DETAILED ACTION
Amended claims 1 thru 6, 8 and 10 thru 22 have been entered into the record. Claims 7, 9, 23 and 24 have been cancelled.
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the drawings overcome the drawing objection from the previous office action (4/24/2026). The drawing objection is withdrawn.
The amendments to the specification overcome the specification objections from the previous office action (4/24/2026). The specification objections are withdrawn.
The amendments to the claims overcome the claim objections from the previous office action (4/24/2026). The claim objections are withdrawn.
The amendments to the claims overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections from the previous office action (4/24/2026). The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 thru 6, 8 and 10 thru 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The scope of the amended claims has changed because a charging station is now required to be found among multiple charging stations, instead of just a single charging station.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3 thru 5, 10, 14 thru 17, 21 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kilic et al Patent Application Publication Number 2017/0253131 A1 in view of Zhang et al WIPO/PCT document WO-201802019-A1 (translation cited and provided with the previous office action of 4/24/2026).
Regarding claim 1 Kilic et al teach the claimed method for finding charging stations for electric motor vehicles, a method that includes navigating the vehicle to a parking space on the basis of the detected current position of the vehicle and the spatial coordinates of the parking space by means of the first and second communication units P[0016], the vehicle is battery operated and is guided to a charging station P[0005], and “the charging/discharging station comprises a so-called drone which can have the camera device, a communication unit and, in particular, also the computer device” P[0012], the claimed using at least one drone that has a monitoring device, “The camera device 10 is formed by stereo cameras, for example. In the embodiment illustrated, the computer device 12, the camera device 10 and the first communication unit 8 form a system 13 which is positioned with respect to the parking spaces 4 of the charging/discharging station 2 in such a manner that a plan view of the parking spaces 4 is possible, in principle. In particular, provision may be made for the system 13 or parts of the system 13, in particular only the camera device 10 for example, to be in the form of a drone, that is to say to fly autonomously, in particular, and to fly around above the parking spaces 4 according to a defined program, for example, in order to enable a plan view of the parking spaces.” (P[0043] and Figure 1), the camera equates to the claimed monitoring device, comprising the following steps:
the claimed generating control signals for controlling the drone to monitor an environment of an electric motor vehicle using the monitoring device and outputting monitoring data based on the monitoring, “FIG. 2 shows the charging/discharging station 2 from FIG. 1, in which case a vehicle 14 which is identified by the computer device 12 is approaching. The identification is carried out, for example, by transmitting a MAC address and/or other relevant vehicle data by means of a second communication unit 16, which is assigned to the vehicle 14, to the first communication unit 8, which is assigned to the computer device 12. A current position of the vehicle 14 with respect to the parking spaces 4 of the charging/discharging station 2 is furthermore also detected by means of the camera device 10. In this case, the image data relating to the vehicle 14 which are recorded by the camera device 10 are transmitted to the computer device 12 which can then determine the coordinates of the parking spaces 4 relative to the vehicle 14 taking into account the known spatial coordinates of the parking spaces 4.” (P[0045] and Figure 2), the computing device/camera device equates to the claimed drone (see Kilic et al P[0012], P[0043]),
the claimed outputting the control signals in order to control the drone based on the control signals, “provision may be made for the system 13 or parts of the system 13, in particular only the camera device 10 for example, to be in the form of a drone, that is to say to fly autonomously, in particular, and to fly around above the parking spaces 4 according to a defined program, for example, in order to enable a plan view of the parking spaces” P[0043], the flying of the drone and the define program equate to the claimed control signals,
the claimed receiving the monitoring data from the drone after the output of the control signals, “the image data relating to the vehicle 14 which are recorded by the camera device 10 are transmitted to the computer device 12 which can then determine the coordinates of the parking spaces 4 relative to the vehicle 14 taking into account the known spatial coordinates of the parking spaces 4. The coordinates of the parking spaces 4 relative to the vehicle 14 can be transmitted from the first communication unit 8 to the second communication unit 16 of the vehicle 14, with the result that the trajectories from the current position of the vehicle 14 to the parking spaces 4 can be calculated in the vehicle. Alternatively, the trajectories are calculated by the charging/discharging station 2, for example by means of the computer device 12 illustrated, and the trajectories are finally transmitted to the second communication unit 16 via the first communication unit 8.” (P[0045] and Figures 2 and 3),
the claimed analyzing the monitoring data to find a charging station (of the charging stations) for the electric motor vehicles, “FIG. 1 also illustrates the fact that the primary coils 6 are in the capture range of the camera device 10, with the result that the spatial coordinates of the parking spaces 4 and of the primary coils 6 can be determined and stored in the computer device 12.” P[0044], and “The coordinates of the parking spaces 4 relative to the vehicle 14 can be transmitted from the first communication unit 8 to the second communication unit 16 of the vehicle 14, with the result that the trajectories from the current position of the vehicle 14 to the parking spaces 4 can be calculated in the vehicle.” P[0045], the location of the coils 6 in the parking space 4 equates to the claimed charging station, and
the claimed outputting an analysis result of the analysis of the monitoring data, “the trajectories are finally transmitted to the second communication unit 16 via the first communication unit 8” P[0045].
Kilic et al do not teach the claimed multiple charging stations included when finding a charging station. Zhang et al teach, “when searching for the charging station, the vehicle to be charged may search for the charging station based on the locally stored charging station database, or search the charging station by searching the charging station database stored in the cloud server via the Internet” (translation page 10 paragraph 9), “the task of searching and screening the charging station can also be done by a drone” (translation page 11 paragraph 1), and “When only the current location information of the vehicle to be charged is acquired in step S1001, then in step S1002, the drone carried by the vehicle may, for example, first search for a distance from the current location of the vehicle to be charged that is less than a preset distance. The charging station then selects one of the charging stations from the searched charging station as the target charging station.” (translation paragraph bridging pages 14 and 15).
The search of the charging station database for selecting the charging station of Zhang et al would be used in Kilic et al to expand the available charging stations (or parking/charging spots in the lot) for the vehicle to enter. There may be multiple charging spots in a parking lot, and the search by Zhang et al would provide these for Kilic et al. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method for navigating a vehicle into a charging station of Kilic et al with the search for a charging station among multiple charging stations of Zhang et al in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, improve charging efficiency (Zhang et al translation page 15 paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 3 Kilic et al and Zhang et al teach the claimed method of claim 1 (see above), wherein Kilic et al teach, the claimed analysis comprises testing the found charging station to determine whether the charging station is accessible for the electric motor vehicle, “the computer device also detects an occupancy state of the plurality of parking spaces and provides only free parking spaces for selection” P[0026], and “the central camera being provided in the charging station and to identify whether the parking space is available as a conventional parking space for other vehicles or is currently being used” P[0031].
Regarding claim 4 Kilic et al and Zhang et al teach the claimed method of claim 1 (see above), wherein Kilic et al teach, the claimed analysis comprises ascertaining an occupancy status of the found charging station, “the computer device also detects an occupancy state of the plurality of parking spaces and provides only free parking spaces for selection” P[0026], and “the central camera being provided in the charging station and to identify whether the parking space is available as a conventional parking space for other vehicles or is currently being used” P[0031].
Regarding claim 5 Kilic et al and Zhang et al teach the claimed method of claim 1 (see above), wherein Kilic et al teach, the claimed analysis comprises if the charging station is found within a define area, ascertaining a position of the found charging station with respect to the defined area, “b) identifying the vehicle and detecting a current position of the vehicle with respect to one or more parking spaces of the charging/discharging station by means of image data relating to the vehicle which are recorded by the camera device, and c) navigating the vehicle to a parking space on the basis of the detected current position of the vehicle and the spatial coordinates of the parking space by means of the first and second communication units” P[0016], and “an item of corresponding information to be transmitted to such a charging/discharging station, for example by means of radio signal, if a driver wishes to charge or discharge his vehicle, the method according to b) and c) being carried out as the vehicle approaches the charging/discharging station, for example as of a defined distance, for example 30 to 40 m” P[0018]. Kilic et al do not explicitly teach the claimed charging station is with a defined area, but reference one or more parking spaces of the charging/discharging station (P[0016], see above). Zhang et al teach, “When only the current location information of the vehicle to be charged is acquired in step S301, then in step S302, the vehicle to be charged may first search for a charging station whose distance from the current location of the vehicle to be charged is less than a preset distance” (translation page 10 paragraph 7), and “When only the current location information of the vehicle to be charged is acquired in step S1001, then in step S1002, the drone carried by the vehicle may, for example, first search for a distance from the current location of the vehicle to be charged that is less than a preset distance.” (translation page 14 last paragraph). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method for navigating a vehicle into a charging station of Kilic et al with the search for a charging station among multiple charging stations within a preset distance of the vehicle of Zhang et al in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, improve charging efficiency (Zhang et al translation page 15 paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 10 Kilic et al and Zhang et al teach the claimed method of claim 1 (see above), wherein Kilic et al teach, the claimed environment signals are received with represent the environment of the electric motor vehicle, “A current position of the vehicle 14 with respect to the parking spaces 4 of the charging/discharging station 2 is furthermore also detected by means of the camera device 10. In this case, the image data relating to the vehicle 14 which are recorded by the camera device 10 are transmitted to the computer device 12 which can then determine the coordinates of the parking spaces 4 relative to the vehicle 14 taking into account the known spatial coordinates of the parking spaces 4.” P[0045], and the claimed monitoring data is analyzed based on the environment signals, “The coordinates of the parking spaces 4 relative to the vehicle 14 can be transmitted from the first communication unit 8 to the second communication unit 16 of the vehicle 14, with the result that the trajectories from the current position of the vehicle 14 to the parking spaces 4 can be calculated in the vehicle. Alternatively, the trajectories are calculated by the charging/discharging station 2, for example by means of the computer device 12 illustrated, and the trajectories are finally transmitted to the second communication unit 16 via the first communication unit 8.” P[0045].
Regarding claim 14 Kilic et al and Zhang et al teach the claimed method of claim 1 (see above), wherein Kilic et al teach, the claimed at least one of the method steps are carried out by the electric motor vehicle or by an infrastructure object or by the drone, “The computer device 12 is also connected to a camera device 10, in which case the connection can be implemented in a wireless manner or with the aid of a cable. The camera device 10 is formed by stereo cameras, for example. In the embodiment illustrated, the computer device 12, the camera device 10 and the first communication unit 8 form a system 13 which is positioned with respect to the parking spaces 4 of the charging/discharging station 2 in such a manner that a plan view of the parking spaces 4 is possible, in principle. In particular, provision may be made for the system 13 or parts of the system 13, in particular only the camera device 10 for example, to be in the form of a drone, that is to say to fly autonomously, in particular, and to fly around above the parking spaces 4 according to a defined program, for example, in order to enable a plan view of the parking spaces. In addition, a system 13 or part of a system 13 in the form of a drone preferably also comprises a station (not illustrated) on which the drone is parked at those times at which no identification of the vehicle 14, no detection of a current position of the vehicle 14 and no navigation of the vehicle 14 to the parking space 4 are carried out.” P[0043], and “FIG. 2 shows the charging/discharging station 2 from FIG. 1, in which case a vehicle 14 which is identified by the computer device 12 is approaching. The identification is carried out, for example, by transmitting a MAC address and/or other relevant vehicle data by means of a second communication unit 16, which is assigned to the vehicle 14, to the first communication unit 8, which is assigned to the computer device 12. A current position of the vehicle 14 with respect to the parking spaces 4 of the charging/discharging station 2 is furthermore also detected by means of the camera device 10. In this case, the image data relating to the vehicle 14 which are recorded by the camera device 10 are transmitted to the computer device 12 which can then determine the coordinates of the parking spaces 4 relative to the vehicle 14 taking into account the known spatial coordinates of the parking spaces 4. The coordinates of the parking spaces 4 relative to the vehicle 14 can be transmitted from the first communication unit 8 to the second communication unit 16 of the vehicle 14, with the result that the trajectories from the current position of the vehicle 14 to the parking spaces 4 can be calculated in the vehicle. Alternatively, the trajectories are calculated by the charging/discharging station 2, for example by means of the computer device 12 illustrated, and the trajectories are finally transmitted to the second communication unit 16 via the first communication unit 8.” P[0045].
Regarding claim 15 Kilic et al and Zhang et al teach the claimed method of claim 1 (see above), Kilic et al teach, the claimed method is started proactively independently of the current charge state of the drive battery of the electric motor vehicle, “In the method, the following steps are provided, in particular: a) determining and storing spatial coordinates of the parking space(s) of the charging/discharging station in the computer device, b) identifying the vehicle and detecting a current position of the vehicle with respect to one or more parking spaces of the charging/discharging station by means of image data relating to the vehicle which are recorded by the camera device, and c) navigating the vehicle to a parking space on the basis of the detected current position of the vehicle and the spatial coordinates of the parking space by means of the first and second communication units.” P[0016], the method does not require the current charge state of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 16 Kilic et al and Zhang et al teach the claimed method of claim 1 (see above), wherein Kilic et al teach, the claimed infrastructure assistance data is ascertained for infrastructure-supported assistance of the electric motor vehicle during automatically guided journey to the found charging station and sent to the electric motor vehicle, “FIG. 3 illustrates the system 13 from FIG. 1, in which case the vehicle 14 is equipped here with an additional sensor system 20 which can be assigned to a parking assistant of the vehicle 14, for example. The vehicle 14, in particular a secondary coil 18 in the optimum vicinity of the primary coil 6, is positioned with the aid of the communication via the first communication unit 8 and the second communication unit 16 and possibly additionally with the aid of the sensor system 20.” (P[0046] and Figure 3).
Regarding claim 17 Kilic et al and Zhang et al teach the claimed method of claim 1 (see above), wherein Kilic et al teach, the claimed electric motor vehicle control signals for at least partially automated control of transverse or longitudinal guidance of the electric motor vehicle is generated and output based on the analysis result, “the trajectories are calculated by the charging/discharging station 2, for example by means of the computer device 12 illustrated, and the trajectories are finally transmitted to the second communication unit 16 via the first communication unit 8” P[0045], and the vehicle can be parked in the charging location manually, semi-automatically or automatically P[0025].
Regarding claim 21 Kilic et al and Zhang et al teach the claimed method of claim 1 (see above), Kilic et al teach, the claimed device to execute all the steps of the method of claim 1, “the computer device 12, the camera device 10 and the first communication unit 8 form a system 13 which is positioned with respect to the parking spaces 4 of the charging/discharging station 2” (P[0043] and Figure 1).
Regarding claim 22 Kilic et al and Zhang et al teach the claimed method of claim 1 and the device of claim 21 (see above), Kilic et al teach, the claimed system for finding the charging station for electric motor vehicles, “The charging/discharging station 2 also comprises a first communication unit 8 which is connected to a computer device 12.” (P[0042] and Figure 1), comprising:
the claimed drone with the monitoring device, “the charging/discharging station comprises a so-called drone which can have the camera device, a communication unit and, in particular, also the computer device” P[0012], and “provision may be made for the system 13 or parts of the system 13, in particular only the camera device 10 for example, to be in the form of a drone, that is to say to fly autonomously, in particular, and to fly around above the parking spaces 4 according to a defined program, for example, in order to enable a plan view of the parking spaces” P[0043], and
the claimed device of claim 21, “the computer device 12, the camera device 10 and the first communication unit 8 form a system 13 which is positioned with respect to the parking spaces 4 of the charging/discharging station 2” (P[0043] and Figure 1).
Claim(s) 2 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kilic et al Patent Application Publication Number 2017/0253131 A1 and Zhang et al WIPO/PCT document WO-201802019-A1 (translation cited and provided with the previous office action of 4/24/2026), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chan Patent Application Publication Number 2016/0232789 A1.
Regarding claim 2 Kilic et al and Zhang et al teach the claimed method of claim 1 (see above), Kilic et al and Zhang et al do not teach the claimed dimension signals are received that represent dimensions of the electric motor vehicle, and the claimed monitoring data is analyzed based on the dimension signals comprising testing the found charging station to determine whether a drive battery of the electric motor vehicle can be charged at the found charging station based on the dimensions.
Chan teaches,
the claimed dimension signals are received that represent dimensions of the electric motor vehicle, “vehicle dimensions are retrieved through the portable computing device” P[0027], wherein
the claimed monitoring data is analyzed based on the dimension signals comprising testing the found charging station to determine whether a drive battery of the electric motor vehicle can be charged at the found charging station based on the dimensions, “The user may be given the option to store one or more selected vehicles on the portable computing device for easy access. Instead of automatically retrieving the vehicle dimensions based on a selected vehicle, the user may alternatively be prompted to enter vehicle dimensions through the portable computing device. Actual dimensions for each of the potential parking spots are measured by visually analyzing the current photograph. The vehicle dimensions are compared to the actual dimensions for each of the potential parking spots in order to identify the suitable parking spots amongst potential parking spots.” P[0024].
The parking spots of Chan are equated to the parking spaces for charging of Kilic et al, and to the claimed found charging station. The requirements for the vehicle to fit into a parking spot of Chan would be applied to the vehicle fitting into a charging spot of Kilic et al (which is also a parking space). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method for navigating a vehicle into a charging station of Kilic et al and the search for a charging station among multiple charging stations of Zhang et al with the required vehicle dimensions for fitting into a parking space of Chan in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, ensure that the user can safely park in the potential parking spots (Chan P[0019]).
Regarding claim 19 Kilic et al and Zhang et al teach the claimed method of claim 1 (see above), Kilic et al and Zhang et al do not teach the claimed additional control signals are generated when the drone is controlled and based on live monitoring of the environment. Chan teaches, “In order to monitor the whereabouts of the user and provide accurate driving instructions, the current geospatial location is retrieved from the portable computing device in real-time. As the user progresses towards the desired location, the current geospatial location is updated.” P[0020], “The at least one baseline photograph is used as a point of comparison for photographs taken in real-time. When the remote server receives a parking search request, at least one current photograph is captured with the elevated camera during step D. The current photograph is used to accurately gauge the present availability of parking near the desired location. The baseline photograph is compared to the current photograph in order to identify visual differences between the baseline photograph and the current photograph.” P[0023], and “Actual dimensions for each of the potential parking spots are measured by visually analyzing the current photograph. The vehicle dimensions are compared to the actual dimensions for each of the potential parking spots in order to identify the suitable parking spots amongst potential parking spots.” P[0024], the current and real time information may be supplied from a camera of a drone P[0023]. The current information provided real time of Chan would be used in the system of Kilic et al for directing the vehicle to the charging spot. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method for navigating a vehicle into a charging station of Kilic et al and the search for a charging station among multiple charging stations of Zhang et al with the current and real time information supplied for searching for parking spots of Chan in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, ensure that the user can safely park in the potential parking spots (Chan P[0019]).
Claim(s) 6, 13, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kilic et al Patent Application Publication Number 2017/0253131 A1 and Zhang et al WIPO/PCT document WO-201802019-A1 (translation cited and provided with the previous office action of 4/24/2026), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li et al Patent Application Publication Number 2019/0066503 A1.
Regarding claim 6 Kilic et al and Zhang et al teach the claimed method of claim 1 (see above), Kilic et al and Zhang et al do not teach the claimed when the charging station has been found to provide additional control signals to the drone and outputting additional monitoring data. The examiner interprets the claim language to mean updating and adjusting the control of the drone and updating the output to reach the found charging station.
Li et al teach, “the UAV 300 continuously updates the planned path 102 and sends the updated path 102 to the vehicle-trailer system 200” P[0052], and “the UAV 300 follows the vehicle-trailer system 200 as it autonomously maneuvers to the selected available parking space 1-32 and continuously updates the planned path 102 based on continuously taking and analyzing the images the UAV 300 captures” P[0054]. The following by the drone and the updated planned path of Li et al would be provided to the vehicles of Kilic et al to park them in the charging locations. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method for navigating a vehicle into a charging station of Kilic et al and the search for a charging station among multiple charging stations of Zhang et al with the drone following of the vehicle and providing an updated planned path to parking of Li et al in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, provide efficient instructions for directing the path of the vehicle (Li et al P[0003]).
Regarding claim 13 Kilic et al and Zhang et al teach the claimed method of claims 1 and 10 (see above), Kilic et al and Zhang et al do not teach the claimed environment signals comprise environment signals transmitted from a traffic control center or from a charging station control center. Li et al teach, “the UAV 300 captures images and sends them to a parking lot controller 600 that executed the object recognition system 250 which detects the available parking spaces 1-32, and one or more vehicle-trailer systems 200 near or within the parking lot 100. The parking lot controller 600 communicates with the one or more vehicle-trailer systems 200 near or within the parking lot 100 the parking space information. In some examples, parking lot controller 600 is configured to prioritize the one or more vehicle-trailer systems 200 near or within the parking lot 100 such that each vehicle-trailer system 200 has sufficient time and space to park within the parking lot 100.” (P[0062] and Figure 6B), the parking lot controller 600 equates to the claimed charging station control center. The parking lot controller of Li et al would be used in the method of Kilic et al for directing different vehicles to the available charging spaces. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method for navigating a vehicle into a charging station of Kilic et al and the search for a charging station among multiple charging stations of Zhang et al with the parking controller of Li et al in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, provide efficient instructions for directing the path of the vehicle (Li et al P[0003]).
Regarding claim 18 Kilic et al and Zhang et al teach the claimed method of claim 1 (see above), Kilic et al and Zhang et al do not explicitly teach the claimed monitoring data or analysis results are sent to a traffic control center or a charging station control center. Li et al teach, “the UAV 300 captures images and sends them to a parking lot controller 600 that executed the object recognition system 250 which detects the available parking spaces 1-32, and one or more vehicle-trailer systems 200 near or within the parking lot 100. The parking lot controller 600 communicates with the one or more vehicle-trailer systems 200 near or within the parking lot 100 the parking space information. In some examples, parking lot controller 600 is configured to prioritize the one or more vehicle-trailer systems 200 near or within the parking lot 100 such that each vehicle-trailer system 200 has sufficient time and space to park within the parking lot 100.” (P[0062] and Figure 6B), the parking lot controller 600 equates to the claimed charging station control center. The parking lot controller of Li et al would be used in the method of Kilic et al for directing different vehicles to the available charging spaces. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method for navigating a vehicle into a charging station of Kilic et al and the search for a charging station among multiple charging stations of Zhang et al with the parking controller of Li et al in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, provide efficient instructions for directing the path of the vehicle (Li et al P[0003]).
Regarding claim 20 Kilic et al and Zhang et al teach the claimed method of claim 1 (see above), Kilic et al do not explicitly teach the claimed at least one method step is carried when a safety condition is met, but it is well known to avoid collisions/obstacles when driving. Li et al teach, “the top view of the parking lot, provided by the UAV, provides better determination of a path, and avoids blind spots” P[0026], “the path planning system 266 may recalculate the planned path 102 to avoid the one or more objects” P[0044], and “the UAV 300 may schedule incoming and outgoing vehicle-trailer systems 200 to avoid congestion and improve safety within the parking lot 100” P[0061]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method for navigating a vehicle into a charging station of Kilic et al and the search for a charging station among multiple charging stations of Zhang et al with the object avoidance and improved parking lot safety of Li et al in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, provide efficient instructions for directing the path of the vehicle (Li et al P[0003]).
Claim(s) 8 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kilic et al Patent Application Publication Number 2017/0253131 A1 and Zhang et al WIPO/PCT document WO-201802019-A1 (translation cited and provided with the previous office action of 4/24/2026), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Miller et al Patent Application Publication Number 2017/0087999 A1.
Regarding claim 8 Kilic et al Zhang et al teach the claimed method of claim 1 (see above), Kilic et al do not teach the claimed in a case of a plurality of found charging stations then the analysis comprises determining an optimal charging station of the plurality of found charging stations. Zhang et al do teach that a charging station is selected based on being within a preset distance of the vehicle (translation page 10 paragraph 7, and page 14 last paragraph). The preset distance of Zhang et al would be a condition used for determining if a charging station would be considered optimal.
Miller et al teach, “The map includes an unsafe area 202 south of the railroad tracks 206. The map includes a safe area 204 north of the railroad tracks 206. A start point 214 shows a direction of travel for a vehicle 216. The vehicle 216 is on the way to a work location (not shown) to the east of the city 201. Having a desired safety rating of five stars, a vehicle 216 may receive indication of the charge station 212. Having a desired safety rating of five stars, the vehicle 216 would not receive indication of the lower starred charge stations 208, 210. If the vehicle 216 predicts a battery state of charge lower than desired at the assumed or disclosed destination, the desired safety rating may be adjusted automatically to three stars and display the charge station 210 even though the charge station 208 is closer to the anticipated route. If the vehicle 216 predicts a battery state of charge lower than desired at the assumed or disclosed destination, the vehicle may adjust the desired safety rating automatically to one star and display the charge station 208 even though the charge station 208 is on the unsafe side of the tracks.” (P[0032] and Figure 2). The five star charging station 212 equates to the claimed optimal charging station, and charging stations 208, 210, 212 equate to the claimed plurality of charging stations. The ratings of the charging stations of Miller et al would be included with Kilic et al to provide the drivers with different options for charging their vehicle. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method for navigating a vehicle into a charging station of Kilic et al and the search for a charging station among multiple charging stations of Zhang et al with the rated charging stations of Miller et al in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, provide accurate charging location data (Miller et al P[0014]) and provide information related to safety, activities, and utilities at each charge station (Miller et al P[0020]).
Regarding claim 12 Kilic et al and Zhang et al teach the claimed method of claims 1 and 10 (see above), Kilic et al and Zhang et al do not teach the claimed environment signals comprise map signals which represent a digital map of the environment of the electric motor vehicle indicating a respective position of the charging stations. Miller et al teach, “Referring to FIG. 2, a map 200 of a city 201 is shown. The map includes an unsafe area 202 south of the railroad tracks 206. The map includes a safe area 204 north of the railroad tracks 206. A start point 214 shows a direction of travel for a vehicle 216. The vehicle 216 is on the way to a work location (not shown) to the east of the city 201. Having a desired safety rating of five stars, a vehicle 216 may receive indication of the charge station 212. Having a desired safety rating of five stars, the vehicle 216 would not receive indication of the lower starred charge stations 208, 210.” P[0032],
(Miller et al Figure 2),
the map shows the position of the vehicle 216 relative to charging stations 212, 210, 208. The map of the charging stations of Miller et al would be provided to the drivers of Kilic et al to select a charging station. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method for navigating a vehicle into a charging station of Kilic et al and the search for a charging station among multiple charging stations of Zhang et al with the map display of relative charging station locations of Miller et al in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, provide accurate charging location data (Miller et al P[0014]) and provide information related to safety, activities, and utilities at each charge station (Miller et al P[0020]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kilic et al Patent Application Publication Number 2017/0253131 A1 and Zhang et al WIPO/PCT document WO-201802019-A1 (translation cited and provided with the previous office action of 4/24/2026), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chakraborty et al Patent Application Publication Number 2020/0262305 A1.
Regarding claim 11 Kilic et al and Zhang et al teach the claimed method of claims 1 and 10 (see above), Kilic et al and Zhang et al do not teach the claimed environment signals are transmitted from an additional electric motor vehicle in front of the electric motor vehicle. The transmission of signals from one vehicle to another (V2V communication) is common and well known in the art. Chakraborty et al teach, “In some embodiments, the charging vehicle might send a signal via a transceiver to a receiver of the battery-powered vehicle, the signal indicative of a command or a request. In some embodiments, the signal might be indicative of a command for the battery-powered vehicle to change its position and/or location with respect to the charging vehicle. In some embodiments, the signal might be indicative of a command for the battery-powered vehicle to changes its speed and/or velocity, such as by “speed locking” with the charging vehicle. In some embodiments, the signal might be indicative of an intention by the charging vehicle to changes its position, location, speed, and/or velocity to match those of the battery-powered vehicle. In some embodiments, the signal might be indicative of a request that the battery-powered vehicle carry out any of the previous actions described, with the difference between a request and a command being that the battery-powered vehicle can refuse to comply with the request whereas the battery-powered vehicle might be either not capable, only partially capable, or only capable following a particular emergency procedure, of refusing to comply with the command.” P[0082], and “In some embodiments, once the battery-powered vehicle receives the signal, the battery-powered vehicle can be configured to immediately comply, to return a separate signal from a transceiver of the battery-powered vehicle to a receiver of the charging vehicle of an intention to comply with the instructions to initiate the charge transaction, can return a signal indicative of an intention to not comply with the instructions to initiate the charge transaction, a signal indicative of an alternative course of action or additional course of action with respect to the instructions to initiate a charge transaction, or combinations thereof.” P[0083]. The exchange of information between vehicles of Chakraborty et al would be used in a general sense by Kilic et al as a source of additional information about the charging spots (available, directions, etc.). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method for navigating a vehicle into a charging station of Kilic et al and the search for a charging station among multiple charging stations of Zhang et al with the communication between vehicles of Chakraborty et al in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, employ an efficient charge scheduling algorithm to schedule charging instances between entities that are controllable within the system (Chakraborty et al P[0080]).
Related Art
The examiner points to Koji et al UK Patent Application Publication Number GB 2592838 A as related art, but not relied upon for any rejection. Koji et al is directed to a parking management module identifies an available parking space in response to a vehicle request and provides guidance parameters (i.e. parking space location and vehicle identity) to an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV). The UAV guides the vehicle to the space by moving ahead of the vehicle, determining whether there is a risk of collision between the vehicle and an obstacle detected via the UAV’s environment sensor, and causing action to be taken to avoid the collision. The UAV may determine an obstructed viewing region which cannot be sensed by the vehicle and adjust its navigation route to detect obstacles. The UAV may also determine a collision risk between itself and the vehicle. A second UAV may identify and physically reserve the parking space and notify the parking management module to update its status in a database to ‘reserved’ (abstract, and Figures 2 thru 4).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DALE W HILGENDORF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662