DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 thru 6, 8 and 10 thru 22 have been examined. Claims 7, 9, 23 and 24 have been cancelled.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figure 1 is a series of empty boxes that any description of the method. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825). A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: On page 14 line 15 and line 17, the phrases “electric motor vehicle (505)” should be “electric motor vehicle (509)” to agree with Figure 5.
Appropriate correction is required.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: On page 26 line 37, the phrases “monitoring device 520” should be “monitoring device 529” to agree with the rest of the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim objected to because of the following informalities: In line 4, the phrase “electric vehicle” should be “electric motor vehicle” to match the claim language used in claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 1, the phrase “as claimed claim 1” should be “as claimed in claim 1”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim objected to because of the following informalities: In lines 2 and 3, the phrase “motor vehicle” should be “electric motor vehicle” to match the claim language used in claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 9, there should be a ‘comma’ after the phrase “additional control signals”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim objected to because of the following informalities: In line 1, the phrase “as claimed in any claim 1” should be “as claimed in claim 1”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim objected to because of the following informalities: In line 1, the phrase “as claimed claim 1” should be “as claimed in claim 1”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 thru 6, 8 and 10 thru 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the at least one drone monitors an environment of an electric motor vehicle using its monitoring device” (lines 6 and 7). It is unclear if the monitoring device is part of the drone or part of the electric motor vehicle. The examiner assumes it is part of the drone for continued examination.
Claim 1 recites “a charging station” in line 13, while earlier also recites “a charging station” in line 1. It is unclear if this is a new charging station or the same charging station. The examiner assumes it is the same charging station for continued examination.
Claim 2 recites “a found charging station” in lines 3 and 4, while claim 1 performs an analyzing step to “find a charging station” (line 13). The requirement to find a charging station results in and is equivalent to “a found charging station”. It is unclear if the found charging station is new or the same as in claim 1. The examiner assumes it is the same found charging station for continued examination.
Claim 2 recites “testing [the] found charging station to determine whether a drive battery of the electric [motor] vehicle can be charged in the found charging station based on its dimension or dimensions” (lines 3 thru 5). It is unclear whether the dimensions reference the charging station, the drive battery, or the electric motor vehicle. The examiner assumes the dimensions reference the electric motor vehicle for continued examination.
Claim 3 recites “a found charging station” in line 2, while claim 1 performs an analyzing step to “find a charging station” (line 13). The requirement to find a charging station results in and is equivalent to “a found charging station”. It is unclear if the found charging station is new or the same as in claim 1. The examiner assumes it is the same found charging station for continued examination.
Claim 4 recites “a found charging station” in line 2, while claim 1 performs an analyzing step to “find a charging station” (line 13). The requirement to find a charging station results in and is equivalent to “a found charging station”. It is unclear if the found charging station is new or the same as in claim 1. The examiner assumes it is the same found charging station for continued examination.
Claim 5 recites “a charging station” in line 2, while earlier claim 1 also recites “a charging station” in line 1. It is unclear if this is a new charging station or the same charging station. The examiner assumes it is the same charging station for continued examination.
Claim 6 recites “a charging station” in line 2, while earlier claim 1 also recites “a charging station” in line 1. It is unclear if this is a new charging station or the same charging station. The examiner assumes it is the same charging station for continued examination.
Claim 6 recites “the at least one drone monitors the found charging station using its monitoring device” (lines 6 and 7). It is unclear if the monitoring device is part of the drone or part of the found charging station. The examiner assumes it is part of the drone for continued examination.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the optimal charging station" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the infrastructure" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the infrastructure-supported assistance" in lines 2 and 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites “a found charging station” in line 4, while claim 1 performs an analyzing step to “find a charging station” (line 13). The requirement to find a charging station results in and is equivalent to “a found charging station”. It is unclear if the found charging station is new or the same as in claim 1. The examiner assumes it is the same found charging station for continued examination.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the at least partially automated control" in lines 2 and 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 19, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations are directed to the control signals or the additional control signals (line 2).
Regarding claim 19, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations are directed to the monitoring data or the additional monitoring data (lines 5 and 6).
Claim 22 recites “a charging station” in line 1, while earlier claim 1 also recites “a charging station” in line 1. It is unclear if this is a new charging station or the same charging station. The examiner assumes it is the same charging station for continued examination.
Claim 22 recites “a monitoring device” in line 4, while earlier claim 1 also recites “a monitoring device” in line 2. It is unclear if this is a new monitoring device or the same monitoring device. The examiner assumes it is the same monitoring device for continued examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 thru 5, 10, 14 thru 17, 21 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kilic et al Patent Application Publication Number 2017/0253131 A1.
Regarding claim 1 Kilic et al disclose the claimed method for finding a charging station for electric motor vehicles, a method that includes navigating the vehicle to a parking space on the basis of the detected current position of the vehicle and the spatial coordinates of the parking space by means of the first and second communication units P[0016], the vehicle is battery operated and is guided to a charging station P[0005], and “the charging/discharging station comprises a so-called drone which can have the camera device, a communication unit and, in particular, also the computer device” P[0012], the claimed using at least one drone that has a monitoring device, “The camera device 10 is formed by stereo cameras, for example. In the embodiment illustrated, the computer device 12, the camera device 10 and the first communication unit 8 form a system 13 which is positioned with respect to the parking spaces 4 of the charging/discharging station 2 in such a manner that a plan view of the parking spaces 4 is possible, in principle. In particular, provision may be made for the system 13 or parts of the system 13, in particular only the camera device 10 for example, to be in the form of a drone, that is to say to fly autonomously, in particular, and to fly around above the parking spaces 4 according to a defined program, for example, in order to enable a plan view of the parking spaces.” (P[0043] and Figure 1), the camera equates to the claimed monitoring device, comprising the following steps:
the claimed generating control signals for controlling the drone to monitor an environment of an electric motor vehicle using the monitoring device and outputting monitoring data based on the monitoring, “FIG. 2 shows the charging/discharging station 2 from FIG. 1, in which case a vehicle 14 which is identified by the computer device 12 is approaching. The identification is carried out, for example, by transmitting a MAC address and/or other relevant vehicle data by means of a second communication unit 16, which is assigned to the vehicle 14, to the first communication unit 8, which is assigned to the computer device 12. A current position of the vehicle 14 with respect to the parking spaces 4 of the charging/discharging station 2 is furthermore also detected by means of the camera device 10. In this case, the image data relating to the vehicle 14 which are recorded by the camera device 10 are transmitted to the computer device 12 which can then determine the coordinates of the parking spaces 4 relative to the vehicle 14 taking into account the known spatial coordinates of the parking spaces 4.” (P[0045] and Figure 2), the computing device/camera device equates to the claimed drone (see Kilic et al P[0012], P[0043]),
the claimed outputting the generated control signals in order to control the drone based on the generated control signals, “provision may be made for the system 13 or parts of the system 13, in particular only the camera device 10 for example, to be in the form of a drone, that is to say to fly autonomously, in particular, and to fly around above the parking spaces 4 according to a defined program, for example, in order to enable a plan view of the parking spaces” P[0043], the flying of the drone and the define program equate to the claimed control signals,
the claimed receiving the monitoring data from the drone after the output of the generated control signals, “the image data relating to the vehicle 14 which are recorded by the camera device 10 are transmitted to the computer device 12 which can then determine the coordinates of the parking spaces 4 relative to the vehicle 14 taking into account the known spatial coordinates of the parking spaces 4. The coordinates of the parking spaces 4 relative to the vehicle 14 can be transmitted from the first communication unit 8 to the second communication unit 16 of the vehicle 14, with the result that the trajectories from the current position of the vehicle 14 to the parking spaces 4 can be calculated in the vehicle. Alternatively, the trajectories are calculated by the charging/discharging station 2, for example by means of the computer device 12 illustrated, and the trajectories are finally transmitted to the second communication unit 16 via the first communication unit 8.” (P[0045] and Figures 2 and 3),
the claimed analyzing the monitoring data to find the charging station for electric motor vehicles, “FIG. 1 also illustrates the fact that the primary coils 6 are in the capture range of the camera device 10, with the result that the spatial coordinates of the parking spaces 4 and of the primary coils 6 can be determined and stored in the computer device 12.” P[0044], and “The coordinates of the parking spaces 4 relative to the vehicle 14 can be transmitted from the first communication unit 8 to the second communication unit 16 of the vehicle 14, with the result that the trajectories from the current position of the vehicle 14 to the parking spaces 4 can be calculated in the vehicle.” P[0045], the location of the coils 6 in the parking space 4 equates to the claimed charging station, and
the claimed outputting an analysis result of the analysis of the monitoring data, “the trajectories are finally transmitted to the second communication unit 16 via the first communication unit 8” P[0045].
Regarding claim 3 Kilic et al disclose the claimed method of claim 1 (see above) wherein the claimed analysis comprises testing the found charging station to determine whether the charging station is accessible for the electric motor vehicle, “the computer device also detects an occupancy state of the plurality of parking spaces and provides only free parking spaces for selection” P[0026], and “the central camera being provided in the charging station and to identify whether the parking space is available as a conventional parking space for other vehicles or is currently being used” P[0031].
Regarding claim 4 Kilic et al disclose the claimed method of claim 1 (see above) wherein the claimed analysis comprises ascertaining an occupancy status of the found charging station, “the computer device also detects an occupancy state of the plurality of parking spaces and provides only free parking spaces for selection” P[0026], and “the central camera being provided in the charging station and to identify whether the parking space is available as a conventional parking space for other vehicles or is currently being used” P[0031].
Regarding claim 5 Kilic et al disclose the claimed method of claim 1 (see above) wherein the claimed analysis comprises if the charging station is found which is located within a define area, ascertaining a position of the found charging station with respect to the area, “b) identifying the vehicle and detecting a current position of the vehicle with respect to one or more parking spaces of the charging/discharging station by means of image data relating to the vehicle which are recorded by the camera device, and c) navigating the vehicle to a parking space on the basis of the detected current position of the vehicle and the spatial coordinates of the parking space by means of the first and second communication units” P[0016], and “an item of corresponding information to be transmitted to such a charging/discharging station, for example by means of radio signal, if a driver wishes to charge or discharge his vehicle, the method according to b) and c) being carried out as the vehicle approaches the charging/discharging station, for example as of a defined distance, for example 30 to 40 m” P[0018].
Regarding claim 10 Kilic et al disclose the claimed method of claim 1 (see above), wherein the claimed environment signals are received with represent the environment of the electric motor vehicle, “A current position of the vehicle 14 with respect to the parking spaces 4 of the charging/discharging station 2 is furthermore also detected by means of the camera device 10. In this case, the image data relating to the vehicle 14 which are recorded by the camera device 10 are transmitted to the computer device 12 which can then determine the coordinates of the parking spaces 4 relative to the vehicle 14 taking into account the known spatial coordinates of the parking spaces 4.” P[0045], and the claimed monitoring data is analyzed based on the environment signals, “The coordinates of the parking spaces 4 relative to the vehicle 14 can be transmitted from the first communication unit 8 to the second communication unit 16 of the vehicle 14, with the result that the trajectories from the current position of the vehicle 14 to the parking spaces 4 can be calculated in the vehicle. Alternatively, the trajectories are calculated by the charging/discharging station 2, for example by means of the computer device 12 illustrated, and the trajectories are finally transmitted to the second communication unit 16 via the first communication unit 8.” P[0045].
Regarding claim 14 Kilic et al disclose the claimed method of claim 1 (see above), wherein the claimed at least one of the method steps are carried out by the electric motor vehicle or by an infrastructure or by the drone, “The computer device 12 is also connected to a camera device 10, in which case the connection can be implemented in a wireless manner or with the aid of a cable. The camera device 10 is formed by stereo cameras, for example. In the embodiment illustrated, the computer device 12, the camera device 10 and the first communication unit 8 form a system 13 which is positioned with respect to the parking spaces 4 of the charging/discharging station 2 in such a manner that a plan view of the parking spaces 4 is possible, in principle. In particular, provision may be made for the system 13 or parts of the system 13, in particular only the camera device 10 for example, to be in the form of a drone, that is to say to fly autonomously, in particular, and to fly around above the parking spaces 4 according to a defined program, for example, in order to enable a plan view of the parking spaces. In addition, a system 13 or part of a system 13 in the form of a drone preferably also comprises a station (not illustrated) on which the drone is parked at those times at which no identification of the vehicle 14, no detection of a current position of the vehicle 14 and no navigation of the vehicle 14 to the parking space 4 are carried out.” P[0043], and “FIG. 2 shows the charging/discharging station 2 from FIG. 1, in which case a vehicle 14 which is identified by the computer device 12 is approaching. The identification is carried out, for example, by transmitting a MAC address and/or other relevant vehicle data by means of a second communication unit 16, which is assigned to the vehicle 14, to the first communication unit 8, which is assigned to the computer device 12. A current position of the vehicle 14 with respect to the parking spaces 4 of the charging/discharging station 2 is furthermore also detected by means of the camera device 10. In this case, the image data relating to the vehicle 14 which are recorded by the camera device 10 are transmitted to the computer device 12 which can then determine the coordinates of the parking spaces 4 relative to the vehicle 14 taking into account the known spatial coordinates of the parking spaces 4. The coordinates of the parking spaces 4 relative to the vehicle 14 can be transmitted from the first communication unit 8 to the second communication unit 16 of the vehicle 14, with the result that the trajectories from the current position of the vehicle 14 to the parking spaces 4 can be calculated in the vehicle. Alternatively, the trajectories are calculated by the charging/discharging station 2, for example by means of the computer device 12 illustrated, and the trajectories are finally transmitted to the second communication unit 16 via the first communication unit 8.” P[0045].
Regarding claim 15 Kilic et al disclose the claimed method of claim 1 (see above), Kilic et al teach the claimed method is started proactively independently of the current charge state of the drive battery of the electric motor vehicle, “In the method, the following steps are provided, in particular: a) determining and storing spatial coordinates of the parking space(s) of the charging/discharging station in the computer device, b) identifying the vehicle and detecting a current position of the vehicle with respect to one or more parking spaces of the charging/discharging station by means of image data relating to the vehicle which are recorded by the camera device, and c) navigating the vehicle to a parking space on the basis of the detected current position of the vehicle and the spatial coordinates of the parking space by means of the first and second communication units.” P[0016], the method does not require the current charge state of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 16 Kilic et al disclose the claimed method of claim 1 (see above), wherein the claimed infrastructure assistance data is ascertained for infrastructure-supported assistance of the electric motor vehicle during automatically guided journey to the found charging station and sent to the electric motor vehicle, “FIG. 3 illustrates the system 13 from FIG. 1, in which case the vehicle 14 is equipped here with an additional sensor system 20 which can be assigned to a parking assistant of the vehicle 14, for example. The vehicle 14, in particular a secondary coil 18 in the optimum vicinity of the primary coil 6, is positioned with the aid of the communication via the first communication unit 8 and the second communication unit 16 and possibly additionally with the aid of the sensor system 20.” (P[0046] and Figure 3).
Regarding claim 17 Kilic et al disclose the claimed method of claim 1 (see above), wherein the claimed electric motor vehicle control signals for at least partially automated control of transverse or longitudinal guidance of the electric motor vehicle is generated and output based on the analysis result, “the trajectories are calculated by the charging/discharging station 2, for example by means of the computer device 12 illustrated, and the trajectories are finally transmitted to the second communication unit 16 via the first communication unit 8” P[0045], and the vehicle can be parked in the charging location manually, semi-automatically or automatically P[0025].
Regarding claim 21 Kilic et al disclose the claimed device to execute all steps of the method of claim 1, “the computer device 12, the camera device 10 and the first communication unit 8 form a system 13 which is positioned with respect to the parking spaces 4 of the charging/discharging station 2” (P[0043] and Figure 1).
Regarding claim 22 Kilic et al disclose the claimed system for finding the charging station for electric motor vehicles, “The charging/discharging station 2 also comprises a first communication unit 8 which is connected to a computer device 12.” (P[0042] and Figure 1), comprising:
the claimed drone with the monitoring device, “the charging/discharging station comprises a so-called drone which can have the camera device, a communication unit and, in particular, also the computer device” P[0012], and “provision may be made for the system 13 or parts of the system 13, in particular only the camera device 10 for example, to be in the form of a drone, that is to say to fly autonomously, in particular, and to fly around above the parking spaces 4 according to a defined program, for example, in order to enable a plan view of the parking spaces” P[0043], and
the claimed device of claim 21, “the computer device 12, the camera device 10 and the first communication unit 8 form a system 13 which is positioned with respect to the parking spaces 4 of the charging/discharging station 2” (P[0043] and Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kilic et al Patent Application Publication Number 2017/0253131 A1 in view of Chan Patent Application Publication Number 2016/0232789 A1.
Regarding claim 2 Kilic et al teach the claimed method of claim 1 (see above), Kilic et al do not teach the claimed dimension signals are received that represent dimensions of the electric motor vehicle, and the claimed monitoring data is analyzed based on the dimension signals comprising testing the found charging station to determine whether a drive battery of the electric motor vehicle can be charged at the found charging station based on the dimensions.
Chan teaches,
the claimed dimension signals are received that represent dimensions of the electric motor vehicle, “vehicle dimensions are retrieved through the portable computing device” P[0027], wherein
the claimed monitoring data is analyzed based on the dimension signals comprising testing the found charging station to determine whether a drive battery of the electric motor vehicle can be charged at the found charging station based on the dimensions, “The user may be given the option to store one or more selected vehicles on the portable computing device for easy access. Instead of automatically retrieving the vehicle dimensions based on a selected vehicle, the user may alternatively be prompted to enter vehicle dimensions through the portable computing device. Actual dimensions for each of the potential parking spots are measured by visually analyzing the current photograph. The vehicle dimensions are compared to the actual dimensions for each of the potential parking spots in order to identify the suitable parking spots amongst potential parking spots.” P[0024].
The parking spots of Chan are equated to the parking spaces for charging of Kilic et al, and to the claimed found charging station. The requirements for the vehicle to fit into a parking spot of Chan would be applied to the vehicle fitting into a charging spot of Kilic et al (which is also a parking space). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method for navigating a vehicle into a charging station of Kilic et al with the required vehicle dimensions for fitting into a parking space of Chan in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, ensure that the user can safely park in the potential parking spots (Chan P[0019]).
Regarding claim 19 Kilic et al teach the claimed method of claim 1 (see above), Kilic et al do not teach the claimed additional control signals are generated when the drone is controlled and based on live monitoring of the environment. Chan teaches, “In order to monitor the whereabouts of the user and provide accurate driving instructions, the current geospatial location is retrieved from the portable computing device in real-time. As the user progresses towards the desired location, the current geospatial location is updated.” P[0020], “The at least one baseline photograph is used as a point of comparison for photographs taken in real-time. When the remote server receives a parking search request, at least one current photograph is captured with the elevated camera during step D. The current photograph is used to accurately gauge the present availability of parking near the desired location. The baseline photograph is compared to the current photograph in order to identify visual differences between the baseline photograph and the current photograph.” P[0023], and “Actual dimensions for each of the potential parking spots are measured by visually analyzing the current photograph. The vehicle dimensions are compared to the actual dimensions for each of the potential parking spots in order to identify the suitable parking spots amongst potential parking spots.” P[0024], the current and real time information may be supplied from a camera of a drone P[0023]. The current information provided real time of Chan would be used in the system of Kilic et al for directing the vehicle to the charging spot. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method for navigating a vehicle into a charging station of Kilic et al with the current and real time information supplied for searching for parking spots of Chan in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, ensure that the user can safely park in the potential parking spots (Chan P[0019]).
Claim(s) 6, 13, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kilic et al Patent Application Publication Number 2017/0253131 A1 in view of Li et al Patent Application Publication Number 2019/0066503 A1.
Regarding claim 6 Kilic et al teach the claimed method of claim 1 (see above), Kilic et al do not teach the claimed when the charging station has been found provide additional control signals to the drone and outputting additional monitoring data. The examiner interprets the claim language to mean updating and adjusting the control of the drone and updating the output to reach the found charging station.
Li et al teach, “the UAV 300 continuously updates the planned path 102 and sends the updated path 102 to the vehicle-trailer system 200” P[0052], and “the UAV 300 follows the vehicle-trailer system 200 as it autonomously maneuvers to the selected available parking space 1-32 and continuously updates the planned path 102 based on continuously taking and analyzing the images the UAV 300 captures” P[0054]. The following by the drone and the updated planned path of Li et al would be provided to the vehicles of Kilic et al to park them in the charging locations. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method for navigating a vehicle into a charging station of Kilic et al with the drone following of the vehicle and providing an updated planned path to parking of Li et al in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, provide efficient instructions for directing the path of the vehicle (Li et al P[0003]).
Regarding claim 13 Kilic et al teach the claimed method of claims 1 and 10 (see above), Kilic et al do not teach the claimed environment signals comprise environment signals transmitted from a traffic control center or from a charging station control center. Li et al teach, “the UAV 300 captures images and sends them to a parking lot controller 600 that executed the object recognition system 250 which detects the available parking spaces 1-32, and one or more vehicle-trailer systems 200 near or within the parking lot 100. The parking lot controller 600 communicates with the one or more vehicle-trailer systems 200 near or within the parking lot 100 the parking space information. In some examples, parking lot controller 600 is configured to prioritize the one or more vehicle-trailer systems 200 near or within the parking lot 100 such that each vehicle-trailer system 200 has sufficient time and space to park within the parking lot 100.” (P[0062] and Figure 6B), the parking lot controller 600 equates to the claimed charging station control center. The parking lot controller of Li et al would be used in the method of Kilic et al for directing different vehicles to the available charging spaces. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method for navigating a vehicle into a charging station of Kilic et al with the parking controller of Li et al in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, provide efficient instructions for directing the path of the vehicle (Li et al P[0003]).
Regarding claim 18 Kilic et al teach the claimed method of claim 1 (see above), Kilic et al do not explicitly teach the claimed monitoring data or analysis results are sent to a traffic control center or a charging station control center. Li et al teach, “the UAV 300 captures images and sends them to a parking lot controller 600 that executed the object recognition system 250 which detects the available parking spaces 1-32, and one or more vehicle-trailer systems 200 near or within the parking lot 100. The parking lot controller 600 communicates with the one or more vehicle-trailer systems 200 near or within the parking lot 100 the parking space information. In some examples, parking lot controller 600 is configured to prioritize the one or more vehicle-trailer systems 200 near or within the parking lot 100 such that each vehicle-trailer system 200 has sufficient time and space to park within the parking lot 100.” (P[0062] and Figure 6B), the parking lot controller 600 equates to the claimed charging station control center. The parking lot controller of Li et al would be used in the method of Kilic et al for directing different vehicles to the available charging spaces. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method for navigating a vehicle into a charging station of Kilic et al with the parking controller of Li et al in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, provide efficient instructions for directing the path of the vehicle (Li et al P[0003]).
Regarding claim 20 Kilic et al teach the claimed method of claim 1 (see above), Kilic et al do not explicitly teach the claimed at least one method step is carried out if a safety condition is met, but it is well known to avoid collisions/obstacles when driving. Li et al teach, “the top view of the parking lot, provided by the UAV, provides better determination of a path, and avoids blind spots” P[0026], “the path planning system 266 may recalculate the planned path 102 to avoid the one or more objects” P[0044], and “the UAV 300 may schedule incoming and outgoing vehicle-trailer systems 200 to avoid congestion and improve safety within the parking lot 100” P[0061]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method for navigating a vehicle into a charging station of Kilic et al with the object avoidance and improved parking lot safety of Li et al in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, provide efficient instructions for directing the path of the vehicle (Li et al P[0003]).
Claim(s) 8 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kilic et al Patent Application Publication Number 2017/0253131 A1 in view of Miller et al Patent Application Publication Number 2017/0087999 A1.
Regarding claim 8 Kilic et al teach the claimed method of claim 1 (see above), Kilic et al do not teach the claimed in a case of a plurality of found charging stations then the analysis comprises determining an optimal charging station. Miller et al teach, “The map includes an unsafe area 202 south of the railroad tracks 206. The map includes a safe area 204 north of the railroad tracks 206. A start point 214 shows a direction of travel for a vehicle 216. The vehicle 216 is on the way to a work location (not shown) to the east of the city 201. Having a desired safety rating of five stars, a vehicle 216 may receive indication of the charge station 212. Having a desired safety rating of five stars, the vehicle 216 would not receive indication of the lower starred charge stations 208, 210. If the vehicle 216 predicts a battery state of charge lower than desired at the assumed or disclosed destination, the desired safety rating may be adjusted automatically to three stars and display the charge station 210 even though the charge station 208 is closer to the anticipated route. If the vehicle 216 predicts a battery state of charge lower than desired at the assumed or disclosed destination, the vehicle may adjust the desired safety rating automatically to one star and display the charge station 208 even though the charge station 208 is on the unsafe side of the tracks.” (P[0032] and Figure 2). The five star charging station 212 equates to the claimed optimal charging station, and charging stations 208, 210, 212 equate to the claimed plurality of charging stations. The ratings of the charging stations of Miller et al would be included with Kilic et al to provide the drivers with different options for charging their vehicle. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method for navigating a vehicle into a charging station of Kilic et al with the rated charging stations of Miller et al in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, provide accurate charging location data (Miller et al P[0014]) and provide information related to safety, activities, and utilities at each charge station (Miller et al P[0020]).
Regarding claim 12 Kilic et al teach the claimed method of claims 1 and 10 (see above), Kilic et al do not teach the claimed environment signals comprise map signals which represent a digital map of the environment of the electric motor vehicle indicating a respective position of charging stations. Miller et al teach, “Referring to FIG. 2, a map 200 of a city 201 is shown. The map includes an unsafe area 202 south of the railroad tracks 206. The map includes a safe area 204 north of the railroad tracks 206. A start point 214 shows a direction of travel for a vehicle 216. The vehicle 216 is on the way to a work location (not shown) to the east of the city 201. Having a desired safety rating of five stars, a vehicle 216 may receive indication of the charge station 212. Having a desired safety rating of five stars, the vehicle 216 would not receive indication of the lower starred charge stations 208, 210.” P[0032],
(Miller et al Figure 2),
the map shows the position of the vehicle 216 relative to charging stations 212, 210, 208. The map of the charging stations of Miller et al would be provided to the drivers of Kilic et al to select a charging station. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method for navigating a vehicle into a charging station of Kilic et al with the map display of relative charging station locations of Miller et al in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, provide accurate charging location data (Miller et al P[0014]) and provide information related to safety, activities, and utilities at each charge station (Miller et al P[0020]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kilic et al Patent Application Publication Number 2017/0253131 A1 in view of Chakraborty et al Patent Application Publication Number 2020/0262305 A1.
Regarding claim 11 Kilic et al teach the claimed method of claims 1 and 10 (see above), Kilic et al do not teach the claimed environment signals are transmitted from an additional motor vehicle in front of the electric motor vehicle. The transmission of signals from one vehicle to another (V2V communication) is common and well known in the art. Chakraborty et al teach, “In some embodiments, the charging vehicle might send a signal via a transceiver to a receiver of the battery-powered vehicle, the signal indicative of a command or a request. In some embodiments, the signal might be indicative of a command for the battery-powered vehicle to change its position and/or location with respect to the charging vehicle. In some embodiments, the signal might be indicative of a command for the battery-powered vehicle to changes its speed and/or velocity, such as by “speed locking” with the charging vehicle. In some embodiments, the signal might be indicative of an intention by the charging vehicle to changes its position, location, speed, and/or velocity to match those of the battery-powered vehicle. In some embodiments, the signal might be indicative of a request that the battery-powered vehicle carry out any of the previous actions described, with the difference between a request and a command being that the battery-powered vehicle can refuse to comply with the request whereas the battery-powered vehicle might be either not capable, only partially capable, or only capable following a particular emergency procedure, of refusing to comply with the command.” P[0082], and “In some embodiments, once the battery-powered vehicle receives the signal, the battery-powered vehicle can be configured to immediately comply, to return a separate signal from a transceiver of the battery-powered vehicle to a receiver of the charging vehicle of an intention to comply with the instructions to initiate the charge transaction, can return a signal indicative of an intention to not comply with the instructions to initiate the charge transaction, a signal indicative of an alternative course of action or additional course of action with respect to the instructions to initiate a charge transaction, or combinations thereof.” P[0083]. The exchange of information between vehicles of Chakraborty et al would be used in a general sense by Kilic et al as a source of additional information about the charging spots (available, directions, etc.). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method for navigating a vehicle into a charging station of Kilic et al with the communication between vehicles of Chakraborty et al in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, employ an efficient charge scheduling algorithm to schedule charging instances between entities that are controllable within the system (Chakraborty et al P[0080]).
Related Art
The examiner points to Zhang et al WIPO/PCT document WO-201802019-A1 as related art, but not relied upon for any rejection. Zhang et al is directed to searching for a charging station by a drone (description of Figure 3), and the search is performed based on a current location of the vehicle being less than a preset distance from needing to be charged (description of Figure 10).
Conclusion
/DALE W HILGENDORF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662