DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy of the Italian parent Application No. IT102022000011525 (filed on 05/31/2022) was received with the present application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference characters that are mentioned in the description: 33 (in paragraph 0044) and 41 (in paragraphs 0059-0060). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character that is not mentioned in the description: 38 (in figure 13). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities that requires appropriate corrections:
In paragraph 0027, line 5-6, the phrase “arrow f58” should read -- arrow f5.8 --.
In paragraph 0048, line 3, the phrase “the head of the laser 5.5” should read -- the laser of the head 5.5 --.
In paragraph 0048, line 5, the phrase “the head of the robot 5.5” should read -- the head 5.5 of the robot 5 --.
In paragraph 0048, line 8, the phrase “the head of the robot 5.5” should read -- the head 5.5 of the robot 5 --.
In paragraph 0048, line 9, the phrase “the head of the robot 5.5” should read -- the head 5.5 of the robot 5 --.
In paragraph 0060, line 4, the phrase “deflector members 41” should read -- deviating members 41 --.
In paragraph 0061, line 1, the phrase “the mandrels 3.3, 33.4” should read -- the spindles 3.3, 3.4 --.
Claim Objections
Claims 18-19, 24, and 28 are objected to because of the following informalities that requires appropriate corrections:
In claim 18, line 3, the limitation “from the first spindle” should read -- from a respective on of the first spindle --.
In claim 19, line 4, the limitation “rotate to waiting reels” should read -- rotate to the waiting reels --.
In claim 19, line 5-6, the limitation “the axis oriented” should read -- the axis of each waiting reel oriented --.
In claim 19, line 7, the limitation “the axis oriented” should read -- the axis of each waiting reel oriented --.
In claim 19, line 8, the limitation “to the axis” should read -- to an axis --.
In claim 24, line 4, the limitation “from a reel” should read -- from an exhausted reel --.
In claim 28, line 3, the limitation “a reel” should read -- a waiting reel --.
In claim 28, line 4, the limitation “the reel” should read -- the waiting reel --.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 30 limitation “the first unwinder and the second unwinder are equal to one another” (in lines 10-11) renders the claim vague and indefinite. It is unclear if this limitations is attempting to recite, both the first unwinder and the second unwinder having the same structural and functional arrangement, or the positioning (i.e. height in a vertical direction) of the first unwinder and the second unwinder being equal to one another. Clarification by the applicant is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-18 and 20-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vergentini et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2017/0327336 A1 hereinafter referred to as “Vergentini”) in view of Sakano et al. (U.S. patent 5,381,983A hereinafter referred to as “Sakano”).
In regards to claim 16, Vergentini teach (Figures 1-13) a line (converting line 1) for producing tubes (helically wound spools ‘B’) made of web-like material (longitudinal strips ‘S’, which are formed by cutting the web material N/Na/Nb at the cutting station 13), the line (converting line 1) comprising: a core winder (winding station 15); at least a first unwinder (first unwinding station 5 of the unwinding section 3) that includes a first spindle (unwinding mandrel 9 of the first unwinding station 5), wherein the first unwinder (first unwinding station 5) is arranged up-stream of a core winder (winding station 15) along a path (web material/strip advancing direction ‘MD’) for supplying a web-like material (web material N/Na) to the core winder (winding station 15); a robot (robot 263, which includes the anthropomorphic arm 263A, the carriage 264, and the manipulator 265) adapted to load reels (parent reels Bm/Ba) of web-like material (web material N/Na) onto the first unwinder (first unwinding station 5) and remove exhausted reels (tubular winding cores of the parent reels ‘Ba’ after the web material ‘Na’ are fully unwound from said parent reels ‘Ba’) from the first unwinder (first unwinding station 5); wherein the robot (robot 263) includes a head (manipulator 265) adapted to engage waiting reels (parent reels ‘Bm’) from a stack of waiting reels (parent reels ‘Bm’ that are held by the outfeed conveyors 261) and transfer the waiting reels (parent reels ‘Bm’) to the first spindle (unwinding mandrel 9 of the first unwinding station 5), and to pick up exhausted reels (tubular winding cores of the parent reels ‘Ba’ after the web material ‘Na’ are fully unwound from said parent reels ‘Ba’) from the first spindle (unwinding mandrel 9 of the first unwinding station 5) (see also paragraphs 0042-0092). Yet, Vergentini fails to teach, the first unwinder (first unwinding station 5) including a second spindle in addition to the first spindle (unwinding mandrel 9 of the first unwinding station 5), and a rotary device that is adapted to rotate about an axis of rotation for exchanging a position of the first spindle (unwinding mandrel 9 of the first unwinding station 5) and of such a second spindle.
However, Sakano teach (Figures 1-16) a line (device illustrated in figure 1, which includes the web supply-connection apparatus 100, the web roll storage-mounting unit 200, the cigarette rod manufacturing apparatus 300, and the control unit 400) comprising: a first unwinder (web supply-connection apparatus 100) that includes a rotary device (rotary arm 102 and central rotary shaft 103) on which a first spindle (hub 104a) and a second spindle (hub 104b) are arranged, and a robot (web roll storage-mounting unit 200) adapted to load waiting reels (web rolls 1 on the web roll storing shafts 207a and 207b of the web roll storage-mounting unit 200) of web-like material (web 2) onto the first unwinder (web supply-connection apparatus 100); the rotary device (rotary arm 102 and central rotary shaft 103) of the first unwinder (web supply-connection apparatus 100) being adapted to rotate about an axis of rotation (central axis of the central rotary shaft 103) to exchange a position of the first spindle (hub 104a) and of the second spindle (hub 104b), and the robot (web roll storage-mounting unit 200) including a head (web roll storing shafts 207a/207b) adapted to transfer (via the action of the pushing-out mechanisms 208) the waiting reels (web rolls 1 on the web roll storing shafts 207a and 207b of the web roll storage-mounting unit 200) onto the first spindle (hub 104a) or to the second spindle (hub 104b); wherein the first unwinder (web supply-connection apparatus 100) is configured to simultaneously support two reels (web rolls 1a and 1b) of web like material (webs 2a and 2b), so as to expedite a reel exchange between a supply/working reel (web roll 1a) and a new/full reel (web roll 1b) when said supply/working reel (web roll 1a) becomes exhausted/depleted; thereby facilitating continuous supply of the web-like material (web 2/2a/2b) through the line (device illustrated in figure 1) with minimal delay, or without needing to stop the supply of the web-like material (web 2/2a/2b) for a long duration/any amount of time (see also Col. 3, line 25 - Col. 10, line 18).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the first unwinder in Vergentini’s line with a first unwinder that is capable of simultaneously holding at least two web material reels (e.g. a working web material reel and a new/standby web material reel), as proposed by Sakano; where said first unwinder includes a first spindle and a second spindle, which are mounted on a rotary device that is adapted to exchange a position of the first spindle and of the second spindle. Providing the line with a first unwinder having two spindles, would enable a working web material reel (i.e. a reel that supplies the web-like material to the core winder of the line at a given instance) and a new/standby web material reel, both to be concurrently loaded onto (via the robot of the line) and held/supported by said first unwinder at any given time; such an arrangement would facilitate rapid/swift exchange of web material reel (e.g. through splicing/connecting the leading end of the web-like material from the new/standby web material reel, to the tailing end of the web-like material from the working/exhausted web material reel) upon the working material reel becoming depleted or exhausted (in other words, when the working web material reel that is supplying the web-like material to the core winder for tube production becomes depleted/exhausted, the rotary device of the first unwinder in the modified line can quickly rotate the new web material reel to a position that allow for the unwinding and supply of the web-like material from said new web material reel to said core winder, without having to wait for the robot to load a new reel onto said first unwinder or without having to interrupt the tube production process while an empty core of an exhausted web material reel is removed from a spindle and a new web material reel is inserted onto said spindle); thereby ensuring continuous supply of web-like material to the core winder of the line, while limiting and/or eliminating the need to stop, delay, or disrupt the tube production process; this would be advantageous in improving the overall production efficiency of the line and in optimizing its overall performance.
In regards to claims 17, Vergentini in view of Sakano teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Vergentini further teach (Figures 1-13), the robot (robot 263) including an anthropomorphic arm (anthropomorphic arm 263A) with a plurality of rotation axes (paragraphs 0065 and 0067 disclose, the robot 263 being an anthropomorphic robot, i.e. one with a jointed arm/anthropomorphic arm 263A having a plurality of numerically controlled axes of rotation to simulate the movements of a human arm and hand).
In regards to claims 18 and 21, Vergentini in view of Sakano teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Sakano further teach (Figures 1-16), the first spindle (hub 104a) and said second spindle (hub 104b) of the first unwinder (web supply-connection apparatus 100) in the line (device illustrated in figure 1, which includes the web supply-connection apparatus 100, the web roll storage-mounting unit 200, the cigarette rod manufacturing apparatus 300, and the control unit 400), each having an ejector (core rejecting members/chucking mechanisms 151, which are operated via the pneumatic/air pressure supplied by the reciprocating air pressure connectors 150a/150b) for ejecting exhausted reels (cores of the web rolls 1a/1b) from a respective on of the first spindle (hub 104a) and the second spindle (hub 104b), and each having a brake (powder brakes 140a and 140b) for braking rotation of a respective one of said first spindle (hub 104a) and said second spindle (hub 104b) (see also Col. 3, line 25 - Col. 10, line 18).
Consequently, using the additional suggestions in Sakano’s disclosure, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the first and second spindles of the first unwinder in the modified line taught by Vergentini and Sakano, with a respective ejector for expelling the empty cores of the exhausted web material reels from the corresponding first and second spindles, and with a respective brake for braking/controlling the rotation of the corresponding first and second spindles. Configuring the each of the first spindle and the spindle with an ejector would facilitate quick, effective, effortless, and automatic removal of empty cores from said first and second spindles, such that new web material reels can swiftly and efficiently be loaded onto said first and second spindles so as to limit/eliminate the need for stopping, delaying, and/or interrupting of the tube production process or the operation of the line. Furthermore, configuring the each of the first spindle and the spindle with a brake would facilitate the selective and independent braking of said first and second spindles as necessary; which would enable the rotational/unwinding speed of the working web material reels on the first/second spindle to be effectively controlled or the complete stopping of their rotation when required, such that the rotational/unwinding speed of said working web material reels are appropriately marinated at an optimal/ideal level; thereby improving overall operative functionality of the line and the tube production process.
In regards to claim 20, Vergentini in view of Sakano teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Vergentini further teach (Figures 1-13), the head (manipulator 265) of the robot (robot 263) having an ejector (ejector 277, which is moved along the expandable shaft 271, in the direction of the arrow f277, by the combined action of the actuator 279, the threaded bar 281, and the nut 283) for ejecting the reels (parent reels ‘Bm’) from the head (manipulator 265).
In regards to claim 22, Vergentini in view of Sakano teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Vergentini further teach (Figures 1-13), the first unwinder (first unwinding station 5 of the unwinding section 3) including a cutting and splicing member (cutting and welding station 11) that is adapted to cut a web-like material (web material ‘Na’) coming from an exhausted reel (parent reel ‘Ba’ when it becomes depleted or exhausted) for forming a tail edge of the web-like material (tail edge of the web material ‘Na’) coming from the exhausted reel (parent reel ‘Ba’), and that is adapted to splice the tail edge of the web-like material (tail edge of the web material ‘Na’) coming from the exhausted reel (parent reel ‘Ba’) with a leading edge of a web-like material (leading edge of the web material ‘Nb’) coming from a new reel (parent reel ‘Bb’) (see also paragraphs 0043 and 0056).
In regards to claim 23, Vergentini in view of Sakano teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Yet, Vergentini fails to reveal, the cutting and splicing member (cutting and welding station 11) having a cutting blade and a pressure roller.
Nevertheless, Sakano does teach (Figures 1-16), the first unwinder (web supply-connection apparatus 100) of the line (device illustrated in figure 1, which includes the web supply-connection apparatus 100, the web roll storage-mounting unit 200, the cigarette rod manufacturing apparatus 300, and the control unit 400) including a cutting and splicing member (adhesive tape supplying mechanism 110 and pressing mechanism 111) that has a cutting blade (cutter 554 of the pressing mechanism 111) and a pressure roller (rollers 533/534/535 of the adhesive tape supplying mechanism 110, and/or the pulleys 560/561 of the pressing mechanism 111); the cutting and splicing member (adhesive tape supplying mechanism 110 and pressing mechanism 111) is adapted to cut (via the cutter 554 of the pressing mechanism 111) a web-like material (trailing end portion of the web 2a) coming from an exhausted reel (web roll 1a) for forming a tail edge of the web-like material (trailing end portion of the web 2a) coming from the exhausted reel (web roll 1a), and to splice (via the adhesive tape 530 supplied/applied by the adhesive tape supplying mechanism 11 and the pressing member 552 of the pressing mechanism 111) the tail edge of the web-like material (trailing end portion of the web 2a) coming from the exhausted reel (web roll 1a) with a leading edge of a web-like material (leading end portion of the web 2b) coming from a new reel (web roll 1b); wherein the exhausted reel (web roll 1a) is mounted on the first spindle (hub 104a) of the first winder (web supply-connection apparatus 100), while the new reel (web roll 1b) is mounted on the second spindle (hub 104b) of the first winder (web supply-connection apparatus 100) (see also Col. 3, line 25 - Col. 10, line 18).
Hence, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the cutting and splicing member of the first unwinder in the modified line taught by Vergentini and Sakano, with a cutting blade and a pressure roller, as further proposed in Sakano’s disclosure; where the cutting blade is configured to cut the web-like material from the exhausted reel at required time, while the pressure roller is configured to apply/press an adhesive tape onto the web-like material from the exhausted reel/new reel and also to press said web-like materials together during a web-like material splicing operation. Arranging such a cutting blade and a pressure roller within the cutting and splicing member would be advantageous in easily, effectively, and efficiently performing a strong/secure splice between a tail edge of a web-like material coming from an exhausted reel and a leading edge of a web-like material coming from a new reel.
In regards to claims 24-25 Vergentini in view of Sakano teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Vergentini further teach (Figures 1-13), the first unwinder (first unwinding station 5 of the unwinding section 3) including a cutting and splicing member (cutting and welding station 11) adapted to cut a web-like material (web material ‘Na’) from an exhausted reel (parent reel ‘Ba’ when it becomes depleted or exhausted), and to mutually join/splice a tail edge of the web-like material (tail edge of the web material ‘Na’) from the exhausted reel (parent reel ‘Ba’) with a leading edge of a web-like material (leading edge of the web material ‘Nb’) from a new reel (parent reel ‘Bb’) (see also paragraphs 0043 and 0056). Yet, Vergentini fails to reveal, the first unwinder (first unwinding station 5 of the unwinding section 3) including an adhesive applicator for forming the joint/splice between the tail edge of the web-like material (tail edge of the web material ‘Na’) from the exhausted reel (parent reel ‘Ba’) and the leading edge of the web-like material (leading edge of the web material ‘Nb’) from the new reel (parent reel ‘Bb’).
On the contrary, Sakano does teach (Figures 1-16), the first unwinder (web supply-connection apparatus 100) of the line (device illustrated in figure 1, which includes the web supply-connection apparatus 100, the web roll storage-mounting unit 200, the cigarette rod manufacturing apparatus 300, and the control unit 400) including an adhesive applicator (adhesive tape supplying mechanism 110, which supplies the adhesive tape 530) for forming a mutual joint (via the pressing member 552 of the pressing mechanism 111) between a tail edge of a web-like material (trailing end portion of the web 2a) coming from an exhausted reel (web roll 1a) and a leading edge of a web-like material (leading end portion of the web 2b) coming from a new reel (web roll 1b); wherein the adhesive applicator (adhesive tape supplying mechanism 110) is a double-sided adhesive tape applicator (Col. 8, line 40 - Col. 9, line 9 disclose, the adhesive tape 530 being supplied from the adhesive tape reel 532 in the adhesive tape supplying mechanism 110, and said adhesive tape 530 being both-surface adhering type that is attached to the base paper plate 537 of the adhesive tape reel 532) (see also Col. 3, line 25 - Col. 10, line 18).
Therefore, using the additional suggestions in Sakano’s reference, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the first unwinder of the modified line taught by Vergentini in view of Sakano, with a double-sided adhesive tape applicator for joining a tail edge of a web-like material coming from an exhausted reel to a leading edge of a web-like material coming from a new reel. Employing a simple and a well-known web-like material connection means, such as a double-sided adhesive tape applicator configured to supply/apply a double-sided adhesive tape, to effectively splice a web-like material of an exhausted reel with a web-like material of a new reel, would produce a strong/secure joint (that is capable of withstanding typical tensile force experienced by the web-like material supplied to the core winder of the line) between the web-like material from said exhausted reel and said new reel.
In regards to claims 26-27, Vergentini in view of Sakano teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Yet, the first unwinder (first unwinding station 5 of the unwinding section 3) of Vergentini’s line (converting line 1) does not include a device for detecting a leading edge of a web-like material (leading edge of the web material ‘N’) from a new reel (parent reels ‘Bm’), when said new reel (parent reels ‘Bm’) is installed on the first spindle (unwinding mandrel 9 of the first unwinding station 5) or when the new reel (parent reels ‘Bm’) is supported by the head (manipulator 265) of the robot (robot 263).
Whereas Sakano teach (Figures 1-16), the first unwinder (web supply-connection apparatus 100) of the line (device illustrated in figure 1, which includes the web supply-connection apparatus 100, the web roll storage-mounting unit 200, the cigarette rod manufacturing apparatus 300, and the control unit 400) including a device (leading end portion detector 504 of the drawing-out arm 106 or leading end portion detector 531 of the adhesive tape supplying mechanism 110) for detecting a leading edge of a web-like material (front edge of the detaching part 5/leading edge of the web 2b) from a new reel (web roll 1b), when said new reel (web roll 1b) is installed on the second spindle (hub 104b) (see also Col. 3, line 25 - Col. 10, line 18).
Thus, using the additional suggestions in Sakano’s disclosure, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the first unwinder of the modified line taught by Vergentini in view of Sakano, with a leading-edge detecting device configured to detecting a leading edge of a web-like material from a new reel. This would allow the control unit of the line to easily detect and identify the leading end of the web-like material from a new reel loaded onto a first/second spindle of the first winder, and to initiate further processing (e.g. unwinding, the adhesive tape application, trimming, and/or splicing) of said web-like material; thereby improving the overall automated operative functionality of the line.
In regards to claim 28, Vergentini in view of Sakano teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Vergentini further teach (Figures 1-13), the head (manipulator 265) of the robot (robot 263) having a pick-up spindle (expandable shaft 271) adapted to be inserted in a hole of a waiting reel (tubular winding cores of the parent reels ‘Bm’) to be picked up (i.e. from the loading arrangement 250), and a centering device (portions 271A/271B and the actuator 273 of the expandable shaft 271; where the portions 271A and 271B are moved in the direction of the arrow f271 by the action of the actuator 273) for centering the head (manipulator 265) with respect to the hole of the waiting reel (tubular winding cores of the parent reels ‘Bm’) to be picked up (i.e. from the loading arrangement 250).
In regards to claim 29, Vergentini in view of Sakano teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Vergentini further teach (Figures 1-13), the head (manipulator 265) of the robot (robot 263) having a sensor (laser device 262) for detecting a number of reels (parent reels ‘Bm’) engaged by the head (manipulator 265) of the robot (robot 263) (paragraphs 0084 disclose, the laser device 262 being configured to identify the inner edges of the axial holes/tubular winding cores of the parent reels ‘Bm’, such that the expandable shaft 271 of the manipulator 265 can be precisely aligned and inserted into the axial holes/tubular winding cores of the parent reels ‘Bm’ which are being engaged/picked-up by the manipulator 265. Therefore, the laser device 262 is able to detect when at least one parent reel ‘Bm’ is loaded onto/engaged by the manipulator 265).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vergentini and Sakano as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Prankl et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2018/0141772 A1 hereinafter referred to as “Prankl”).
In regards to claim 19, Vergentini in view of Sakano teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Vergentini further teach (Figures 1-13), the line (converting line 1) comprising a pick-up station (loading arrangement 250), in which the stack of waiting reels (parent reels ‘Bm’ supported by the pallets ‘P’ that are loaded onto the first conveyor 251) are positioned with an axis of each waiting reel (central axes of the parent reels ‘Bm’ located on the first conveyor 251) oriented vertically (as clearly illustrated in figures 7 and 13); and the robot (robot 263) being adapted to rotate the waiting reels (parent reels ‘Bm’ located on the first conveyor 251) taken from the stack of waiting reels (parent reels ‘Bm’ supported by the pallets ‘P’ that are loaded onto the first conveyor 251), to a vertical lying position where the axis of each waiting reel (central axes of the parent reels ‘Bm’ located on the first conveyor 251) is oriented in a horizontal direction and coaxial to an axis of the first spindle (central axis of the unwinding mandrel 9 of the first unwinding station 5). Yet, Vergentini fails to teach, the axis of each waiting reel (central axes of the parent reels ‘Bm’ located on the first conveyor 251) being oriented in a vertical direction, when the robot (robot 263) engages/picks-up each said waiting reel (parent reels ‘Bm’ located on the first conveyor 251) from the pick-up station (loading arrangement 250). Instead, the line (converting line 1) taught by Vergentini employs a waiting reel movement mechanism (upender 253, the second conveyor 255, the rotary table 259, and the outfeed conveyors 261/261X/261Y) to orient the axis of each waiting reel (central axes of the parent reels ‘Bm’ located on the first conveyor 251) in a horizontal direction, prior to them being engaged/picked-up by the robot (robot 263).
However, Prankl teach (Figures 1-11F) a line (apparatus 10 and packaging machine 14) comprising: at least a first unwinder (installation positions EB1/EB2 of the packaging machine 14) that includes a first spindle (receiving mandrel 70 of the installation position EB1) and a second spindle (receiving mandrel 70 of the installation position EB2), a robot (gripping and handling device 16/the multi-axis handling robot 18) adapted to load waiting reels (new rolls 12) of web-like material (material webs 22, which is wound around the cores 26) onto the first unwinder (installation positions EB1/EB2 of the packaging machine 14) and remove exhausted reels (used-up/partly used-up/depleted rolls 20) from the first unwinder (installation positions EB1/EB2 of the packaging machine 14), and a pick-up station (horizontal conveying device 28/pallets 52) for holding a stack of waiting reels (new rolls 12 on the horizontal conveying device 28/pallets 52) with an axis of each waiting reel (central axis of each new roll 12) oriented vertically (as clearly illustrated in figures 1-2); the robot (gripping and handling device 16/the multi-axis handling robot 18) including a head (retaining mandrel 32) adapted to engage the waiting reels (new rolls 12) from the stack of waiting reels (new rolls 12 on the horizontal conveying device 28/pallets 52) and transfer the waiting reels (new rolls 12) to the first spindle (receiving mandrel 70 of the installation position EB1) or to the second spindle (receiving mandrel 70 of the installation position EB2), and to pick up the exhausted reels (used-up/partly used-up/depleted rolls 20) from the first spindle (receiving mandrel 70 of the installation position EB1) or from the second spindle (receiving mandrel 70 of the installation position EB2); wherein the robot (gripping and handling device 16/the multi-axis handling robot 18) is adapted to rotate the waiting reels (new rolls 12) taken from the stack of waiting reels (new rolls 12 on the horizontal conveying device 28/pallets 52), from a horizontal lying position where the axis of each waiting reel (central axis of each new roll 12) is oriented in a vertical direction (as illustrated in figures 1-2 and 6A), to a vertical lying position where the axis of each waiting reel (central axis of each new roll 12) is oriented in a horizontal direction (as illustrated in figures 4-5, 6B-9F, and 11A-11F) and coaxial to the axis of the first spindle (central axis of the receiving mandrel 70 of the installation position EB1) or the axis of the second spindle (central axis of the receiving mandrel 70 of the installation position EB2) (see also paragraphs 0070-0123).
Accordingly, based on the suggestions in Prankl reference, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the modified line taught by Vergentini and Sakano in a manner which enables the robot to engage and directly pick-up the waiting reels that are located the prick-up station, while said waiting reels are still oriented in a horizontal lying position (i.e. where the axis of each waiting reel is oriented in a vertical direction). Furthermore, since the robot in Vergentini’s line is an anthropomorphic robot that is designed to simulate the movements of a human arm/hand (as disclosed in paragraphs 0065), said robot would easily be capable of rotating the picked-up waiting reels from a horizontal lying position (i.e. where the axis of each waiting reel is oriented in a vertical direction) to a vertical lying position (i.e. where the axis of each waiting reel is oriented in a horizonal direction and coaxially parallel to the axis of the first spindle/second spindle), so that said picked-up waiting reels can be properly loaded onto the first spindle/second spindle of the first unwinder. Providing the robot with the capability to prick-up waiting reels from the prick-up station while they are still oriented in a horizontal lying position (i.e. where the axis of each waiting reel is oriented in a vertical direction), would essentially eliminate the need to pre-orient said waiting reels in a vertical lying position (i.e. where the axis of each waiting reel is oriented in a horizonal direction and coaxially parallel to the axis of the first spindle/second spindle) at the pick-up station using additional complex waiting reel movement mechanisms; thereby also abolishing the need for arranging such additional complex waiting reel movement mechanisms (e.g. for filliping/changing the orientation of the waiting reels) within the line; which will reduce the overall structural and functional complexity of the line, while also minimizing the space required for the line.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vergentini and Sakano as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Horton (U.S. Patent 1,985,292A).
In regards to claim 30, Vergentini in view of Sakano teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Vergentini further teach (Figures 1-13), the line (converting line 1) comprising: a second first unwinder (second unwinding station 7 of the unwinding section 3) that includes a third spindle (unwinding mandrel 9 of the second unwinding station 7); the first unwinder (first unwinding station 5) and the second unwinder (second unwinding station 7) being placed in side-by-side proximity to one another (as clearly illustrated in figures 1-2, 7, and 13), such that said first unwinder (first unwinding station 5) and said second unwinder (second unwinding station 7) can both be loaded by the robot (robot 263); wherein the first unwinder (first unwinding station 5) and the second unwinder (second unwinding station 7) are structurally and functionally equal/similar to one another. Yet, Vergentini fails to teach, the second unwinder (second unwinding station 7) including a fourth spindle in addition to the third spindle (unwinding mandrel 9 of the second unwinding station 7), and a second rotary device that is adapted to rotate about a second axis of rotation for exchanging a position of the third spindle (unwinding mandrel 9 of the second unwinding station 7) and of such a fourth spindle.
Nonetheless, Horton teach (Figures 1-7) an apparatus (web roll controlling mechanism illustrated in figure 1) for supply web-like material (web ‘W’) from reels (web rolls ‘R’/‘S’), the apparatus (web roll controlling mechanism illustrated in figure 1) comprising: a first unwinder (left-side roll support illustrated in figure 1, which includes the left-side standard 1, the left-side base 2, the left-side shaft 3, the left-side extending arms 4/5, and the left-side bearings 6/7) that includes a first rotary device (left-side shaft 3, which is driven by a motor as disclosed in Col. 2, line 19-21) on which a first spindle (left-side bearing 6) and a second spindle (left-side bearing 7) are arranged, and a second unwinder (right-side roll support illustrated in figure 1, which includes the right-side standard 1, the right-side base 2, the right-side shaft 3, the right-side extending arms 4/5, and the right-side bearings 6/7) that includes a second rotary device (right-side shaft 3, which is driven by a motor as disclosed in Col. 2, line 19-21) on which a third spindle (right-side bearing 6) and a fourth spindle (right-side bearing 7) are arranged; the first rotary device (left-side shaft 3) being adapted to rotate (via the motor described in Col. 2, line 19-21) about a first axis of rotation (central axis of the left-side shaft 3) for exchanging a position of the first spindle (left-side bearing 6) and of the second spindle (left-side bearing 7), while the second rotary device (right-side shaft 3) being adapted to rotate (via the motor described in Col. 2, line 19-21) about a second axis of rotation (central axis of the right-side shaft 3) for exchanging a position of the third spindle (right-side bearing 6) and of the fourth spindle (right-side bearing 7); wherein the first unwinder (left-side roll support illustrated in figure 1) and the second unwinder (right-side roll support illustrated in figure 1) are placed in side-by-side proximity to one another (as clearly illustrated in figure 1), and wherein the first unwinder (left-side roll support illustrated in figure 1) and the second unwinder (right-side roll support illustrated in figure 1) are structurally and functionally equal/similar to one another (see also Col. 2, line 6 - Col. 5, line 22).
Consequently, based on the suggestions in Horton reference, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the second unwinder of the modified line taught by Vergentini in view of Sakano, with a second unwinder that is capable of simultaneously holding at least two web material reels (e.g. a working web material reel and a new/standby web material reel); where said second unwinder includes a third spindle and a fourth spindle, which are mounted on a second rotary device that is adapted to exchange a position of the third spindle and of the fourth spindle. Providing the line with a second unwinder having two spindles, would enable a working web material reel (i.e. a reel that supplies the web-like material to the core winder of the line at a given instance) and a new/standby web material reel, both to be concurrently loaded onto (via the robot of the line) and held/supported by said second unwinder at any given time; such an arrangement would facilitate rapid/swift exchange of web material reel (e.g. through splicing/connecting the leading end of the web-like material from the new/standby web material reel, to the tailing end of the web-like material from the working/exhausted web material reel) upon the working material reel becoming depleted or exhausted (in other words, when the working web material reel that is supplying the web-like material to the core winder for tube production becomes depleted/exhausted, the rotary device of the second unwinder in the modified line can quickly rotate the new web material reel to a position that allow for the unwinding and supply of the web-like material from said new web material reel to said core winder, without having to wait for the robot to load a new reel onto said second unwinder or without having to interrupt the tube production process while an empty core of an exhausted web material reel is removed from a spindle and a new web material reel is inserted onto said spindle); thereby ensuring continuous supply of web-like material to the core winder of the line, while limiting and/or eliminating the need to stop, delay, or disrupt the tube production process; this would be advantageous in improving the overall production efficiency of the line and in optimizing its overall performance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: See the attached PTO-892 for complete list of pertinent prior art references made of record by the examiner.
/R.J.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Victoria P Augustine/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654