DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-7, 11, 14,-16, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1/a2) as being anticipated by Hwang et al. (US 20200402304 A1, hereinafter “Hwang”).
Regarding claim 14,
Hwang teaches:
An electronic device, comprising:
at least one processor; and a storage apparatus configured to store at least one program; (Hwang: Claim 1, “An electronic device comprising: a display; a camera module; a memory; and a processor. . .” ¶194, “. . . implemented as software (e.g., the program 140) including one or more instructions that are stored in a storage medium (e.g., internal memory 136 or external memory 138). . .”)
and wherein the at least one program, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the at least one processor to;
determine at least one part feature recognition parameter of a target object (Hwang: ¶54, “. . . the electronic device 101 may recognize a specific image area from a selfie image and thus extract a user's feature point (distinguishing feature). . . The feature point may include at least one of eyes, a nose, ears, a mouth, spots, scars, a beard, a face shape, a hairstyle, and a skin color.”; NOTE: The target object is the user in the selfie image, and the determined at least one part feature recognition parameter is any of the feature points recognized such as the eyes, nose, etc. . .);
determine a target component corresponding to the at least one part feature recognition parameter and display information of the target component (Hwang: ¶54, “. . . The processor 120 may generate avatar elements for generating an avatar, and may generate mapping elements mapped to a user image based on the feature point. The processor 120 may apply the avatar elements to a pre-stored basic face model to transform the basic face model into a 3D face shape, and may combine the 3D face shape with mapping elements to generate a user avatar having a 3D face shape. . . The mapping elements may include at least one of shape, shape information, location information, color information, length information, and width information of each feature point. . .”; NOTE: The determined target component is the generated mapping element corresponding to the part feature (feature point) which have display information such as shape, color, length, size, etc. . .),
wherein a part type of the target component corresponds to a target part type in the part feature recognition parameter (NOTE: As described in paragraph 54, the processor applies avatar elements based on the feature points eyes, nose, etc. The part type is the mapping element corresponding to the eyes asset from a database so it can apply and map it to the eye feature for generating the user’s avatar. System recognizes features such as eyes, nose of the user from an image >> system determines a target component which is an asset corresponding to a feature point >> maps to the 3D face shape to generate the user avatar. The target component corresponds to the feature since the system knows to generate an eye avatar with corresponding mapping element to be mapped to the user’s eye; nose to nose, etc. In other words, the generated eye avatar is mapped correctly corresponding on where the eyes are supposed to be at.);
determine a virtual object to be adjusted corresponding to the target object by splicing at least one target component (Hwang: 54, “. . . The processor 120 may apply the avatar elements to a pre-stored basic face model to transform the basic face model into a 3D face shape, and may combine the 3D face shape with mapping elements to generate a user avatar having a 3D face shape. . .”; NOTE: The determined virtual object to be adjusted is the transformed basic face model (3D face shape), which is adjusted by combining it mapping elements >> splicing (combining) mapping elements to transform the basic face model to generate an avatar corresponding to the target object, which is the user from the selfie image.);
determine a target virtual object based on display information of the at least one target component and the virtual object to be adjusted (NOTE: Referencing paragraph 54, the determined target virtual object is the generated user’s avatar that is from the transformed basic face model based on the mapping elements with corresponding display information (shape, color) of the feature points (eyes, nose).);
and displaying the target virtual object (Hwang: ¶117, “. . . the processor (e.g., the processor 120 of FIG. 1) may output a generated user avatar 630 to the camera app screen 620. . .”; ¶119, “. . . such that the user avatar, displayed on the camera execution screen 620. . .”).
Regarding CRM claim 15,
CRM claim 15 is drawn to the CRM corresponding to the configuration of using same as claimed in the apparatus of claim 14. Therefore, CRM claim 15 corresponds to the configuration of the apparatus of claim 14, and is rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used above.
Regarding claim 16, depending on 14,
Hwang teaches:
The electronic device according to claim 14,
Hwang further teaches:
wherein the at least one processor being caused to determine the at least one part feature recognition parameter of the target object comprises being caused to:
process an image to be processed based on a parameter analysis model to determine the at least one part feature recognition parameter; (Hwang: ¶175-176, “. . . the processor 120 may determine, from the selected images, whether at least one of feature points and face elements has been changed. The feature points may include at least one of eyes, a nose, ears, a mouth, spots, scars, a beard, face shape, hair, and a skin color. . . the processor 120 may compare the recognized feature points using a recognition algorithm obtained by applying machine learning or deep learning to determine whether the feature point has changed. . .”; NOTE: The system uses a parameter analysis model (recognition algorithm via machine learning) to determine at least one part feature recognition parameter (the recognized feature points) determined from processing the selected images;
and wherein the image to be processed comprises the target object (Hwang: ¶83, “. . . The avatar generation mode may be a mode in which a front-facing camera is activated to acquire a user's selfie image. . .”; ¶87, “. . . the processor 120 may configure, as an image for avatar generation, an automatically or manually acquired selfie image. . .”; NOTE: The target object is the user from the selfie image, which is the image be processed to generate an avatar.).
Regarding claim 20, depending on 14,
Hwang teaches:
The electronic device according to claim 14,
Hwang further teaches:
wherein the at least one processor being caused to determine the virtual object to be adjusted corresponding to the target object by splicing the at least one target component comprises being caused to:
obtain a preset splicing parameter of the at least one target component, and splice the at least one target component based on the splicing parameter to determine the virtual object to be adjusted (Hwang: ¶54, “. . . combine the 3D face shape with mapping elements to generate a user avatar having a 3D face shape. . . The mapping elements may include at least one of shape, shape information, location information, color information, length information, and width information of each feature point. . .”; NOTE: The obtained splicing (combining) parameters are the mapping elements including shape, shape information, location information, color information, length information, and width information of each feature point. They are then spliced (combined) to the 3D face shape to generate the avatar based on the mapping elements).
Regarding claim 21, depending on 14,
Hwang teaches:
The electronic device according to claim 14,
Hwang further teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further caused to, prior to determining the target virtual object based on the display information of the at least one target component and the virtual object to be adjusted and displaying the target virtual object,
determine, based on a mapping relation, texture information and color information corresponding to the at least one part feature recognition parameter as the display information (Hwang: ¶54, “. . . the processor 120 of the electronic device 101 may recognize a specific image area from a selfie image and thus extract a user's feature point (distinguishing feature). . . generate mapping elements mapped to a user image based on the feature point. . . The feature point may include at least one of eyes, a nose, ears, a mouth, spots, scars, a beard, a face shape, a hairstyle, and a skin color. The mapping elements may include at least one of shape, shape information, location information, color information, length information, and width information of each feature point. . .”; ¶74, “. . . the recognition module 331 of the external electronic device 308 may recognize at least one image area by applying an object recognition algorithm or a texture recognition algorithm to the image area. . .”; NOTE: The mapping relation is the relation of a feature point and a mapping element for each of the feature points including color information (hair and color information relationship is mapped to their respective feature point), which is a display information used in avatar generation, which is the target virtual object. Since the system also uses a texture recognition algorithm, therefore, the texture information is also determined for that feature point because it is within the image area of the image being processed. The recognition of these feature points and generating mapping elements are processed prior to generating the target virtual object (avatar). If not, then there will not have any information for generating the avatar.);
and wherein the mapping relation comprises the color information and the texture information corresponding to the part feature recognition parameter (NOTE: As discussed above, color information and texture information are identified for each of the feature point in an image area. A recognized hair will have corresponding color information and texture information. The mapping relationship is that the hair is mapped to its corresponding color information and texture information.).
Regarding method claims 1-2, and 6-7,
method claims 1-2, and 6-7 respectively are drawn to the methods corresponding to the configuration of using same as claimed in the apparatus of claims 14, 16, and 20-21 respectively. Therefore, method claims 1-2, and 6-7 respectively correspond to the configuration of the apparatus of claims 14, 16, and 20-21 respectively, and are rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used above.
Regarding claim 11, depending on 1,
Hwang teaches:
The method according to claim 1,
Hwang further teaches the method:
further comprising: obtaining a preset beautification parameter in response to receiving a beautification instruction, to beautify a corresponding part based on the beautification parameter (Hwang: ¶63-64, “. . . if a specified condition is met (e.g., by a user's input or system command), at least part of the raw image stored in the memory 250 may be obtained and processed, for example, by the image signal processor 260. . . The image signal processor 260 may perform one or more image processing with respect to an image obtained via the image sensor 230 or an image stored in the memory 250. The one or more image processing may include, for example, depth map generation, three-dimensional (3D) modeling, panorama generation, feature point extraction, image synthesizing, or image compensation (e.g., noise reduction, resolution adjustment, brightness adjustment, blurring, sharpening, or softening). . . NOTE: Beautification parameter constitutes to a noise reduced image, sharpened image, adjusted brightness/reference according to user’s preference. The user’s input to reduce noise, or adjusting brightness constitutes to receiving a beautification parameter to beautify (adjust brightness/resolution to user’s preference), reduce image noise, sharpening/softening) the image).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5, 8-9, 12, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in view of Czarnota (US 20200184195 A1, hereinafter “Czarnota”).
Regarding claim 17, depending on 14,
Hwang teaches:
The electronic device according to claim 14,
Hwang further teaches:
wherein the at least one processor being caused to determine the target component corresponding to the at least one part feature recognition parameter comprises being caused to:
determine a corresponding target component identifier based on the at least one part feature recognition parameter (Hwang: ¶54-55, “The processor 120 may generate avatar elements for generating an avatar . . .The feature point may include at least one of eyes, a nose, ears, a mouth, spots, scars, a beard, a face shape, a hairstyle, and a skin color.. . . the processor 120 of the electronic device 101 may detect face elements and face outlines from the user avatar. The face element may include eyes, a nose, a mouth, ears, and unique elements (e.g., spots, a beard, glasses, etc.),. . .”; NOTE: The target components are the feature points (eyes, nose . . .skin color so an avatar element can be generated based on the feature points. The target component identifier is inherent because it can distinguish and identify a nose from a mouth, or a beard from glasses. The target component identifier is the specific ID, variable name used in the software to identify a specific skin color, or a specific face element);
However, Hwang fails to teach: retrieve corresponding target sub-elements based on the target component identifier, and splice the target sub-elements to determine the target component corresponding to the target component identifier. (NOTE: Hwang does not splice sub-elements to form a target component (for example the mouth). The avatar element for the mouth in Hwang is generated using a template of a mouth asset. Hwang retrieves avatar element template corresponding to a feature >> Splice/combine to generate the user’s avatar)
The analogous art Czarnota teaches:
retrieve corresponding target sub-elements based on the target component identifier (Czarnota: ¶76-79, “generate an avatar or character based on the individual user's image in LEGO block form . . . apply visual recognition software to the photograph to recognise individual characteristics or distinctive features of the user's face/head/body, such as hair colour, hair style, eye colour, eye shape etc. . . convert these features into a head avatar of the user as well as an instruction module and building elements listing for creating the user's body if required . . . generate building elements list and instruction module to replicate the user's body shape and size, thus turning the user into a constructable minifigure. . .”; NOTE: The retrieved corresponding target sub-elements are the building elements listing, (individual LEGO blocks) that are used to generate a target component (head avatar) identified by the target component identifier (the identifier that enables the system to know that it needs to generate a head avatar).)
and splice the target sub-elements to determine the target component corresponding to the target component identifier (NOTE: Reference paragraphs 76-79, the target sub-elements (the building elements listing of individual LEGO blocks for the head avatar) are spliced together in order to generate a target component, which is head avatar. Which are then further spliced with other target components for the body to generate a full body avatar)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Hwang and Czarnota and include: retrieve corresponding target sub-elements based on the target component identifier, and splice the target sub-elements to determine the target component corresponding to the target component identifier.
The reason for doing so to enable the user “to use the avatar in an animated form to express emotions and send messages across messaging mediums and other social media mediums to function as an EMOJI to convey emotions and other messages to provide a personalised on-line experience” (Czarnota: ¶78); and “for the user to create their own minifigure for play and display purposes. Thus the user can have an electronic block version of themselves as well as a physical block version made from building elements” (Czarnota: ¶79).
Regarding claim 18, depending on 17,
The combination of Hwang and Czarnota teaches:
The electronic device according to claim 17,
Hwang further teaches:
wherein the at least one processor being caused to determine the corresponding target component identifier based on the at least one part feature recognition parameter comprises being caused to:
determine the target component identifier corresponding to the at least one part feature recognition parameter based on a pre-established mapping relation (Hwang: ¶56, “. . . the detected face elements and face outlines to a model according to each pose based on a pose set of a defined sticker format and thus change the model to an avatar form corresponding to each pose, and may generate a set of custom stickers into which the changed avatar form is inserted. The pose set having a sticker format may include at least one emotion pose, and may include a model corresponding to each emotion pose. The model may be used to change the shape of face elements and face outlines to a face shape corresponding to the emotion pose. For example, the model can be used to change the user avatar to match the pose of a sticker format corresponding to a facial expression, such as a smiley expression, a crying expression, or an angry expression. . .”; NOTE: The pre-established mapping relation is the defined sticker format pose where the user’s avatar is generated to apply the expression of the pose set. The pose sets are pre-established because they are used as templates for the avatar. Since the avatar will match the expression, the target component identifier that identifies a specific feature recognition parameter (feature points such as the eyes) to generate the avatar, therefore, they are based on the pre-established mapping relation, which is the defined pose set.
and wherein the mapping relation comprises the part type and a component identifier of at least one display state associated with the part type (NOTE: The mapping relation is the relationship of a feature point such as the mouth and its corresponding expression. The part type is the mouth and the component identifier is the identifier for the expression that makes the mouth express facial expressions, such as smiley, crying, or angry expression which are display states for the mouth.),
and the part feature recognition parameter comprises the target part type and a corresponding target display state (NOTE: The part feature recognition comprises the target type (mouth) and a corresponding target display state (smiley, angry, crying) because the part type (mouth) is generated depicting a target display state (the generated avatar depicting the pre-established pose including an expression).).
Regarding claim 19, depending on 17,
The combination of Hwang and Czarnota teaches:
The electronic device according to claim 17, wherein the at least one processor being caused to splice the target sub-elements to determine the target component corresponding to the target component identifier comprises being caused to:
Although Hwang teaches splicing parameters comprise rotation parameter (Hwang: ¶119, “The user may capture a video in which the face shape of the user avatar 630 changes according to the user's movement . . .; NOTE: A head movement includes head rotation such as looking to the left/right/up/down), a position parameter, and a size parameter (Hwang: ¶54, “The mapping elements may include at least one of shape, shape information, location information, color information, length information, and width information of each feature point”) to generate avatar, Hwang fails to teach splicing sub-elements to generate target components as discussed above, and therefore fails to teach: obtain preset sub-element splicing parameters corresponding to the target sub- elements, wherein the sub-element splicing parameters comprise a rotation parameter, a position parameter, and a size parameter; and splice the corresponding target sub-elements based on the sub-element splicing parameters of the target sub-elements to obtain the target component.
(NOTE: Hwang system retrieves template of features such as a mouth >> Splice individual features to generate the user’s avatar. In comparison to Czarnota, Czarnota generates sub-elements (individual blocks in the block element listing >> splice the individual blocks to generate a target component (head avatar) >> then further splice the different target component made of sub-elements (head + body) to generate a full body LEGO avatar), see rejection of claim 17)
Sub-elements
Target component
Target virtual object
HWANG
No
i.e. mouth obtained from template
Splice/Combine target components to generate Avatar with preset splicing parameters rotation /size/position (¶54,119)
CZARNOTA
Yes – individual blocks
i.e. splice sub-elements to obtain head avatar.
Splice target component head+body to generate LEGO. See rejection of claim 17.
It would have been an obvious design choice between generating a target component such as the mouth with sub-elements as taught by Czarnota/without sub-elements, which either predictably generates a user avatar of the user to a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Hwang and Czarnota and include: obtain preset sub-element splicing parameters corresponding to the target sub- elements, wherein the sub-element splicing parameters comprise a rotation parameter, a position parameter, and a size parameter; and splice the corresponding target sub-elements based on the sub-element splicing parameters of the target sub-elements to obtain the target component.
The reason for doing so to enable the user “to use the avatar in an animated form to express emotions and send messages across messaging mediums and other social media mediums to function as an EMOJI to convey emotions and other messages to provide a personalised on-line experience” (Czarnota: ¶78); and “for the user to create their own minifigure for play and display purposes. Thus the user can have an electronic block version of themselves as well as a physical block version made from building elements” (Czarnota: ¶79).
Regarding method claims 3-5,
method claims 3-5 respectively are drawn to the methods corresponding to the configuration of using same as claimed in the apparatus of claims 17-19 respectively. Therefore, method claims 3-5 respectively correspond to the configuration of the apparatus of claims 17-19 respectively, and are rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Regarding claim 8, depending on 7,
Hwang teaches:
The method according to claim 7,
However, Hwang fails to teach the method further comprising: determining a target sub-element, corresponding to the display information, of a corresponding target component as a sub-element to be filled, to fill the sub-element to be filled based on the display information.
The analogous art Czarnota further teaches:
determining a target sub-element, corresponding to the display information, of a corresponding target component as a sub-element to be filled, to fill the sub-element to be filled based on the display information (Czarnota: ¶76-79, “generate an avatar or character based on the individual user's image in LEGO block form . . . apply visual recognition software to the photograph to recognise individual characteristics or distinctive features of the user's face/head/body, such as hair colour, hair style, eye colour, eye shape etc. . . convert these features into a head avatar of the user as well as an instruction module and building elements listing for creating the user's body if required . . . generate building elements list and instruction module to replicate the user's body shape and size, thus turning the user into a constructable minifigure. . .”: NOTE: The target sub-elements are the features such as hair color or eye color identified from the input image which correspond to a target component, which is the hair/eye. The hair/eye is the target component as a sub-element to be filled. Then the system generates the sub-elements (the blocks with the color information (display information) of the hair to build the hair component) to build/fill the target component as the sub-element to be filled and generate the hair avatar))
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Hwang and Czarnota and include: determining a target sub-element, corresponding to the display information, of a corresponding target component as a sub-element to be filled, to fill the sub-element to be filled based on the display information.
The reason for doing so to enable the user “to use the avatar in an animated form to express emotions and send messages across messaging mediums and other social media mediums to function as an EMOJI to convey emotions and other messages to provide a personalised on-line experience” (Czarnota: ¶78); and “for the user to create their own minifigure for play and display purposes. Thus the user can have an electronic block version of themselves as well as a physical block version made from building elements” (Czarnota: ¶79).
Regarding claim 9, depending on 8,
The combination of Hwang and Czarnota teaches:
The method according to claim 8,
wherein determining the target virtual object based on the display information of the at least one target component and the virtual object to be adjusted and displaying the target virtual object comprises:
Czarnota further teaches:
filling the sub-element to be filled on the corresponding target component with the display information (NOTE: filling with individual blocks i.e. the hair portion/region, ¶76-79. The hair portion/region is the sub-element to be filled corresponding on the target component (hair avatar with color information))
to obtain the target virtual object (NOTE: The obtained target virtual object is the generated LEGO avatar of the user ).
Regarding claim 12, depending on 1,
Hwang teaches:
The method according to claim 1,
Hwang further teaches:
wherein the part feature recognition parameter corresponds to a corresponding part and a corresponding part feature, the part comprises any part of a head or a limb (Hwang: ¶54, “. . . feature point may include at least one of eyes, a nose, ears, a mouth, spots, scars, a beard, a face shape, a hairstyle. . .”)
the part feature comprises a wearing feature (Hwang: ¶183, “. . . The processor 120 may recognize that the state of the user's face elements has been changed to a form of wearing glasses accessory, as shown in <1811>, in the middle of analyzing the gallery database. The processor 120 may recognize the state change of the face elements, recognize the glasses accessory, and generate the user avatar 1815 as a user avatar 1825 wearing glasses. . .”),
a color feature (Hwang: ¶54, color information),
and a texture feature (Hwang: ¶, “. . . the recognition module 331 of the external electronic device 308 may recognize at least one image area by applying an object recognition algorithm or a texture recognition algorithm to the image area. . . The recognition module 331 may recognize at least one object. . .”).
However, Hwang fails to teach: a target sub-element of the target component is at least one of a granular element or a blocky element.
The analogous art Czarnota teaches:
a target sub-element of the target component is at least one of a granular element or a blocky element (Czarnota: ¶76-79, “. . . the system and method of the invention can be used to generate an avatar or character based on the individual user's image in LEGO block form. . . the user can have an electronic block version of themselves. . .”; NOTE: The target sub-element of the target component is the block version where the avatar is made up of blocky elements.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Hwang and Czarnota and include: a target sub-element of the target component is at least one of a granular element or a blocky element.
The reason for doing so to enable the user “to use the avatar in an animated form to express emotions and send messages across messaging mediums and other social media mediums to function as an EMOJI to convey emotions and other messages to provide a personalised on-line experience” (Czarnota: ¶78); and “for the user to create their own minifigure for play and display purposes. Thus the user can have an electronic block version of themselves as well as a physical block version made from building elements” (Czarnota: ¶79).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in view of Benco et al. (US 20100076858 A1, hereinafter “Benco”).
Regarding claim 10, depending on 1,
Hwang teaches:
The method according to claim 1,
Hwang further teaches:
wherein determining the display information comprises: obtaining the display information in a case where the part feature recognition parameter comprises the display information (NOTE: As discussed in the rejection of the independent claims 1,14, and 15, and referencing Hwang paragraph, 54-56, Hwang extracts user’s feature point (i.e eyes, mouth) also obtaining display information in a case where the display information is available (i.e color information, shape, skin color));
However, Hwang fails to teach:
determining, in a case where the part feature recognition parameter does not comprise the display information, an associated part type associated with the target part type in the part feature recognition parameter, so as to determine display information of the target part type according to a part feature recognition parameter of the associated part type.
The analogous art Benco teaches:
determining, in a case where the part feature recognition parameter does not comprise the display information, an associated part type associated with the target part type in the part feature recognition parameter (Benco: ¶14, “. . . outfitting of a user's avatar with a new wardrobe, viewing the fit from multiple perspectives (in the mirror, from behind, etc.), matching the best color to the user's skin tone, etc. . .”; NOTE: Since the avatar is outfitted with a “new wardrobe”, therefore, the feature recognition parameter for this item does not comprise the display information. The determined associated part type is the (skin tone) associated with the target part type in the part feature recognition parameter (new wardrobe)),
so as to determine display information of the target part type according to a part feature recognition parameter of the associated part type (NOTE: As disclosed in paragraph 14, the system matches the target part type (wardrobe) so as to determine the display information (color of the wardrobe) to match the best color to the user’s skin tone.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Hwang and Benco and include: determining, in a case where the part feature recognition parameter does not comprise the display information, an associated part type associated with the target part type in the part feature recognition parameter, so as to determine display information of the target part type according to a part feature recognition parameter of the associated part type.
The reason for doing so that “his avatar may be created to look like him based on these sorts for templates in general, and in that way, the clothes will look as it would if he really wore them” (Benco: ¶18).
Conclusion
/PATRICK P GALERA/Examiner, Art Unit 2617 /KING Y POON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2617