DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office action in reply to the response filed 05/27/2026.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-28 and 60-65 are pending;
Claims 1-3 and 5-11 are original; claims 4, 12-28, 61, 62, 64, and 65 have been withdrawn; claims 29-59 have been cancelled; claims 60 and 63 are new;
Claims 1-3, 5-11, 60, and 63 are rejected herein.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-11), drawn to a clamp for connecting a bracket to a frame, in the reply filed 05/27/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Groups IV-VI have been cancelled and the remaining Groups I-III now have unity of invention by being linked with a special technical feature that makes a contribution over the cited prior art, i.e., Cavieres (WO 2020/076870 A1), as presented in the Office action mailed 01/28/2026. This is not found persuasive because Groups I-III still lack unity of invention a posteriori. Currently, the technical feature shared among Groups I-III can be represented by the following limitations: "[a] clamp for connecting a bracket to a frame, the clamp comprising: two leg assemblies configured to move between a first compressed configuration with the two leg assemblies compressed towards one another and a second engaged configuration; a plurality of front receiver slots, each of the plurality of front receiver slots formed in a respective one of the two leg assemblies, wherein the plurality of front receiver slots are configured to receive a portion of the bracket and a portion of the frame therein; and a plurality of locking tabs formed at a leading end portion of a respective one of the two leg assemblies, the plurality of locking tabs configured to abut against a vertical surface of at least one of the bracket and the frame to prevent lateral movement of the clamp" (claim 1, lines 1-10). However, such technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art, e.g., in view of Cavieres (WO 2020/076870 A1) and/or Watson et al. (US 2021/0396255 A1), hereinafter Watson, which are discussed below in the current Office action as to how such technical feature (e.g., claim 1) is disclosed by the prior art.
Applicant’s election of Species B (Figures 8A-9B) in the reply filed 05/27/2026 is acknowledged. Because Applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 4, 12-28, 61, 62, 64, and 65 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention and/or a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 02/26/2025 has been considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the feature "the plurality of locking tabs configured to abut against a vertical surface of at least one of the bracket and the frame to prevent lateral movement of the clamp" (claim 1, lines 9 and 10) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. All alternatives must be shown in the drawings. The drawings fail to show the plurality of locking tabs (120) configured to abut against a vertical surface of the bracket (204) to prevent lateral movement of the clamp.
Claim Objections
Claims 5, 11, and 60 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5, line 2, "comprise" appears to be --comprises--.
Claim 11, lines 1 and 2, "part" (two occurrences) appears to be --a part--.
Claim 60, line 1, "are" appears to be --is--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-11, 60, and 63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitations "a plurality of locking tabs formed at a leading end portion of a respective one of the two leg assemblies" in claim 1 (lines 8 and 9) are indefinite. It is not clear as to how the plurality of locking tabs (120) can be possibly formed at a leading end portion of "a respective one" of the two leg assemblies (102), i.e., at a leading end portion of one leg assembly. As best understood, only one locking tab (120) is formed at a leading end portion of each of the two leg assemblies (102). Does Applicant mean --a plurality of locking tabs, each of the plurality of locking tabs formed at a leading end portion of a respective one of the two leg assemblies--? Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 1, the limitations "the plurality of locking tabs configured to abut against a vertical surface of at least one of the bracket and the frame to prevent lateral movement of the clamp" in claim 1 (lines 9 and 10) are indefinite. It is not clear as to how the plurality of locking tabs (120) can be possibly configured to abut against a vertical surface of the bracket (204) to prevent lateral movement of the clamp. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 6, the limitation "the lower leg" in claim 6 (line 1) is indefinite. According to claim 5, from which claim 6 depends, each of the two leg assemblies comprises an upper leg and a lower leg. It is not clear as to whose lower leg (e.g., the lower leg of which leg assembly of the two leg assemblies) the limitation "the lower leg" in claim 6 (line 1) refers to. Similar rejection applies to the limitation "the lower leg" in claim 7 (line 2) and the limitation "the lower leg" in claim 8 (line 3). Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 6, the limitation "the upper leg" in claim 6 (line 1) is indefinite. According to claim 5, from which claim 6 depends, each of the two leg assemblies comprises an upper leg and a lower leg. It is not clear as to whose upper leg (e.g., the upper leg of which leg assembly of the two leg assemblies) the limitation "the upper leg" in claim 6 (line 1) refers to. Similar rejection applies to the limitation "the upper leg" in claim 7 (line 2) and the limitation "the upper leg" in claim 8 (line 3). Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 8, the limitation "the intermediate joint" in claim 8 (line 2) is indefinite. According to the limitations in claim 8, lines 1 and 2, each leg assembly includes an intermediate joint. It is not clear as to whose intermediate joint (e.g., the intermediate joint of which leg assembly of the two leg assemblies) the limitation "the intermediate joint" in claim 8 (line 2) refers to. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 9, the limitations "each of the plurality of back receiver slots formed in at a trailing end portion of a respective one of the two leg assemblies" in claim 9 (lines 1-3) are indefinite. It is not clear as to what the language "in at" means in the instant case. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 10, the limitations "further comprising a bonding tab arranged proximal to each of the plurality of locking tabs" in claim 10 (lines 1 and 2) are indefinite. As best understood, claim 10 recites one bonding tab, i.e., the bonding tab (122) on the first leg assembly or the bonding tab (122) on the second leg assembly. It is not clear as to how one bonding tab can be possibly arranged proximal to each of the two locking tabs (120), i.e., the locking tab (120) on the first leg assembly and the locking tab (120) on the second leg assembly. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 11, the limitations "The clamp of claim 1, wherein the bracket is part of a module-level power electronics (MLPE) device, and the frame is part of a solar panel assembly" in claim 11 (lines 1 and 2) positively recite the "bracket" and the "frame" as required structures within the scope of claim 11, since the language "wherein" in the instant case introduces a positive recitation of the "bracket" and a positive recitation of the "frame" thereafter. In other words, claim 11 positively requires the limitations "The clamp of claim 1, wherein the bracket is part of a module-level power electronics (MLPE) device, and the frame is part of a solar panel assembly." However, claim 1, from which claim 11 depends, functionally recites the "bracket" and the "frame" in the preamble of claim 1, "[a] clamp for connecting a bracket to a frame" (claim 1, line 1), as functional elements that are not required structures within the scope of claim 1. The positive recitations of the "bracket" and the "frame" in the body of claim 11, which appears to be directed to the "clamp" as indicated by the language "The clamp of claim 1" (claim 11, line 1) and further requires the functional recitations of the "bracket" and the "frame" of claim 1, render the scope of claim 11 indefinite. It is not clear as to whether claim 11 is directed to a combination of the "clamp," the "bracket," and the "frame" or directed to a subcombination of the "clamp" adapted to be used with the "bracket" and the "frame." Applicant is advised to clearly claim the combination or properly place the "bracket" and the "frame" in intended use consistently throughout claim 11. For the purpose of examination, based on the functional recitations of the "bracket" and the "frame" in claim 1, the limitation "The clamp of claim 1" in claim 11 (line 1), and the grouping of claim 11 as a part of Group I for restriction purposes, claim 11 is considered as being directed to a subcombination of the "clamp" adapted to be used with the "bracket" and the "frame." As such, any recitation of the "bracket," the component(s) of the "bracket," the "frame," and/or the component(s) of the "frame" is considered as functional or intended use. Similar rejection and similar interpretation apply to the limitations "The clamp of claim 1, wherein the vertical surface is spaced from the portion of the bracket and the portion of the frame when the portion of the bracket and the portion of the frame are received in the plurality of front receiver slots" in claim 63 (lines 1-3), which positively recites the "bracket," the "frame," the component(s) of the "bracket" (e.g., the "portion"), the component(s) of the "frame" (e.g., the "portion"), and the "vertical surface" of either the "bracket" or the "frame." Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2, 3, 5, and 60 are rejected as being dependent from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-11, 60, and 63, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cavieres (WO 2020/076870 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Applicant is reminded that the "bracket" and the "frame" are functionally recited in claim 1 and therefore are reasonably considered as functional elements that are not required structures within the scope of claim 1. As such, any recitation of the "bracket," the component(s) of the "bracket," the "frame," and/or the component(s) of the "frame" is considered as functional or intended use.
Cavieres discloses a clamp (104, fig 5) for connecting a bracket to a frame (see Figures 5-8, the clamp 104 is capable of performing the above intended use, e.g., capable of connecting a bracket of an appropriate shape and size to a frame of an appropriate shape and size), the clamp comprising: two leg assemblies (128, fig 5) configured to move between a first compressed configuration with the two leg assemblies compressed towards one another and a second engaged configuration (see Figures 7 and 8); a plurality of front receiver slots (132, fig 5), each of the plurality of front receiver slots formed in a respective one of the two leg assemblies (see Figure 5), wherein the plurality of front receiver slots are configured to receive a portion of the bracket and a portion of the frame therein (see Figures 5-8, the plurality of front receiver slots 132 have the configurations to perform the above intended use, e.g., are configured to receive a portion of the bracket of the appropriate shape and size and a portion of the frame of the appropriate shape and size therein); and a plurality of locking tabs (138, fig 5) formed at a leading end portion of a respective one of the two leg assemblies (see Figure 5), the plurality of locking tabs configured to abut against a vertical surface of at least one of the bracket and the frame to prevent lateral movement of the clamp (see Figures 5-8, the plurality of locking tabs 138 have the configurations to perform the above intended use, e.g., are configured to abut against a vertical surface of the bracket of the appropriate shape and size and/or a vertical surface of the frame of the frame of the appropriate shape and size to prevent lateral movement of the clamp 104).
Regarding claim 2, wherein each of the plurality of locking tabs is configured to move between a locking position and a deflected position (see paragraph 040).
Regarding claim 3, wherein the plurality of locking tabs are spring-based (see paragraph 040).
Regarding claim 5, [Interpretation A] wherein the two leg assemblies extend downward from an apex joint (130, fig 5) of the clamp, and wherein each of the two leg assemblies comprise an upper leg (130a, fig 5, see annotation) and a lower leg (130b, fig 5, see annotation, the lower leg 130b including the foot 136).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: textbox (Leg Directions)][AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (130a – Upper Leg)]
[AltContent: textbox (130b – Lower Leg)]
Regarding claim 5, [Interpretation B] wherein the two leg assemblies extend downward from an apex joint (130, fig 5) of the clamp, and wherein each of the two leg assemblies comprise an upper leg (130c, fig 5, see annotation) and a lower leg (136, fig 5).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (130c – Upper Leg)]
[AltContent: textbox (130d – Intermediate Joint)]
Regarding claim 6, [Interpretation A] wherein the lower leg is longer than the upper leg (see the annotated Figure 5 above, the lower leg 130b is longer than the upper leg 130a along the leg directions).
Regarding claim 7, [Interpretations A and B] wherein the plurality of front receiver slots each comprise a plurality of teeth (134, fig 5) formed on the upper leg and a plurality of teeth (134, fig 5) formed on the lower leg.
Regarding claim 8, [Interpretation B] wherein each leg assembly includes an intermediate joint (130d, fig 5, see annotation) between the upper leg and the lower leg (see Figure 5), and wherein the intermediate joint creates an obtuse angle between the upper leg and the lower leg (see Figures 5-8).
Regarding claim 9, the clamp of claim 1 further comprising a plurality of back receiver slots (140, fig 5), each of the plurality of back receiver slots formed in at a trailing end portion of a respective one of the two leg assemblies (see Figures 5-8), wherein the plurality of back receiver slots are configured to receive at least a portion of the bracket therein (see Figures 5-8, the plurality of back receiver slots 140 have the configurations to perform the above intended use, e.g., are configured to receive at least a portion of the bracket of the appropriate shape and size therein).
Regarding claim 10, the clamp of claim 1 further comprising a bonding tab (134a, fig 5, see annotation, the frontmost tab with the larger area than the serrated teeth 134) arranged proximal to each of the plurality of locking tabs (see Figures 5-8), the bonding tab having a sharpened point (134b, fig 5, see annotation, the sharpened tip of the bonding tab 134a).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (134a – Bonding Tab)][AltContent: textbox (134b – Sharpened Point)]
Regarding claim 11, Applicant is reminded that, as presented under 35 U.S.C. 112 above in the current Office action, the "bracket" and the "frame" are reasonably considered as functional elements that are not required structures within the scope of claim 11. As such, any recitation of the "bracket," the component(s) of the "bracket," the "frame," and/or the component(s) of the "frame" is considered as functional or intended use.
Cavieres discloses the clamp of claim 1, wherein the bracket is part of a module-level power electronics (MLPE) device, and the frame is part of a solar panel assembly (see Figures 5-8, the clamp 104 has the configuration to perform, and is capable of performing, the above intended use associated with the bracket of the appropriate shape and size and the frame of the appropriate shape and size as recited in claim 1 and further in claim 11).
Regarding claim 60, wherein each of the plurality of locking tabs are spaced from each of the plurality of front receiver slots (see Figures 5-8).
Regarding claim 63, Applicant is reminded that, as presented under 35 U.S.C. 112 above in the current Office action, the "bracket" and the "frame" are reasonably considered as functional elements that are not required structures within the scope of claim 63. As such, any recitation of the "bracket," the component(s) of the "bracket," the "frame," and/or the component(s) of the "frame" is considered as functional or intended use.
Cavieres discloses the clamp of claim 1, wherein the vertical surface is spaced from the portion of the bracket and the portion of the frame when the portion of the bracket and the portion of the frame are received in the plurality of front receiver slots (see Figures 5-8, the clamp 104 has the configuration to perform, and is capable of performing, the above intended use associated with the bracket of the appropriate shape and size and the frame of the appropriate shape and size as recited in claim 1 and further in claim 63).
Claims 1, 5-7, 9-11, 60, and 63, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watson et al. (US 2021/0396255 A1), hereinafter Watson.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant is reminded that the "bracket" and the "frame" are functionally recited in claim 1 and therefore are reasonably considered as functional elements that are not required structures within the scope of claim 1. As such, any recitation of the "bracket," the component(s) of the "bracket," the "frame," and/or the component(s) of the "frame" is considered as functional or intended use.
Watson discloses a clamp (300, fig 3, with the locking member as shown in Figure 2G, see paragraph 0046, the locking member described in Watson can have any of the forms as shown in Figures 2G-2I) for connecting a bracket to a frame (see Figures 3-8, the clamp 300 is capable of performing the above intended use, e.g., capable of connecting a bracket of an appropriate shape and size to a frame of an appropriate shape and size), the clamp comprising: two leg assemblies (320, 330, fig 3, see annotation, see paragraph 0051) configured to move between a first compressed configuration with the two leg assemblies compressed towards one another and a second engaged configuration (see Figure 3, see paragraph 0051, the two leg assemblies 320, 330 have the configurations to perform the above intended use, e.g., are configured to move between a first compressed configuration with the two leg assemblies 320, 330 compressed towards one another and a second engaged configuration); a plurality of front receiver slots (329, fig 3, also see Figures 1A-1C, see paragraph 0048, the front receive slot formed by the leg assembly 330 is not explicitly shown but is identical to the front receiver slot 329), each of the plurality of front receiver slots formed in a respective one of the two leg assemblies (see Figures 1A-1C and 3), wherein the plurality of front receiver slots are configured to receive a portion of the bracket and a portion of the frame therein (see Figures 1A-1C and 3, the plurality of front receiver slots 329 have the configurations to perform the above intended use, e.g., are configured to receive a portion of the bracket of the appropriate shape and size and a portion of the frame of the appropriate shape and size therein); and a plurality of locking tabs (327a, fig 2G, the upper tab of the locking member) formed at a leading end portion of a respective one of the two leg assemblies (see Figures 2G and 3), the plurality of locking tabs configured to abut against a vertical surface of at least one of the bracket and the frame to prevent lateral movement of the clamp (see Figures 1A-1C and 3, the plurality of locking tabs 327a have the configurations to perform the above intended use, e.g., are configured to abut against a vertical surface of the bracket of the appropriate shape and size and/or a vertical surface of the frame of the frame of the appropriate shape and size to prevent lateral movement of the clamp 300).
.
[AltContent: textbox (330b – Lower Leg)]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (310 – Apex Joint)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (330a – Upper Leg)][AltContent: textbox (330 – Leg Assembly)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (320a – Upper Leg)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (345b – Back Receiver Slot)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (320b – Lower Leg)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (329 – Front Receiver Slot)]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (345a – Back Receiver Slot)][AltContent: textbox (320 – Leg Assembly)]
[AltContent: textbox (329b – Teeth)]
[AltContent: textbox (329a – Teeth)]
[AltContent: textbox (327a – Locking Tab)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (327b – Bonding Tab)]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (327c – Sharpened Point)]
Regarding claim 5, wherein the two leg assemblies extend downward from an apex joint (310, fig 3, see annotation) of the clamp, and wherein each of the two leg assemblies comprise an upper leg (320a, 330a, fig 3, see annotation) and a lower leg (320b, 330b, fig 3, see annotation).
Regarding claim 6, wherein the lower leg is longer than the upper leg (see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 7, wherein the plurality of front receiver slots each comprise a plurality of teeth (329a, fig 3, see annotation) formed on the upper leg and a plurality of teeth (329b, fig 3, see annotation) formed on the lower leg.
Regarding claim 9, the clamp of claim 1 further comprising a plurality of back receiver slots (345a, 345b, fig 3, see annotation), each of the plurality of back receiver slots formed in at a trailing end portion of a respective one of the two leg assemblies (see Figure 3), wherein the plurality of back receiver slots are configured to receive at least a portion of the bracket therein (see Figure 3, the plurality of back receiver slots 345a, 345b have the configurations to perform the above intended use, e.g., are configured to receive at least a portion of the bracket of the appropriate shape and size therein)..
Regarding claim 10, the clamp of claim 1 further comprising a bonding tab (327b, fig 2G, see annotation, the lower tab of the locking member) arranged proximal to each of the plurality of locking tabs (see Figures 2G and 3), the bonding tab having a sharpened point (327c, fig 2G, see annotation).
Regarding claim 11, Applicant is reminded that, as presented under 35 U.S.C. 112 above in the current Office action, the "bracket" and the "frame" are reasonably considered as functional elements that are not required structures within the scope of claim 11. As such, any recitation of the "bracket," the component(s) of the "bracket," the "frame," and/or the component(s) of the "frame" is considered as functional or intended use.
Watson discloses the clamp of claim 1, wherein the bracket is part of a module-level power electronics (MLPE) device, and the frame is part of a solar panel assembly (see Figures 1A-1C and 3, the clamp 300 has the configuration to perform, and is capable of performing, the above intended use associated with the bracket of the appropriate shape and size and the frame of the appropriate shape and size as recited in claim 1 and further in claim 11)..
Regarding claim 60, wherein each of the plurality of locking tabs are spaced from each of the plurality of front receiver slots (see Figures 2G and 3).
Regarding claim 63, Applicant is reminded that, as presented under 35 U.S.C. 112 above in the current Office action, the "bracket" and the "frame" are reasonably considered as functional elements that are not required structures within the scope of claim 63. As such, any recitation of the "bracket," the component(s) of the "bracket," the "frame," and/or the component(s) of the "frame" is considered as functional or intended use.
Watson discloses the clamp of claim 1, wherein the vertical surface is spaced from the portion of the bracket and the portion of the frame when the portion of the bracket and the portion of the frame are received in the plurality of front receiver slots (see Figures 1A-1C and 3, the clamp 300 has the configuration to perform, and is capable of performing, the above intended use associated with the bracket of the appropriate shape and size and the frame of the appropriate shape and size as recited in claim 1 and further in claim 63).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure. See the attached PTO-892 for various clamps.
/G. H. G./Examiner, Art Unit 3631
/JONATHAN LIU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3631