DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
Column and line (or Paragraph Number) citations have been provided as a convenience for Applicants, but the entirety of each reference should be duly considered. Any recitation of a Figure element, e.g. “Figure 1, element T should be construed as inherently also reciting “and relevant disclosure thereto”.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed foreign application is acknowledged. However, applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date because:
The subject matter of at least claims 26-28, 30, 33-34, 36-37, 39-41, and 44-45 is unsupported in GB 2207853.9. The foreign GB application fails to provide certain drawing figures including Figure 3 (the screw), Figures 4A-4E, Figure 5, and Figure 6 (all newly added). Instead, only one orientation is shown in GB 2207853.9 at Figure 7. There is no sliding adjustment via a screw drive, no plurality of slots, and no alignment of bases with “recesses” is disclosed. Additionally, the specifics by which the forklift maneuvers the base and lifts the base upwards in an arc is not apparent nor is any discussion of longitudinal clearance (claim 36), the post bearing on the sides of the valley (claim 37), and the skewing and serviceability of the inner and outer rails (claim 40).
The effective filing date for the claims listed above will be that of the national stage application which is 5/30/23 and not the earlier date of 5/27/22.
Specification
35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, requires the specification to be written in “full, clear, concise, and exact terms.” The specification is replete with terms which are not clear, concise and exact. The specification should be revised carefully in order to comply with 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112. Examples of some unclear, inexact or verbose terms used in the specification are:
At [0017] and [0018], references to specific claims in the specification is inappropriate and should be removed because claim language as well as claim numbering can change throughout prosecution of the application.
At [0023], “Figure 4A, 4B, 4C, 4D, 4E” are disclosed but the drawing figures are listed as “FIG.4A” and “FIG.4B”, etc. All of the other drawing figures appear to be represented with “Figure” and it is unclear why these only have been switched to “FIG.”.
At [0030], the specification describes “Figure 12A” but there is no additional information set forth for the additional drawing figures of “Figure 12B” and “Figure 12C”. Each drawing figure should have a brief description.
At [0040], line 7, the container ceiling “23” is identified but the drawing do not reflect that numeral pointing to the feature described.
At [0041], line 6, the description “the base 1B can be lowered by the forklift truck and engage the base 1B” is altogether unclear as to what applicant intended to disclose. It is unclear how the base can engage itself via the anchor plate 83. Further explanation is requested.
At [0044], line 3, “it” should be removed.
At [0047], the first sentence is awkward with “To release the catch 38 can be done manually” and should perhaps be “Releasing the catch 38 can be done manually”.
At [0051], line 2, “is pivot pin 34” should be “its pivot pin 34”.
At [0054], line 2, “spring 37” should apparently be “spring 36” to correspond with [0053]. In addition, this paragraph describes a “spring anchor 63” but it is unclear what feature of the invention applicant is referring to. There is no apparent reference numeral “63” in Figure 4D which this paragraph is describing. However, in Figure 8A reference numeral “63” is present but it does not appear that the lead line is pointing to a spring anchor as described. Further clarification is requested.
At [0055], line 2, “catch 36” was previously “catch 38” where “36” represented the spring.
At [0083], line 2, numeral “69” is used to represent “jacking trolley” but was previously used as “an open end 69” (see [0056-0057] and FIG.4A, 4B, and Figure 7.
Additionally, in Figure 12A (which is what is being discussed at [0083]) there is no corresponding numeral “69” present.
Appropriate correction is required.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
There is an inconsistency with the specification. The specification at [0040], line 7 refers to “container ceiling 23” but reference numeral “23” shown in Figure 2 is apparently pointing to a different feature and not the container ceiling as described.
There is a line “6” in Figure 5 which has no corresponding description in the specification. It is unclear if this “6” is supposed to represent the rear support and if so why it is represented as a line in this drawing figures.
In Figure 6 reference numeral “11D” has no lead line to indicate the spigot.
In Figure 7, no numeral “42” is shown as described at [0061].
In Figure 9, there are two separate reference number “46” pointing to distinct features.
In Figure 12A there is no numeral “69” as described at [0083].
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the female connector comprising a slot plate with one “or more” slots of claim 30, the hitch of claim 45 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 43 and 44 are objected to because of the following informalities:
For claim 43, a period is needed at the end of the claim.
For claim 44, a comma is needed after “securing means” on line 15.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In claim 21 there is no clear distinction of where the preamble ends and the body of the claim begins. Specifically, there is no delineation of the preamble from the body with a phrase such as “the assembly comprises” or “the assembly comprising”. This makes the claims confusing and indefinite as to what is being positively recited and what is meant to be included as a preamble limitation. Are the shipping container and a racking system positive limitations of the assembly? The structure which goes to make up the device must be clearly and positively specified. The structure must be organized and correlated in such a manner as to present a complete operative device.
In claim 21, there is an inconsistency between the language in the preamble which sets forth that the claim is directed to a subcombination (an assembly) and line 10 reciting a combination in that the four separate removable posts are positively recited as being fixed to each of the longitudinal side walls of the shipping container and line 12 reciting connection means positively connecting the base to the shipping container, thereby making the scope of the claim indefinite and unclear. Applicant is required to clarify what subject matter the claim is intended to be drawn to, i.e., combination or subcombination, and to amend the language of the claim to be consistency with this intent. For the purpose of treating the claims based upon prior art, the claims have been treated as combination claims where the shipping container and racking system are included as features of the assembly. If applicant amends the claims to be directed to the subcombination, any indication of allowable subject matter will have to be reevaluated accordingly.
Claim 21 line 8 recites “a floor” which lacks antecedent basis in the claim and should apparently be “the floor of the shipping container”.
In claim 21 it is unclear what feature or features of the invention applicant considers to be the securing means for the further base (lines 14-15) and further explanation is requested.
In claim 22, “a corresponding post” (lines 4-5) and “the corresponding post” (line 8) lacks antecedent basis because it does not refer back to the four separate removable posts of which “a corresponding post” is apparently one of the four.
Claim 24 recites “a side rail” which lacks antecedent basis in the claim because “a pair” of side rails is previously recited.
Claim 25 recites “a removable post” which lacks antecedent basis because four posts are previously recited. It is unclear if this is a new post or if applicant intended to refer back to the previous recitation.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "any” which is indefinite because it is unclear what applicant intends to recite with the phrase. The term can be interpreted as one, some, or several and because the claim language is susceptible to more than one interpretation, the claim language is ambiguous, and, thus, indefinite. See Ex parte Miyazaki, 89 USPQ2d 1207, 1215 (BPAI 2008) (precedential) and Ex parte Whitney (PTAB 2013).
Furthermore, for claim 26, the term “any” is misleading in that the vertical location, horizontal location, and rotational orientation are delimited by the placement of the holes of the array. Applicant has not made the case that the number and placement of the holes is limitless along the length and width of the post or container. The precise horizontal and vertical location would be determined by the positioning of the holes relative the post or container and the exact spacing of those holes. As for the rotational orientation, the shape of the plate and positioning of the holes limit the angle at which the plate is rotated where only three possible positions are shown (vertically up (Figure 5 left side), vertically down (Figure 5 right side), and horizontally right (Figure 6)). Three possible rotational orientations does not equate to the recite “any” provided in the claim language.
Claim 26 recites the following limitations which lack antecedent basis in the claim: “the side rail” (line 5), “the post” (lines 5-6),”the post” (line 7), “the side rail” (line 7), “the respective back plates” (line 9), “the side wall” (line 9), “the back plates” (line 10), “a post” (line 11), “the inner face” (lines 11-12), and “the post” (line 12).
Additionally, for claim 26, the last lines recite “a post cantilevered out from the inner face of the post” which is altogether unclear as to what applicant intends to recite.
Claim 30 recites “the slot” (line 3) which lacks antecedent basis in the claim as “one or more slots” are recited previously. In addition, the recitation “it” on line 5 lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 31 is unclear and awkwardly worded as it recites that the slot plates are oriented to “receive or be received by the spigot” but then goes on to recite “and support at least partially the spigot”. However, if the slot plates are received by the spigot how can the slot plates support the spigot? If the slot plates receive the spigot (as seen in, for example, in Figures 3-7) the plate can likewise support the spigot. But if the slot plates are received by the spigot, is it not the spigot that supports the plates (as seen, for example, in Figure 8A)?
Claims 33 recites “the connectors”, “connectors”, and “the upright posts” all of which lack antecedent basis in the claim.
Claim 34 recites “the connection means at the front end of the base” and “the connection means at the rear end of the base” neither of which were previously recited. The recitation “the posts” (line 2), “they” (line 2), and “the posts” (line 4) all lack antecedent basis.
Claim 35 recites “the connection means at one or both rear end and front end” which was not previously recited and lacks antecedent basis in the claim. Specifically, the connection means was not set forth being at a front end or rear end of the base. Additionally both rear end and front end should be modified by either ‘the’ or ‘said’ to refer back to the recitations in claim 21.
Claim 35 recites “it” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 36 recites the limitations "at least one upright post" in line 2, “longitudinal sidewall” in line 2, “the upright” in line 3, “the sides of the valley” in lines 3 and 4, and “it” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 37 recites the limitations "at least one upright post" in line 2, “longitudinal sidewall” in line 2, “the post” in line 3, “the sides of the valley” in line 3, and “the post” in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 38 recites the limitations "the posts” in line 2, at least one upright post" in line 2, “the support frames” in line 3, “bases” in line 3, and “it” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 39 recites the limitations "a number of bases” in line 2, “them” in line 4, “one base” in line 4 (both instances), “another” in line 4, “another” in line 5, “the bases” in line 6, and “bases” in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. In addition, the term “any” is indefinite for the same reason as set forth above for claim 26.
Claim 41 recites the limitations "a column of bases” in line 2, “another” in line 2, “12 bases” in line 2, “a container” in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 40 recites the limitations "the rails” in line 3. at least one upright post" in line 2, “longitudinal sidewall” in line 2, “the upright” in line 3, “the sides of the valley” in lines 3 and 4, and “it” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 40 recites “such that when the rails become skewed one to the other relieve sliding contact each other and when extended telescopically the inner surface of the outer rail be exposed at least partly for servicing” which is unclear.
Claim 42 recites the limitations "the assembly of the base and posts” in line 2, “a container” in line 2, and “the door opening” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. It appears that “the assembly of the base and posts” is not meant to refer back to the entire assembly recited in claim 21 but just that feature of the invention that includes the base and posts and this should be made clear with different language. No mention of a door opening is apparent from claim 21.
Claim 43 recites the limitations "the assembly of the base and posts” in line 2, “a container” in line 2, and “the side panels” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. It appears that “the assembly of the base and posts” is not meant to refer back to the entire assembly recited in claim 21 but just that feature of the invention that includes the base and posts and this should be made clear with different language. The side panels were not previously recited as claim 21 introduces “sidewalls” (line 3) instead.
Claim 44 recites “a shipping container” in line 3 which lacks antecedent basis in the claim because the limitation is present in the preamble. On line 16, “a vehicle” lacks antecedent basis because of the recitation of “one or more vehicles” in the preamble.
Claim 44 recites “them” and “their lengths” at line 11 which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 44 recites “the a distance” in lines 6-7, “the a vehicle” in line 7, “a floor” in line 9, “the a rear end” in line 9, and “a or the handling means” at line 22 which lack antecedent basis in the claim. The second recitation should apparently be “the handling means”.
In claim 44 it is unclear what feature or features of the invention applicant considers to be the securing means for the further base (lines 14-15) and further explanation is requested.
In claim 44, lines 20-21, “the front end connectors” and line 23, “the rear end connectors” lack antecedent basis. Only a connection means was previously recited and not front or rear “connectors”.
Claim 45 recites the limitations "their tops” in line 5, “a floor” in line 9, and “a supported base” in lines 12-13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-27, 29-31, 33-35, 38-39, 41, and 44-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Payne et al. in view of Omuta and further in view of the well known prior art.
For claim 21, Payne et al. (2020/0102143) represents the closest prior art and disclose an assembly of a shipping container (10) and a racking system (11) for securing vehicles to the inside thereof for onward transport, wherein: the shipping container (10) comprises two longitudinal sidewalls and a floor (FIG.1); and the racking system (11) comprises:
a base comprising a transverse front support connected to a transverse rear support via a pair of longitudinal telescopic side rails (19a,19b) enabling adjustment of a distance between the front and rear supports on which a vehicle is to be supported,
the base having rollers (40,41) at a front end to enable the base to be rolled along the floor of the shipping container when a rear end thereof is raised;
four separate removable posts (13), the posts having arrays of holes (FIG.10) formed in them along their lengths; and
connection means connecting the base to the shipping container indirectly via the posts such that the base is located above the floor, creating a space below the base to receive at least part of a further base rolled along the floor into the space, for securing to the container using securing means (see FIG.6 and FIG.9).
Payne et al. therefore lacks only the four separate removable posts fixed to each of the longitudinal side walls, a feature known from Omuta.
Omuta (2007/0189872) teaches a post (21) and attachment of the post to the container at a side wall (ceiling corner) thereof (see top rail 3a).
As seen at [0016] Preferably the vertical bracing member of the freight rack of the invention is adjustable in vertical length so that the top of which is brought into contact with each of the right and left corners of the inside upper part of the container. FIGS. 2 and 3 show one embodiment of this rack, where the vertical bracing member 20 is composed by connecting the upper part of a vertical portal frame 21 with a push-up rod 25 adjustable in length by means of screw. The top (a metal tip 28 of the push-up rod) is brought into contact with two surfaces (a horizontal face and a vertical face) of a frame member (a top rail 3a) at each of the right and left corners of the inside upper part of the container 3.
In addition, it is noted that providing this push-rod (25) bracing helps reinforce the container. As seen at [0017] After this freight rack is carried into the container, the length of each upturned vertical bracing member should be adjusted so that the top of the bracing member is brought into contact with each of the right and left corners of the inside upper part of the container with a proper contact force. In this state, the vertical bracing member exerts an upward force on the upper part of the container, as described above, thereby reinforcing the container from the inside and restricting the deformation and displacement of the rack itself.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have provided the push-rods of Omuta for use with the post of Payne et al. in order to brace the rack system and reinforce the container.
For claim 22, the connection means comprises:
a bolt plate ([0012]) incorporating an array of holes fixed to the side rail of the base; and
a second plate incorporating an array of holes,
the second plate (FIG.10) attached to a corresponding post,
wherein when the base is positioned in the container and a hole in the bolt plate aligns with a hole in the second plate,
a fastener can be passed through the hole in the bolt plate and the hole in the second plate to secure the base to the corresponding post.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have provided the second plate bolted to the post of Payne et al., as modified, as taught by Payne et al., in order to achieve the predictable result of attachment.
The claim would have been obvious because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. KSR, 550 US at 82 USPQ2d at 1385 (Supreme Court 2007) (KSR) supports this rationale of a simple substitution.
For claims 23-24, the connection means comprises a male connector fixed to a first back plate to connect to a female connector fixed to a side rail (FIGS.22-23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have provided the side rail with a second back plate similar to the first of Payne et al., as modified, as taught by the remainder of the Payne et al. reference, in order to strengthen the connection.
For claim 25, the second back plate is fixed to a removable post (indirectly, FIGS. 22-23).
For claim 26, as best understood, the back plate of Payne et al., as modified, can be configured in a number of different locations (FIGS. 10 and 22-37A).
For claim 27, the second back plate is, or the first and second back plates are, mounted for sliding adjustment longitudinally of the side rails, or if mounted on the posts, along the length of the posts (in so much as the side rails are longitudinally adjustable, FIGS.10-11, 20,22).
For claim 29, the male connector comprises a spigot comprising a shaft fixed at one end perpendicularly to the first back plate and having at the other end a retainer (FIGS.22-23).
For claim 30, the female connector comprises a slot plate having one or more slots (FIG.12) to receive the spigot of the male connector,
the slot having a closed end and an open end, the slot plate being so fixed to provide a space between the first back plate and the slot plate to accommodate the spigot (FIG.23) projecting into it and the retainer at the end of the shaft.
For claim 31, the slot plates are oriented to receive or be received by the spigot when manoeuvring the base into position in the container and support at least partially the spigot.
For claim 33, the connection means in at least at the front end of the base can be connected to connection means on the posts fixed to the sidewalls of the container by manoeuvring of the base by handling means (forklift F; FIGS.6 and 9).
For claim 34, when the connection means at the front end of the base are connected to the posts, they can act as a pivot to enable the rear end of the base to be lifted upwards in an arc to engage the connection means at the rear end of the base to align with the connection means on the posts for engaging the base to the posts (FIG.6).
For claim 35, the connection means at one or both rear end and front end of the base comprises a vertical plate having an array of holes formed in it fixed to the end of the side rail which when aligned with one of the holes in the array of holes formed in the posts can be fastened directly to the post with a single fastener (FIG.10,22-23,26-27,37A).
For claim 38, the posts when removed from the container can be nested (FIG.13) between the side rails of the base supported by the support frames alone, or coupled together to enable bases to be stacked with the side rails of one base stacked upon another to bear substantially on the side rails of the base below it.
For claim 41, a column of bases stacked one upon another to a height of more than 12 bases can be rolled into a container with a forklift truck (FIG.16).
For claim 39, a number of bases can be stacked one upon another to form a single column of bases; the bases having guides ([0076]) projecting above the side rails and recesses (cut out 21b) in the underside of the bases to receive them to locate one base upon another and restrain one base sliding and skewing horizontally over another when stacked; the bases when so stacked are indexed so that one end of the bases are aligned regardless of any different lengths of bases being stacked.
For claim 44, Payne et al., as modified, inherently discloses the method recited as it provides the assembly including base with rollers ([0088]) as set forth above and discloses
b) fitting the four removeable posts (13) into the shipping container;
c) loading a vehicle onto on the base ([0089]);
d) loading the base onto a handling means (as a forklift or similar ([0008]);
e) carrying the base into the container ([0088]);
f) manoeuvring the base within the container by the handling means to connect the front end connectors to the posts ([0079]);
g) raising the rear end of the base (FIG.6; FIG.9; [0089]) with the handling means to enable connection of the rear end connectors to the posts ([0079]); and
h) withdrawing the handling means from the container.
For claim 45, the handling means comprises: a forklift truck linked releasably to the rear end of the base; and a winch or the like ([0002]).
Payne et al., as modified, fail to disclose a wheeled jacking trolley.
Examiner takes official notice that such lifts are well known in the prior art and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have provided such a well known prior art jack trolley for use with Payne et al., as modified, in order to raise the vehicle base within the container.
Applicant may seasonally challenge, for the official record in this application, this and any other statement of judicial notice in a timely manner in response to this office action. Please specify the exact statement to be challenged. Applicant is reminded, with respect to the specific challenge put forth, of the duty of disclosure under Rule 56 to disclose material which is pertinent to patentability including claim rejections challenged by applicant.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Payne et al., as modified above, and further in view of CN 928.
For claim 28, Payne et al., as modified, lacks the second back plate is driven longitudinally of the side rail by a drive screw known from at least CN 928 (CN 113978928).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have provided the second plate of Payne et al., as modified, driven longitudinally by a drive screw as taught by CN 928 as an obvious expedient to achieve the predictable result of longitudinal adjustment.
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Payne et al., as modified above, and further in view of FR 340.
For claim 32, Payne et al., as modified, discloses the open end of the slot and further provides spring loaded latches (72) but fails to provide a releasable catch spring biased to a closed position, a feature known from at least FR 2484340 (FR 340) as seen in FIGS. 1-4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have a releasable catch known from FR 340 for use with the slot of Payne et al., as modified, in order to allow for latching the base.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 36-37, 40, and 42-43 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter for the claims in this application is the inclusion of the specific upright post partly recessed within a valley of a corrugation of longitudinal sidewall, the post having longitudinal clearance between the upright and the sides of the valley to allow it to be adjusted longitudinally within the confines of the sides of the valley; the post being recessed to bear on the sides of the valley to resist longitudinal movement of the post; the assembly of the base and posts inside a container is overall wider than the door opening of the container or than the internal width between the side panels of the container; and the outer rail of the side rail formed as an open channel such that when the rails become skewed one to the other to relieve sliding contact each other and when extended telescopically the inner surface of the outer rail be exposed at least partly for servicing in combination with the other elements recited, which is not found in the prior art of record.
The closest prior art is Payne et al. as set forth above. Recessing a post within the standard corrugation recesses of an ISO shipping container is known from at least Crook (2012/0006814) as seen at [0006] but the specifics of the post having longitudinal clearance between the upright and the sides of the valley to allow it to be adjusted longitudinally within the confines of the sides of the valley and the post being recessed to bear on the sides of the valley to resist longitudinal movement of the post is not shown. Likewise, though the assembly of Crook inside a container is provided to be overall wider than the door opening or internal width of the side panels, the reference fails to include the other features and cannot easily combine with Payne et al. Payne et al. further do not show the outer rail of the side rail as an open channel as recited in combination with the other elements.
Conclusion
The following additional reference(s) is/are noted.
WO 837 provides posts (support frames 3) on either side of the container (which next into the base within the frame during storage and transport). Prior to the arrival of the base, two posts (two support frames 3) are fixed to the floor (20) of the container and/or to lashing hoops (14) on either side wall of the container (via straps 61).
However, WO 837 does not qualify as prior art for this application as the current effective filing date is 5/30/23 for independent claim 44 and 5/27/22 for independent claim 21.
/HILARY L GUTMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612B