DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 10-11, 19-23, 26-27, 29, 31-36, 44, 49- 50, 52, and 82 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chatterjee et al. (us20240196413 A1, hereinafter Chatterjee) in view of Jeon et al. (US20230413379 A1, hereinafter Jeon).
Claim 1: Chatterjee teaches A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment UE (abstract, Fig.1A, element 101,102), comprising:
receiving, from a network node ([0243], disclose base station to perform operations for RedCap UEs), information configuring a default initial downlink bandwidth part, wherein the default initial downlink bandwidth part (Fig. 5, 6, [0107-0108], configure UE with separate PRACH resources for RedCap and non-RedCap UEs in different initial UL BWPs, and different initial UL/DL BWP for REDCAP UEs and NON-REDCAP UEs) support small data transmission SDT for reduced capability RedCap and non-RedCap UEs ([0213], when configured with Small Data Transmissions SDT over 4-step or 2-step RACH (RA-SDT) feature, the initial UL BWP that is configured with RACH Occasions (ROs) for RedCap
UEs can be used for triggering of SDT, [0214-0217], disclose when configured with Small
Data Transmissions SDT over Configured Grant USCH CG-SDT or random access RA-SDT, in RRC inactive mode, message A transmissions shares the same center frequency as the initial DL BWP in which the RedCap UE is expected to monitor for Type 1 PDCCH CSS, initial UL BWP configured to the RedCap UE with CG PUSCH occasions to trigger CG-SDT shares the same center frequency as the DL BWP in which the RedCap UE is expected to monitor for PDCCH Search Space SS, the initial UL BWP that is configured with RACH Occasions ROs for RedCap UEs can be configured with CG PUSCH Occasions for RedCap UEs to trigger CG-SDT, [0144], “the reference configuration for the initial UL BWP for RedCap UE may be the same as that provided in SIB1 for non-RedCap UEs”);
receiving, from the network node (Fig. 1A, element RAN110), information configuring a control resource set CORESET and one or more search space sets that support SDT for RedCap UEs ([0158], a UE may be provided with a configuration for initial DL BWP via SIB1 that then replaces the initial DL BWP defined by CORESET #0 once the UE is in RRC_CONNECTED mode, that is, for RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE modes, DL BWP #0 defined by CORESET #0 is used for DL receptions, [0151], disclose in RRC idle/inactive
modes, a RedCap UE may expect that the initial DL BWP configured to the UE at least for Random Access-related monitoring, i.e., at least includes Type 1 PDCCH common search space CSS configuration, and the initial UL BWP in which PRACH resources are configured for RedCap UE share the same center frequency, the initial UL BWP can be separately configured for RedCap UEs. [0154], a RedCap UE is configured with RA-SDT
feature, in RRC inactive mode , message A transmissions shares the same center frequency as the initial DL BWP in which the RedCap UE is expected to monitor for Type 1 PDCCH common search space CSS candidates for monitoring as part of the random access procedure);
And performing, while in a radio resource control RRC inactive or idle mode, an SDT based at least in part on the information configuring the default initial downlink bandwidth part and the information configuring the CORESET and the one or more search space sets ([0151-0156], disclose if a RedCap UE is configured with Small Data Transmissions SDT over Configured Grant PUSCH CG-SDT feature that allows UL transmissions when in RRC
Inactive state, the initial UL BWP that is configured with RACH Occasions ROs for
RedCap UEs can be configured with CG PUSCH Occasions for RedCap UEs to trigger CG-SDT, initial UL BWP configured to the RedCap UE with CG PUSCH occasions to trigger CG-SDT shares the same center frequency as the DL BWP in which the RedCap
UE is expected to monitor for PDCCH Search Space SS set candidates for monitoring for PDCCH from the gNB in response to a CG-SDT transmission, initial UL BWP configured to the RedCap UE with ROs for Message 1 or Message A transmissions shares the same center frequency as the initial DL BWP in which the RedCap UE is expected to monitor for Type 1 PDCCH common search space CSS candidates for monitoring as part of the random access procedure).
However, Chatterjee does not explicitly teach initial downlink bandwidth part includes downlink resources.
Jeon, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches initial downlink bandwidth part includes downlink resources ([0275, 0277-0278], One or more radio resources used for RA-based SDT and/or CG-based SDT may be configured with a particular BWP of a cell. The particular BWP may comprise a DL BWP and/or a UL BWP. One or more downlink receptions of SDT may be configured in the DL BWP. The particular BWP may be an initial BWP, the DL BWP of the particular BWP may be an initial DL BWP.).
Chatterjee and Jeon are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Chatterjee and the features of initial downlink bandwidth part including downlink resources as taught by Jeon, for the benefit of allowing UE selecting DL RSs according to RSRP, RX antenna parameters, TX antenna parameters, uplink grant available for SDT and etc. (paragraph [0327-0329]), and allowing a BWP of a cell and the particular frequencies and/or a particular frequency range of a cell to be interchangeable (para [0274]).
Claim 31 is directed to the same method as claim 1, performed by a network node, analyzed and rejected according to Claim 1 and Chatterjee further teach a network node (Fig. 1A, element RAN110, [0243]).
Claim 52 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 1, and Chatterjee further teaches memory (Fig. 7, element 704, 706, 707); and one or more processors (Fig. 7, element 702) coupled to the memory, the memory comprising instructions (Fig. 7, element 724) executable by the one or more processors ([0224-0226]).
Claim 82 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 31, and Chatterjee further teaches memory (Fig. 7, element 704, 706, 707); and one or more processors (Fig. 7, element 702) coupled to the memory, the memory comprising instructions (Fig. 7, element 724) executable by the one or more processors ([0224-0226]).
Claim 2: Chatterjee teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the downlink resources supporting SDT in the default initial downlink bandwidth part include a CORESET with index zero CS0 associated with a cell-defining synchronization signal block CD-SSB ([0130], disclose a RedCap UE, provided with separate initial DL BWP DL BWP #0A, may assume that the DMRS of the PDCCH in CORESET #0A and the DMRS of the PDSCH for the reception of one or more of Types 0/0A/1/2 PDCCH CSS sets are Quasi-Co-Located with the corresponding CD-SSB, where the mapping to the CD-SSB index is same as that for CORESET #0).
Claim 32 is analyzed and reje3cted according to claim 31 and claim 2.
Claim 3: Chatterjee teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the CORESET and the one or more search space sets support mobile-originated SDT MO-SDT (alternative) , mobile-terminated SDT MT-SDT (alternative), system information acquisition (alternative), paging ([0131], PEI and TRS/CSI-RS in RRC_IDLE/RRC INACTIVE Modes for RedCap UEs Provided with CORESET #0A/DL BWP #0A), and random access procedures for RedCap UEs ([0130], disclose a RedCap UE, provided with separate initial DL BWP DL BWP #0A, may assume that the DMRS of the PDCCH in CORESET #0A and the DMRS of the PDSCH for the reception of one or more of Types 0/0A/1/2 PDCCH CSS sets are Quasi-Co-Located with the corresponding CD-SSB, where the mapping to the CD-SSB index is same as that for CORESET #0) and are jointly configured with non-RedCap UEs (alternative) or separately configured within the default initial downlink bandwidth part ([0127-128],
a RedCap UE, provided with SSB configuration in the separate initial DL BWP, may be provided with the frequency location of the SSB via SIB1 signaling, the UE may be optionally provided via SIB1 signaling an offset for initial DL BWP defined by
CORESET #0. [0158], a UE may be provided with a configuration for initial DL BWP via SIB1 that then replaces the initial DL BWP defined by CORESET #0 once the UE is in RRC_CONNECTED mode, that is, for RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE modes, DL BWP #0 defined by CORESET #0 is used for DL receptions).
Claim 33 is analyzed and reje3cted according to claim 31 and claim 3.
Claim 4: Chatterjee teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the network node, information configuring a CORESET and one or more search space sets that support a random access procedure and one or more mobile-originated SDT MO-SDT procedures for RedCap UEs within the default initial downlink bandwidth part (alternative), a separate initial downlink bandwidth part for RedCap UEs ([0158], a UE may be provided with a configuration for initial DL BWP via SIB1 that then replaces the initial DL BWP defined by CORESET #0 once the UE is in RRC_CONNECTED mode, that is, for RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE modes, DL BWP #0 defined by CORESET #0 is used for DL receptions), or a combination thereof (alternative).
Claim 34 is analyzed and reje3cted according to claim 31 and claim 4.
Claim 5: The combination of Chatterjee and Jeon teaches The method of claim 4, Jeon additionally teaches further comprising: determining a downlink reference signal to use when performing one or more activities during the SDT based at least in part on the information configuring the CORESET and the one or more search space sets that support the random access procedure and the one or more MO-SDT procedures for RedCap UEs, wherein the one or more activities include one or more of time and frequency tracking (alternative), automatic gain control AGC (alternative), or measurements for Layer 1 and Layer 3 ([0329, 0332-0335]
, for an SDT and/or its one or more subsequent transmissions, the wireless device may select the one of the one or more DL RSs based on RSRPs of the one or more DL RSs, [0342], a particular CORESET may be associated with a particular DL RS ).
The motivation for combining Chatterjee and Jeon regarding to the claim 1 is also applied to claim 5.
Claim 6: The combination of Chatterjee and Jeon teaches The method of claim 5, wherein the downlink reference signal is a cell-defining synchronization signal block CD-SSB ( Chatterjee, [0130], disclose a RedCap UE, provided with separate initial DL BWP DL BWP #0A, may assume that the DMRS of the PDCCH in CORESET #0A and the DMRS of the PDSCH for the reception of one or more of Types 0/0A/1/2 PDCCH CSS sets are Quasi-Co-Located with the corresponding CD-SSB, where the mapping to the CD-SSB index is same as that for CORESET #0) based at least in part on the CORESET (Jeon, [0342], a particular CORESET may be associated with a particular DL RS) and the one or more search space sets that support the random access procedure and the one or more MO-SDT procedures for RedCap UEs being configured within the default initial downlink bandwidth part (Chatterjee ,[0211-0212], in idle/inactive modes, the UE may expect that UL BWP #0 configured for RedCap UEs shares the same center frequency as the initial DL BWP in which the RedCap UE is expected to monitor for Type 2 and Type 1 PDCCH common search space CSS candidates for monitoring as part of the random access procedure), within the separate initial downlink bandwidth part with the CD-SSB (Chatterjee ,[0120], a RedCap UE may expect configuration of Synchronization Signal Block SSB in a separate initial DL BWP that is configured via SIB signaling with Type 1 PDCCH CSS for random access related DL reception for RedCap UEs if the DL BWP #0A is also configured with Type 2 PDCCH CSS for paging reception, where the SSB periodicity and indexing are identical to the Cell Defining SSB CD-SSB for the camping or serving cell), or within the separate initial downlink bandwidth part without a downlink reference signal (alternative).
The motivation for combining Chatterjee and Jeon regarding to the claim 1 is also applied to claim 6.
Claim 8: Chatterjee teaches The method of claim 5, wherein the downlink reference signal is a non-cell- defining synchronization signal block NCD-SSB or another downlink reference signal based at least in part on the CORESET and the one or more search space sets that support the random access procedure and the one or more MO-SDT procedures for RedCap UEs ([0211-0212], in idle/inactive modes, the UE may expect that UL BWP #0 configured for RedCap UEs shares the same center frequency as the initial DL BWP in which the RedCap UE is expected to monitor for Type 2 and Type 1 PDCCH common search space CSS candidates for monitoring as part of the random access procedure) being configured within the separate initial downlink bandwidth part with the NCD-SSB or other downlink reference signal ([0210], the UE, provided with separate initial DL BWP (DL BWP #0A), may assume that the DMRS of the PDCCH in CORESET #0A and the DMRS of the PDSCH for the reception of one or more of Types 0/0A/1/2 PDCCH CSS sets or associated PDSCH are Quasi-Co-Located (QCL-ed) with the corresponding non-CD-SSB if a non-CD-SSB is configured in the separate initial DL BWP, where the mapping to the CD-SSB index is same as that for CORESET #0 or defined explicitly via SIB1 signaling).
Claim 10: Chatterjee teaches The method of claim1, wherein the CORESET and the one or more search space sets support mobile-originated SDT MO-SDT, mobile-terminated SDT MT-SDT, random access, paging and system information SI acquisition procedures for RedCap UEs and are configured within a separate initial downlink bandwidth part for RedCap UEs ([0110-0113], for RedCap UEs, an additional CORESET referred to as CORESET #0A defined in an additional DL BW via SIB message, for the reception of PDCCH and PDSCH for paging monitoring, one or more of PDCCH Type 1 CSS for scheduling of PDSCH carrying Msg2, reception of System Information SI messages and etc. [0109], PDCCH Type 2 common search space CSS for paging and the associated PDSCH can be limited to CORESET #0 of the primary cell).
Claim 35 is analyzed and reje3cted according to claim 31 and claim 10.
Claim 11: Chatterjee teaches The method of claim1, further comprising: receiving, from a network node, information configuring a separate initial downlink bandwidth part including downlink resources that support mobile-originated SDT MO-SDT, mobile-terminated SDT MT-SDT, and random access procedures for RedCap UEs, wherein the separate initial downlink bandwidth part includes a synchronization signal block SSB and does not include a CORESET with index zero CS0 ([0120], a RedCap UE may expect configuration of Synchronization Signal Block SSB in a separate initial DL BWP DL BWP #0A that is configured via SIB signaling with Type 1 PDCCH common search space CSS for random access related DL reception for RedCap UEs if the DL BWP #0A is also configured with Type 2 PDCCH CSS for paging reception, [0124], the MOs for Types 0/0A PDCCH CSS sets in CORESET #0A in separate initial DL BWP may be provided to a RedCap UE independent of the monitoring occasions for Type 0/0A PDCCH CSS sets in CORESET #0, the SI monitoring window configuration may be separately provided to the UE via SIB1 and may differ from that for CORESET #0).
Claim 36 is analyzed and reje3cted according to claim 31 and claim 11.
Claim 19: Chatterjee teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the network node, information configuring a first configured grant physical uplink shared channel CG-PUSCH resource set in a default initial uplink bandwidth part ([0215, 0155], when configured with Small Data Transmissions SDT over Configured Grant PUSCH CG-SDT feature that allows UL transmissions when in RRC Inactive state, the initial UL BWP that is configured with RACH Occasions ROs for RedCap UEs can be configured with CG PUSCH Occasions for RedCap UEs to trigger CG-SDT) and a second CG-PUSCH resource set in a separate initial uplink bandwidth part configured for the UE ([0155], if a RedCap UE is configured with Small Data Transmissions SDT over Configured
Grant PUSCH CG-SDT feature that allows UL transmissions when in RRC Inactive state, an UL BWP that is different from the initial UL BWP that is configured with RACH Occasions (ROs) for RedCap UEs can be configured with CG PUSCH Occasions for RedCap UEs to trigger CG-SDT).
Claim 44 is analyzed and reje3cted according to claim 31 and claim 19.
Claim 20: The combination of Chatterjee and Jeon teaches The method of claim 19, Jeon additionally teaches further comprising: transmitting, to the network node, information related to a preference or a capability of the UE for a bandwidth part configuration (Fig. 26, [0420], the wireless device may transmit an indication indicating whether the wireless device capability is limited or not. If the SDT operation overlaps with the paging procedure, whether performing both the SDT operation and the paging procedure in the Non-RRC_CONNECTED state may be based on a wireless device capability) or bandwidth part switching for a mobile-terminated SDT MT-SDT procedure (alternative) or a mobile-originated SDT MO-SDT procedure that uses the first CG-PUSCH resource set (alternative), the second CG-PUSCH resource set (alternative), or a combination thereof (alternative).
Chatterjee and Jeon are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Chatterjee and the features of transmitting to the network node, information related to a preference or a capability of the UE as taught by Jeon, for the benefit of allowing network better allocate resources for UEs based on the UE capability.
Claim 21: Chatterjee teaches The method of claim 19, further comprising: receiving, from the network node, a paging message that includes a mobile-terminated SDT MT-SDT indication, wherein the paging message carries information related to a bandwidth part configuration or bandwidth part switching (Jeon, Fig. 26, [0428], the configuration parameters may indicate a non-initial DL BWP comprising search spaces for an SDT in a Non-RRC_CONNECTED state, the configuration parameters may further indicate the non-initial DL BWP comprising a second paging search space, the wireless device may perform the SDT in the non-initial BWP and switch to the initial DL BWP to perform the paging procedure, the wireless device may perform the paging procedure and the initial DL BWP and switch to the non-initial DL BWP to perform the SDT, [0429], The wireless device in the Non-RRC_CONNECTED state may perform, during a first time duration, detection of and/or reception of short message and/or a paging message) for an MT-SDT procedure that uses the first CG-PUSCH resource set or the second CG-PUSCH resource set ([0427], to receive a response to the SDT and/or the one or more subsequent transmissions and/or to receive a DL grant or UL grant associated with the SDT may be configured in a non-initial DL BWP, [0429], the second time duration may comprise a time duration where the wireless device may perform PDCCH monitoring using SDT-RNTI for receiving a DL grant and/or UL grant for DL transmission and/or UL transmission in the Non-RRC_CONNECTED state ).
The motivation for combining Chatterjee and Jeon regarding to the claim 20 is also applied to claim 21.
Claim 22: Chatterjee teaches The method of claim 19, further comprising: performing a CG-PUSCH transmission for the MO-SDT procedure or the MT-SDT procedure using the first CG-PUSCH resource set or the second CG-PUSCH resource set (([0155], if a RedCap UE is configured with Small Data Transmissions SDT over Configured Grant PUSCH CG-SDT feature that allows UL transmissions when in RRC Inactive state, the initial UL BWP that is configured with RACH Occasions (ROs) for RedCap UEs can be configured with CG PUSCH Occasions for RedCap UEs to trigger CG-SDT. Alternatively, an UL BWP that is different from the initial UL BWP that is configured with RACH Occasions (ROs) for RedCap UEs can be configured with CG PUSCH Occasions for RedCap UEs to trigger CG-SDT).
Claim 23: Chatterjee teaches The method of claim22, further comprising: triggering a fallback from the CG-PUSCH transmission to a random access RA procedure or an RA-based mobile-originated SDT RA-SDT procedure based at least in part on determining that one or more conditions are satisfied ([0153], if a RedCap UE is configured with Small Data
Transmissions SDT over 4-step or 2-step RACH RA-SDT feature that allows UL transmissions when in RRC Inactive state, the initial UL BWP that is configured with RACH Occasions ROs for RedCap UEs may be used for triggering of SDT, either based on 4-step or 2-step RACH).
Claim 26: Chatterjee teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: switching from a first bandwidth part to a second bandwidth part to perform a mobile- terminated SDT MT-SDT procedure ([0168], a UE may also switch its active UL BWP to the frequency region defined by CORESET #0 in the DL, which may or may not coincide with UL BWP #0 configuration provided via SIB1 for the UE) or a mobile-originated SDT MO-SDT procedure according to a bandwidth part switching gap configured for the UE (alternative), wherein the first bandwidth part and the second bandwidth part are configured by the same serving network node or by different serving network modes ([0168], UL BWP #0 configuration provided via SIB1 for the UE, [0106], The reception of SIB1 and SIBx can be common for RedCap and non-RedCap UEs and limited to within CORESET #0 as defined by a Master Information Block MIB) within a radio access network RAN notification area RNA of the UE ([0060], air interface may include a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel SS/PBCH block SSB that is an area of a downlink resource grid that includes PSS/SSS/PBCH).
Claim 49 is analyzed and reje3cted according to claim 31 and claim 26.
Claim 27: Chatterjee teaches The method of claim 26, wherein the bandwidth part switching gap is configured during the MT-SDT procedure or the MO-SDT procedure based on one or more capabilities of the UE ([0137], a UE may be provided with an availability indication for the TRS/CSI-RS occasions, where the availability indication notifies the UE whether TRS/CSI-RS in the configured occasions will be transmitted or not, availability indication can be specific to a DL BWP, e.g., BWP 0 or BWP 0A. Alternatively, availability indication may apply to any configured DL BWP in general and UE would monitor for TRS/CSI-RS occasions in any active DL BWP once they are indicated available) or one or more resource configurations associated with the SDT (alternative), or jointly with one or more measurement aps (alternative), a paging or discontinuous reception periodicity(alternative). or an SDT traffic pattern (alternative).
Claim 50 is analyzed and reje3cted according to claim 31 and claim 27.
Claim 29: The combination of Chatterjee and Jeon teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: reselecting a serving network node within a radio access network RAN notification area RNA based at least in part on performing the SDT during a procedure that includes relocating a context of the UE, wherein one or more bandwidth part configurations or bandwidth part operations associated with performing the SDT with the reselected serving network node are different from a most recent serving network node (Chatterjee, [0251], when the UE is in RRC_CONNECTED state, the DL BWP configures a cell defining synchronization signal block CD-SSB or a separate configuration for a non cell defining synchronization signal block non CD-SSB, wherein DL BWP configures either cell defining CD-SSB or none cell defining NCD-SSB is equivalent to perform as relocating context. [0210], the UE, provided with separate initial DL BWP, e.g., DL BWP #0A with the corresponding non-CD-SSB, [0155] , if a RedCap UE is configured with Small Data Transmissions SDT over Configured Grant PUSCH CG-SDT feature that allows UL transmissions when in RRC Inactive state, the initial UL BWP that is configured with RACH Occasions (ROs) for RedCap UEs can be configured with CG PUSCH Occasions for RedCap UEs to trigger CG-SDT. Alternatively, an UL BWP that is different from the initial UL BWP that is configured with RACH Occasions (ROs) for RedCap UEs can be configured with CG PUSCH Occasions for RedCap UEs to trigger CG-SDT. [0156], in RRC inactive mode, initial UL BWP configured to the RedCap UE with CG PUSCH occasions to trigger CG-SDT shares the same center frequency as the DL BWP in which the RedCap UE is expected to monitor for PDCCH Search Space (SS) set candidates.
Jeon, [0337], A wireless device may monitor, e.g., in a Non-RRC_CONNECTED state, receiving message indicating the first active BWP in the non-RRC_CONNECTED state, The active DL BWP may be a DL BWP where reception for the RA-based SDT and/or CG-based SDT).
Claims 13, 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chatterjee et al. (us20240196413 A1, hereinafter Chatterjee) in view of Jeon et al. (US20230413379 A1, hereinafter Jeon), and further in view of Xiong et al. (US20230224880 A1, hereinafter Xiong).
Claim 13: The combination of Chatterjee and Jeon teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the network node, a paging indication for mobile-terminated SDT MI-SDT to be performed in the RRC inactive or idle mode (Chatterjee, [0155], if a RedCap UE is configured with Small Data Transmissions SDT over Configured
Grant PUSCH CG-SDT feature that allows UL transmissions when in RRC Inactive state, an UL BWP that is different from the initial UL BWP that is configured with RACH Occasions (ROs) for RedCap UEs can be configured with CG PUSCH Occasions for RedCap UEs to trigger CG-SDT.
Jeon, [0424-0425], a wireless device may receive a message. The message may comprise one or more uplink grants for transmissions in an RRC inactive state and/or an RRC idle state. For example, the transmissions comprise an SDT and/or one or more subsequent transmissions of the SDT. The wireless device may receive downlink control information indicating whether the paging message is present or absent).
However, Chatterjee does not explicitly teach receiving the paging indication from the network node without transmitting a hybrid automatic repeat request HARQ acknowledgement ACK on a physical uplink control channel PUCCH to acknowledge the paging indication in one or more uplink bandwidth parts configured for a random access procedure, a mobile-terminated SDT MT-SDT procedure, or a mobile- originated SDT MO-SDT procedure.
Xiong, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches receiving the paging indication from the network node without transmitting a hybrid automatic repeat request HARQ acknowledgement ACK on a physical uplink control channel PUCCH to acknowledge the paging indication in one or more uplink bandwidth parts configured for a random access procedure, a mobile-terminated SDT MT-SDT procedure, or a mobile- originated SDT MO-SDT procedure ([0053, 0300], in unpaired spectrum, a RedCap UE, configured with Type 1 PDCCH-CSS for random access in separate initial DL BWP which does not include a CD-SSB, may not expect to be scheduled with a PUCCH with HARQ-ACK in response to Msg4 PDSCH that overlaps in at least one symbol with the CD-SSB).
Chatterjee and Xiong are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Chatterjee and the features of without transmitting a hybrid automatic repeat request HARQ acknowledgement ACK on a physical uplink control channel PUCCH to acknowledge the paging indication as taught by Xiong, for the benefit of reducing the unneeded overhead for unpaired spectrum which does not include a CD-SSB. (paragraph [0053, 0300]).
Claim 38 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 31 and claim 13.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form. The closest prior art reference is Park et al. (US 20230199900 A1, hereinafter PARK), which describes a system for transmitting uplink data associated with the small data transmission SDT procedure.
/Y.Z./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472