under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
DETAILED ACTION
This is response to Application 18/869,394 filed on 11/26/2024 in which claims 1-9, 12-20, 22 and 23 are presented for examination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 9 and 12-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Varatharaajan et al. (US 2020/0119785 A1).
1. Regarding claim 1, Varatharaajan teaches a channel information feedback method, comprising:
determining antenna set configuration information (Paragraph [0158] layout of 3D antenna array), wherein the antenna set configuration information represents a configuration situation of an antenna set formed by minimum antenna element sub-modules (claim 33 layout of the 3D antenna array);
determining a feedback codebook according to the antenna set
configuration information (Paragraph [0158] and [0160] generate or determine codebook using information relating to layout of the 3D antenna array); and
performing channel information feedback using the feedback codebook (Paragraphs [0126], [0168] and [0232] codebook for CSI-RS based feedback schemes; estimate channel conditions).
2. Regarding claim 2, Varatharaajan teaches, wherein the antenna set configuration
information comprises at least one of:
feature indication information of K basic antenna element sub-modules;
position indication information of the K basic antenna element sub-
modules; rotation indication information of the K basic antenna element sub-
modules; or feature indication information of a reference antenna element module,
wherein K is a positive integer, the basic antenna element sub-modules
and the reference antenna element module are all formed by the minimum
antenna element sub-modules, the reference antenna element module represents a
maximum setting range of the minimum antenna element sub-modules, and the
basic antenna element sub-module represents one or more minimum antenna
element sub-modules that form a predetermined shape (Claim 33 Figures 6, 11 and 12).
3. Regarding claim 3, Varatharaajan teaches, wherein the feature indication
information of the basic antenna element sub-module comprises at least one of:
a shape of the basic antenna element sub-module; a number of oscillators
of the basic antenna element sub-module; spatial distribution of the oscillators of
the basic antenna element sub-module; a polarization direction of the oscillators
of the basic antenna element sub-module; a reference point of the basic antenna
element sub-module; minimum antenna element sub-module indexes of the basic
antenna element sub-module; antenna port indexes of the basic antenna element
sub-module; or an indexing mode of the basic antenna element sub-module, and
the reference point of the basic antenna element sub-module is a position
where a specified minimum antenna element sub-module in the basic antenna
element sub-module is located (Claim 33 Figures 6, 11 and 12).
4. Regarding claim 4, Varatharaajan teaches, wherein
the position indication information of the basic antenna element sub-
module comprises a minimum antenna element sub-module index of a position
where a reference point of the basic antenna element sub-module is located in the
reference antenna element module, and the reference point of the basic antenna
element sub-module is a position where a specified minimum antenna element
sub-module in the basic antenna element sub-module is located, and
the rotation indication information of the basic antenna element sub-
module comprises an angle of rotation of the basic antenna element sub-module
around the reference point of the basic antenna element sub-module (claim 33).
5. Regarding claim 5, Varatharaajan teaches, wherein the feature indication
information of the reference antenna element module comprises at least one of:
a shape of the reference antenna element module; a number of oscillators
of the reference antenna element module; spatial distribution of the oscillators of
the reference antenna element module; a polarization direction of the oscillators
of the reference antenna element module; a reference point of the reference
antenna element module; minimum antenna element sub-module indexes of the
reference antenna element module; antenna port indexes of the reference antenna
element module; or an indexing mode of the reference antenna element module (claim 33), and
the reference point of the reference antenna element module is a position
where a specified minimum antenna element sub-module in the reference antenna
element module is located (Paragraphs [0080] to [0083] codebook table including set of beamforming weights for a plurality of directions using layout of 3D antenna array; cylindrical or conical configuration; total number of antennas).
6 Regarding claim 6, Varatharaajan teaches, wherein
if the feature indication information of any basic antenna element sub-
module indicates that a shape of the basic antenna element sub-module is a
uniform rectangular area array and/or that a number of the minimum antenna
element sub-module included in the basic antenna element sub-module is 1, the
basic antenna element sub-module has no rotation indication information (Paragraphs [0080] to [0083] codebook table including set of beamforming weights for a plurality of directions using layout of 3D antenna array; cylindrical or conical configuration; total number of antennas).
7. Regarding claim 7, Varatharaajan teaches, wherein
if the feature indication information of any basic antenna element sub-
module indicates that a number of the minimum antenna element sub-module
included in the basic antenna element sub-module is 1, the feature indication
information of the basic antenna element sub-module does not comprises the
reference point (Paragraphs [0080] to [0083] codebook table including set of beamforming weights for a plurality of directions using layout of 3D antenna array; cylindrical or conical configuration; total number of antennas).
8. Regarding claim 22, Varatharaajan teaches an electronic device (Fig. 17, Paragraph [0045]), comprising one or more
storage devices and one or more processors, the one or more storage devices
store a computer program executable by the one or more processors, and when
the computer program is executed by the one or more processors, the channel
information feedback method of claim 1 is implemented (see rejection of claim 1).
9. Regarding claim 23, Varatharaajan teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium (Paragraph [0052] computer readable medium)
having stored thereon a computer program which, when executed by a processor,
implements the channel information feedback method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Huang et al. (US 2025/0047445 A1)
Harrison et al. (US 2016/0373175 A1)
/DIANE L LO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466