DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicants’ Communication received on November 26, 2024 for application number 18/869,541. This Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, Oath/Declaration, and Claims.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. FR 2 205 308 filed on June 2, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on November 26, 2024 and December 11, 2024 are noted. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lyu (US PG Pub No. 2019/0390964 A1), hereinafter “Lyu”.
Regarding claim 1, Lyu discloses a management method for assisting movement of a connected vehicle which is able to travel on a road network and able to communicate via a communication network having a variable network coverage level, said method being implemented by a management device (Fig. 2: (“navigation device 200”)) and comprising: on an approach to a zone having a network coverage level which is below a given level, pre-emptively transmitting at least one piece of information relating to driving instructions which are intended for the connected vehicle in said zone (Fig. 4 and paragraphs 2, 16, 46, 48, 52, 78, 81, 104, 116, 145, 160, 167, 172, 175, 187, 188, 209, 218: (“the content controller 259 may calculate adjusted driving information including departure time, average travel speed, and stay time at a rest stop so that a user avoids a time period during which a fringe area occurs, and may control the screen display 260 or the sound outputter 261 to inform the user of the adjusted driving information” and “According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, it is possible to comprehensively guide vehicle operation (e.g., driving speed, departure time, resting points, and bypass route) so that a user may receive desired broadcast content without any problem” and “For example, the navigation device may display the matching map of FIG. 4 for the first time before a user travels, and may control the display to display a route to a destination in a way that road driving is preferred. In this case, the navigation device may control so that distance information to the fringe area 410 and distance information to the rest area 420 are displayed at the same time”)).
Regarding claim 2, Lyu discloses the management method according to claim 1, comprising determining the network coverage level on the approach by using pieces of information on network coverage measurements carried out in the past (Fig. 4 and paragraphs 145, 160, 167, 172, 175, 187, 188, 209, 218: “adjusted driving information”).
Regarding claim 3, Lyu discloses the management method according to claim 1, wherein said given level is obtained as a function of a need for network capacity of the connected vehicle (Fig. 4 and paragraphs 2, 16, 46, 48, 52, 78, 81, 104, 116, 145, 160: (“reception sensitivity”)).
Regarding claim 4, Lyu discloses the management method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one piece of information relating to the driving instructions comprises a request to change travel speed (Fig. 4 and paragraphs 2, 16, 46, 48, 52, 160, 167, 172, 175, 187, 188, 209, 218: (“average travel speed”)).
Regarding claim 5, Lyu discloses the management method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one piece of information relating to the driving instructions comprises providing a new itinerary (Fig. 4 and paragraphs 2, 16, 46, 48, 52, 78, 81, 104, 116, 145, 160, 167, 172, 175, 187, 188, 209, 218: (“travel time calculator for guiding a route”)).
Regarding claim 6, Lyu discloses the management method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one piece of information relating to the driving instructions comprises an instruction to the connected vehicle relating to a driving mode for decreasing needs for network capacity (Fig. 4 and paragraphs 2, 16, 46, 48, 52, 78, 81, 104, 116, 145, 160, 167, 172: (“reception sensitivity”)).
Regarding claim 7, Lyu discloses a management device (Fig. 2: (“navigation device 200”)) for managing a method for assisting the movement of a connected vehicle which is able to travel on a road network and able to communicate via a communication network having a variable network coverage level, said management comprising: at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions stored thereon which when executed by the at least one processor configure the management device to: detect when the connected vehicle approaches a zone having a network coverage level which is below a given level; and pre-emptively transmit at least one piece of information relating to driving instructions which are intended for said connected vehicle in said zone (Fig. 4 and paragraphs 2, 16, 46, 48, 52, 78, 81, 104, 116, 145, 160, 167, 172, 175, 187, 188, 209, 218: (“the content controller 259 may calculate adjusted driving information including departure time, average travel speed, and stay time at a rest stop so that a user avoids a time period during which a fringe area occurs, and may control the screen display 260 or the sound outputter 261 to inform the user of the adjusted driving information” and “According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, it is possible to comprehensively guide vehicle operation (e.g., driving speed, departure time, resting points, and bypass route) so that a user may receive desired broadcast content without any problem” and “For example, the navigation device may display the matching map of FIG. 4 for the first time before a user travels, and may control the display to display a route to a destination in a way that road driving is preferred. In this case, the navigation device may control so that distance information to the fringe area 410 and distance information to the rest area 420 are displayed at the same time”)).
Regarding claim 9, Lyu discloses a non-transitory computer readable data medium on which is recorded a computer program comprising a sequence of instructions for implementing a management method when the sequence of instructions is loaded into and executed by a processor (Fig. 2: (“navigation device 200”)), the management method comprising: assisting movement of a connected vehicle which is able to travel on a road network and able to communicate via a communication network having a variable network coverage level, the assisting comprising: on an approach to a zone having a network coverage level which is below a given level, pre-emptively transmitting at least one piece of information relating to driving instructions which are intended for the connected vehicle in said zone (Fig. 4 and paragraphs 2, 16, 46, 48, 52, 78, 81, 104, 116, 145, 160, 167, 172, 175, 187, 188, 209, 218: (“the content controller 259 may calculate adjusted driving information including departure time, average travel speed, and stay time at a rest stop so that a user avoids a time period during which a fringe area occurs, and may control the screen display 260 or the sound outputter 261 to inform the user of the adjusted driving information” and “According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, it is possible to comprehensively guide vehicle operation (e.g., driving speed, departure time, resting points, and bypass route) so that a user may receive desired broadcast content without any problem” and “For example, the navigation device may display the matching map of FIG. 4 for the first time before a user travels, and may control the display to display a route to a destination in a way that road driving is preferred. In this case, the navigation device may control so that distance information to the fringe area 410 and distance information to the rest area 420 are displayed at the same time”)).
Conclusion
/O.M/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LINDSAY M LOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747