DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to: Application filed 26 Nov. 2024
Claims 1-20 are pending in this case. Claims 1, 11 and 19 are independent claims
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Keng et al. (Pub. No.: US 2011/0276881 A1; Filed: Jun. 18, 2009)(hereinafter “Keng”).
Regarding independent claims 1 and 11, Keng disclose a computing system, comprising:
a client computing device including a processor configured to execute a client program to:
display a first video published by a first user on a video server platform, to a second
user viewing the first video (0031; 0039; 0045-0047; 0049-0050; 0054-0056; Keng disclose FIG. 1 is a viewing system or client, which allows a second user to view edited multimedia content created on the editing system. The viewing system 103 may also be connected to the network. Through the network, the second user may utilize the viewing system or client to view both the edited multimedia content and the project metadata including multimedia editing objects such as special effects, audio and subtitles incorporated by the first user by accessing the information sharing website. The edited multimedia content may comprise a combination of edited video and audio.);
display a graphical user interface, the graphical user interface including a selectable
input component configured to enable selection of an edits model of the first video, the edits model including a series of edit operations applied to the first video (0031; 0039; 0045-0047; 0049-0050; 0054-0056; 0069);
in response to selection of the selectable input component, apply the edit operations
to a second video (0031; 0039; 0045-0047; 0049-0050; 0054-0056; 0069);
modify the edit operations of the edits model to generate a second edits model (0031; 0039; 0045-0047; 0049-0050; 0054-0056; 0069);
send back the second edits model to the video server platform to associate the second edits model with the edits model so that the first user is still credited with inspiration for the second video (0031; 0039; 0045-0047; 0049-0050; 0054-0056; 0069; Keng disclose a server for sharing video editing techniques. The method comprises receiving, by the server, a project description file generated at a first editing system, the project description file comprising information relating to special effect objects applied to multimedia content by the first editing system); and
publish the second video by the second user on the video server platform for
viewing by other users (0031; 0039; 0045-0047; 0049-0050; 0054-0056; 0069; Keng disclose a server for sharing video editing techniques. The method comprises receiving, by the server, a project description file generated at a first editing system, the project description file comprising information relating to special effect objects applied to multimedia content by the first editing system.).
Regarding dependent claims 2 and 12, Keng disclose the computing system of claims 1 and 11 respectively, wherein the edit operations include at least one of adding a text box, formatting the text box, applying a filter, adding a sticker, adding or modifying an audio track, setting coordinates of the text box or sticker, or setting a timing of the text box or sticker (0026; 0063; 0065-0066; 0069).
Regarding dependent claims 3 and 13, Keng disclose the computing system of claims 1 and 11 respectively, wherein the client program is permitted to apply the edit operations to the second video based at least on a sharing permission of the first user (0071; Keng disclose the second user can download the original author's effects with the author's permission.).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Keng disclose the computing system of claim 1, wherein the video server platform is configured to store the edits model in a video object including the first video, or include an edits model identifier in the video object referencing a stored location of the edits model (0037; 0039; 0043; Keng disclose the editing system may further comprise mass storage which stores and manages such data as the project metadata associated with a video editing project. Upon editing the multimedia content, the user uploads the edited multimedia content to one or more video sharing/content portal websites, where the edited multimedia content may be stored online on the one or more video sharing servers. After uploading the edited multimedia content and storing the edited multimedia content online at the one or more video sharing servers, the editing system may receive a location identifier from the one or more video sharing servers, which specifies where to retrieve the stored multimedia content).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Keng disclose the computing system of claim 1, wherein after the edit operations are applied, the second video includes an indication of credit to the first user (0043; 0047-0049; 0061).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Keng disclose the computing system of claim 1, wherein the graphical user interface is configured to, after the edit operations are applied, permit modifications of one or more of the edit operations by the second user before the second video is published (0031; 0043; 0047-0049; 0061; 0065-0066; 0069; 0071-0072; 0075).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Keng disclose the computing system of claim 1, wherein the graphical user interface further includes a video editing screen in which a reference video of the first video that is displayed over the second video (0031; 0043; 0047-0049; 0061; 0065-0066; 0069; 0071-0072; 0075).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Keng disclose the computing system of claim 7, wherein the reference video is configured to play and pause in sync with the second video during video filming and/or editing of the second video (0031; 0043; 0047-0049; 0061; 0065-0066; 0069; 0071-0072; 0075).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Keng disclose the computing system of claim 7, wherein the reference video is adjustable in at least one of transparency, size, and position by the second user in the video editing screen (0031; 0043; 0047-0049; 0061; 0065-0066; 0069; 0071-0072; 0075).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Keng disclose the computing system of claim 1, wherein the client computing device is further configured to execute the client program to display a plurality of videos that include the edits model of the first video, or display a list of user accounts that published the plurality of videos (0031; 0043; 0047-0049; 0061; 0065-0066; 0069; 0071-0072; 0075).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Keng disclose the method of claim 11, further comprising storing the edits model in a video object including the first video, or including an edits model identifier in the video object referencing a stored location of the edits model, on the video server platform (0031; 0043; 0047-0049; 0058-0061; 0064-0066; 0069; 0071-0072; 0075).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Keng disclose the method of claim 11, further comprising, after the edit operations are applied, including an indication of credit to the first user with the second video (0031; 0043; 0047-0049; 0061; 0065-0066; 0069; 0071-0072; 0075).
Regarding dependent claim 16, Keng disclose the method of claim 11, further comprising displaying a reference video of the first video over the second video in a video editing screen of the graphical user interface (0031; 0043; 0047-0049; 0061; 0065-0066; 0069; 0071-0072; 0075).
Regarding dependent claim 17, Keng disclose the method of claim 16, further comprising playing and pausing the reference video in sync with the second video during video filming and/or editing of the second video (0031; 0043; 0047-0049; 0061; 0065-0066; 0069; 0071-0072; 0075).
Regarding dependent claim 18, Keng disclose the method of claim 16, further comprising adjusting the reference video in at least one of transparency, size, and position in response to input by the second user in the video editing screen (0031; 0043; 0047-0049; 0061; 0065-0066; 0069; 0071-0072; 0075).
Regarding independent claim 19, Keng disclose a computing system, comprising:
a server computing device of a video server platform, the server computing device including processing circuitry and being configured to (0030; 0037-0039) :
receive a first video by a first user of a first client computing device (0031; 0039; 0045-0047; 0049-0050; 0054-0056);
receive a sharing permission from the first user of the first client computing device
indicating that an edits model of the first video can be shared with and used by other users of the
video server platform (0065; 0071);
publish the first video on the video server platform (0031; 0039; 0045-0047; 0049-0050; 0054-0056; 0069; Keng disclose a server for sharing video editing techniques. The method comprises receiving, by the server, a project description file generated at a first editing system, the project description file comprising information relating to special effect objects applied to multimedia content by the first editing system.);
in response to a viewing request by a second user of a second client computing device, send the first video to the second user for viewing (0031; 0043; 0047-0049; 0061; 0065-0066; 0069; 0071-0072; 0075);
send the edits model of the first video to the second user, the edits model including
a series of edit operations applied to the first video (0031; 0043; 0047-0049; 0061; 0065-0066; 0069; 0071-0072; 0075);
receive a second edits model to associate the second edits model with the edits model so that the first user is still credited with inspiration for the second video, the edit operations of the edits model being modified by the second user to generate the second edits model (0031; 0039; 0045-0047; 0049-0050; 0054-0056; 0069; Keng disclose a server for sharing video editing techniques. The method comprises receiving, by the server, a project description file generated at a first editing system, the project description file comprising information relating to special effect objects applied to multimedia content by the first editing system); and
publish a second video by the second user on the video server platform, the edit
operations having been applied to the second video in response to selection by the second user of a selectable input component in a graphical user interface (0031; 0039; 0045-0047; 0049-0050; 0054-0056; 0069; Keng disclose a server for sharing video editing techniques. The method comprises receiving, by the server, a project description file generated at a first editing system, the project description file comprising information relating to special effect objects applied to multimedia content by the first editing system.).
Regarding dependent claim 20, Keng disclose the computing system of claim 19, wherein the edit operations include at least one of adding a text box, formatting the text box, applying a filter, adding a sticker, adding or modifying an audio track, setting coordinates of the text box or sticker, or setting a timing of the text box or sticker (0026; 0063; 0065-0066; 0069).
NOTE
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
/James J Debrow/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2174
571-272-5768