DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I in the reply filed on 4 September 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 22-28, 32, 33 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4 September 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the feedback sleeve positioned distal the foot (claim 34) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 34 calls for providing feedback “with the haptic-enabled feedback sleeve positioned distal the foot”; the word “distal” is not used in the disclosure, only in originally filed claim 22, and the drawings show only a feedback sleeve which appears to be proximal of the foot if the center of the user’s body is used as the point of reference, where “distal” of the foot would appear to be located off the body and beyond the foot unless some other point of reference is being relied upon (which has not been disclosed). As such, the specification does not reasonably convey possession of providing feedback with a feedback sleeve positioned distal the foot at the time the invention was filed.
Claims 2-13, 15, 17, 20, 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “the shoe insert comprises one or more pressure sensors configured to measure pressure applied to a plantar aspect of the user’s foot”; claim 1 already defines “a wireless, pressure sensor-embedded shoe insert”. It is unclear if the one or more pressure sensors of claim 2 includes the pressure sensor of claim 1, or if these are in addition to the pressure sensor embedded in the insert. Clarification is required.
Claim 3 recites “one or more of the pressure sensors are configured to measure pressure applied to one or more of the calcaneous bone, hallux, cuboid, and medial aspect of the user’s foot”. It is unclear if the intent is for a single pressure sensor to be configured to measure pressures at a plurality of locations, or if measurement of pressures at more than one location requires more than one pressure sensor, one per location. Clarification is required.
Claim 20 defines a shoe insert which “is positioned in an injury/cast boot”. It is unclear what is being defined – one of an injury or a cast boot? Or one of an injury boot or a cast boot? How might an injury boot differ from a cast boot? Clarification is required.
Claim 34 calls for “providing feedback to the user with the haptic-enabled feedback sleeve positioned distal the foot”; it is unclear if the intent is to define the sleeve as being positioned distal the foot, for which there is no antecedent basis, or if a step involving positioning the sleeve distal the foot has been omitted. Further, no point of reference has been provided for which direction “distal” might be in relative to a foot – if taken in reference to the remainder of the body, an object “distal the foot” would be off the body and beyond the foot, such that it is unclear how it might be in contact with the body. It is unclear if the term “distal” has been used in error or if some other means of providing feedback which is “distal” of the foot is intended. Where there is a great deal of confusion and uncertainty as to the proper interpretation of the limitations of a claim, it would not be proper to reject such a claim on the basis of prior art. As stated in In re Steele, 305 F.2d 859, 134 USPQ 292 (CCPA 1962), a rejection should not be based on considerable speculation about the meaning of terms employed in a claim or assumptions that must be made as to the scope of the claims. See MPEP 2173.06. Claim 34 cannot be further treated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oddsson (US 2020/0330022).
Regarding claim 1, Oddsson discloses a haptic system comprising:
a wireless (paragraph [0093]), pressure sensor-embedded shoe insert (element 44; paragraphs [0052], 0065]-[0067]); and
a haptic-enabled feedback sleeve configured to provide haptic feedback to a user (element 40);
wherein:
the haptic feedback includes cutaneous vibratory stimuli based, at least in part, on feedback from the shoe insert (paragraph [0065]); and
the system enables real-time monitoring and haptic modulation of dynamic pressures on the foot of the user (paragraphs [0065]-[0066]).
Regarding claim 2, Oddsson further discloses that:
the haptic feedback is based, at least in part, on haptic plantar pressure feedback from the shoe insert (figure 5);
the system enables real-time monitoring and haptic modulation of dynamic pressures on the plantar surface of the foot of the user (paragraph [0007], [0077]); and
the shoe insert comprises one or more pressure sensors configured to measure pressure applied to a plantar aspect of the user's foot (figure 5).
Regarding claim 3, Oddsson further discloses that one or more of the pressure sensors are configured to measure pressure applied to one or more of the calcaneus bone, hallux, cuboid, and medial aspect of the user's foot (figure 5).
Regarding claim 4, Oddsson further discloses that the one or more pressure sensors comprise:
a first pressure sensor configured to measure pressure applied to a calcaneus bone of the user's foot (figure 5);
a second pressure sensor configured to measure pressure applied to a hallux of the user's foot (figure 5);
a third pressure sensor configured to measure pressure applied to a cuboid of the user's foot (figure 5); and
a fourth pressure sensor configured to measure pressure applied to a medial aspect of the user's foot (figure 5).
Regarding claim 5, Oddsson further discloses that one or more of the pressure sensors are force sensitive resistors (paragraph [0067]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oddsson in view of Andriacchi (US 2018/0049907).
Regarding claim 6, Oddsson further discloses that the haptic-enabled sleeve comprises: one or more vibrotactile cells configured to apply the cutaneous vibratory stimuli to the user (paragraph [0065]), but does not disclose how the cells are held in place, such as the sleeve also including an elastic material configured to provide a compressive force to the user. Andriacchi teaches a haptic-enabled sleeve configured to provide haptic feedback to a user (paragraph [0048]), the sleeve comprising an elastic material configured to provide a compressive force to the user (element 410) and one or more vibrotactile cells configured to apply cutaneous vibratory stimuli to the user (element 300). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have made the system of Oddsson with the sleeve further comprising an elastic material configured to provide a compressive force to the user, as taught by Andriacchi, in order to ensure that contact with the user for providing feedback is maintained.
Regarding claim 7, Oddsson further discloses that one or more of the vibrotactile cells are configured to apply the stimuli to at least a portion of a leg of the user (figure 4).
Regarding claim 8, Oddsson further discloses that the one or more vibrotactile cells comprise a first vibrotactile cell configured to apply a stimulus to an anterior aspect of a leg of the user, a second vibrotactile cell configured to apply a stimulus to a posterior aspect of a leg of the user, a third vibrotactile cell configured to apply a stimulus to a medial aspect of a leg of the user, and a fourth vibrotactile cell configured to apply a stimulus to a lateral aspect of a leg of the user (figure 5, see elements 52, 60).
Regarding claim 9, Oddsson further discloses that two or more of the one or more vibrotactile cells are configured to provide simultaneous stimuli to the user (figure 11).
Regarding claim 10, Oddsson further discloses that two or more of the one or more vibrotactile cells are configured to provide sequential stimuli to the user (see the stimulation sequence of figure 7).
Claim(s) 11-13, 15, 17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oddsson, as modified and applied above, and further in view of Haugland (US 2023/0372708).
Regarding claim 11, Oddsson further discloses the system further comprising
one or more microcontrollers configured to receive signals from one or more of the pressure sensors and control the haptic feedback provided to the user (paragraph [0020]); Oddsson, as modified above, does not further disclose the system also further comprising an accelerometer configured to determine when the user is moving. Haugland teaches a system comprising a pressure sensor-embedded shoe insert (element 112; figure 1) and a feedback sleeve configured to provide feedback to a user (paragraph [0138]), the system further comprising an accelerometer configured to determine when the user is moving (paragraph [0029], [0107]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill int eh art at the time the invention was filed to have made the system of Oddsson, as modified above, and further included an accelerometer configured to determine when the user is moving as part of the system, as taught by Haugland, in order to augment information obtained from the pressure sensors (paragraph [0109], [0148]).
Regarding claim 12, Oddsson further discloses that one or more of the microcontrollers are further configured to control one or more of a frequency, amplitude, or pattern of the haptic feedback provided to the user (paragraph [0065]).
Regarding claim 13, Oddsson further discloses that the haptic feedback is further based, at least in part, on a predetermined pressure threshold (paragraph [0063]).
Regarding claim 15, Oddsson further discloses that the haptic feedback sleeve further comprises one or more straps to secure the sleeve to the user (figure 4).
Regarding claim 17, Oddsson further discloses that the haptic feedback sleeve is configured to be secured a calf of the user or a thigh of the user (figure 4).
Regarding claim 20, Oddsson further discloses that the shoe insert is positioned in an injury/cast boot (paragraph [0080]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 2022/0338577 to Eschen, which also discloses a haptic feedback sleeve
/KAREN E TOTH/ Examiner, Art Unit 3791