DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 9, 11, 14, and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2, line 2: “each of which” should read “each of the sensors”;
Claim 2 lines 4-5: “each of which” should read “each of the sensing channel interfaces”;
Claim 9, line 6: comma missing after “gas-phase biochemical sensing signal”;
Claim 11, lines 5-6: “wherein at least one inner core layer” should read “wherein the at least one inner core layer”;
Claim 14, line 2: “an outer side of the bottom layer” should read “the outer side of the bottom layer”;
Claim 16, line 4: “a data processing unit” should read “the data processing unit”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (Publication No. US 2020/0088701 A1) in view of Jeutter et al. (Publication No. US 2002/0070868 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jung teaches a metabolite detection apparatus, applied to a diaper (system 100 in form of a diaper 10 with devices 60/70/80; Paragraph 0104; Figure 1a), the metabolite detection apparatus comprising:
a sensor module (devices 60, 70; Paragraph 0104; Figure 1a), comprising a sensor unit (sensing unit 102 is in device 60; Paragraph 0093; Figures 1a-1b), a signal conditioner chip (sensing signal processing unit 108; Figure 1c; Paragraph 0096), and a wireless transceiver (data transmission 110; Figure 1b-1c; Paragraph 0096) connected to each other in sequence (components are connected in sequence; Figure 1b-1c; Paragraph 0095-0096), wherein the sensor unit is configured to sense a metabolite and generate a plurality of corresponding sensing signals (sensing unit 102 can detect various metabolites and generates signals; Paragraph 0093; Figure 1b-1c), the signal conditioner chip is configured to process each of the sensing signals to generate a plurality of corresponding conditioning signals respectively (sensing signal processing unit 108 processes signals and converts data to digital forms; Paragraph 0096), and transmit the plurality of conditioning signals to the wireless transceiver for transmissions (transmits digital data to data transmission unit 110; Paragraph 0096); a processing module (computing unit 112; Paragraph 0096 and 0099; Figure 1a-1b), comprising a wireless receiver (computing unit 112 has a wireless receiver; Paragraph 0096 and 0099) and a data processing unit connected to each other (software 80 in computing unit 112 and has a receiver; Paragraph 0099-0100), the wireless receiver is configured to receive the plurality of conditioning signals and transmit the plurality of conditioning signals to the data processing unit (wireless receiver receives signals from unit 110 to software 80; Paragraph 0096 and 0165), and the data processing unit is configured to acquire metabolite information according to the plurality of conditioning signals (software 80 acquires metabolite information from signal transferred by unit 110; Paragraph 0099-0100). Jung does not teach a first coil and a second coil.
However, Jeutter teaches a first coil (transponder coil 50; Paragraph 0058-0060; Figure 3 and 3a), a second coil (interrogator coil 52; Paragraph 0058-0060; Figure 3 and 3a), wherein the second coil is electromagnetically coupled to the first coil to wirelessly transmit energy and data (interrogator coil 52 is electromagnetically coupled to transponder coil 50 to wirelessly transmit energy and data; Paragraph 0058-0060).
Jung and Jeutter are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of sensor systems for diapers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jung to incorporate the teachings of Jeutter to have the first and second coil of Jeutter to be the wireless transceiver and receiver of Jung, where the first coil is in the diaper on the inside of the bottom layer and the second coil with processing module is on the outer side of the bottom layer and encapsulated by a package module for mounting on the diaper, as taught by Jeutter. This allows for the passive operation of the data collection of the system without the generation of undesired, stray electrical currents (Jeutter; Paragraph 0005 and 0006). The combination of Jung in view of Jeutter further teaches transmit the plurality of conditioning signals to the first coil for transmissions (first coil 50 of Jeutter transmits data from sensors of Jung to second coil 52 of Jeutter; Jeutter; Paragraph 0058-0060; Figures 3 and 3a; see combination above), the second coil is configured to receive the plurality of conditioning signals and transmit the plurality of conditioning signals to the data processing unit (second coil 52 of Jeutter receives data from the first coil 50 of Jeutter comprising the digital signals of Jung; Jeutter; Paragraph 0058-0060; Figure 3 and 3a; see combination above).
Regarding claim 2, Jung in view of Jeutter teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Jung further teaches wherein the sensor unit comprises a plurality of sensors (sensing unit 102 with reagent strips 124r1, 124r2, and 124r3; Figure 3b; Paragraph 0115), each of which is provided on a diffusion path of the metabolite (strips 124r1, 124r2, and 124r3 absorbs liquid in diffusion path; Paragraph 0115; Figure 3b), and each of the sensors is configured to generate a corresponding sensing signal (sensors 124r1 senses RBC, sensors 124r2 senses protein, and sensors 124r3 senses nitrite; Paragraph 0115; Figure 3b); the signal conditioner chip is configured with a plurality of sensing channel interfaces (sensor signal processing unit 108 has plurality of sensing channel interfaces/each channel 1, 2, 3 of multiplexer 160 and connected to microprocessor 152; Paragraph 016309164; Figure 3b), each of which is configured to connect to a corresponding sensor (Figure 3b; Paragraph 0163-0164).
Regarding claim 3, Jung in view of Jeutter teaches the apparatus of claim 2. Jung further teaches wherein the signal conditioner chip is configured with an updateable signal conditioning algorithm (sensor signal processing unit 108 with multiplexer 160 that periodically switches the channel of the sensor signal processing unit 108 for powering and data collection; Paragraph 0163-0164; Figure 3b), and the signal conditioning algorithm is set to correspond to types of the plurality of sensors in the sensor unit (Paragraph 0163-0164; Figure 3b).
Regarding claim 5, Jung in view of Jeutter teaches the apparatus of claim 2. The combination of Jung in view of Jeutter further teaches wherein the data processing unit is further configured to generate and transmit a data acquisition instruction via the second coil (Jeutter; energy/data acquisition instruction from interrogator coil 52 is transmitted to transponder coil 50 from the data processing unit of Jung; Paragraph 0059; Figure 3 and 3a),
the signal conditioner chip is further configured to receive the data acquisition instruction via the first coil, and transmit the conditioning signal back to the data processing unit in response to the data acquisition instruction (Jeutter; energy/data acquisition instruction from interrogator coil 52 is transmitted to transponder coil 50 and will receive output energy back from transponder coil 50 to interrogator coil 52 in response to inputted energy; Paragraph 0059; Figure 3 and 3a).
Regarding claim 8, Jung in view of Jeutter teaches the apparatus of claim 2. Jung further teaches wherein the sensor unit comprises:
a liquid-phase metabolite sensor, provided in a biochemical reaction region of the diaper (sensing unit 102 with reagent strips 124r1, 124r2, and 124r3; Figure 3a; Paragraph 0115), and configured to sense a liquid flowing into the biochemical reaction region from a liquid siphon channel of the diaper and generate a corresponding liquid-phase biochemical sensing signal (liquid 402 flows from channel 1241 and into strips 124r1, 124r2, and 124r3 to generate a biochemical sensing signal that detects RBCs, protein, and nitrite, respectively; Paragraph 0115-0116; Figure 3b);
wherein the data processing unit is further configured to acquire liquid-phase biochemical information corresponding to the liquid-phase biochemical sensing signal (signal from sensing unit 102 and sent to software 80 after being processed by signal processing unit 108; Paragraph 0114-0117; Figure 3b).
Regarding claim 10, Jung in view of Jeutter teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Jung further teaches wherein the processing module further comprises at least one of an operation unit (user interface system 1006; Paragraph 0174; Figure 11), an indicator unit (user interface system 10006 in form of GUI with display; Paragraph 0175; Figure 11), or a power management unit, wherein
the operation unit is connected to the data processing unit (user interface system 1006 is connected to software 80 of computing unit 112; Paragraph 0172-0175; Figure 11), and is configured to receive an activation operation input by a user and generate an activation signal accordingly (user can access the functionality or interact with the detection system 100 – obvious that the interaction from user to system 100 is an operation input that generates a signal; Paragraph 0174-0175), and transmit the activation signal to the data processing unit (activation signal is sent from GUI to software 80 of computing unit 112 to access the functionality or interact with the system 100; Paragraph 0173-0175);
the indicator unit is connected to the data processing unit (user interface system 1006 is connected to software 80 of computing unit 112; Paragraph 0172-0175; Figure 11), and is configured to receive an indication signal output by the data processing unit (user can access the functionality or interact with the detection system 100 – obvious that the interaction from user to system 100 is an operation input that generates a signal; Paragraph 0174-0175), and indicate the user according to status information carried by the indication signal, wherein the status information carried by the indication signal comprises at least one of status information of the metabolite, status information of the sensor module, or status information of the processing unit (GUI 1006 displays status information carried by selected signal which is the data regarding the metabolite that is gathered from the sensors and received through the data processing system; Paragraph 0175); and
the power management unit is connected to the data processing unit and is configured to supply power to the data processing unit.
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (Publication No. US 2020/0088701 A1) in view of Jeutter et al. (Publication No. US 2002/0070868 A1), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Prioleau et al. (Publication No. US 2013/0041334 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Jung in view of Jeutter teaches the apparatus of claim 2. The combination of Jung in view of Jeutter does not teach wherein the signal conditioner chip is provided with preset identity information (“a sensor status circuit may be combined with identifier circuitry… to integrate information to identify the patient and/or the type of incontinence article being monitored”; Paragraph 0131),
wherein when the signal conditioner chip transmits the plurality of conditioning signals to the first coil for transmissions, the signal conditioner chip is further configured to transmit the identity information to the first coil for the transmission, to allow the processing unit to establish a mapping relationship between the metabolite information and the identity information (“the processing means may be configured to receive incontinence pad type information for an absorbent article worn by a subject and, based on the pad type indicator and the continence-related data, calculate a risk of wetness leakage from the absorbent article…”; Paragraph 0131).
Jung in view of Jeutter and Prioleau are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of sensor systems for diapers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jung in view of Jeutter to incorporate the teachings of Prioleau to have the pad type identifier of Prioleau be provided to the signal conditional chip to be sent to the processing unit of Jung in view of Jeutter. This allows for the integration of the type of pad with the sensor data for further analysis on risk of wetness leakage or individual patients (Prioleau; Paragraph 0131).
Claim(s) 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (Publication No. US 2020/0088701 A1) in view of Jeutter et al. (Publication No. US 2002/0070868 A1), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Jhangiani et al. (Publication No. US 2018/0253957 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Jung in view of Jeutter teaches the apparatus of claim 2. The combination of Jung in view of Jeutter does not teach wherein the sensor unit comprises:
a plurality of humidity sensors, respectively provided at different sensing points on the diffusion path of the metabolite, and each humidity sensor being configured to sense a humidity at a sensing point and generate a corresponding humidity sensing signal;
wherein the data processing unit is further configured to determine a metabolite type according to the humidity sensed by each humidity sensor, and the metabolite type comprises a liquid metabolite and a non-liquid metabolite. However, Jhangiani teaches wherein the sensor unit comprises:
a plurality of humidity sensors (humidity sensors 804, 805; Figure 8; Paragraph 0029), respectively provided at different sensing points on the diffusion path of the metabolite (sensors are provided inwards and outwards from the diaper to measure humidity at different sensing points in the diffusion path; Paragraph 0029; Figure 8), and each humidity sensor being configured to sense a humidity at a sensing point and generate a corresponding humidity sensing signal (humidity sensors 804, 805 senses a humidity and generates a signal; Paragraph 0029; Figure 8);
wherein the data processing unit is further configured to determine a metabolite type according to the humidity sensed by each humidity sensor (humidity sensors 804, 805 that detects metabolite type when difference in humidity is detected; Paragraph 0029-0030; Figure 8), and the metabolite type comprises a liquid metabolite and a non-liquid metabolite (Paragraph 0029; Claim 20).
Jung in view of Jeutter and Jhangiani are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of sensor systems for diapers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jung in view of Jeutter to incorporate the teachings of Jhangiani to have the plurality of humidity sensors of Jhangiani within the diffusion path of the metabolite of Jung in view of Jeutter. This allows for the measurement of the change in humidity to detect a urination or defecation event (Jhangiani; Paragraph 0029-0030; Claim 20).
Regarding claim 7, Jung in view of Jeutter teaches the apparatus of claim 2. The combination of Jung in view of Jeutter does not teach wherein the sensor unit comprises:
at least one temperature sensor, provided on the diffusion path of the metabolite, wherein the temperature sensor is configured to sense a temperature at a sensing point and generate a corresponding temperature sensing signal;
wherein the data processing unit is further configured to determine a metabolite type according to the temperature sensed by the temperature sensor, the metabolite type comprises a liquid metabolite and a non-liquid metabolite.
However, Jhangiani teaches wherein the sensor unit comprises:
at least one temperature sensor (temperature sensors; Paragraph 0029), provided on the diffusion path of the metabolite (sensors are provided inwards and outwards from the diaper to measure temperature at different sensing points in the diffusion path; Paragraph 0029-0030), wherein the temperature sensor is configured to sense a temperature at a sensing point and generate a corresponding temperature sensing signal (temperature is measured at location of temperature sensor and generates a signal; Paragraph 0029-0030);
wherein the data processing unit is further configured to determine a metabolite type according to the temperature sensed by the temperature sensor (temperature sensors that detects metabolite type when difference in temperature is detected; Paragraph 0029-0030; Claim 20), the metabolite type comprises a liquid metabolite and a non-liquid metabolite (Paragraph 0029-0030; Claim 20).
Jung in view of Jeutter and Jhangiani are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of sensor systems for diapers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jung in view of Jeutter to incorporate the teachings of Jhangiani to have the plurality of temperature sensors of Jhangiani within the diffusion path of the metabolite of Jung in view of Jeutter. This allows for the measurement of the change in temperature to detect a urination or defecation event (Jhangiani; Paragraph 0029-0030; Claim 20).
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (Publication No. US 2020/0088701 A1) in view of Jeutter et al. (Publication No. US 2002/0070868 A1), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Jhangiani et al. (Publication No. US 2018/0253957 A1) and Ushigome et al. (Publication No. US 2021/0086169 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Jung in view of Jeutter teaches the apparatus of claim 2. The combination of Jung in view of Jeutter does not teach wherein the sensor unit comprises a gas-phase metabolite sensor.
However, Jhangiani teaches wherein the sensor unit comprises a gas-phase metabolite sensor (gas sensor 802; Figure 8; Paragraph 0029).
Jung in view of Jeutter and Jhangiani are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of sensor systems for diapers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jung in view of Jeutter to incorporate the teachings of Jhangiani to have the gas sensor of Jhangiani in the system of Jung in view of Jeutter. This allows for the measurement of the change in gas in the diaper to detect a urination or defecation event (Jhangiani; Paragraph 0029-0030; Claim 20).
The combination of Jung in view of Jeutter and Jhangiani does not teach a gas latching structure covering the gas-phase metabolite sensor (sensitive film 9 covered the sensor device 6; Paragraph 0126-0131; Figure 7),
wherein the gas latching structure is configured to latch the gas in the metabolite (sensitive film 9 allows for gas molecules to adhere to the surface; Paragraph 0133; Figure 7), and the gas-phase metabolite sensor is configured to sense the latched gas and generate a corresponding gas-phase biochemical sensing signal (sensor 6 senses the latched gas on the film 9 to measure the gas concentration; Paragraph 0133).
Jung in view of Jeutter and Jhangiani and Ushigome are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of gas sensors for detecting waste. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jung in view of Jeutter and Jhangiani to incorporate the teachings of Ushigome to have the gas-phase sensor of Ushigome to replace the gas sensor of Jung in view of Jeutter and Jhangiani and be connected to the data processing unit of Jung in view of Jeutter and Jhangiani. This allows for the sensor to detect gas particles that may come from urine or feces (Ushigome; Paragraph 0125).
The combination of Jung in view of Jeutter, Jhangiani, and Ushigome further teaches wherein the data processing unit is further configured to acquire gas-phase biochemical information corresponding to the gas-phase biochemical sensing signal (software 80 in computing unit 112 of Jung receives the gas-phase data collected from the signal of the gas-phase sensor of Ushigome; Jung; Paragraph 0099-0100; see combination above).
Claim(s) 11-12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (Publication No. US 2020/0088701 A1) in view of Jeutter et al. (Publication No. US 2002/0070868 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Handwerker et al. (Publication No. US 2010/0152688 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Jung in view of Jeutter teaches the apparatus of claim 1 above. The combination of Jung in view of Jeutter further teaches a diaper (Jung; diaper 10; Paragraph 0092; Figure 1a), comprising:
a surface layer (Jung; top layer of diaper 10; Figure 1a; Paragraph 0092);
a bottom layer (Jung; bottom layer of diaper 10; Figure 1a; Paragraph 0092);
a sensor layer, provided between the surface layer and the bottom layer (Jung; sensor layer with device 60 is embedded within diaper 10 between the top and bottom layer; Paragraph 0092-0093; Figure 1a); and
the metabolite detection apparatus of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the sensor module in the metabolite detection apparatus is provided in the sensor layer (Jung; sensor module 60 is in sensor layer; Figure 1a; Paragraph 0092), and the processing module in the metabolite detection apparatus is provided on an outer side of the bottom layer (Jeutter; interrogator coil 52 with processing module of Jung is on the outer side of the bottom layer 102; Paragraph 0058-0060; Figure 3 and 3a; see rejection of claim 1 above). The combination of Jung in view of Jeutter does not teach at least one inner core layer provided between the surface layer and the bottom layer; wherein at least one inner core layer is provided between the sensor layer and the bottom layer.
However, Handwerker teaches at least one inner core layer provided between the surface layer and the bottom layer (absorbent body 44 is between liner 42 and layer 40; Paragraph 0036; Figure 3-4); wherein at least one inner core layer is provided between the sensor layer and the bottom layer (absorbent body 44 between insert 70 and layer 40; Figure 4; Paragraph 0057).
Jung in view of Jeutter and Handwerker are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of sensor systems for diapers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jung in view of Jeutter to incorporate the teachings of Handwerker to have the inner core/absorbent layer of Handwerker in the diaper of Jung in view of Jeutter, between the sensor layer and the bottom layer. This allows for the absorbent material to absorb liquid body exudates (Handwerker; Paragraph 0036).
Regarding claim 12, Jung in view of Jeutter and Handwerker teaches the diaper of claim 11. The combination of Jung in view of Jeutter and Handwerker further teaches wherein there is no inner core layer provided on a coupling path between the first coil and the second coil in the metabolite detection apparatus (Jeutter; first coil 50 and second coil 52 are about the inner surface and outer surface of the bottom layer 102 with no absorbent core present in between the two coils; Figure 3A; Paragraph 0058-0060).
Regarding claim 16, Jung in view of Jeutter and Handwerker teaches the diaper of claim 11. The combination of Jung in view of Jeutter and Handwerker further teaches a nursing system (Jung; Paragraph 0171), comprising: a mobile terminal comprising a first wireless transmission unit (Jung; peripheral system 1194 that has a first wireless transmission unit that connects to the network 1010; Paragraph 0171-0172; Figure 11); the diaper of claim 11 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the processing module of the diaper further comprises a second wireless transmission unit which is connected to the data processing unit (Jung; computing unit 112 with software 80 has a second wireless transmission unit that is connected to network 1010 to connect with peripheral system 1004; Paragraph 0170-0171; Figure 11) and is configured to transmit metabolite information to the first wireless transmission unit of the mobile terminal (Jung; metabolite data from sensors can be sent from computing unit 112 with software 80 to the first wireless transmission unit of peripheral device 1004; Figure 11; Paragraph 0170-0173), and receive a control instruction from the first wireless transmission unit (Jung; computing unit 112 with software 80 can receive control instruction or input from peripheral system 1004 through the communication of the first and second wireless transmission unit through network 1010; Figure 11; Paragraph 0170-0173).
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (Publication No. US 2020/0088701 A1) in view of Jeutter et al. (Publication No. US 2002/0070868 A1) and Handwerker et al. (Publication No. US 2010/0152688 A1), as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Shapira (Publication No. US 2004/0230172 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Jung in view of Jeutter and Handwerker teaches the diaper of claim 11. The combination of Jung in view of Jeutter and Handwerker does not teach wherein a partial inner core layer is provided on a coupling path between the first coil and the second coil in the metabolite detection apparatus.
However, Jeutter teaches wherein a partial inner core layer is provided on a coupling path between the first coil and the second coil in the metabolite detection apparatus (“An operative portion of the transponder (e.g. transponder coil 50) can be positioned proximate any operative surface of the article, which may be a top surface, bottom surface, side surface, inward surface or outward surface, as desired”, the first coil 50 can be located on the top surface of the inner core layer 22 and can communicate/coupling path with the second coil 52; Paragraph 0094).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the a part of the inner core layer of Jeutter to be between the first and second coil of Jeutter, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art since the device would not perform differently than the prior art device, whether the first coil is located in the inner surface of the bottom layer of Jung in view of Jeutter and Handwerker or on the top surface of the inner core layer, with the common function at either locations of transmitting energy and data between the first and second coil, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (MPEP 2144.04 VI.C.). The modified combination of Jung in view of Jeutter and Handwerker does not teach wherein the processing unit is further configured to acquire an electromagnetic coupling efficiency on the coupling path, and acquire the amount of metabolite absorbed by the inner core layer according to the electromagnetic coupling efficiency.
However, Shapira teaches wherein the processing unit is further configured to acquire an electromagnetic coupling efficiency on the coupling path, and acquire the amount of metabolite absorbed by the inner core layer according to the electromagnetic coupling efficiency (magnetic coupling coefficient K is measured by the monitoring subsystem between the inducer and the fluid detection and to identify characteristics of the fluid detection network based on the K value changes; Paragraph 0073).
Jung in view of Jeutter and Handwerker and Shapira are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of sensor systems for diapers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jung in view of Jeutter and Handwerker to incorporate the teachings of Shapira to have the processing unit of Jung in view of Jeutter and Handwerker to acquire the electromagnetic coupling efficiency on the coupling path, as taught by Shapira. This allows for the system to detect the state of a fluid detection network (Shapira; Paragraph 0073).
Claim(s) 14-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (Publication No. US 2020/0088701 A1) in view of Jeutter et al. (Publication No. US 2002/0070868 A1) and Handwerker et al. (Publication No. US 2010/0152688 A1), as applied to claim 11 and claim 16 above, and further in view of Toong (Publication No. US 2019/0117468 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Jung in view of Jeutter and Handwerker teaches the diaper of claim 11. The combination of Jung in view of Jeutter and Handwerker does not teach further comprising: a receiving bag connected to an outer side of the bottom layer and configured to receive the processing module, wherein the receiving bag is provided with an opening, a switch structure is provided at the opening, the switch structure is configured to expose the opening when opened to put in or take out the processing module through the opening, and the switch structure is further configured to close the opening when closed to prevent the processing module from falling off during an operation.
However, Toong teaches further comprising: a receiving bag connected to an outer side of the bottom layer and configured to receive the processing module (device pocket 570 is connected to the outer side of the diaper 500 bottom layer; Figure 5; Paragraph 0070), wherein the receiving bag is provided with an opening (opening is on top of pocket 570; Figure 5; Paragraph 0070), a switch structure is provided at the opening (flap 574 is on top of opening of pocket 570; Figure 5; Paragraph 0070), the switch structure is configured to expose the opening when opened to put in or take out the processing module through the opening (flap 574 opens to remove or put in the monitoring device 560; Paragraph 0070; Figure 5), and the switch structure is further configured to close the opening when closed to prevent the processing module from falling off during an operation (flap 574 closes the opening to prevent the monitoring device 560 from falling off during use; Paragraph 0070; Figure 5).
Jung in view of Jeutter and Handwerker and Toong are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of sensor systems for diapers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jung in view of Jeutter and Handwerker to incorporate the teachings of Toong to have the pocket with the flap of Toong on the outer surface of the bottom layer of the diaper of Jung in view of Jeutter and Handwerker to hold the package module with the second coil and the processing module of Jeutter, where the pocket is in the position where the first and second coil of Jeutter are aligned. This allows for the secure hold of the monitoring device while providing easy access of the device for the user (Toong; Paragraph 0070).
Regarding claim 15, Jung in view of Jeutter, Handwerker, and Toong teaches the diaper of claim 14. The combination of Jung in view of Jeutter, Handwerker, and Toong further teaches wherein the receiving bag is provided at a position corresponding to the first coil in the sensor module to minimize a coupling path between the second coil and the first coil (pocket with flap of Toong is at a position of the second coil 52 of Jeutter that is aligned with the first coil 50 of Jeutter, which is the minimum coupling path; see rejection of claim 14 above).
Regarding claim 17, Jung in view of Jeutter and Handwerker teaches the diaper of claim 16. The combination of Jung in view of Jeutter and Handwerker does not teach further comprising a cloud server, wherein the mobile terminal is further configured to transmit the metabolite information to the cloud server, and the cloud server is configured to store and analyze the received metabolite information.
However, Toong teaches further comprising a cloud server (cloud memory 662; Paragraph 0074-0075), wherein the mobile terminal is further configured to transmit the metabolite information to the cloud server (cloud communication device 660 of base station 610 transmits the sensor data to cloud memory 662; Paragraph 0074-0075), and the cloud server is configured to store and analyze the received metabolite information (cloud memory 662 stores and analyzes data; Paragraph 0074-0075).
Jung in view of Jeutter and Handwerker and Toong are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of sensor systems for diapers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jung in view of Jeutter and Handwerker to incorporate the teachings of Toong to have the cloud server of Toong connected to the mobile terminal of Jung in view of Jeutter and Handwerker. This allows for the data collected from the diaper be remotely stored and analyzed using other devices that are connected to the same network (Toong; Paragraph 0074-0075).
Conclusion
/KATHERINE-PH MINH PHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3781