DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16, 18-19, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Childs (US 20210360859 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Childs discloses a pickup assembly (100) for an agricultural harvester, the pickup assembly comprising:
a pickup assembly frame,
a pickup unit (30) carried by the pickup assembly frame and configured to pick up crop from a field,
a feeding auger (110) configured to receive the crop from the pickup unit and feed the crop towards a crop inlet of the agricultural harvester,
a wind guard assembly (200) comprising (i) a wind guard frame (201), (ii) a wind guard lifting mechanism coupled to the pickup assembly frame and the wind guard frame, and (iii) an actuator (310) for lifting the wind guard frame from an operational configuration to a lifted configuration,
a lock switch (lock out activation, paragraph 0027 lines 1-9), and
an electronic circuit (320) operatively coupled to the lock switch and the actuator and configured to block control instructions from reaching the actuator when the lock switch is in an activated state and to allow control instructions to reach the actuator when the lock switch is in a deactivated state (paragraph 0027).
Regarding claim 18, Childs discloses the pickup assembly as claimed in claim 16, wherein the actuator comprises an electric actuator (310) operatively coupled to the electronic circuit (320) such that no electric signal can reach the electric actuator when the lock switch is in the activated state.
Regarding claim 19, Childs discloses the pickup assembly as claimed in claim 16, wherein the electronic circuit is further configured to block control instructions from reaching the pickup unit and/or the feeding auger when the lock switch is in the activated state (paragraph 0027).
Regarding claim 29, Childs discloses an agricultural harvester (10) comprising the pickup assembly as claimed in claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Childs (US 20210360859 A1) in view of Humbert (US 20090139195 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Childs discloses the pickup assembly as claimed in claim 16, wherein the actuator comprises a hydraulic cylinder.
Childs does not disclose wherein the cylinder is controllable with an electrohydraulic valve, the electrohydraulic valve being operatively coupled to the electronic circuit such that no electric signal can reach the electrohydraulic valve when the lock switch is in the activated state.
In the same field of endeavor, Humbert discloses a hydraulic cylinder (50) that actuates a wind guard (40), wherein the cylinder is controllable with an electrohydraulic valve (54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided Childs with an electrohydraulic valve to control the hydraulic cylinder, as disclosed by Humbert, as one way of integrating the hydraulic cylinder actuator with the electronic circuit for remote control.
Claims 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clauss (US 6381932 B1) in view of Childs (US 20210360859 A1).
Regarding claim 30, Clauss discloses a method of removing a non-crop object from a pickup assembly, the method comprising the steps of:
detecting the non-crop object inside the pickup assembly while harvesting (via 144),
interrupting the harvesting,
lifting a wind guard frame (138) to a lifted configuration,
rotating a feeding auger (134) and/or a pickup unit (136) in a reverse direction relative to a normal harvesting direction,
stopping rotation of the feeding auger and/or the pickup unit,
lowering the wind guard frame to an operational configuration, and
resuming the harvesting (col. 5 line 16-col. 6 line 59).
Clauss does not disclose activating a lock switch or deactivating the lock switch after the non-crop object has been removed from the pickup assembly.
In the same field of endeavor, Childs discloses activating a lock switch and deactivating the lock switch after a non-crop object has been removed (paragraph 0027).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided Clauss with a lock switch that is deactivated while a jam is removed, as disclosed by Childs, as a way of ensuring the wind guard is not inadvertently lowered before the jam has been cleared.
Regarding claim 31, Clauss, of the resultant combination discloses the method of claim 30, wherein removal of the non-crop object comprises the following steps:
a person taking a position, at least partly under the wind guard frame in its lifted configuration,
the person removing the non-crop object from the pickup assembly, and
the person leaving the position under the wind guard frame (col. 7 lines 29-33).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 20-28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. EP 2449872 A1 discloses a system that detects the presence of a person near an agricultural machine pickup.
/MADELINE I RUNCO/ Examiner, Art Unit 3671