DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite because it is unclear whether the CCS viscosity and HTHS viscosity are referring to the base oil or the lubricant composition as a whole. The claim is being treated as the two viscosity measurements are referring to the lubricant composition as a whole.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamada, US Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0029892 (hereinafter referred to as Yamada).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 5 and 9, Yamada discloses a lubricating oil composition for an internal combustion engine (as recited in claims 5 and 9) (see Abstract) with excellent fuel saving performance comprising a base oil having a NOACK value of 6% (as recited in claim 1) wherein the composition as a whole has a CCS viscosity at -25°C is 5400 mPas (as recited in claim 1) and an HTHS viscosity at 150°C is 3.5 mPas (as recited in claim 1) (see Table 1/Example 4). Yamada further discloses 1-2 wt% of a polymeric compound-1 which is a polymethacrylate (PMA), mass average molecular weight of 45,000 (ACLUBE C-728 manufactured by Sanyo Chemical Industries, Ltd.) (as recited in claim 3) (see Table 1/Example 4 and Para. [0091]) and the presence of calcium salicylates (Para. [0055]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada in view of Smith et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0032158 (hereinafter referred to as Smith).
Regarding claims 2-13, Yamada discloses all the limitations discussed above including lubricating oil compositions for use in internal combustion engines. Yamada does not, however, explicitly disclose the internal combustion engines operating on hydrogen fuel as recited in claim 2, nor the engine being equipped with a turbocharger as recited in claim 4.
Smith discloses lubricating oil compositions comprising a major concentration of base oil to which are added additives including calcium salicylate (Para. [0119]) and polymethacrylate-based viscosity index improvers (Para. [0132]) for use in internal combustion engines that run on hydrogen fuel (as recited in claim 2) (Para. [0002] and [0047]) and are equipped with a supercharger (as recited in claim 4) (Para. [0046]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the lubricating oil composition of Yamada in the engine of Smith as it is a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
There were unused X references from the ISR report. The examiner is of the position that the prior art cited adequately reads on the claims as instantly recited.
/VISHAL V VASISTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771