DETAILED ACTION
The information disclosure statement filed 11/26/2024 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Walker (Walker – 2020/0044354 – cited by applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Walker discloses a reflective antenna system for transmitting and receiving electromagnetic radiation, comprising:
a reflector that includes a spherical reflective surface (Walker; Fig. 2A; 0008, 0028-0035; satellite 200, hub 210, spherical ballon 240 incudes up to five reflective surfaces 244a – 244); and a first feed assembly configured to provide the electromagnetic radiation in a first certain direction (Walker; Fig. 2A; 0008, 0028-0035; satellite 200, hub 210, spherical ballon 240 incudes up to five reflective surfaces 244a – 244, each feed system 260 receives electromagnetic waves and/or emits electromagnetic waves, may extend from the center of the spherical balloon 240 along one or more radial lines of the spherical balloon 240, 260b is referred to as the first feed assembly, the feed system 260b also emits signals (not shown) with the same polarization that are also reflected by the reflective surface 244b and directed through the reflective surface 244a towards the adjacent satellite (to the left)); and
a second feed assembly configured to provide the electromagnetic radiation in a second certain direction (Walker; Fig. 2A; 0008, 0028-0035; satellite 200, hub 210, spherical ballon 240 incudes up to five reflective surfaces 244a – 244, each feed system 260 receives electromagnetic waves and/or emits electromagnetic waves, may extend from the center of the spherical balloon 240 along one or more radial lines of the spherical balloon 240, 260b is referred to as the first feed assembly, 260a referred to as the second assembly, 260a and vertically polarized signals-received from the adjacent satellite (to the right)." para. [0039]).
Regarding claim 11, see the discussions to claim 1 in view of Walker. Further, Walker discloses wherein:
the first feed assembly provides the electromagnetic radiation in the first certain direction using the reflector (Walker; Fig 2A, par. 0038 - "As shown in FIG. 2A, the feed system 260b receives polarized signals from an adjacent satellite to the left that pass through the reflective surface 244a and encounter the reflective surface 244b, which focuses the signals into the feed system 260b. The feed system 260b also emits signals (not shown) with the same polarization that are also reflected by the reflective surface 244b and directed through the reflective surface 244a towards the adjacent satellite (to the left).'); par. 0039 – the second feed assembly provides the electromagnetic radiation in the second certain direction using the reflector ("The feed system260a receives polarized signals (not shown) from an adjacent satellite to the right that pass through the reflective surface 244b and encounter the reflective surface 244a, which focuses the signals into the feed system 260a. The feed system 260a also emits signals (not shown) with the same polarization that are also reflected by the reflective surface 244a and directed through the reflective surface 244b towards the adjacent satellite (to the right).).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker (Walker – 2020/0044354, cited by applicant) in view of Jensen et al. (Jensen et al. – 2017/0256864; herein after referred as “Jensen” – cited by applicant).
Regarding claims 2 and 14, see the discussion to claim 1 in view of Walker. The claim differs in calling for a dual circular polarization feed that is located along a radial line of the spherical reflector; and RF instruments connected with the dual circular polarization feed, thereby allowing the reflector to transmit the electromagnetic radiation,
Jensen discloses and antenna system wherein the first feed assembly (multi-band feed assembly 204) includes:
a dual circular polarization feed that is located along a radial line of the spherical reflector (Jensen; Fig. 1-2; par. 0025-0039; the first feed 141 and/or the second feed 142 can be a dual polarized feeds, signal handling components in the antenna 200 may include a multi-band feed assembly 204, a waveguide section 206, and a radio frequency (RF) section 208. each feed of the multi-band feed assembly 204 may be described as a dual-circularly polarized feed; signal handling components in the antenna 200 may include a multi-band feed assembly 204, a waveguide section 206, and a radio frequency (RF) section 208).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to use dual circular polarization feeds as taught by Jensen in the system of Walker to guide signals to be transmitted or received for opposite polarizations in the band of interest.
Regarding claim 3, see the discussions to claim 2 in view of Walker/Jensen. Further, Jensen discloses a dual circular polarization feed includes a polarizer and a waveguide such that the polarizer is arranged between the waveguide and the RF instruments (Jensen; par. 0031, 0035 - signal handling components in the antenna 200 may include a multi-band feed assembly 204, a waveguide section 206, and a radio frequency (RF) section 208, in some embodiments, such as shown in FIG. 3 for example, the waveguide section 206 may include waveguides 312R, 312L coupled between the RF section 208 and the first feed 302 to guide signals to be transmitted or received in the Ku band between the RF section 208 and the first feed 302).
Claims 6, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker (Walker – 2020/0044354, cited by applicant) in view of Kuroda et al. (Kuroda et al. – 2006/0145940; herein after referred to as “Kuroda”; cited by applicant).
Regarding claim 6, see the discussions to claim 1 in view of Walker. The claim differs in calling for the antenna system having a dual motor mechanism including a first motor and a second motor, the first motor configured to move the first feed assembly in a first plane, and the second motor configured to move the first feed assembly in a second plane perpendicular to the first plane.
Kuroda discloses an antenna system comprising a dual motor mechanism including a first motor and a second motor, the first motor configured to move the first feed assembly in a first plane, and the second motor configured to move the first feed assembly in a second plane perpendicular to the first plane (Kuroda; par. 0032- 0034 - The first motor is mounted on a motor support 5c mounted to the turntable 12 right under the EL shaft 15. The first motor has an output shaft connected to the EL shaft 15a through pulleys and a belt to rotate the EL shaft 15a in either direction. The first and second feeds 16a and 16b can be moved individually along the guide rail 15 by drive units mounted on the respective feeds 16a and 16b; through the rotary joint 12c and an up/down (U/D) converter provided on the turntable 12, electric power is supplied to the first and second motors and the drive units for the first and second feeds from a power source mounted on the base plate, and signals are transmitted between these drive units as well as the first and second feeds and various control units mounted on the base plate 11)."
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to include two motors as taught by Kuroda in the system of Walker to individually move the feeds in independent directions.
Regarding claim 9, see the discussions to claim 1 in view of Walker. The claim differs in calling for the antenna system according to claim 1, wherein the first feed is mechanically moved to various positions to enable RF reception or transmission with satellites by reflected energy, and the second feed is mechanically moved to various positions to enable RF reception or transmission with the satellites by the reflected energy.
Kuroda discloses an antenna system wherein the first feed is mechanically moved to various positions to enable RF reception or transmission with satellites by reflected energy, and the second feed is mechanically moved to various positions to enable RF reception or transmission with the satellites by the reflected energy (Koruda; par. 0032; "The first motor is mounted on a motor support 5c mounted to the turntable 12 right under the EL shaft 15. The first motor has an output shaft connected to the EL shaft 15a through pulleys and a belt to rotate the EL shaft 15a in either direction. The first and second feeds 16a and 16b can be moved individually along the guide rail 15 by drive units mounted on the respective feeds 16a and 16b"; par. 0034 - "Each of the feeds 16a and 16b has an antenna element through which radio wave is transmitted and received, and an electronic circuit for processing radio wave which is connected to the U/D converter. The drive unit for each feed is a motor having its output shaft meshing with a rack secured to the guide rail. Thus, by driving the respective motor, each feed can be moved along the guide rail.")
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to include two motors as taught by Kuroda in the system of
Walker to individually move the feeds in independent directions.
Regarding claim 10, see the discussions to claim 6 and 9 in view of Walker/Koruda. Further, Kuroda discloses:
the first feed (16a) is mechanically moved by a first dual-motor system; and
the second feed (16b) is mechanically moved by a second dual-motor system ( Koruda; par. 0032 - "The first motor is mounted on a motor support 5c mounted to the turntable 12 right under the EL shaft 15. The first motor has an output shaft connected to the EL shaft 15a through pulleys and a belt to rotate the EL shaft 15a in either direction. The first and second feeds 16a and 16b can be moved individually along the guide rail 15 by drive units mounted on the respective feeds 16a and 16b."; par. 0034 - "through the rotary joint 12c and an up/down (U/D) converter provided on the turntable 12, electric power is supplied to the first and second motors and the drive units for the first and second feeds from a power source mounted on the base plate, and signals are transmitted between these drive units as well as the first and second feeds and various control units mounted on the base plate 11.")
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker (Walker – 2020/0044354 -cited by applicant) in view of Davis et al. (Davis et al.- 2016/0276747; herein after referred to as “Davis” – cited by applicant).
Regarding claim 7, see the discussion to claim 1 in view of Walker. The claim differs in calling for the antenna system according to claim 1, wherein the RF instruments:
include a block upconverter (BUC) and power amplifier (PA) for transmitting the electromagnetic radiation, and/or a low noise block (LNB) for receiving the electromagnetic radiation;
the RF instruments include a power amplifier (PA) and a low noise amplifier (LNA).
Davis discloses an antenna system wherein the RF instruments:
include a block upconverter (BUC) and power amplifier (PA) for transmitting the electromagnetic radiation, and/or a low noise block (LNB) for receiving the electromagnetic radiation; serve as a transceiver; or
the RF instruments include a power amplifier (PA) and a low noise amplifier (LNA) (LNA and PA - "RF subsystem 210, which may include a number of RF transceivers 212, an RF controller 214, and an antenna controller 216, may transmit communication signals to satellite 300 via a forward feeder link 301F, and may receive communication signals from satellite 300 via a return feeder link 301R. Each receive chain may include a low noise amplifier (LNA) and a down-converter to amplify and down-convert Each transmit chain may include an up-converter (e.g., a mixer) and a power amplifier (PA) to up-convert and amplify (Davis; par. 0037 ).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to include an LNA and PA in as the instruments in the receiver and transmitter segments of the antenna system as taught by Davis in the antenna system of Walker to down-convert and amplify the received signals and up-convert and amplify transmission signals.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker (Walker – 2020/0044354 – cited by applicant) in view of Mendelsohn et al. (Mendelsohn et al. – 2020/0274611; herein after referred to as “Mendelsohn” - cited by applicant ).
Regarding claim 8, see the discussions to claim 1 in view of Walker. The claim differs in calling for:
the first feed is positioned at a first predetermined focal distance from the reflective surface of the reflector; and
the second feed is positioned at a second predetermined focal distance from the reflective surface of the reflector.
Mendelsohn discloses an antenna system wherein the first feed is positioned at a first predetermined focal distance from the reflective surface of the reflector (Medelsohn; Fig. 2A; one of feed elements 128 of the feed array assembly 127, such as 128-a-1, 128-a-2, FIG, 2A); and the second feed is positioned at a second predetermined focal distance from the reflective surface of the reflector (Mendelsohn; Fig. 2A; par 0012 - one of feed elements 128 of the feed array assembly 127, such as 128-a-1, 128-a-2, FIG. 2A "FIGS. 2A through 2D illustrate examples of antenna characteristics for an antenna assembly 121-a having a feed array assembly 127-a located at a focal region 123 of a shaped reflector 122- a, in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure."; par. 0115 - Transmissions 240-a from the point of interest 230-a may illuminate the entire reflector 122-a, or some portion of the reflector 122-a, and then be focused and directed towards the feed array assembly 127-a according to the shape of the reflector 122-a and the angle of incidence of the transmission 240 on the reflector 122-a. Because the feed array assembly 127-a is located at a focal region 123 of the reflector 122-a, the transmissions 240-a may be focused to a single feed element (e.g., feed element 128-a-2, associated with the native feed element pattern coverage area 211-a-2 in which the point of interest 230-a is located), or, if located in an area of overlap of the native feed element pattern coverage areas 211-a, a small number (e.g., 3 or fewer) of feed elements 128-a."; par. 0118 - In diagram 204, because the feed array assembly 127-a is located at a focal region of the reflector 122-a, only a relatively small portion of each native feed element pattern coverage area 211 overlaps with an adjacent native feed element pattern coverage area 211.").
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to position feed elements at the focal distances as taught by Mendelsohn in the antenna system of Walker to create distinct coverage areas that only slightly overlap (see Mendelsohn – par. 0118).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker (Walker – 2020/0044354) in view of Giusto (Giusto – 20200185835 – cited by applicant).
Regarding claim 12, see the discussions to claim 1 in view of Walker. The claim differs in calling for:
the first feed assembly is further configured to provide the electromagnetic radiation at a first operation frequency;
the second feed assembly is further configured to provide the electromagnetic radiation at a second operation frequency; and
the first operation frequency is the same frequency as the second operation frequency.
Giusto discloses an antenna system wherein:
the first feed assembly is further configured to provide the electromagnetic radiation at a first operation frequency (Giusto; par. 0039 - "The first feeder 2 supports a first propagation of waves in a first frequency band. The second feeder 4 supports a second propagation of waves in a second frequency band lower than the first frequency band.");
the second feed assembly is further configured to provide the electromagnetic radiation at a second operation frequency (Giusto; par. 0039 - "The first feeder 2 supports a first propagation of waves in a first frequency band. The second feeder 4 supports a second propagation of waves in a second frequency band lower than the first frequency band.").
While Giusto does not disclose that the first operation frequency is the same frequency as the second operation frequency, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to select a desired frequency range to be the same for each feed in order to for example both cover radio services (see Giusto par. 0039).
Claim 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker (Walker – 2020/0044354, cited by applicant) in view of Jensen et al. (Jensen et al. – 2017/0256864; herein after referred as “Jensen” – cited by applicant) in view of in view of Kuroda et al. (Kuroda et al. – 2006/0145940; herein after referred to as “Kuroda”; cited by applicant).
Regarding claim 17, see the discussions to claim 1 in view of Walker. The claim differs in calling for the antenna system according to claim 1, wherein the first feed is mechanically moved to various positions to enable RF reception or transmission with satellites by reflected energy, and the second feed is mechanically moved to various positions to enable RF reception or transmission with the satellites by the reflected energy.
Kuroda discloses an antenna system wherein the first feed is mechanically moved to various positions to enable RF reception or transmission with satellites by reflected energy, and the second feed is mechanically moved to various positions to enable RF reception or transmission with the satellites by the reflected energy (Koruda; par. 0032; "The first motor is mounted on a motor support 5c mounted to the turntable 12 right under the EL shaft 15. The first motor has an output shaft connected to the EL shaft 15a through pulleys and a belt to rotate the EL shaft 15a in either direction. The first and second feeds 16a and 16b can be moved individually along the guide rail 15 by drive units mounted on the respective feeds 16a and 16b"; par. 0034 - "Each of the feeds 16a and 16b has an antenna element through which radio wave is transmitted and received, and an electronic circuit for processing radio wave which is connected to the U/D converter. The drive unit for each feed is a motor having its output shaft meshing with a rack secured to the guide rail. Thus, by driving the respective motor, each feed can be moved along the guide rail.")
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to include two motors as taught by Kuroda in the system of
Walker to individually move the feeds in independent directions.
.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 15-16, and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
i. The antenna system according to claim 1, wherein the reflector includes:
a first feed support member that is configured to reach a spherical center point of the reflector and have a first end portion attached to a reflector rim of the reflector such that the first feed support member is rotatable about its axis; and
a second feed support member that is configured to reach the spherical center point of the reflector and have a second end portion attached to the reflector rim of the reflector such that the second feed support member is rotatable about its axis the prior art fails to disclose the first feed support member and second feed support member having the characteristics as recited in claim 4, claim 5 depends on claim 4; claims 15 recites similar limitations to claim 4; claim 16 depends on claim 15).
ii. The antenna system according to claim 1, wherein: the first feed assembly is configured to enter a first pointing mode and a first tracking mode; the second feed assembly is configured to enter a second pointing mode and a second tracking mode; the first feed assembly is further configured to enter the first tracking mode only if the second feed assembly is in any mode other than the second tracking mode; and the second feed assembly is further configured to enter the second tracking mode only if the first feed assembly is in any mode other than the first tracking mode (The prior fails to disclose the first feed assembly and the second feed ass.
ii. The antenna system according to claim 14, wherein the reflector includes a feed support member, coupled to a shell that is configured to move about a partial hemisphere centered at a spherical center point of the reflector, such that the feed support member is rotatable about its axis (the prior art fails to disclose a feed support member having limitation as recited in claim 18, claims 19-20 depend on claim 18).
Conclusion
/THIEN M LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876