DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Preliminary amendments have been made, claims 2-4, 6-14, 16, 18-20, and 22 have been amended. Claim 21 has been canceled. Claims 1-20 and 22 are pending.
Priority
This application is a 371 of international application PCTEP2023064585 filed 05/31/2023 which claims priority from European application EP22176540.7 filed 05/31/22
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed 11/26/24 has been considered.
Claim Objections
Claim12 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the distance of said at least two items from a projection central axis of the radiation imaging device” seems to be grammatically incorrect. It is believed to say, “the distance of said at least two items is from a projection central axis of the radiation imaging device”. Correction or explanation is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-9, 11, 14-17, 19-20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE BEENHOUWER et al. (US 20210270755 A1 Hereinafter “DE BEENHOUWER”) in view of SALAMON et al. (WO2017081263 A1 Hereinafter “SALAMON”) in further view of Abbot et al. (US 20200035122 A1 Hereinafter “Abbot”).
Regarding claim 1, DE BEENHOUWER teaches a Method for inspecting a plurality of items with a radiation imaging system, the method comprising the steps of:
mounting the ([0083]: “The radiation imaging system may comprise a radiation source for projecting radiation through the item and an imaging detector for generating a two-dimensional image when the radiation transported through the item impinges on the imaging detector. The radiation imaging system may comprise an actuator for moving the radiation source and the imaging detector, e.g. rotating the source and detector around the item to be imaged. The radiation imaging system may comprise an actuator for moving the item, e.g. a rotation stage, such as a turntable, and/or a translation stage”. The holder is the actuator for moving the item. The pose is being determined in a later step, so the pose is uncertain),
estimating a plurality of poses corresponding to the (Fig. 1, [0092]: “The method comprises determining 4 a relative orientation of the item with respect to the radiation imaging system”); wherein the pose estimation comprises acquiring at least one projection image containing the ([0083]: “The method comprises acquiring 2 a projection image of the item using a radiation imaging system. The radiation imaging system may comprise an ionizing radiation imaging system, or another imaging system using projection imaging, e.g. terahertz imaging or optical transmission imaging”. The projection image has an inherent zoom that is considered a “first zoom level”), fitting a numerical model to the (Fig. 1, [0094]: “Determining 4 the relative orientation of the item with respect to the radiation imaging system may comprise determining a two-dimensional transformation between the projection image and a simulated projection image selected from the plurality of simulated projection images. For example, the simulated projection image may be selected on the basis of a first guess (e.g. a default) or approximation of the at least one geometric parameter. For example, the at least one geometric parameter may comprise an angle of rotation of the item around an axis that is parallel to the imaging plane, and the a-priori unknown orientation of the item when imaged may be assumed to be near a default value of this angle, e.g. may be randomly distributed around a central value of this angle”. The simulated projection images act as the numerical model that is fit to the image, this simulated image represents the item at a pose (using the geometric parameters)), and calculating a pose estimation error representing the fitting accuracy of the numerical model for the ([0095]: “The two-dimensional transformation between the projection image and the selected simulated projection image may be determined by numerically optimizing an image similarity measure, such as mutual information or another quantitative measure of similarity, between the projection image and the selected simulated projection image, in which one or more parameters of the two-dimensional transformation are indicative of a translation and/or rotation of the item in the projection image plane”. This measure of similarity can be embodied via error “Other similarity measures include visual information fidelity, mean-square error, or (peak) signal-to-noise ratio, iterative reweighted linear least squares, or a Student-t statistic” [0099]);
iteratively refining the pose estimation by (Fig. 1, [0111]: “The method comprises moving 6 the item and/or the imaging system in accordance with the at least one angle of rotation and acquiring 7 a further projection image of the item, after moving 6 the item, such that the further projection image corresponds to a view of the item from the viewing angle”. This moving includes rotation of the objects about a mount’s central axis “The moving may comprise a translation, e.g. using a translation table supporting the item. The moving may comprise a rotation, e.g. using a turntable supporting the item. The moving may comprise rotating the imaging system around the item over a first angle, e.g. using a rotating gantry, or over multiple complementary angles, e.g. using a robotic arm having two or three degrees of rotational freedom”), and repeating the pose estimation ([0133]: “In a method in accordance with embodiments of the present invention, the steps of determining 4 the relative orientation, determining 5 the at least one angle of rotation, moving 6 the item and acquiring 7 a further projection image may be repeated 8 for one or more further viewing angles. The acquired 7 further projection image is then used as the projection image on which to operate in the following repetition loop, e.g. to determine the relative orientation and the at least one angle of rotation”. The further projection image acts as the projection image for the repetition loop); and,
inspecting the plurality of items to determine an item characteristic; whereby the item inspection comprises repositioning the plurality of items based the corresponding estimated pose, and acquiring a plurality of projection images of the ([0109]: “These viewing angles, or visibility angles, may represent the orientations of the object where a component is most visible or where a defect is most detectable. A combination of a plurality of visibility angles may also, collectively, correspond to an optimal (or sufficiently near-optimal) combination for detecting a defect or characteristic of interest of the item”. The characteristic being inspected for is the defects on the items. The objects translations are determined in 3 dimensions, if the translation determined to match the simulated image for a viewing angle is by translating in the direction towards the camera, it would result in the second picture being at higher zoom than the first zoom level for pose estimation).
DE BEENHOUWER does not expressly disclose mounting a plurality of items and altering their pose simultaneously.
However, SALAMON teaches system for mounting multiple objects (Page 7, paragraph 7: “Fig. 2 shows the X-ray system 10 of FIG. 1, wherein within the cone 16 just four samples p1 to p4 are arranged or positioned by means of the rotation unit 20, that all four samples p1 to p4 to their own axis of rotation 21 p1 to 21 Turn p4”) and coupling them so they can turn simultaneously (Page 9, fourth paragraph: “Instead of the couplings, each drive shaft 26 "'is rotated by means of its own drive 27", so that the same functionality as the curved rotation unit 20 "can be realized as a result 20p5 are no longer mechanically coupled with respect to their rotation, according to further embodiments, the synchronization of the rotation of the individual object receptacles 20p1 to 20p5 is now carried out electrically, namely by the individual drives 27 '"being driven simultaneously”. This embodiment shows a way of electronically coupling the plurality of items, showing that multiple items can have their rotations coupled).
At the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify DE BEENHOUWER’s object inspection system to include SALAMON’s ability to mount multiple objects for inspection and simultaneous rotation because such a modification is the result of applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. More specifically, SALAMON’s ability to mount multiple objects for inspection and simultaneous rotation permits the ability to mount multiple similar objects and change their rotation simultaneously allowing for correction of multiple objects poses at once for inspection. This known benefit in SALAMON is applicable to DE BEENHOUWER’s object inspection system as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to systems that can manipulate the position of objects for intended purposes. Therefore, it would have been recognized that modifying DE BEENHOUWER’s object inspection system to include SALAMON’s ability to mount multiple objects for inspection and simultaneous rotation would have yielded predictable results because (i) the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate SALAMON’s ability to mount multiple objects for inspection and simultaneous rotation in systems that can manipulate the position of objects for intended purposes and (ii) the benefits of such a combination would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art.
While it is assumed that DE BEENHOUWER teaches some version of having the pose error in an acceptable range due to determining that the camera is at a viewing angle to capture data for defect detection, DE BEENHOUWER does not expressly disclose repositioning the object until a pose error is within an accuracy acceptance criterion.
However, Abbot teaches repositioning based on pose error criterion being acceptable ([0034]: “The 6DoF error can be used to determine a translation direction and a rotation direction to move the physical object 126 to align a current pose of the physical object with the target pose of the physical object 126 within a tolerance. A tolerance (or acceptable error) can be an allowable amount of variation in distance between a current pose of a physical object 126 (e.g., a current translation and rotation distance) and a target pose of the physical object 126”).
At the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify DE BEENHOUWER’s object inspection system to include Abbot’s ability to moving the object until it is within acceptable accuracy criterion because such a modification is the result of applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. More specifically, Abbot’s ability to moving the object until it is within acceptable accuracy criterion permits the ability to stop repositioning an object once it’s in ideal range for image capture based on the loss between the objects pose and target pose. This known benefit in Abbot is applicable to DE BEENHOUWER’s object inspection system as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to systems that can manipulate the position of objects for intended purposes. Therefore, it would have been recognized that modifying DE BEENHOUWER’s object inspection system to include Abbot’s ability to moving the object until it is within acceptable accuracy criterion would have yielded predictable results because (i) the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate Abbot’s ability to moving the object until it is within acceptable accuracy criterion in systems that can manipulate the position of objects for intended purposes and (ii) the benefits of such a combination would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of DE BEENHOUWER, SALAMON, and Abbot teaches method according to claim 1, in addition, DE BEENHOUWER further teaches wherein the pose is estimated (Fig. 1, [0094]: “Determining 4 the relative orientation of the item with respect to the radiation imaging system may comprise determining a two-dimensional transformation between the projection image and a simulated projection image selected from the plurality of simulated projection images. For example, the simulated projection image may be selected on the basis of a first guess (e.g. a default) or approximation of the at least one geometric parameter. For example, the at least one geometric parameter may comprise an angle of rotation of the item around an axis that is parallel to the imaging plane, and the a-priori unknown orientation of the item when imaged may be assumed to be near a default value of this angle, e.g. may be randomly distributed around a central value of this angle”. The simulated projection images act as the numerical model that is fit to the image, this simulated image represents the item at a pose (using the geometric parameters)).
SALAMON further teaches the splitting up of the projection into a plurality of projection images (Fig. 2, Page 7, paragraph 7: “It should again be noted at this point that all samples p1 to p4 are arranged within the beam cone 16 so that their projection images 14p1 to 14p4 do not overlap on the detector. In detail, the beam cone 16 here comprises four so-called secondary beam cone 16p1 to 16p4. In other words, this means that the beam cone 16 is divided into a plurality of distorted secondary beam cone 16p1 to 16p4, wherein the tube and detector detection takes place simultaneously”. A plurality of objects are captures and the projection images are split up per object. Since DE BEENHOUWER’s process is performed on the images, each image would have this process applied to it. Therefore, the combination of DE BEENHOUWER and SALAMON teaches the claimed limitation).
At the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify DE BEENHOUWER’s object inspection system to include SALAMON’s ability image multiple objects and split up the projection images because such a modification is the result of applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. More specifically, SALAMON’s ability image multiple objects and split up the projection images permits the ability to image the multiple mounted objects simultaneously allowing for inspection of multiple objects at once. This known benefit in SALAMON is applicable to DE BEENHOUWER’s object inspection system as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to systems that can manipulate the position of objects and image them for intended purposes. Therefore, it would have been recognized that modifying DE BEENHOUWER’s object inspection system to include SALAMON’s ability image multiple objects and split up the projection images would have yielded predictable results because (i) the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate SALAMON’s ability image multiple objects and split up the projection images in systems that can manipulate the position of objects and image them for intended purposes and (ii) the benefits of such a combination would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of DE BEENHOUWER, SALAMON, and Abbot teaches method according to claim 1, in addition, DE BEENHOUWER further teaches wherein the pose estimation for at least one item is refined by calculating a pose with a pose estimation error ([0133]: “In a method in accordance with embodiments of the present invention, the steps of determining 4 the relative orientation, determining 5 the at least one angle of rotation, moving 6 the item and acquiring 7 a further projection image may be repeated 8 for one or more further viewing angles. The acquired 7 further projection image is then used as the projection image on which to operate in the following repetition loop, e.g. to determine the relative orientation and the at least one angle of rotation”. The further projection image acts as the projection image for the repetition loop. The error calculated for the next repetition loop would be based off of two pose estimations (first due to using that error to move the object the first time, and the second error to move the object again by the repetition loop) of the same item at different positions (The first projection image captures an object at a first position, and the further projection image which captures an object at a second different position).
Abbot further teaches repositioning based on pose error criterion being acceptable ([0034]: “The 6DoF error can be used to determine a translation direction and a rotation direction to move the physical object 126 to align a current pose of the physical object with the target pose of the physical object 126 within a tolerance. A tolerance (or acceptable error) can be an allowable amount of variation in distance between a current pose of a physical object 126 (e.g., a current translation and rotation distance) and a target pose of the physical object 126”. By combining DE BEENHOUWER, SALAMON, and Abbot, the error within an accuracy acceptance criterion would be based on the two pose estimations at different positions).
At the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify DE BEENHOUWER’s object inspection system to include Abbot’s ability to moving the object until it is within acceptable accuracy criterion because such a modification is the result of applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. More specifically, Abbot’s ability to moving the object until it is within acceptable accuracy criterion permits the ability to stop repositioning an object once it’s in ideal range for image capture based on the loss between the objects pose and target pose. This known benefit in Abbot is applicable to DE BEENHOUWER’s object inspection system as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to systems that can manipulate the position of objects for intended purposes. Therefore, it would have been recognized that modifying DE BEENHOUWER’s object inspection system to include Abbot’s ability to moving the object until it is within acceptable accuracy criterion would have yielded predictable results because (i) the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate Abbot’s ability to moving the object until it is within acceptable accuracy criterion in systems that can manipulate the position of objects for intended purposes and (ii) the benefits of such a combination would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of DE BEENHOUWER, SALAMON, and Abbot teaches method according to claim 1, in addition, DE BEENHOUWER further teaches wherein the pose estimation error for the estimated pose is based on the numerical model's fitting accuracy for a reference corresponding with the estimated pose; whereby said reference comprises one or more reference items in one or more certain poses ([0095]: “The two-dimensional transformation between the projection image and the selected simulated projection image may be determined by numerically optimizing an image similarity measure, such as mutual information or another quantitative measure of similarity, between the projection image and the selected simulated projection image, in which one or more parameters of the two-dimensional transformation are indicative of a translation and/or rotation of the item in the projection image plane”. The simulated projection image corresponds to the projection image, this simulated image contains one or more reference items with one or more poses “Obtaining the plurality of simulated projection images may comprise obtaining the three-dimensional numerical model of the item and simulating the plurality of projection images based on the numerical model of the item for a plurality of values of the at least one geometric parameter. Thus, the method may comprise precomputing the library, or the method may comprise computing a simulated projection image for a value or several values of the at least one geometric parameter In the step of comparing the projection image to the plurality of simulated projection images, e.g. an on-the-fly simulation” [0088]. This similarity error can be embodied via error “Other similarity measures include visual information fidelity, mean-square error, or (peak) signal-to-noise ratio, iterative reweighted linear least squares, or a Student-t statistic” [0099]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of DE BEENHOUWER , SALAMON, and Abbot teaches method according to claim 1, in addition, DE BEENHOUWER further teaches wherein the acceptance criterion is based on the numerical model's fitting accuracy for a reference with a plurality of different poses; whereby said reference comprises one or more reference items in a plurality of certain poses (Fig. 1, [0094]: “Determining 4 the relative orientation of the item with respect to the radiation imaging system may comprise determining a two-dimensional transformation between the projection image and a simulated projection image selected from the plurality of simulated projection images. For example, the simulated projection image may be selected on the basis of a first guess (e.g. a default) or approximation of the at least one geometric parameter. For example, the at least one geometric parameter may comprise an angle of rotation of the item around an axis that is parallel to the imaging plane, and the a-priori unknown orientation of the item when imaged may be assumed to be near a default value of this angle, e.g. may be randomly distributed around a central value of this angle”. The simulated projection images act as the numerical model that is fit to the image, this simulated image represents the item at a pose (using the geometric parameters). The simulated images comprise a plurality of different poses “Thus, the method may comprise precomputing the library, or the method may comprise computing a simulated projection image for a value or several values of the at least one geometric parameter In the step of comparing the projection image to the plurality of simulated projection images, e.g. an on-the-fly simulation” [0088]);
Abbot further teaches accuracy error for the pose data ([0034]: “The 6DoF error can be used to determine a translation direction and a rotation direction to move the physical object 126 to align a current pose of the physical object with the target pose of the physical object 126 within a tolerance. A tolerance (or acceptable error) can be an allowable amount of variation in distance between a current pose of a physical object 126 (e.g., a current translation and rotation distance) and a target pose of the physical object 126”. Reference data with a similarity value outside of the tolerance can be considered “high pose estimation error” and the data that falls within the tolerance can be considered “low pose estimation error”. The process of the combination of DE BEENHOUWER , SALAMON, and Abbot would be repeated until the error was within the tolerance, hence the combination of DE BEENHOUWER , SALAMON, and Abbot teaches the claimed limitation).
At the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify DE BEENHOUWER ’s object inspection system to include Abbot’s ability to move the object until it is within acceptable accuracy criterion and dividing high and low error data because such a modification is the result of applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. More specifically, Abbot’s ability to move the object until it is within acceptable accuracy criterion and dividing high and low error data permits the ability to stop repositioning an object once it’s in ideal range (low error) for image capture based on the loss between the objects pose and target pose. This known benefit in Abbot is applicable to DE BEENHOUWER ’s object inspection system as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to systems that can manipulate the position of objects for intended purposes. Therefore, it would have been recognized that modifying DE BEENHOUWER ’s object inspection system to include Abbot’s ability to move the object once it is within acceptable accuracy criterion and dividing high and low error data would have yielded predictable results because (i) the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate Abbot’s ability to move the object once it is within acceptable accuracy criterion and dividing high and low error data in systems that can manipulate the position of objects for intended purposes and (ii) the benefits of such a combination would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of DE BEENHOUWER , SALAMON, and Abbot teaches method according to claim 1, in addition, DE BEENHOUWER further teaches whereby the item inspection comprises repositioning at least (Fig. 1, [0111]: “The method comprises moving 6 the item and/or the imaging system in accordance with the at least one angle of rotation and acquiring 7 a further projection image of the item, after moving 6 the item, such that the further projection image corresponds to a view of the item from the viewing angle”. This moving includes rotation of the objects about a mount’s central axis “The moving may comprise a translation, e.g. using a translation table supporting the item. The moving may comprise a rotation, e.g. using a turntable supporting the item. The moving may comprise rotating the imaging system around the item over a first angle, e.g. using a rotating gantry, or over multiple complementary angles, e.g. using a robotic arm having two or three degrees of rotational freedom”. This repositioning is based on the estimated pose and the viewing angle of the radiation imaging device (Underlined aspects)), and acquiring at least one projection image containing said at least ([0109]: “These viewing angles, or visibility angles, may represent the orientations of the object where a component is most visible or where a defect is most detectable. A combination of a plurality of visibility angles may also, collectively, correspond to an optimal (or sufficiently near-optimal) combination for detecting a defect or characteristic of interest of the item”. The radiation system repositions using angles and translations to be at these viewing angles. The objects translations are determined in 3 dimensions, if the translation determined to match the simulated image for a viewing angle is by translating in the direction towards the camera, it would result in the second picture being at higher zoom that the first zoom level for pose estimation),
SALAMON further teaches imaging multiple objects (Page 6, paragraph 5: “Further exemplary embodiments relate to a method for the simultaneous determination of at least two reconstruction data records for at least two objects. The method comprises the steps of: ("1") determining a radiographic data set comprising Transmitted radiographs, wherein in each radiographic image the at least two objects are imaged, which are rotated individually by means of a lying between a radiation source and a radiation detector rotation unit with at least two receiving devices for the at least two objects individually about its own axis of rotation, and extracting the reconstruction data sets”. This allows for 2 objects to be images and controlled to perform DE BEENHOUWER ’s process, DE BEENHOUWER ’s pose estimation can be performed on each object, and would continue to be until all objects of interest are inspected. Therefore the combination of DE BEENHOUWER , SALAMON, and Abbot teaches the claimed limitation).
At the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify DE BEENHOUWER ’s object inspection system to include SALAMON’s ability image multiple objects and control them because such a modification is the result of applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. More specifically, SAL SALAMON’s ability image multiple objects and control them permits the ability to image the multiple mounted objects simultaneously allowing for inspection of multiple objects at once. This known benefit in SALAMON is applicable to DE BEENHOUWER ’s object inspection system as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to systems that can manipulate the position of objects and image them for intended purposes. Therefore, it would have been recognized that modifying DE BEENHOUWER ’s object inspection system to include SALAMON’s ability image multiple objects and control them would have yielded predictable results because (i) the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate SALAMON’s ability image multiple objects and control them in systems that can manipulate the position of objects and image them for intended purposes and (ii) the benefits of such a combination would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of DE BEENHOUWER , SALAMON, and Abbot teaches method according to claim 1, in addition, DE BEENHOUWER further teaches, wherein the numerical model comprises a virtual model representation of the item ([0088]: “Obtaining the plurality of simulated projection images may comprise obtaining the three-dimensional numerical model of the item and simulating the plurality of projection images based on the numerical model of the item for a plurality of values of the at least one geometric parameter. Thus, the method may comprise precomputing the library, or the method may comprise computing a simulated projection image for a value or several values of the at least one geometric parameter In the step of comparing the projection image to the plurality of simulated projection images, e.g. an on-the-fly simulation”. These images are generated from a virtual model representation).
Regarding claim 15, DE BEENHOUWER teaches a computer-implemented method for inspecting a plurality of items with a radiation imaging system, wherein the items are mounted on a holder ([0083]: “The radiation imaging system may comprise a radiation source for projecting radiation through the item and an imaging detector for generating a two-dimensional image when the radiation transported through the item impinges on the imaging detector. The radiation imaging system may comprise an actuator for moving the radiation source and the imaging detector, e.g. rotating the source and detector around the item to be imaged. The radiation imaging system may comprise an actuator for moving the item, e.g. a rotation stage, such as a turntable, and/or a translation stage”. The holder is the actuator for moving the item. The pose is being determined in a later step, so the pose is uncertain), the method comprising the steps of:
receiving at least one projection image containing the plurality of items with an uncertain pose acquired at a first zoom level ([0083]: “The method comprises acquiring 2 a projection image of the item using a radiation imaging system. The radiation imaging system may comprise an ionizing radiation imaging system, or another imaging system using projection imaging, e.g. terahertz imaging or optical transmission imaging”. The projection image has an inherent zoom that is considered a “first zoom level”);
estimating a plurality of poses corresponding to the plurality of items (Fig. 1, [0092]: “The method comprises determining 4 a relative orientation of the item with respect to the radiation imaging system”); wherein the pose estimation comprises fitting a numerical model to the plurality of items on said image, wherein said numerical model comprises one or more simulations virtually representing the item at one or more poses (Fig. 1, [0094]: “Determining 4 the relative orientation of the item with respect to the radiation imaging system may comprise determining a two-dimensional transformation between the projection image and a simulated projection image selected from the plurality of simulated projection images. For example, the simulated projection image may be selected on the basis of a first guess (e.g. a default) or approximation of the at least one geometric parameter. For example, the at least one geometric parameter may comprise an angle of rotation of the item around an axis that is parallel to the imaging plane, and the a-priori unknown orientation of the item when imaged may be assumed to be near a default value of this angle, e.g. may be randomly distributed around a central value of this angle”. The simulated projection images act as the numerical model that is fit to the image, this simulated image represents the item at a pose (using the geometric parameters)), and calculating a pose estimation error representing fitting accuracy of the numerical model for the plurality of items ([0095]: “The two-dimensional transformation between the projection image and the selected simulated projection image may be determined by numerically optimizing an image similarity measure, such as mutual information or another quantitative measure of similarity, between the projection image and the selected simulated projection image, in which one or more parameters of the two-dimensional transformation are indicative of a translation and/or rotation of the item in the projection image plane”. This similarity error can be embodied via error “Other similarity measures include visual information fidelity, mean-square error, or (peak) signal-to-noise ratio, iterative reweighted linear least squares, or a Student-t statistic” [0099]);
instructing the radiation imaging system to (Fig. 1, [0111]: “The method comprises moving 6 the item and/or the imaging system in accordance with the at least one angle of rotation and acquiring 7 a further projection image of the item, after moving 6 the item, such that the further projection image corresponds to a view of the item from the viewing angle”. This moving includes rotation of the objects about a mount’s central axis “The moving may comprise a translation, e.g. using a translation table supporting the item. The moving may comprise a rotation, e.g. using a turntable supporting the item. The moving may comprise rotating the imaging system around the item over a first angle, e.g. using a rotating gantry, or over multiple complementary angles, e.g. using a robotic arm having two or three degrees of rotational freedom”);
receiving a projection image containing the ([0133]: “In a method in accordance with embodiments of the present invention, the steps of determining 4 the relative orientation, determining 5 the at least one angle of rotation, moving 6 the item and acquiring 7 a further projection image may be repeated 8 for one or more further viewing angles. The acquired 7 further projection image is then used as the projection image on which to operate in the following repetition loop, e.g. to determine the relative orientation and the at least one angle of rotation”. The further projection image acts as the projection image for the repetition loop);
instructing the radiation imaging system to (Fig. 1, [0111]: “The method comprises moving 6 the item and/or the imaging system in accordance with the at least one angle of rotation and acquiring 7 a further projection image of the item, after moving 6 the item, such that the further projection image corresponds to a view of the item from the viewing angle”. This moving includes rotation of the objects about a mount’s central axis “The moving may comprise a translation, e.g. using a translation table supporting the item. The moving may comprise a rotation, e.g. using a turntable supporting the item. The moving may comprise rotating the imaging system around the item over a first angle, e.g. using a rotating gantry, or over multiple complementary angles, e.g. using a robotic arm having two or three degrees of rotational freedom”. The objects translations are determined in 3 dimensions, if the translation determined to match the simulated image for a viewing angle is by translating in the direction towards the camera, it would result in the second picture being at higher zoom than the first zoom level for pose estimation);
instructing the radiation imaging system to reposition the (Fig. 1, [0111]: “The method comprises moving 6 the item and/or the imaging system in accordance with the at least one angle of rotation and acquiring 7 a further projection image of the item, after moving 6 the item, such that the further projection image corresponds to a view of the item from the viewing angle”. This moving includes rotation of the objects about a mount’s central axis “The moving may comprise a translation, e.g. using a translation table supporting the item. The moving may comprise a rotation, e.g. using a turntable supporting the item. The moving may comprise rotating the imaging system around the item over a first angle, e.g. using a rotating gantry, or over multiple complementary angles, e.g. using a robotic arm having two or three degrees of rotational freedom”. The moving is based on the corresponding estimated pose relative to the simulated image); and,
receiving a plurality of projection images of the plurality of items at the second zoom level ([0109]: “These viewing angles, or visibility angles, may represent the orientations of the object where a component is most visible or where a defect is most detectable. A combination of a plurality of visibility angles may also, collectively, correspond to an optimal (or sufficiently near-optimal) combination for detecting a defect or characteristic of interest of the item”. The radiation system repositions using angles and translations to be at these viewing angles. The objects translations are determined in 3 dimensions, if the translation determined to match the simulated image for a viewing angle is by translating in the direction towards the camera, it would result in the second picture being at higher zoom than the first zoom level for pose estimation).
DE BEENHOUWER does not expressly disclose mounting a plurality of items and altering their pose simultaneously.
However, SALAMON teaches system for mounting multiple objects (Page 7, paragraph 7: “Fig. 2 shows the X-ray system 10 of FIG. 1, wherein within the cone 16 just four samples p1 to p4 are arranged or positioned by means of the rotation unit 20, that all four samples p1 to p4 to their own axis of rotation 21 p1 to 21 Turn p4”) and coupling them so they can turn simultaneously (Page 9, fourth paragraph: “Instead of the couplings, each drive shaft 26 "'is rotated by means of its own drive 27", so that the same functionality as the curved rotation unit 20 "can be realized as a result 20p5 are no longer mechanically coupled with respect to their rotation, according to further embodiments, the synchronization of the rotation of the individual object receptacles 20p1 to 20p5 is now carried out electrically, namely by the individual drives 27 '"being driven simultaneously”. This embodiment shows a way of electronically coupling the plurality of items, showing that multiple items can have their rotations coupled).
At the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify DE BEENHOUWER ’s object inspection system to include SALAMON’s ability to mount multiple objects for inspection and simultaneous rotation because such a modification is the result of applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. More specifically, SALAMON’s ability to mount multiple objects for inspection and simultaneous rotation permits the ability to mount multiple similar objects and change their rotation simultaneously allowing for correction of multiple objects poses at once for inspection. This known benefit in SALAMON is applicable to DE BEENHOUWER ’s object inspection system as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to systems that can manipulate the position of objects for intended purposes. Therefore, it would have been recognized that modifying DE BEENHOUWER ’s object inspection system to include SALAMON’s ability to mount multiple objects for inspection and simultaneous rotation would have yielded predictable results because (i) the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate SALAMON’s ability to mount multiple objects for inspection and simultaneous rotation in systems that can manipulate the position of objects for intended purposes and (ii) the benefits of such a combination would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art.
While it is assumed that DE BEENHOUWER teaches some version of having the pose error in an acceptable range due to determining that the camera is at a viewing angle to capture data for defect detection, DE BEENHOUWER does not expressly disclose repositioning the object until a pose error is within an accuracy acceptance criterion.
However, Abbot teaches repositioning based on pose error criterion being acceptable ([0034]: “The 6DoF error can be used to determine a translation direction and a rotation direction to move the physical object 126 to align a current pose of the physical object with the target pose of the physical object 126 within a tolerance. A tolerance (or acceptable error) can be an allowable amount of variation in distance between a current pose of a physical object 126 (e.g., a current translation and rotation distance) and a target pose of the physical object 126”).
At the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify DE BEENHOUWER ’s object inspection system to include Abbot’s ability to moving the object until it is within acceptable accuracy criterion because such a modification is the result of applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. More specifically, Abbot’s ability to moving the object until it is within acceptable accuracy criterion permits the ability to stop repositioning an object once it’s in ideal range for image capture based on the loss between the objects pose and target pose. This known benefit in Abbot is applicable to DE BEENHOUWER ’s object inspection system as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to systems that can manipulate the position of objects for intended purposes. Therefore, it would have been recognized that modifying DE BEENHOUWER ’s object inspection system to include Abbot’s ability to moving the object until it is within acceptable accuracy criterion would have yielded predictable results because (i) the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate Abbot’s ability to moving the object until it is within acceptable accuracy criterion in systems that can manipulate the position of objects for intended purposes and (ii) the benefits of such a combination would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 16, the content of claim 16 is similar to the content of claim 1, therefore it is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, the content of claim 17 is similar to the content of claim 1, with the additional teachings of a radiation imaging device with a radiation source and detector. DE BEENHOUWER also discloses this information ([0125]: “An item is placed on a turntable stage of a μCT system, positioned between a stationary X-ray source and detector). Therefore, claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as claim 1, along with the additional teachings above.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of DE BEENHOUWER , SALAMON, and Abot teaches method according to claim 17, in addition, SALAMON further teaches wherein the radiation imaging device is configured to acquire a projection image containing the plurality of item; and the control system is configured to split up said projection image for at least one item of the plurality of items (Fig. 2, Page 7, paragraph 7: “It should again be noted at this point that all samples p1 to p4 are arranged within the beam cone 16 so that their projection images 14p1 to 14p4 do not overlap on the detector. In detail, the beam cone 16 here comprises four so-called secondary beam cone 16p1 to 16p4. In other words, this means that the beam cone 16 is divided into a plurality of distorted secondary beam cone 16p1 to 16p4, wherein the tube and detector detection takes place simultaneously”. A plurality of objects are captures and the projection images are split up per object).
At the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify DE BEENHOUWER ’s object inspection system to include SALAMON’s ability image multiple objects and split up the projection images because such a modification is the result of applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. More specifically, SALAMON’s ability image multiple objects and split up the projection images permits the ability to image the multiple mounted objects simultaneously allowing for inspection of multiple objects at once. This known benefit in SALAMON is applicable to DE BEENHOUWER ’s object inspection system as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to systems that can manipulate the position of objects and image them for intended purposes. Therefore, it would have been recognized that modifying DE BEENHOUWER ’s object inspection system to include SALAMON’s ability image multiple objects and split up the projection images would have yielded predictable results because (i) the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate SALAMON’s ability image multiple objects and split up the projection images in systems that can manipulate the position of objects and image them for intended purposes and (ii) the benefits of such a combination would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of DE BEENHOUWER , SALAMON, and Abot teaches method according to claim 17, in addition, DE BEENHOUWER further teaches wherein the control system is configured to inspect at least one item in order to determine one or more item characteristics, such as defects, based on image data acquired by the imaging device at a zoom level that is higher than the zoom level of the image data acquired for the pose estimation ([0109]: “These viewing angles, or visibility angles, may represent the orientations of the object where a component is most visible or where a defect is most detectable. A combination of a plurality of visibility angles may also, collectively, correspond to an optimal (or sufficiently near-optimal) combination for detecting a defect or characteristic of interest of the item”. The characteristic being inspected for is the defects on the items. The objects translations are determined in 3 dimensions, if the translation determined to match the simulated image for a viewing angle is by translating in the direction towards the camera, it would result in the second picture being at higher zoom than the first zoom level for pose estimation).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of DE BEENHOUWER , SALAMON, and Abot teaches method according to claim 17, in addition, DE BEENHOUWER further teaches for at least one of metrology or defect inspection ([0109]: “These viewing angles, or visibility angles, may represent the orientations of the object where a component is most visible or where a defect is most detectable. A combination of a plurality of visibility angles may also, collectively, correspond to an optimal (or sufficiently near-optimal) combination for detecting a defect or characteristic of interest of the item”. The characteristic being inspected for is the defects on the items).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE BEENHOUWER BEENHOUWER et al. (US 20210270755 A1 Hereinafter “DE BEENHOUWER ”) in view of SALAMON et al. (WO2017081263 A1 Hereinafter “SALAMON”) in further view of Abbot et al. (US 20200035122 A1 Hereinafter “Abbot”) in further view of PONJOU TASSE et al. (US 20220319120 A1 Hereinafter “PONJOU”).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of DE BEENHOUWER , SALAMON, and Abbot teaches method according to claim 1, in addition, Abbot further teaches the pose estimation([0034]: “The 6DoF error can be used to determine a translation direction and a rotation direction to move the physical object 126 to align a current pose of the physical object with the target pose of the physical object 126 within a tolerance. A tolerance (or acceptable error) can be an allowable amount of variation in distance between a current pose of a physical object 126 (e.g., a current translation and rotation distance) and a target pose of the physical object 126”). The projection image that is used for the further processing would be the one within a tolerance (acceptable criterion)).
At the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify DE BEENHOUWER ’s object inspection system to include Abbot’s ability to move the object once it is within acceptable accuracy criterion and selection of that image for the pose because such a modification is the result of applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. More specifically, Abbot’s ability to move the object once it is within acceptable accuracy criterion and selection of that image for the pose permits the ability to stop repositioning an object once it’s in ideal range for image capture based on the loss between the objects pose and target pose. This known benefit in Abbot is applicable to DE BEENHOUWER ’s object inspection system as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to systems that can manipulate the position of objects for intended purposes. Therefore, it would have been recognized that modifying DE BEENHOUWER ’s object inspection system to include Abbot’s ability to move the object once it is within acceptable accuracy criterion and selection of that image for the pose would have yielded predictable results because (i) the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate Abbot’s ability to move the object once it is within acceptable accuracy criterion and selection of that image for the pose in systems that can manipulate the position of objects for intended purposes and (ii) the benefits of such a combination would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art.
The combination of DE BEENHOUWER , SALAMON, and Abbot does not expressly disclose using template matching to refine the pose estimation.
However, PONJOU teaches the pose estimation is refined based on template matching ([0017]: “Note that as will be described below, in embodiments, generating the 6D pose estimate includes determining an initial 6D pose estimate and then further refining the initial 6D pose estimate using a cost function and/or template matching based method”), matching said acquired image with a plurality of reference images, said reference images comprising one or more reference items in a plurality of certain poses ([0026]: “Further note that template matching refers to pre-computing offline as many silhouettes as possible (from many different random poses), such that given an image from a video frame, this image can be compared against pre-computed images. In some embodiments, the template matching may or may not be utilized during the iterative refinement based on memory required to store the pre-computed silhouettes”. The image captured is matched with the reference image and the reference images contain many different poses) and selecting a pose for which the highest image matching accuracy is obtained ([0025]: “ The cost or error may be minimized until the silhouette substantially converges with the actual image in the video frame for a particular camera viewpoint”[0025]. The templates (silhouettes) are matched with the object until the cost or error for matching is minimized. The minimized cost or error for a silhouette would result in the silhouette with the highest matching accuracy being selected).
At the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination of DE BEENHOUWER , SALAMON, and Abbot’s object inspection system to include PONJOU’s use of template matching to refine pose estimation because such a modification is the result of applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. More specifically, PONJOU’s use of template matching to refine pose estimation permits further refining an initially estimated pose, thereby improving the pose estimation. This known benefit in PONJOU is applicable to the combination of DE BEENHOUWER , SALAMON, and Abbot’s object inspection system as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to pose estimation for objects. Therefore, it would have been recognized that modifying the combination of DE BEENHOUWER , SALAMON, and Abbot’s object inspection system to include PONJOU’s use of template matching to refine pose estimation would have yielded predictable results because (i) the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate PONJOU’s use of template matching to refine pose estimation in pose estimation for objects and (ii) the benefits of such a combination would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE BEENHOUWER BEENHOUWER et al. (US 20210270755 A1 Hereinafter “DE BEENHOUWER ”) in view of SALAMON et al. (WO2017081263 A1 Hereinafter “SALAMON”) in further view of Abbot et al. (US 20200035122 A1 Hereinafter “Abbot”) in further view of BERTON et al. (US 20200382707 A1 Hereinafter “BERTON”).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of DE BEENHOUWER , SALAMON, and Abbot teaches method according to claim 11, in addition, DE BEENHOUWER further teaches whereby the viewing angle of a source ([0108]: “The viewing angle (and/or further viewing angles) may be predetermined, e.g. defined by a user to indicate viewing angles in which the item needs to be inspected)
The combination of DE BEENHOUWER , SALAMON, and Abbot does not expressly disclose determining view angle based on the distance between the objects and the imaging device.
However, BERTON teaches determining view angle based on distance between cameras and objects ([0022]: “In some embodiments, the narrowest field of view angle may be determined from at least the distance of the one or more z-cameras of the subset of the one or more z-cameras to the object of interest based on the object data, the maximum field of view angle of the one or more z-cameras of the subset of the one or more z-cameras and the relative position of the of the object of interest with respect to the center of the field of view of the z-camera”. By using this idea in combination with the combination of DE BEENHOUWER , SALAMON, and Abbot, the distance would be from at least two of the objects since SALAMON teaches the idea of mounting multiple objects for inspection. Therefore, the combination of DE BEENHOUWER , SALAMON, Abbot, and BERTON teaches the claimed limitation.
At the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination of DE BEENHOUWER , SALAMON, and Abbot’s object inspection system to include BERTON’s viewing angle based on object distance because such a modification is the result of applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. More specifically, BERTON’s viewing angle based on object distance permits determination of appropriate viewing angle for objects to assure both objects are captured in the view but not over including view space to reduce overall resource usage. This known benefit in BERTON is applicable to the combination of DE BEENHOUWER , SALAMON, and Abbot’s object inspection system as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to using viewing angles to detect objects and perform image analysis. Therefore, it would have been recognized that modifying the combination of DE BEENHOUWER , SALAMON, and Abbot’s object inspection system to include BERTON’s viewing angle based on object distance would have yielded predictable results because (i) the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate BERTON’s viewing angle based on object distance in using viewing angles to detect objects and perform image analysis and (ii) the benefits of such a combination would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE BEENHOUWER BEENHOUWER et al. (US 20210270755 A1 Hereinafter “DE BEENHOUWER ”) in view of SALAMON et al. (WO2017081263 A1 Hereinafter “SALAMON”) in further view of Abbot et al. (US 20200035122 A1 Hereinafter “Abbot”) in further view of OLEYNIK (US 20190291277 A1 Hereinafter “OLEYNIK”).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of DE BEENHOUWER , SALAMON, and Abbot teaches method according to claim 1, in addition, SALAMON further teaches wherein the simultaneous repositioning of the plurality of items (Page 9, fourth paragraph: “Instead of the couplings, each drive shaft 26 "'is rotated by means of its own drive 27", so that the same functionality as the curved rotation unit 20 "can be realized as a result 20p5 are no longer mechanically coupled with respect to their rotation, according to further embodiments, the synchronization of the rotation of the individual object receptacles 20p1 to 20p5 is now carried out electrically, namely by the individual drives 27 '"being driven simultaneously”. This embodiment shows a way of electronically coupling the plurality of items, showing that multiple items can have their rotations coupled).
At the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify DE BEENHOUWER ’s object inspection system to include SALAMON’s ability to mount multiple objects for inspection and simultaneous rotation because such a modification is the result of applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. More specifically, SALAMON’s ability to mount multiple objects for inspection and simultaneous rotation permits the ability to mount multiple similar objects and change their rotation simultaneously allowing for correction of multiple objects poses at once for inspection. This known benefit in SALAMON is applicable to DE BEENHOUWER ’s object inspection system as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to systems that can manipulate the position of objects for intended purposes. Therefore, it would have been recognized that modifying DE BEENHOUWER ’s object inspection system to include SALAMON’s ability to mount multiple objects for inspection and simultaneous rotation would have yielded predictable results because (i) the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate SALAMON’s ability to mount multiple objects for inspection and simultaneous rotation in systems that can manipulate the position of objects for intended purposes and (ii) the benefits of such a combination would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art.
The combination of DE BEENHOUWER , SALAMON, and Abbot does not expressly disclose a collision avoidance factor that is calculated based on one or more dimensions of the plurality of items, such that collision between items can be avoided.
However, OLEYNIK teaches a collision avoidance factor that is calculated based on one or more dimensions of the plurality of items, such that collision between items can be avoided ([1155]: “Further, in addition to the shared commands, the central processor and the one or more embedded processors may share, among other things workspace models, which may contain information about positions, sizes and types of each of the one or more objects, surface materials, gravity directions, object weights, directions, velocities, expected positions and the like. This may enable the one or more embedded processors to plan manipulations with the current object in accordance with the positions and sizes of neighboring objects (e.g., to avoid collisions), gravity direction, weight, surface characteristics and the like”).
At the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination of DE BEENHOUWER , SALAMON, and Abbot’s object inspection system to include OLEYNIK’s collision avoidance factor for object manipulation because such a modification is taught, suggested, or motivated by the art. More specifically, the motivation to modify the combination of DE BEENHOUWER , SALAMON, and Abbot to include OLEYNIK is expressly provided by OLEYNIK, using the objects dimensions to plan for manipulations can help avoid collisions between neighboring objects ([1155]: “This may enable the one or more embedded processors to plan manipulations with the current object in accordance with the positions and sizes of neighboring objects (e.g., to avoid collisions), gravity direction, weight, surface characteristics and the like”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the combination of DE BEENHOUWER , SALAMON, and Abbot’s object inspection system to include OLEYNIK’s collision avoidance factor for object manipulation with the motivation of avoiding collision between neighboring objects that are manipulated. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of avoiding collision.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 10, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
KARL et al. (US 20230419531 A1) teaches determining an estimate of object pose and moving the object closer to target pose based on results
Tan et al. (US 20220292717 A1) teaches template matching for pose estimation
Atanasoaei (US 12235928 B2) teaches Template matching of 3D model images to predicted model poses for training a pose model.
/STEFANO ANTHONY DARDANO/ Examiner, Art Unit 2663
/GREGORY A MORSE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2698