DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
This action is in response to application 18869474 filed on 11/26/2024 Claims 1-7, 12, 16-18, 20-22, 25, 31, 32 and 37-39 are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 37 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “anyone of claim 20” should read “claim 20”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
In lines 3-4 of claim 17, they recite “a third period” and “a fourth period.” However, the same phrases were used in lines 9-10 of claim 1, which claim 17 depend from. It is unclear whether the two instances of the phrases are referring to the same time periods or not.
In lines 8-9 of claim 18, they recite “a first sub-node of first node” and “a second sub-node of first node.” However, the same phrases were used in lines 5-6 and 9-10 of claim 17, which claim 18 depend from. It is unclear whether the two instances of the phrases are referring to the same time periods or not.
Prior Art Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 20 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sang et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2015/0379947 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Sang teaches a pixel circuit (Sang, Figs. 4 and 5, pixel with WRGB subpixels), comprising:
a first sub-pixel driving circuit configured to drive a first sub-pixel (Sang, Figs. 1, 4 and 5, e.g., subpixel W11 with structure as shown in Fig. 1); and a second sub-pixel driving circuit configured to drive a second sub-pixel (Sang, Figs. 1, 4 and 5, e.g., subpixel R11 with structure as shown in Fig. 1); wherein the first sub-pixel comprises a first light emitting sub-element, the second sub-pixel comprises a second light emitting sub-element (Sang, [0051], display device can be implemented as OLED), and the second sub-pixel is adjacent to the first sub-pixel in a first direction or a second direction intersecting with the first direction (Sang, Figs. 4 and 5, e.g., subpixel W11 is adjacent to subpixel R11), wherein the pixel circuit further comprises a first data signal line configured to provide a data signal to the first sub-pixel driving circuit and the second sub-pixel driving circuit (Sang, Figs. 4 and 5, e.g., S1 is shared by subpixel W11 and subpixel R11), wherein the data signal comprises a first data sub-signal generated by the first data signal line in a third time period and a second data sub-signal generated by the first data signal line in a fourth time period, and the third time period does not overlap with the fourth time period (Sang Fig. 6, timing for data for R11 and W11 are not overlap).
Regarding claim 20, Sang teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches a display substrate (Sang, [0055] and Fig. 1, display panel 100), comprising:
a base substrate (Sang, [0055] and Fig. 1, lower substrate);
the pixel circuit according to claim 1 on the base substrate, wherein the pixel circuit comprises a first sub-pixel driving circuit and a second sub- pixel driving circuit (Sang, Fig. 1, pixel circuit); and
a light emitting element on the base substrate, wherein the light emitting element comprises a first light emitting sub-element coupled to the first sub-pixel driving circuit and a second light emitting sub-element coupled to the second sub-pixel driving circuit (Sang, [0051], display device can be implemented as OLED).
Regarding claim 37, Sang teaches the limitations of claim 20 and further teaches a display device, comprising the display substrate according to claim 20 (Sang, [0053], display device).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21, 22, 25, 31, 32, 38 and 39 are allowed.
Claims 2-7, 12 and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and resolve the 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections cited above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 2-7, 12 and 16, the prior art, whether considered alone or in combination, fail to disclose the technical features of the claimed invention in context as a whole. Specifically, respective components included in the claims and the sharing of the component connections the second node in the manner claimed as a whole, is not sufficiently taught or suggested in the prior art.
Regarding claims 17 and 18, the prior art, whether considered alone or in combination, fail to disclose the technical features of the claimed invention in context as a whole. Specifically, the drive timing and the further inclusion of the compensation subj-circuits in the manner claimed as a whole, is not sufficiently taught or suggested in the prior art.
Regarding claim 21, 22, 25, 31, 32, 38 and 39, the prior art, whether considered alone or in combination, fail to disclose the technical features of the claimed invention in context as a whole. Specifically, the stacking, interconnection and the overlapping of the various layers in the manner claimed as a whole, is not sufficiently taught or suggested in the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2007/0001938 A1 to Lee et al. discloses a similar invention as recited, specifically the sharing of data line by adjacent pixels/subpixels, see Fig. 3.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0271142 A1 to Chen et al. discloses a similar invention as recited, specifically the sharing of data line by adjacent pixels/subpixels, see Fig. 1.
/DONG HUI LIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629