DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In this case, claim 8 recites “an upside of the second catalyst layer”, this term is a relative term because the basisi or position for “upside” is relative but such basis in the instant application appears lacking, therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art is uncertain what side of second catalyst layer can be considered as “upside”. Therefore, such limitation renders claim indefiniteness. For broadest reasonable interpretation, any side of the second catalyst layer can be considered as “upside”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Matsumura et al (JP2017/006905) (for applicant’s convenience, machine translation provided by applicant has been used for citations hereof).
Matsumura et al teaches an exhaust gas purification catalyst comprising an Rh-containing catalyst layer (item 3, Fig. 1) on a substrate (item 1 Fig. 1-2) which contains Rh as catalytic metal and CeZr composite oxide (item 9, Fig. 1, example 1-11, table 1 and 3, claim 1-7).
Regarding claim 1, as for the claimed “a”/”b”, Matsumura et al. further teaches 23 wt.% (or 10 wt. %) of CeO2 containing binder, a composite oxide of CeZrNdLaYOx being used as carrier, 10% of Y2O3 (or 5 wt. %) contained in such composite oxide (table 1), and also a cerium free binder particle of ZrLaYOx being used as carrier which has 10 wt.% of Y2O3 (table 1-2,example 1-11). Matsumura et al. also teaches the cerium containing composite can be contained more than 75% by weight (Fig. 2, para. [0070]). Base on such teachings, Matsumura et al. disclosed molar amount Ce in the Rh catalyst layer as divided by the molar amount Y in the Rh catalyst layer being within or overlapping with that of instantly claimed “a”/”b” thus render a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP §2144. 05 I). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt a same “a”/”b” in such Rh catalyst layer via routine experimentation (see MPEP §2144. 05 II) for help obtaining an exhaust gas catalyst with desired performance.
Regarding claim 2-5, Matsumura et al. already teaches such limitations as discussed above.
Regarding claim 6, Matsumura et al. also teaches the Rh containing layer having certain weight percentage of Rh (table 1, 3), such teachings suggest a ratio of Rh molar amount/Y molar amount being within or overlapping with that of instantly claimed “c”/”b” thus render a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP §2144. 05 I). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt a same “c”/”b” in such Rh catalyst layer via routine experimentation (see MPEP §2144. 05 II) for help obtaining an exhaust gas catalyst with desired catalytic performance.
Regarding claim 7 and 9, Matsumura et al. also teaches the catalyst containing a second catalyst layer which can comprise Pd (item 2, Fig. 1, claim 8, example 1-11).
Regarding claim 8, Matsumura et al. also teaches there is an upstream catalyst layer (item 31, Fig. 2) provided on an upside of the Rh catalyst layer (item 32 of Fig. 2, para. [0065]-[0071], example 7-11).
Double Patenting
Claim 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-4 of co-pending application S/N 18/699827 in view of Matsumura et al (JP2017/006905). Co-pending application’827 teaches a substantially the same catalyst comprising a Rh layer and a Pd layer, but does not teach the “a”/”b” ratio or “c”/”b” ratio in the Rh layer, but such limitations have been taught by Matsumura et al as discussed above. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt such well known “a”/”b” ratio and “c”/”b” ratio in such Rh catalyst layer as shown by Matsumura et al to modify a well-known exhaust gas catalyst for improvement would have predictable results (see MPEP §2143 KSR).
Conclusion
/JUN LI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732