DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10, 11, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2013/0221692).
Re claim 10, Wang et al. discloses a crash box (82, figure 8) for a motor vehicle having a vehicle longitudinal member (86, figure 8) which extends in a vehicle longitudinal direction and having a crossmember (84, figure 8) which extends in a vehicle width direction, comprising a rear end and a front end of the crash box (see the annotated figure below), wherein on a side of the longitudinal member facing away from a passenger compartment of the motor vehicle, the rear end of the crash box is fastenable (the rear end is fastened as shown in figure 8), and on a side of the crossmember which faces the passenger compartment, the front end of the crash box is fastenable (as shown in figure, the front end is fastened); a cable (88, figure 8) which extends along the vehicle longitudinal direction from the front end of the crash box to the rear end of the crash box (as shown in figure 8), is connected to the rear end of the crash box (as shown in figure 8), and is connectable to the crossmember (as shown in figure 8), and at least one spring element (881, see paragraph 0103) by which the cable is connected to the rear end of the crash box.
Re claim 11, the cable is arranged inside the crash box (as shown in figure 8).
Re claim 16, the crash box is configured to deform in the vehicle longitudinal direction by folding under a force of predefined size acting on the crash box from the front in the vehicle longitudinal direction (see paragraph 0010 which describes the functioning of a crash box).
Re claim 18, Wang et al. discloses a vehicle, comprising: a crash box (82, figure 8), a vehicle longitudinal member (86, figure 8) which extends in the vehicle longitudinal direction and to which, on the side facing away from the passenger compartment of the motor vehicle, a rear end of the crash box is fastened (see the annotated figure above); and a crossmember (84, figure 8) which extends in the vehicle width direction and to which, on the side facing the passenger compartment of the motor vehicle, a front end of the crash box is fastened (see the annotated figure above), wherein the crash box has a cable (88) which extends along the vehicle longitudinal direction from the front end of the crash box to the rear end thereof, is connected to the rear end of the crash box (as shown by figure 8), and is connected to the crossmember (as shown by figure 8), and wherein the cable is connected to the rear end of the crash box via at least one spring element (881, see paragraph 0103) .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2013/0221692).
Wang et al. discloses all the limitations of the claim, as applied above, except for the cable being a steel cable and/or a plastic cable. Wang et al. is silent as to the material of which the cable is constructed.
The examiner takes Official Notice that steel cabling is old and well known in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to construct a cable, such as that disclosed by Wang et al., from steel, as is old and well known in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter obvious design choice. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2013/0221692) in view of Anzai (Japanese Patent Publication 2021088325).
Wang et al. discloses all the limitations of the claims, as applied above, except for the cable being connectable to the crossmember via a connecting element held at the front end of the crash box, the connecting element is arranged inside the crash box, and the connecting element has an internal thread, so that the crash box is fastenable to the crossmember via a screw connection.
Anzai teaches a connecting element (Bolt B3, figure 1) held at the front end of a crash box (22), the connecting element being arranged inside the crash box (as shown in figure 1), and the connecting element having an internal thread (it is a bolt with a nut), so that the crash box is fastenable to a crossmember (4) via a screw connection.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a crash box for a motor vehicle, such as that disclosed by Wang et al. to have the cable be connectable to the crossmember via a connecting element held at the front end of the crash box, the connecting element being arranged inside the crash box, and the connecting element has an internal thread, so that the crash box is fastenable to the crossmember via a screw connection, as taught by Anzai, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to fasten the cable in place using a common fastener that easily obtained, manufactured, and cost effective.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter in claim is the inclusion in the claim of the limitations directed to the spring element being arranged as a spring clip. Such limitations, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claims, are not disclosed or suggested by the prior art of record. Wang et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2013/0221692), the closest prior art of record, uses a spring in a different manner and using a spring clip would not allow the device of Wang et al. to operate correctly as it would not provide the necessary energy to provide for a winding of the cable required by Wang et al.
Kurai et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2019/012869A1) discloses a tensioning member for a crush can (5D, figure 7).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited references all disclose vehicle crash box structures.
/JASON S MORROW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612
June 24, 2026