Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 12, and 16-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by VANHATUPA et al. (Patent No: US 2018/0368001 A1), hereinafter, VANHATUPA.
The prior art has been used in PCT opinion report as well.
Regarding Claim 1, VANHATUPA teaches,
A computer implemented method comprising: -Paragraph [0023] ([0023] recites, “FIG. 1 represents one example which may be implemented by one apparatus. Examples of such apparatuses include a user terminal or a workstation, such as a laptop, a smartphone, a personal computer, a tablet computer, a field device. Instead, or in addition to, a distributed computing device may be used that may use cloud computing or grid computing, or a dedicated server, for example.”)
obtaining a network plan comprising one or more indications of best positions for access points in a planning area, wherein the one or more indications of best positions have been determined by a network planning tool using planning information comprising -Fig. 4; Paragraph [0063] ([0063] recites, “FIG. 4 is a flow chart illustrating another exemplified functionality of a network planning tool configured to calculate location scores, or more precisely a functionality of the score unit providing the network planning tool the functionality to calculate location scores…”)
parameter values and received planning area information on at least outer boundaries of a planning area, wherein a default value of a parameter is used when there is in the planning information no user-defined value for the parameter; -Paragraph [0063, 0065] ([0063] recites, “In the example of FIG. 4 it is also assumed that the settings in the memory comprises in addition to the preconfigured transmission power P value, the spatial sampling method and the functions, also a preconfigured frequency value, a preconfigured received signal strength indicator limit, rssi.sub.min, and a preconfigured maximum estimated range for a predicted signal, without limiting the functionality to such a solution. Also herein, any of the settings may be received as a user input.” As explained above, there is option to receive setting as user input. In the absence of user input, the preconfigured (default) values are used. [0065] recites, “Once the environment information is received, location topological cells fulfilling the size limit are determined in step 402. As described above, one way to determine the location topological cells is to use a simple grid laid over outer boundaries of the planning area received in the environment information.”)
displaying the network plan with at least the indications of best positions for access points to be inserted, wherein an access point to be inserted is an access point positioned automatically by the network planning tool but not yet inserted to the network plan by a user input placing an access point to a position in the network plan; -Paragraph [0064-0065] (recites, “In the illustrated example of FIG. 4 it is assumed that environment information, access point installation height and a size limit are received in step 401 as a user input. Since the size limit is a parameter, it may also be part of the settings stored to the memory… However, to estimate properties in places where the properties are expected to change, like different sides of each walls, a polygon triangulation based on the environment layout, taking into account walls, shafts, etc. may be used to determine the location topological cells. As is known, the polygon triangulation decomposes a polygonal area A into a set of triangles, i.e. finds a set of triangles with pairwise non-intersecting interiors whose union is A. Each triangle is a location topological cell for which a location score will be calculated. A further advantage using the polygonal triangulation is that there will be smaller location topological cells in areas the location score is most needed, i.e. there is a change in the environment that may change also the properties, and larger location topological cells in areas in which the properties do not change so much. This means that the calculation concentrates in critical areas, providing a more accurate estimation of the goodness of the location. “)
updating, in response to detecting a user input causing a change to the planning information, the planning information correspondingly to updated planning information; -Paragraph [0089] ([0089] recites, “..The location scores may be received via user interface: as one or more user inputs indicating location topological cells in the planning area and inputting location scores to the location topological cells. The location scores may be received as a combination: partly as previously calculated location scores, partly as user input(s) updating/replacing/adding values to some location topological cells. It may further be that a default location score is used for location topological cells to which no other value were received as a user input.”)
determining, in response to said user input, using the updated planning information, updated indications of best positions for access points to be inserted while maintaining access points inserted to the network plan in their positions; -Paragraph [0090-0091] ([0090-0091] recites,” ..Different spatial clustering algorithms may also be used to determine initial positions. An example of using a spatial clustering algorithm to determine initial positions is described below with FIG. 9. In one embodiment instead of determining rough positions of the access points, the rough positions are received. Then the final positions, starting from the rough positions as initial positions and using the location scores and the planning information, are determined in step 803. For example, each access point may be placed to a mid-point of a location topological cell having the best location score within a preset distance from the initial position. A spatial clustering algorithm, using location scores as weights, may be used. An example how to combine a spatial clustering algorithm, the outer boundaries and the location scores is described below with FIG. 9. Yet a further alternative is to output (i.e. display) the location scores, the outer boundaries, possibly other planning information, and the initial positions so that a person planning the network uses the location scores to fine-tune the initial positions.”)
and displaying the network plan with at least the updated indications of best positions for access points to be inserted. -Paragraph [0092] ([0092] recites, “When the final positions of the access points are determined, they are stored in step 804 as a network plan. Naturally, the network plan may be outputted to a user.” As described above, the method calculated best positions of AP based on default and user input information and can be fine tuned by user with high degree of flexibility)
Regarding Claim 2, VANHATUPA teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
VANHATUPA further teaches,
The computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein the user input causing a change to the planning information is a user input placing a first access point to a first position, and the method further comprises: updating the planning information by inserting the first access point to the first position; determining, using the updated planning information, updated indications of best positions for remaining access points to be inserted; and displaying the network plan with at least the first access point in the first position and the updated indications of best positions for the remaining access points to be inserted. -Paragraph [0089, 0091-0092] (This claim is a specific case of the generalized Claim 1 above where updating planning information is done by user input and placing first access point in the first position and determining best positions of the remaining access points. As explained in Claim 1, the division between preconfigured (default) and user input information can be anything, i.e., first access point can be at fixed position or any other combination of access points can have fixed location, while the position of the remaining access points can be determined by the network planning tool in combination with manual tuning. [0089] recites, “The location scores in this example mean any location quality values. The location scores may be previously calculated, stored to the memory. The location scores may be received via user interface: as one or more user inputs indicating location topological cells in the planning area and inputting location scores to the location topological cells. The location scores may be received as a combination: partly as previously calculated location scores, partly as user input(s) updating/replacing/adding values to some location topological cells. “ [0091-0092] recites, “An example how to combine a spatial clustering algorithm, the outer boundaries and the location scores is described below with FIG. 9. Yet a further alternative is to output (i.e. display) the location scores, the outer boundaries, possibly other planning information, and the initial positions so that a person planning the network uses the location scores to fine-tune the initial positions. When the final positions of the access points are determined, they are stored in step 804 as a network plan. Naturally, the network plan may be outputted to a user.”)
Regarding Claim 3, VANHATUPA teaches the limitations of Claim 2.
VANHATUPA further teaches,
The computer implemented method of claim 2, further comprising, prior to determining the updated indications of best positions: determining, whether the first position is one of the best positions, in response to the first position being one of the best positions, using current indications of best positions for the remaining access points to be inserted as the updated indications; and in response to the first position not being one of the best positions, performing the determining of the updated indications of best positions for access points to be inserted. -Fig. 9 (907-917); Paragraph [0097-0099] (Fig. 9 shows the flowchart of determining the best position of APs iteratively from preconfigured and user input information in steps. [0097-0099] recites, “In other words, an access point position, is taken in step 908 to be processed. In the first iteration phase the access point position is the initial position. Then location scores are weighted in step 909 with distance weight function from the access point position currently under process. The distance weight function has value 1 with distance 0 and the value decreases as a function of distance, for example linearly, until some selected maximum distance is reached after which the value will be a constant value near zero. Non zero minimum weight is used to avoid the situation where no position would exist. Depending on the implementation, during the weighting original location score values or values based on the classification may be used. The location topological cell with the highest weighted score is then selected in step 910, and its centroid is selected to be a new access point position. Further, the distance between the new access point position and the previous access point position is determined in step 911. Then it is checked in step 912, whether or not a new position has been determined to all access points. If not (step 912: no), the process continues to step 908 to take an access point position to be processed. If a new position has been determined for all access points (step 912: yes), it is checked in step 913, whether any of the distances determined in step 911 exceeds a preset limit. If yes (step 913: yes), the limit is increased in step 914, and the process calculates in step 915 the voronoi decomposition using the new positions as seeds, and then access point positions are placed in step 916 to voronoi cell centroids. Then the process returns to step 908 and takes an access point position that is one of those determined in step 916, and continues the process to determine new position. If none of the distance exceed the limit (step 913: no), the positions for access points are ready, and in the illustrated example outputting the plan is caused in step 917. Naturally the plan will be stored.”)
Regarding Claim 4, VANHATUPA teaches the limitations of Claim 2.
VANHATUPA further teaches,
The computer implemented method of claim 2, wherein the user input causing a change to the planning information is a user input changing a place of the first access point from the first position to a second position, and the method further comprises: updating the planning information by moving in the plan the first access point to the second position; determining, using the updated planning information, updated indications of best positions for the access points to be inserted; and displaying the network plan with at least the first access point in the second position and the updated indications of best positions for the access points to be inserted. -Paragraph [0089, 0091-0092] (This claim is a special case where the first access point has moved to the second position. [0089] recites, “The location scores in this example mean any location quality values. The location scores may be previously calculated, stored to the memory. The location scores may be received via user interface: as one or more user inputs indicating location topological cells in the planning area and inputting location scores to the location topological cells. The location scores may be received as a combination: partly as previously calculated location scores, partly as user input(s) updating/replacing/adding values to some location topological cells. “ [0091-0092] recites, “An example how to combine a spatial clustering algorithm, the outer boundaries and the location scores is described below with FIG. 9. Yet a further alternative is to output (i.e. display) the location scores, the outer boundaries, possibly other planning information, and the initial positions so that a person planning the network uses the location scores to fine-tune the initial positions. When the final positions of the access points are determined, they are stored in step 804 as a network plan. Naturally, the network plan may be outputted to a user.” As described above the method can accommodate any user input information at any time and calculate best positions for access points with network tool and user tuning with any constraint, e.g., first access point at second position etc.)
Regarding Claim 5, VANHATUPA teaches the limitations of Claim 2.
VANHATUPA further teaches,
The computer implemented method of claim 2, wherein the user input causing a change to the planning information is a user input removing the first access point, and the method further comprises: updating the planning information by deleting the insertion of the first access point; determining, using the updated planning information, updated indications of best positions for the access points to be inserted; and displaying the network plan with the updated indications of best positions for the access points to be inserted. -Paragraph [0089, 0091-0092] (This claim is a special case where the first access point to be removed. [0089] recites, “The location scores in this example mean any location quality values. The location scores may be previously calculated, stored to the memory. The location scores may be received via user interface: as one or more user inputs indicating location topological cells in the planning area and inputting location scores to the location topological cells. The location scores may be received as a combination: partly as previously calculated location scores, partly as user input(s) updating/replacing/adding values to some location topological cells. “ [0091-0092] recites, “An example how to combine a spatial clustering algorithm, the outer boundaries and the location scores is described below with FIG. 9. Yet a further alternative is to output (i.e. display) the location scores, the outer boundaries, possibly other planning information, and the initial positions so that a person planning the network uses the location scores to fine-tune the initial positions. When the final positions of the access points are determined, they are stored in step 804 as a network plan. Naturally, the network plan may be outputted to a user.” As described above the method can accommodate any user input information at any time and calculate best positions for access points with network tool and user tuning with any constraint, e.g., removing the first access point etc.)
Regarding Claim 6, VANHATUPA teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
VANHATUPA further teaches,
The computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein the user input causing a change to the planning information is a user input replacing at least one first value by a second value, and the method further comprises: updating the planning information to comprise the second value as a user-defined value for a first parameter; and determining, using the second value instead of the at least one first value, updated indications of best positions for access points to be inserted. -Paragraph [0089-0091] ([0089] recites, “The location scores may be received as a combination: partly as previously calculated location scores, partly as user input(s) updating/replacing/adding values to some location topological cells.” [0090-0091] recites, “..Different spatial clustering algorithms may also be used to determine initial positions. An example of using a spatial clustering algorithm to determine initial positions is described below with FIG. 9. In one embodiment instead of determining rough positions of the access points, the rough positions are received. Then the final positions, starting from the rough positions as initial positions and using the location scores and the planning information, are determined in step 803. For example, each access point may be placed to a mid-point of a location topological cell having the best location score within a preset distance from the initial position. A spatial clustering algorithm, using location scores as weights, may be used. An example how to combine a spatial clustering algorithm, the outer boundaries and the location scores is described below with FIG. 9. Yet a further alternative is to output (i.e. display) the location scores, the outer boundaries, possibly other planning information, and the initial positions so that a person planning the network uses the location scores to fine-tune the initial positions.” As explained above, one planning information can be replaced by the user input to a second value.)
Regarding Claim 7, VANHATUPA teaches the limitations of Claim 6.
VANHATUPA further teaches,
The computer implemented method of claim 6, further comprising, prior to updating, when the first parameter relates to access point characteristics: checking, whether the first value is a default value; in response to the first value not being a default value, updating the planning information by replacing the at least one first value with the second value; in response to the first value being a default value, performing the following: determining, whether the second value is inputted as a value to be shared by all access points, or as a value for one access point, or as a value for a subset of access points; updating, in response to the value to be shared by all access points, the planning information to comprise the second value instead of the default value; updating, in response to the value being for one access point or for a subset of access points, the planning information to comprise the second value for the one access point or for the subset of access points and the default value for remaining access points. -Paragraph [0089-0091] ([0089] recites, “The location scores may be received as a combination: partly as previously calculated location scores, partly as user input(s) updating/replacing/adding values to some location topological cells.” [0090-0091] recites, “..Different spatial clustering algorithms may also be used to determine initial positions. An example of using a spatial clustering algorithm to determine initial positions is described below with FIG. 9. In one embodiment instead of determining rough positions of the access points, the rough positions are received. Then the final positions, starting from the rough positions as initial positions and using the location scores and the planning information, are determined in step 803. For example, each access point may be placed to a mid-point of a location topological cell having the best location score within a preset distance from the initial position. A spatial clustering algorithm, using location scores as weights, may be used. An example how to combine a spatial clustering algorithm, the outer boundaries and the location scores is described below with FIG. 9. Yet a further alternative is to output (i.e. display) the location scores, the outer boundaries, possibly other planning information, and the initial positions so that a person planning the network uses the location scores to fine-tune the initial positions.” As explained above, one planning information can be replaced by the user input to a second value for a cell and subset of cells or for all cells and it completely depends on the user input depending on the situation. This claim is a conditional configuration of claim 6.)
Regarding Claim 8, VANHATUPA teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
VANHATUPA further teaches,
The computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein the user input causing a change to the planning information is a user input defining a first requirement, and the method further comprises: -Paragraph [0089] ([0089] recites, “..The location scores may be received via user interface: as one or more user inputs indicating location topological cells in the planning area and inputting location scores to the location topological cells…”
updating the planning information to comprise the first requirement; -Paragraph [0089] ([0089] recites, “…The location scores may be received as a combination: partly as previously calculated location scores, partly as user input(s) updating/replacing/adding values to some location topological cells….”
determining, using the updated planning information with the first requirement, updated indications of best positions for the access points to be inserted. -Paragraph [0090-0091] ([0090-0091] recites,” ..Different spatial clustering algorithms may also be used to determine initial positions. An example of using a spatial clustering algorithm to determine initial positions is described below with FIG. 9. In one embodiment instead of determining rough positions of the access points, the rough positions are received. Then the final positions, starting from the rough positions as initial positions and using the location scores and the planning information, are determined in step 803. For example, each access point may be placed to a mid-point of a location topological cell having the best location score within a preset distance from the initial position.”)
determining, using at least the planning information and the first requirement, an updated plan comprising updated indications of best positions for access points to be inserted; -Paragraph [0091] ([0091] recites, “A spatial clustering algorithm, using location scores as weights, may be used. An example how to combine a spatial clustering algorithm, the outer boundaries and the location scores is described below with FIG. 9. Yet a further alternative is to output (i.e. display) the location scores, the outer boundaries, possibly other planning information, and the initial positions so that a person planning the network uses the location scores to fine-tune the initial positions.”)
and displaying the network plan at least with the indications of at least best positions for the access points to be inserted. -Paragraph [0092] ([0092] recites, “When the final positions of the access points are determined, they are stored in step 804 as a network plan. Naturally, the network plan may be outputted to a user.” As described above, the method calculated best positions of AP based on default and user input information and can be fine tuned by user with high degree of flexibility)
Regarding Claim 9, VANHATUPA teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
VANHATUPA further teaches,
The computer implemented method of claim1, wherein the user input causing a change to the planning information is a user input loading updated planning area information, -Paragraph [0089] ([0089] recites, “The planning information may at the simplest be outer boundaries of the planning area and the number of access points that are to be placed. The location scores in this example mean any location quality values. The location scores may be previously calculated, stored to the memory. The location scores may be received via user interface: as one or more user inputs indicating location topological cells in the planning area and inputting location scores to the location topological cells.”)
and the method further comprises: updating the planning area information in the planning information correspondingly; -Paragraph [0089] ([0089] recites, “..The location scores may be received as a combination: partly as previously calculated location scores, partly as user input(s) updating/replacing/adding values to some location topological cells.”)
determining, using the updated planning information, updated indications of best positions for the access points to be inserted; -Paragraph [0090-0091] ([0090-0091] recites,” ..Different spatial clustering algorithms may also be used to determine initial positions. An example of using a spatial clustering algorithm to determine initial positions is described below with FIG. 9. In one embodiment instead of determining rough positions of the access points, the rough positions are received. Then the final positions, starting from the rough positions as initial positions and using the location scores and the planning information, are determined in step 803. For example, each access point may be placed to a mid-point of a location topological cell having the best location score within a preset distance from the initial position. A spatial clustering algorithm, using location scores as weights, may be used. An example how to combine a spatial clustering algorithm, the outer boundaries and the location scores is described below with FIG. 9. Yet a further alternative is to output (i.e. display) the location scores, the outer boundaries, possibly other planning information, and the initial positions so that a person planning the network uses the location scores to fine-tune the initial positions.”)
and displaying the network plan according to the updated planning area information with at least the updated indications of best positions for the access points to be inserted. -Paragraph [0092] ([0092] recites, “When the final positions of the access points are determined, they are stored in step 804 as a network plan. Naturally, the network plan may be outputted to a user.” As described above, the method calculated best positions of AP based on default and user input information and can be fine tuned by user with high degree of flexibility)
Regarding Claim 10, VANHATUPA teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
VANHATUPA further teaches,
The computer implemented method of claim1, wherein the plurality of the parameters comprises one or more of a transmission power, frequency, access point installation height, antenna radiation pattern, antenna direction, access point vendor/model, client device height and signal strength threshold. -Paragraph [0025, 0063] ([0025] recites, “The access point installation height may be part of the environment information received, or received separately, for example by prompting the user to provide it.” [0063] recites, “In the example of FIG. 4 it is also assumed that the settings in the memory comprises in addition to the preconfigured transmission power P value, the spatial sampling method and the functions, also a preconfigured frequency value, a preconfigured received signal strength indicator limit, rssi.sub.min, and a preconfigured maximum estimated range for a predicted signal, without limiting the functionality to such a solution. Also herein, any of the settings may be received as a user input.”)
Claim 12 is the apparatus claim corresponding to method claim 1. The Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 1 above which is rejected. Claim 12 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 1.
VANHATUPA further teaches,
A non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions which, when executed by an apparatus, cause the apparatus to at least carry out: -Claim 18 (Recites, “A non-transitory computer readable medium comprising program instructions for causing, in response to a computing apparatus receiving environment information comprising at least planning area definitions, information on propagation obstacles in the planning area, and access point installation height, the computing apparatus to:…”)
Claim 16 is the apparatus claim corresponding to method claim 1. The Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 1 above which is rejected. Claim 12 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 1.
VANHATUPA further teaches,
An apparatus comprising at least one processor, and at least one memory including computer program code stored thereon which, when executed by at least one of the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: -Fig. 10; Paragraph [0104] ([0104] recites, “FIG. 10 provides an apparatus according to some embodiments of the invention. FIG. 10 illustrates an apparatus configured to carry out the functions described above in connection with the computing device. Each apparatus 1000 may comprise one or more processing circuitry, such as at least one processor 1002, and at least one memory 1004, including one or more algorithms 1003, such as a computer program code (software) wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code (software) are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus to carry out any one of the exemplified functionalities of the computing device. “)
Claim 17 is the apparatus claim corresponding to method claim 2. The Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 2 above which is rejected. Claim 17 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 2.
Claim 18 is the apparatus claim corresponding to method claim 3. The Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 3 above which is rejected. Claim 18 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 3.
Claim 19 is the apparatus claim corresponding to method claim 4. The Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 4 above which is rejected. Claim 19 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 4.
Claim 20 is the apparatus claim corresponding to method claim 5. The Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 5 above which is rejected. Claim 20 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 5.
Claim 21 is the apparatus claim corresponding to method claim 6. The Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 6 above which is rejected. Claim 21 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 6.
Claim 22 is the apparatus claim corresponding to method claim 7. The Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 7 above which is rejected. Claim 22 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 7.
Claim 23 is the apparatus claim corresponding to method claim 8. The Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 8 above which is rejected. Claim 23 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 8.
Claim 24 is the apparatus claim corresponding to method claim 9. The Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 9 above which is rejected. Claim 24 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 9.
Conclusion
/AHMED SAIFUDDIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475