figures 1 and 2).
Claim 18
Anderson further discloses the placement portion encloses the planar portion (see figure above).
Claim 21
Anderson further discloses the base apertures are configured as slots which extend parallel to the closed elevations at a lowest point of the planar portion in a height direction (see figure 1).
Claim 26
Anderson further discloses the planar portion has a camber in a negative/downward height direction with respect to raised portions (8) (see figures 1 and 2).
Claims 11-19, 21 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (DE 202019004099) (provided by the applicant).
Claim 11, 13 and 14
AS best as understood, DE ‘099 discloses a carrier (1) for items to be cooked, comprising a sheet-like base including a planar portion (defined by top of surface 16) with alternately relatively higher/ridge portions (8) and deeper/channel portions (10), with the higher/ridge portions forming closed elevations for supporting the items to be cooked (see page 5), and with the deeper portions between the elevations having each a plurality of base apertures for drainage (see abstract and page 2).
Claim 12
DE ‘099 further discloses the carrier in a form of a baking tray (see figure 1).
Claim 15
DE ‘099 further discloses the plurality of base apertures are uniformly spaced (see figure 4).
Claim 16
DE ‘099 further discloses the base contains a placement portion (22), said planar portion being arranged above the placement portion in a height direction (see figure 2).
Claim 17
DE ‘099 further discloses the placement portion is arranged adjacent to a wall (20) of the carrier which wall extends away from the base (see figure 2).
Claims 18 and 19
DE ‘099 further discloses the placement portion encloses the planar portion in a frame-shaped manner (see figures 2 and 4).
Claim 21
DE ‘099 further discloses the base apertures are configured as slots (see page 2) which extend parallel to the closed elevations at a lowest point of the planar portion in a
height direction (see figures 1 and 4).
Claim 26
DE ‘099 further discloses the planar portion has a camber (defined by portion pointed by reference numeral 14 between surface 16 and recess 12) in a negative height direction (see figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20, 24, 25 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (DE 202019004099) as applied to claims 11, 16, or 26 above.
Claims 20, 24, 25 and 27
DE ‘099 is silent disclosing distance between the planar portion and the placement portion; distance between the base apertures and the crest portions; distance between base apertures; and a sized of the camber in the planar portion, as required. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the carrier of DE ‘099 having the required distance between the planar portion and the placement portion; distance between the base apertures and the crest portions; and distance between base apertures as required depending the desired size of the carrier and/or drainage effectiveness of the carrier when food is placed over the carrier. Please note that applicant’s specification does not disclose any criticality for the distances and/or measurements required for the carrier.
Conclusion
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the applicant, in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or prior art(s) disclosed by the Examiner (in the attached PTO-892 form).
RAFAEL A. ORTIZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3736
/RAFAEL A ORTIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736