DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to the Applicant’s claim amendment filed on 07/14/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 07/14/2026, with respect to claim rejections under 35 USC 103 have been considered but are moot in view of a new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-14 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grossmann et al. (US 2023/0421220 A1).
Consider claims 1, 18 and 19:
Grossmann discloses a channel information feedback method (see paragraphs 0037-0042, where Grossmann describes a method for a user equipment (UE) to provide feedback about a MINO channel in a wireless communication system; see Fig. 5 and paragraph 0183, where Grossmann describes that the UE includes a microprocessor that is configured to execute computer program instructions stored in a non-transitory computer-readable medium), comprising:
constructing a basic vector set according to a vector configuration rule (see paragraph 0056, where Grossmann describes that the user equipment (UE) determines a basis vector set which includes a first basis set and a second basis set according to a CSI report configuration), and
selecting a basic vector from the basic vector set as a target basis vector (see paragraph 0056, where Grossmann describes that the UE obtains the second basis set from the basis vector set, and the second basis set has P basis vectors, Examiner’s note: each basis vector of the P basis vectors is considered a target basis vector),
wherein the vector configuration rule comprises: dimension information of basic vectors in the basic vector set specifying a dimension of the basic vectors (see paragraph 0056, where Grossmann describes that there are P basis vectors in the second basis set according to the CSI report configuration),
generation rule information of the basic vectors specifying how the basic vectors are generated (see paragraph 0056, where Grossmann describes that the P basis vectors are determined for a number of antenna ports, according to the CSI report configuration; see paragraph 0073, where Grossmann describes that each basis vector of the P basis vectors is associated with a single antenna port), and
information of a number of the basic vectors specifying how many basic vectors are added to the basic vector set (see paragraph 0056, where Grossmann describes that the basis vector set includes a first basis set and a second basis set, the first basis set comprises D basis vectors, and the second basis set comprises P basis vectors, according to the CSI report configuration),
determining vector identification bits (see paragraph 0127, where Grossmann describes that the UE uses bits in a bit-map to identify P’ basis vectors selected from the P basis vectors, Examiner’s note: the P basis vectors are considered a row of basis vectors);
determining an extended vector according to the target basic vector and the vector identification bits (see paragraph 0127, where Grossmann describes that UE selects P’ basis vectors from the P basis vectors based on the bit-map, each bit in the bit-map may be associated with one basis vector of the P basis vectors, a ‘1’ in the bit-map may indicate that the associated basis vector is selected; Examiner’s note: a selected basis vector is considered an extended vector);
constructing a codebook according to the extended vector (see paragraph 0127, where Grossmann describes that a selected basis vector is selected as a vector of a precoding matrix; see paragraph 0011, where Grossmann describes that a set of precoding matrices is a codebook); and
performing channel information feedback by using the codebook (see paragraph 0130, where Grossmann describes that the UE sends a channel state information (CSI) report which comprises the selected basis vectors; see paragraph 0024, where Grossmann describes that the CSI reporting is a feedback which is codebook-based).
Grossmann does not explicitly disclose: the above vector identification bits are vector row identification bits.
However, Grossmann teaches “Each bit in the bitmap may be associated with one basis vector of the second basis set.” (see paragraph 0127). That is, Grossmann’s bits are used to identify basis vectors. Grossmann further teaches that the identified basis vectors are represented as a row of basis vectors (see paragraph 0132).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to state that the above vector identification bits are vector row identification bits, in order to have better description of the vector identification bits.
Consider claim 4:
Grossmann discloses the method of claim 1 above. Grossmann discloses: the vector row identification bits comprise at least one of: basic vector row identification bits or extended vector row identification bits (see paragraph 0127, where Grossmann describes that the bits in the bit-map identify P’ basis vectors).
Consider claim 5:
Grossmann discloses the method of claim 4 above. Grossmann discloses: the basic vector row identification bits indicate an index of a selected row of the target basic vector, and the extended vector row identification bits indicate an index of a selected row of the extended vector (see paragraph 0127, where Grossmann describes that a bit in the bit-map identifies a basis vector in the P’ basis vectors; see paragraph 0132, where Grossmann describes that the P’ basis vectors are represented by {PS , PS +1, …, PS +P’-1}).
Consider claim 6:
Grossmann discloses the method of claim 4 above. Grossmann discloses: determining the vector row identification bits comprises: determining the basic vector row identification bits according to a bitmap signaling; or determining the basic vector row identification bits according to a basic-vector-row (see paragraph 0127, where Grossmann describes that the UE uses bits in a bit-map to identify P’ basis vectors selected from the P basis vectors, a ‘1’ in the bit-map may indicate that the associated basis vector is selected, and a ‘0’ in the bit-map may indicate that the associated basis vector is not selected).
Consider claim 7:
Grossmann discloses the method of claim 6 above. Grossmann discloses: the basic-vector-row-identification-bit mapping function is configured by a base station (see paragraph 0127, where Grossmann describes that the bit-map is included in the CSI report; see paragraph 0060, where Grossmann describes that the CSI report is configured by a base station).
Consider claim 8:
Grossmann discloses the method of claim 6 above. Grossmann discloses: the basic-vector-row-identification-bit variable is formed by one element or a plurality of different elements, an element is an integer, and the plurality of different elements are consecutive integers or non-consecutive integers (see paragraph 0127, where Grossmann describes that a bit in the bit-map can take the value of ‘1’ or ‘0’).
Consider claim 9:
Grossmann discloses the method of claim 6 above. Grossmann discloses: determining the basic vector row identification bits according to a group of basic-vector-row-identification-bit variables and one basic-vector-row-identification-bit mapping function (see paragraph 0127, where Grossmann describes that each bit in the bit-map can take the value of ‘1’ or ‘0’ and that a bit-map includes a group of bits).
Consider claim 10:
Grossmann discloses the method of claim 4 above. Grossmann discloses: the extended vector row identification bits are determined according to a bitmap signaling; or the extended vector row identification bits are determined according to an extended-vector-row-identification-bit variable and an extended-vector-row-identification-bit mapping function (see paragraph 0127, where Grossmann describes that the UE uses bits in a bit-map to identify P’ basis vectors selected from the P basis vectors, a ‘1’ in the bit-map may indicate that the associated basis vector is selected, and a ‘0’ in the bit-map may indicate that the associated basis vector is not selected).
Consider claim 11:
Grossmann discloses the method of claim 10 above. Grossmann discloses: the extended-vector-row-identification-bit mapping function is configured by a base station (see paragraph 0127, where Grossmann describes that the bit-map is included in the CSI report; see paragraph 0060, where Grossmann describes that the CSI report is configured by a base station).
Consider claim 12:
Grossmann discloses the method of claim 10 above. Grossmann discloses: the extended-vector-row-identification-bit variable is formed by one element or a plurality of different elements, an element is an integer, and the plurality of different elements are consecutive integers or non-consecutive integers (see paragraph 0127, where Grossmann describes that a bit in the bit-map can take the value of ‘1’ or ‘0’).
Consider claim 13:
Grossmann discloses the method of claim 10 above. Grossmann discloses: determining the extended vector row identification bits according to a group of extended-vector-row-identification-bit variables and one extended-vector-row-identification-bit mapping function (see paragraph 0127, where Grossmann describes that each bit in the bit-map can take the value of ‘1’ or ‘0’ and that a bit-map includes a group of bits).
Consider claim 14:
Grossmann discloses the method of claim 1 above. Grossmann discloses: determining the extended vector according to the target basic vector, basic vector row identification bits, and a type of the basic vector row identification bits, wherein the vector row identification bits comprises the basic vector row identification bits (see paragraph 0127, where Grossmann describes that UE selects P’ basis vectors from the P basis vectors based on the bit-map, each bit in the bit-map may be associated with one basis vector of the P basis vectors, a ‘1’ in the bit-map may indicate that the associated basis vector is selected).`
Consider claim 17:
Grossmann discloses the method of claim 1 above. Grossmann discloses: the vector row identification bits are capable of being dynamically adjusted with time (see paragraph 0127, where Grossmann describes that the bits in the bit-map are used to select basis vectors for a precoding matrix; see paragraph 0016, where Grossmann describes that the precoding matrix is updated for the next transmission time interval).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LIHONG YU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631