DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamada (US 2022/0227546) which in figures 2C, 2D, 20B, 22A, 22E and 22F discloses the following claimed invention:
In re claim 1: A lid 1 formed so as to be in contact with a container 21 having an edge 22, and is formed of a blank material ([0217]), wherein the blank material includes a fiber sheet including fibers formed of a paper-based material ([0051}), and a resin material ([0052]) is attached to at least some of the fibers forming an inside of the fiber sheet ([0053]) and at least a part of the resin material is filled between a part of the fiber inherently, the paper is made from a plurality of cellulose fiber which include a un smooth surface which is filled with the resin coating filling the uneven fibers to produce a smooth surface..
In re claim 2: a joining region corresponding part 11 that corresponds to a region (region with 22) joined to the container along the edge 22 of the container 21; and a lid region corresponding part 36 that is configured by a portion inside the joining region corresponding part 11, wherein the resin material ([0052]) is attached to at least some of the fibers forming an inside of the fiber sheet ([0051}) at least in a portion corresponding to the joining region corresponding part 11 (see figures 22E and 22F).
In re claim 3: a penetrating part 5/24 that is cut 5/24 from one surface to the other of the blank material ([0217]), wherein a cross section of the fiber sheet is exposed on a peripheral surface part of the penetrating part, and the resin material is exposed on at least a part of the cross section (once the blade cuts the sheet the resin coating and the filers of the paper are inherently exposed).
In re claim 4: an inclined part (the part of 2 which is between the top surface of 2 and the bottom surface of 2 where the cut exposed the inner area of 2which created a surface perpendicular to the top surface of 2) that has the peripheral surface part of the penetrating part 5/24 as an end part and inclined upward (90˚ incline) in a direction away from the end part (bottom surface of 2).
In re claim 22: the resin material ([0052]) is attached (coated) to at least part of a surface of at least some of the fibers (all the exposed surface fibers of the paper), the paper is made from a plurality of cellulose fiber which include a un smooth surface which is filled with the resin coating filling the uneven fibers to produce a smooth surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (US 2022/0227546). Yamada discloses the claimed invention as discussed above with the exception of the following claimed limitation:
In re claim 5: a density of the fibers comprising the fiber sheet in the inclined part is higher at a position closer to the end part of the inclined part.
Yamada further discloses the provision of an increased density of the sheet adjacent the cut (inclined part) at a position closer to the end part of the cut (inclined part) than an area away from the cut (see [0197]) in order to reinforce the region around the cut (straw opening). With this in mind, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to increase the density of the fiber sheet at a location directly adjacent the cut for the reason discussed above.
Furthermore, "[I]f a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person's skill." KSR Int 'l v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1396 (2007). It is proper to take account of the "inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." (Id.) See also, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 1727, 1742 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007) ("A person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.").
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (US 2022/0227546) in view of Triclot (US 2020/0131708). Yamada discloses the claimed invention as discussed above with the exception of the following claimed limitation that is taught by Triclot:
In re claim 23: Triclot teaches the provision of the resin material is impregnated inside the fibers (see [0066] of Triclot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the resin coating of Yamada with the fiber penetrating resin coating as taught by Triclot in order to easily and cost-effectively be used for moist and/or greasy foods making contact with the material (see [0066] of Triclot).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to the Applicant’s understanding of resin coating to paper. The Examiner disagrees, the outer surface of uncoated paper is not smooth and has fibers extending in all directions to create the paper sheet. With this in mind, once the resin coating is applied to the top surface of the random fibers that make up the paper, the resin fills in the top layer of fibers to create the smooth water-resistant surface. The top layer of all the combined fiber has to be coated for the product to have the intended protection. Furthermore, in accordance with MPEP 2111.01, during examination, the claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow. In re American Academy of Science Tech Center, 367 F.3d 1359, 1369, 70 USPQ2d 1827, 1834 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERNESTO A GRANO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3735