DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: ‘a data preprocessing unit’, ‘a model training unit’, and ‘a target object selection unit’ in claim 1.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, the description of model training unit (paragraphs 0055 and 0057) is a high-level description but not an actual algorithm for how to train an AI model. The target object selection unit (paragraphs 0056 and 0059) is a high-level description and not an actual algorithm for how to select an object using the updated algorithm. The data preprocessing unit description (paragraphs 0044-0052) are considered an algorithm that constitutes the structure for the computer implemented invention.
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, recites “each waste disposal facility” in line 2, “existing waste sorting facility” in line 5, “a new waste disposal facility” in lines 8-9, “a new waste disposal facility” in lines 14-15. It is unclear how many waste sorting facilities are being claimed and how they are related to each other. Are there two “new” waste disposal facilities or just one?
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the target object" in lines 13-14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 3, recites, “the information of Image to,” line 3 is unclear. Is “Image” this supposed to be “Image 2”?
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the sorting error" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 5, recites, “the information of Image to,” line 6 is unclear. Is “Image” this supposed to be “Image 2”?
Claim limitation “a model training unit” and “a target object selection unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Regarding the data preprocessing unit, the specification discloses (paragraph 0042-0052) the unit with the algorithm related to the computer implemented invention. Regarding the model training unit, the specification discloses (paragraph 0055 and 0057) the unit, but no corresponding structure or algorithm related to the computer implemented inventions. Regarding the target object selection unit, the specification discloses (paragraph 0056 and 0059) the unit, but no corresponding structure or algorithm related to the computer implemented inventions. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Horowitz et al (US Pub 2023/0196187 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Horowitz discloses in a waste sorting system considering the characteristics of each waste disposal facility based on the artificial intelligence model (see Fig. 1; Sorting facilities 1 through N and paragraph 0045) trained to sort waste using Training Data 1 based on information of Image 1 from an existing waste sorting facility (paragraphs 0034-0035), the improvement which comprises: a data preprocessing unit that corrects Image 1 using information of Image 2 acquired from a new waste disposal facility and information of Image 1 to generate Training Data 2 (paragraph 0035 where a modified machine learning model is generated by training the machine learning model using data obtained from the first sorting facility and paragraph 0051 where the model is refined and provide the machine learning capabilities at the sorting facilities with high-quality corrections); a model training unit that trains the artificial intelligence model using Training Data 2 (paragraph 0035; training the machine learning model using training data obtained from a specific sorting facility); a target object selection unit that selects the target object to be sorted from wastes of a new waste disposal facility using the artificial intelligence model as test data based on information of Image 2 (paragraph 0035; enable the model to better identify the types of objects that are processed at that sorting facility and also better identify objects that are transported/manipulated by the particular physical setup at that sorting facility),
Regarding claim 2, Horowitz discloses the information of Image 1 and the information of Image 2 are different due to differences in the environment of the waste disposal facility and the performance of the sensor, and the information of Image includes color space, resolution, bit depth, metadata, density, and transmittance as components (paragraph 0066; metadata).
Regarding claim 3, Horowitz discloses the data preprocessing unit that corrects Image 1 using at least two or more components of the information of Image to generate Training Data 2 (paragraph 0066; databases store various object data that can be used by model training logic 202 to train machine learning models).
Regarding claim 4, Horowitz discloses the correction of Image 1 and the retraining of the artificial intelligence model are iterated through the artificial intelligence model until the sorting error rate of the target object is below the preset standard through the artificial intelligence model (paragraph 0051 and 0082; thresholds can be automatically configured for images and then the best model is determined for the selected sorting facility).
Regarding claim 5, Horowitz discloses that data preprocessing is performed by giving priority to the components with high importance when applying the artificial intelligence model to another new waste disposal facility after identifying the importance of the components of the information of Image that affects the sorting result of the target object through iteration (paragraph 0103; where the model is trained to recognize a combination of visual data and non-visual data to recognize both the object type of the target object and other important material aspects).
Conclusion
/K.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3653
/MICHAEL MCCULLOUGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3653