DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 01/23/2026 has been entered. Claims 01/23/2026 are currently pending in the application. Any rejection(s) and/or objection(s) made in the previous Office action and not repeated below, are hereby withdrawn due to Applicant's amendments and/or arguments in the response filed on 01/23/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa (US 2013/0129449 A1) in view of Suzuki (JP 2001181923 A).
Regarding claim 1, Ishikawa discloses a sheet attachment structure (figs. 1-2; para. 0054), comprising:
a shield (shield 3; figs. 1-2; para. 0054) configured to be attached to a helmet body (fig. 1; para. 0054);
a sheet member (anti-fog sheet 4; figs. 1-2; para. 0054) covering an inner surface of the shield (figs. 1-2; para. 0054); and
a retainer (retainer 10; figs. 1-2; para. 0055) configured to attach the sheet member to the shield (figs. 1-2; para. 0055),
wherein:
the shield includes a through hole (support hole 8; figs. 1-2, 6; para. 0055) to which the retainer is coupled (figs. 2, 6; para. 0055),
the sheet member includes a recess (U-shaped cutout seat part 7; fig. 2; para. 0055) engaging with the retainer (fig. 2; paras. 0055-0056), and
the retainer includes a first shaft (main shaft 11; figs. 3-5; para. 0056) fitted into the through hole (figs. 3-5; paras. 0056-0057), and a second shaft (eccentric shaft 12; figs. 3-5; paras. 0056-0057) disposed under the through hole and engaging with the recess (figs. 4-5; paras. 0056-0057).
Ishikawa does not disclose wherein the sheet member includes a first electrode and a second electrode, the first electrode and the second electrode are arranged in a thickness-wise direction of the sheet member on a periphery of the recess, the first electrode includes a first electrode surface, the second electrode includes a second electrode surface, the first electrode surface and the second electrode surface face in opposite directions, a first terminal is in contact with the first electrode surface, a second terminal is opposed to the first terminal and in contact with the second electrode surface, the second shaft is disposed between the first terminal and the second terminal, the first terminal is configured to be electrically connected through the through hole to a first external wire located outside the shield, and the second terminal is configured to be electrically connected through the through hole to a second external wire located outside the shield. However, Suzuki, in an analogous art, teaches a helmet shield antifogging device (shield antifogging device 1; figs. 1a-1a, 3a; see English translation; para. 0015) comprising a shield (shield 9; figs. 1a-1a, 3a; para. 0017) configured to be attached to a helmet body (main body 12; figs. 1a-1b, 3a), a sheet member (a transparent conductive film 3; figs. 2a-2b; para. 0017) covering an inner surface of the shield (figs. 2a-2b; para. 0017), the sheet member includes a first electrode (upper electrode 10; figs. 1a-2b; paras. 0016, 18) and a second electrode (lower electrode 11; figs. 1a-2b; paras. 0016, 18), the first electrode and the second electrode are arranged in a thickness-wise direction of the sheet member on a periphery of a recess (defined between fitting portions 13-14; figs. 1a-1b; para. 0018), the first electrode includes a first electrode surface (inherent; figs. 1a-1b), the second electrode includes a second electrode surface (inherent; figs. 1a-1b), the first electrode surface and the second electrode surface face in opposite directions (figs. 1a-1b), a retainer (a fitting part 15, comprising cover 16, engaging pieces 17-18, disc-shaped shield base 19, and shaft 20; figs. 1a-1b, 4; paras. 0019-0020) comprises a first terminal (terminal 5; figs. 1a-1b, 4; para. 0016) in contact with the first electrode surface (at the tip of the electrode 10; figs. 1a-1b, 4; paras. 0016, 0024) and a second terminal (terminal 6; figs. 1a-1b, 4; para. 0016) opposed to the first terminal and in contact with the second electrode surface (at the tip of electrode 11; figs. 1a-1b, 4; paras. 0016, 0023), a shaft (shaft 20; figs. 1a-1b, 4; para. 0020) is disposed between the first terminal and the second terminal (see figs. 1a-1b), the first terminal is configured to be electrically connected to a first external wire (lead wire 31; fig. 4; para. 0031) located outside the shield (shield 9; see fig. 4), and the second terminal is configured to be electrically connected to a second external wire (lead wire 32; fig. 4; para. 0031) located outside the shield (see fig. 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sheet attachment structure as disclosed by Ishikawa, with wherein the sheet member includes a first electrode and a second electrode, the first electrode and the second electrode are arranged in a thickness-wise direction of the sheet member on a periphery of the recess, the first electrode includes a first electrode surface, the second electrode includes a second electrode surface, the first electrode surface and the second electrode surface face in opposite directions, a first terminal is in contact with the first electrode surface, a second terminal is opposed to the first terminal and in contact with the second electrode surface, the second shaft is disposed between the first terminal and the second terminal, the first terminal is configured to be electrically connected through the through hole to a first external wire located outside the shield, and the second terminal is configured to be electrically connected through the through hole to a second external wire located outside the shield as taught by Suzuki, in order to further improve the anti-fogging function of the sheet member by an integrated electric heating device. By this modification, the second shaft of Ishikawa, as a part of a shaft assembly of the modified retainer, would be disposed between the first terminal and the second terminal; in addition, the first terminal and the second terminal, as parts of the modified retainer, would be configured to be electrically connected through the through hole of the shield to the first external wire and the second external wire respectively. Such a configuration is within the level of one of ordinary skill of the art.
Regarding claim 2, Ishikawa and Suzuki, in combination, disclose the sheet attachment structure according to claim 1, and Ishikawa further discloses wherein the first shaft is fitted into the through hole in a rotatable manner (para. 0056), the second shaft is eccentrically located with respect to the first shaft (figs. 3-5; para. 0056), and the retainer is configured so that the first shaft and the second shaft integrally rotate (figs. 3-5; para. 0056, 0062).
In addition, Ishikawa discloses that the entire retainer is configured to rotate around the first and second shafts (by a tool 24; paras. 0062-0063). By combination of Ishikawa and Suzuki, the first shaft, the first terminal, the second terminal, and the second shaft would integrally rotate.
Regarding claim 3, Ishikawa and Suzuki, in combination, disclose the sheet attachment structure according to claim 1. Ishikawa does not disclose wherein the first terminal includes a first terminal surface in contact with the first electrode surface, the second terminal includes a second terminal surface opposed to the first terminal surface and in contact with the second electrode surface, a distance between the first terminal surface and the second terminal surface is less than or equal to a distance between the first electrode surface and the second electrode surface, and the first terminal includes an elastic portion that elastically deforms and contacts the first electrode surface. However, Suzuki teaches wherein the first terminal (terminal 5; figs. 1a-1b, 4) includes a first terminal surface in contact with the first electrode surface (at the tip of the electrode 10; figs. 1a-1b, 4; paras. 0016, 0024), the second terminal (terminal 6; figs. 1a-1b, 4) includes a second terminal surface opposed to the first terminal surface and in contact with the second electrode surface (at the tip of electrode 11; figs. 1a-1b, 4; paras. 0016, 0023), a distance between the first terminal surface and the second terminal surface is less than or equal to a distance between the first electrode surface and the second electrode surface (a distance between the first and second terminal surfaces is equal to a distance between the first and second electrode surfaces; see fig. 4; paras. 0016, 0023-24), and the first terminal (terminal 5; figs. 1a-1b, 4) includes an elastic portion (para. 0030) that elastically deforms and contacts the first electrode surface (at the tip of the electrode 10; figs. 1a-1b, 4; paras. 0024, 0061). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sheet attachment structure as disclosed by Ishikawa, with wherein the first terminal includes a first terminal surface in contact with the first electrode surface, the second terminal includes a second terminal surface opposed to the first terminal surface and in contact with the second electrode surface, a distance between the first terminal surface and the second terminal surface is less than or equal to a distance between the first electrode surface and the second electrode surface, and the first terminal includes an elastic portion that elastically deforms and contacts the first electrode surface as taught by Suzuki, in order to provide a suitable configuration of the electrodes and terminals.
Regarding claim 4, Ishikawa and Suzuki, in combination, disclose the sheet attachment structure according to claim 3. As discussed for claim 1, by combination of Ishikawa and Suzuki, the second shaft would be disposed between the first terminal and the second terminal; therefore, the second shaft would be sandwiched between the first terminal surface and the second terminal surface in a direction extending along a center axis of the retainer.
Regarding claim 5, Ishikawa and Suzuki, in combination, disclose the sheet attachment structure according to claim 1, except for wherein the retainer includes an insulative backing portion in contact with a surface of the second terminal located opposite from the second shaft. However, one of ordinary skill of the art would recognize that a rotating shaft is generally made of a metal for durability. However, Applicant has not set forth any criticality for the insulative backing portion. Accordingly, it would have been an obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the retainer, with wherein the retainer includes an insulative backing portion in contact with a surface of the second terminal located opposite from the second shaft, in order to ensure that the electric components are well insulted and prevent electric shock or short circuit. Such a configuration is within the level of one of ordinary skill of the art.
Regarding claim 6, Ishikawa discloses a helmet (helmet 1; fig. 1; para. 0054), comprising:
a helmet body (fig. 1; para. 0054);
a shield (shield 3; figs. 1-2; para. 0054) attached to the helmet body (fig. 1; para. 0054);
a sheet member (anti-fog sheet 4; figs. 1-2; para. 0054) covering an inner surface of the shield (figs. 1-2; para. 0054);
a retainer (retainer 10; figs. 1-2; para. 0055) configured to attach the sheet member to the shield (figs. 1-2; para. 0055); and
wherein
the shield includes a through hole (support hole 8; figs. 1-2, 6; para. 0055) to which the retainer is coupled (figs. 2, 6; para. 0055),
the sheet member includes a recess (U-shaped cutout seat part 7; fig. 2; para. 0055) engaging with the retainer (fig. 2; paras. 0055-0056), and
the retainer includes a first shaft (main shaft 11; figs. 3-5; para. 0056) fitted into the through hole (figs. 3-5; paras. 0056-0057), and a second shaft (eccentric shaft 12; figs. 3-5; paras. 0056-0057) disposed under the through hole and engaging with the recess (figs. 4-5; paras. 0056-0057).
Ishikawa does not disclose wherein a first external wire and a second external wire configured to supply electric power to the sheet member, wherein the sheet member includes a first electrode and a second electrode, the first electrode and the second electrode are arranged in a thickness-wise direction of the sheet member on a periphery of the recess, the first electrode includes a first electrode surface, the second electrode includes a second electrode surface, the first electrode surface and the second electrode surface face in opposite directions, a first terminal is in contact with the first electrode surface, a second terminal is opposed to the first terminal and in contact with the second electrode surface, the second shaft is disposed between the first terminal and the second terminal, the first external wire and the second external wire are located outside the shield, the first terminal is electrically connected through the through hole to the first external wire, and the second terminal is electrically connected through the through hole to the second external wire. However, Suzuki, in an analogous art, teaches a helmet shield antifogging device (shield antifogging device 1; figs. 1a-1a, 3a; see English translation; para. 0015) comprising a shield (shield 9; figs. 1a-1a, 3a; para. 0017) configured to be attached to a helmet body (main body 12; figs. 1a-1b, 3a), a sheet member (a transparent conductive film 3; figs. 2a-2b; para. 0017) covering an inner surface of the shield (figs. 2a-2b; para. 0017), wherein a first external wire (lead wire 31; fig. 4; para. 0031) and a second external wire (lead wire 32; fig. 4; para. 0031) configured to supply electric power to the sheet member (fig. 4; para. 0031), the sheet member includes a first electrode (upper electrode 10; figs. 1a-2b; para. 0016) and a second electrode (lower electrode 11; figs. 1a-2b; para. 0016), the first electrode and the second electrode are arranged in a thickness-wise direction of the sheet member on a periphery of a recess (defined between fitting portions 13-14; figs. 1a-1b; para. 0018), the first electrode includes a first electrode surface (inherent; figs. 1a-1b), the second electrode includes a second electrode surface (inherent; figs. 1a-1b), the first electrode surface and the second electrode surface face in opposite directions (figs. 1a-1b), a retainer (a fitting part 15, comprising cover 16, engaging pieces 17-18, disc-shaped shield base 19, and shaft 20; figs. 1a-1b, 4; paras. 0019-0020) comprises a first terminal (terminal 5; figs. 1a-1b, 4; para. 0016) in contact with the first electrode surface (at the tip of the electrode 10; figs. 1a-1b, 4; paras. 0016, 0024) and a second terminal (terminal 6; figs. 1a-1b, 4; para. 0016) opposed to the first terminal and in contact with the second electrode surface (at the tip of electrode 11; figs. 1a-1b, 4; paras. 0016, 0023), the retainer includes a shaft (shaft 20; figs. 1a-1b, 4; para. 0020) disposed between the first terminal and the second terminal (see figs. 1a-1b), the first external wire and the second external wire (wires 31, 32; fig. 4) are located outside the shield (shield 9; see fig. 4), the first terminal is configured to be electrically connected to the first external wire (lead wire 31; fig. 4; para. 0031) located outside the shield (see fig. 4), and the second terminal is configured to be electrically connected to the second external wire (lead wire 32; fig. 4; para. 0031) located outside the shield (see fig. 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the helmet as disclosed by Ishikawa, with wherein a first external wire and a second external wire configured to supply electric power to the sheet member, wherein the sheet member includes a first electrode and a second electrode, the first electrode and the second electrode are arranged in a thickness-wise direction of the sheet member on a periphery of the recess, the first electrode includes a first electrode surface, the second electrode includes a second electrode surface, the first electrode surface and the second electrode surface face in opposite directions, a first terminal is in contact with the first electrode surface, a second terminal is opposed to the first terminal and in contact with the second electrode surface, the second shaft is disposed under the through hole and engaging with the recess, the first external wire and the second external wire are located outside the shield, the first terminal is electrically connected to the first external wire, and the second terminal is electrically connected to the second external wire as taught by Suzuki, in order to further improve the anti-fogging function of the sheet member by an integrated electric heating device. By this modification, the second shaft of Ishikawa, as part of a shaft assembly of the modified retainer, would be disposed between the first terminal and the second terminal; in addition, the first terminal and the second terminal, as parts of the modified retainer, would be configured to be electrically connected through the through hole of shield to the first external wire and the second external wire respectively. Such a configuration is within the level of one of ordinary skill of the art.
Regarding claim 7, Ishikawa and Suzuki, in combination, disclose the sheet attachment structure according to claim 1. Ishikawa does not disclose wherein: the first terminal in contact with the first electrode surface, the first electrode surface of the first electrode, the second electrode surface of the second electrode, and the second terminal in contact with the second electrode surface are arranged in sequence. However, Suzuki teaches wherein: the first terminal (terminal 5; figs. 1a-1b, 4) in contact with the first electrode surface (at the tip of the electrode 10; figs. 1a-1b, 4; paras. 0016, 0024), the first electrode surface (at the tip of the electrode 10; figs. 1a-1b, 4) of the first electrode, the second electrode surface of the second electrode, and the second terminal (terminal 6; figs. 1a-1b, 4) in contact with the second electrode surface (at the tip of electrode 11; figs. 1a-1b, 4; paras. 0016, 0023) are arranged in sequence (a sequence from terminal 5 to the first surface of the electrode 10, to the second surface of electrode 11, and to terminal 6 in a downward direction shown in figs. 1a, 1b). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the sheet attachment structure as disclosed by Ishikawa as disclosed by Ishikawa, with wherein: the first terminal in contact with the first electrode surface, the first electrode surface of the first electrode, the second electrode surface of the second electrode, and the second terminal in contact with the second electrode surface are arranged in sequence as taught by Suzuki, in order to use a suitable configuration of the electronic components for the sheet member to provide anti-fogging function.
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicant's amendment, newly modified grounds of rejection have been identified and applied as necessitated by the amendment. Further, Applicant's arguments filed on 01/23/2026 have been fully considered and addressed as follows.
Applicant's remarks: Applicant asserts that Suzuki does not disclose the limitation "the first electrode and the second electrode are arranged in a thickness-wise direction of the sheet member".
Examiner's response: Examiner respectfully disagrees.
First, Applicant does not define "a thickness-wise direction" in the original disclosure. Accordingly, a plain meaning of "thickness" has been used in the examination. Per both Oxford Languages and Cambridge Dictionary, the term "thickness" is defined as "the distance between opposite sides of something". Suzuki does disclose wherein the first and second electrodes 10, 11 are respectively arranged in two opposite sides (upper and lower sides; figs. 1-2, 4) of the sheet member; i.e., in a thickness-wise direction of the sheet member. Specifically, a dimension between an upper side and a lower side of the sheet member in the figures can be considered as a thickness of the sheet member.
Second, even if the thickness-wise direction of the sheet member in Suzuki corresponds to the direction of the indicator arrows shown in Fig. 4 as Applicant argued, the limitation "the first electrode and the second electrode are arranged in a thickness-wise direction of the sheet member" does not require that the first electrode and the electrode must sandwich the sheet member or be positioned at two opposite sides of the sheet member in the thickness-wise direction. As long as the electrodes are positioned in the thickness-wise direction of the sheet member, the electrodes would meet the claimed requirement. In this case, the first and second electrodes each have a dimension corresponding to the thickness-wise direction of the sheet member, therefore can still be considered as being arranged in a thickness-wise direction of the sheet member.
For the above reasons, Applicant's argument is not found persuasive.
Applicant's remarks: Applicant asserts that Suzuki does not disclose the limitation "the first electrode surface and the second electrode surface face in opposite directions".
Examiner's response: Examiner respectfully disagrees. It is understood that electrodes 10 and 11 each comprise a larger electrode surface spanning the entire electrode rather than only the tip of the electrode configured to contact with a respective terminal (see figs. 1a, 1b and 4). Further, an inner surface of electrode 10 and an outer surface of electrode 11 face in opposite directions; and an upper surface of electrode 10 and a lower surface of electrode 11 also face in opposite directions. Therefore, Applicant's argument is not found persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AIYING ZHAO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732