DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 24, lines 3 and 10, “the a first vertical support” should be changed to “the first vertical support”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 23, applicant claims several optional claim limitations. However, claim 22, from which claim 23 depends, includes optional claim limitations that do not require some of the optional structures that are referred to in claim 23. Thus, the scope of what is claimed is unascertainable.
Claim 28 recites the limitation "the third wall, the fourth wall" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-25, 28-33, and 35are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Krenzer (US Patent 6,055,911).
Re claim 21, Krenzer discloses a releasably mountable furniture mountable to a road vehicle comprising a floor (12, figure 1) and one or more prefabricated cargo fixing parts (18, 20, figure 1) provided to the floor of the road vehicle, the releasably mountable furniture comprising a first wall arranged (see the annotated figure below) to be positioned in a horizontal direction, a first vertical support (see the annotated figure below) arranged to be positioned in a vertical direction, a second vertical support (see the annotated figure below) arranged to be positioned in a vertical direction, a first mounting arrangement (see the annotated figure below) arranged to be releasably mounted to the one or more prefabricated cargo fixing parts of the road vehicle, and a second mounting arrangement (see the annotated figure below) arranged to be releasably mounted to the one or more prefabricated cargo fixing parts of the road vehicle, the first vertical support comprises a first bottom end and a first top end (see the annotated figure below) at distance from the first bottom end, the first vertical support extending between the first bottom end and the first top end, the first vertical support comprising a first bottom support surface (the surface facing 18) provided to the first bottom end, the first bottom support surface is arranged to be releasably supported on the floor of the road vehicle, the second vertical support comprises a second bottom end (see the annotated figure below) and a second top end (see the annotated figure below) at distance from the second bottom end, the second vertical support extending between the second bottom end and the second top end, the second vertical support comprising a second bottom support surface (the surface facing 20) provided to the second bottom end, the second bottom support surface is arranged to be releasably supported on the floor of the road vehicle, the first vertical support is connected to the first wall at a fifth vertical distance from the first bottom support surface (see the annotated figure below), the second vertical support is connected to the first wall at a sixth vertical distance from the second bottom support surface (see the annotated figure below), and the second vertical support is arranged to be positioned at a sixth horizontal distance from the first vertical support (see the annotated figure below).
Re claim 22, the first vertical support is secured to the first wall with one or more screws (34, figure 1), and the second vertical support is secured to the first wall with one or more screws (34, figure 1), or the first vertical support is secured to the first wall with an interlocking joint, and the second vertical support is secured to the first wall with an interlocking joint; or the furniture comprises a first hinge and a second hinge, the first hinge is arranged to provide a pivotable connection between the first vertical support and the first wall, and the second hinge is arranged to provide a pivotable connection between the second vertical support and the first wall; or the furniture comprises a first hinge and a second hinge, the first hinge is arranged to provide a pivotable connection between the first vertical support and the first wall, the second hinge is arranged to provide a pivotable connection between the second vertical support and the first wall, the first vertical support further comprises a first upper surface provided to the first top end, the second vertical support further comprises a second upper surface provided to the second top end, the first wall comprises a first wall upper surface and a first wall lower surface at a distance from the first wall upper surface, the first wall lower surface is arranged to be positioned facing downwards and the first wall upper surface is arranged to be positioned facing upwards, the first upper surface of the first vertical support is arranged to be supported on the first wall lower surface and the second upper surface of the second vertical support is arranged to be supported on the first wall lower surface; or the furniture comprises a first hinge and a second hinge, the first hinge is arranged to provide a pivotable connection between the first vertical support and the first wall, and the second hinge is arranged to provide a pivotable connection between the second vertical support and the first wall, the first wall further comprises a first side surface and a second side surface, the first wall extending between the first side surface and the second side surface, the first wall is arranged to extend or arranged be extended between the first vertical support and the second vertical support, the first side surface of the first wall is arranged to be supported on the first vertical support and the second side surface of the first wall is arranged to be supported on the second vertical support.
Re claim 23, as noted above, the first limitations of claim 22 are anticipated by the prior art, but claim 23 refers to optional limitations from claim 22 that are not necessary to anticipate claim 22. Therefore, claim 23 appears to be satisfied only by the prior art satisfying the first optional limitation of claim 22.
Re claim 24, the first vertical support comprises a first vertical support front surface, the second vertical support comprises a second vertical support front surface, the a first vertical support front surface is arranged to face or arranged to be positioned to face towards the second vertical support, the second vertical support front surface is arranged to face or arranged to be positioned to face towards the first vertical support, the first mounting arrangement is connected to the first vertical support front surface, and the second mounting arrangement is connected to the second vertical support front surface; or the first vertical support comprises a first vertical support front surface (see the annotated figure below), the second vertical support comprises a second vertical support front surface (see the annotated figure below), the a first vertical support front surface is arranged to face or arranged to be positioned to face in a direction away from the second vertical support (see the annotated figure below), the second vertical support front surface is arranged to face or arranged to be positioned to face in a direction away from the first vertical support (see the annotated figure below), the first mounting arrangement is connected to the first vertical support front surface (by the plate 38, 36, and 48), and the second mounting arrangement is connected to the second vertical support front surface (by the plate 38, 36, and 48).
Re claim 25, the first mounting arrangement is provided to the first vertical support (see the annotated figure below), and the second mounting arrangement is provided to the second vertical support (see the annotated figure below); or the first mounting arrangement and the second mounting arrangement are provided to the first wall; or the first mounting arrangement is provided to the first vertical support, and the second mounting arrangement is provided to the second vertical support, the first mounting arrangement is provided at a first vertical distance from the first bottom support surface and the second mounting arrangement is at a second vertical distance from the second bottom support surface; or the first mounting arrangement is provided to the first vertical support, and the second mounting arrangement provided to the second vertical support, the first vertical support having a first centre line extending in a direction between the first bottom support surface and first upper surface, the first hinge and the first mounting arrangement are positioned on the same side of the first centre line in a direction between the first vertical support and the second vertical support; or the first mounting arrangement is provided to the first vertical support, and the second mounting arrangement is provided to the second vertical support, the first vertical support having
a first centre line extending in a direction between the first bottom support surface and first upper surface, a first hinge and the first mounting arrangement are positioned on the same side of the first centre line in a direction between the first vertical support and second vertical support, the second vertical support having a second centre line extending in a direction between the second bottom support surface and the second upper surface, the second hinge and the second mounting arrangement are positioned on the same side of the second centre line in a direction between the first vertical support and second vertical support, the first mounting arrangement is provided at a first vertical distance from the first bottom support surface and the second mounting arrangement is at a second vertical distance from the second bottom support surface.
Re claim 28, the first wall being a plate (the first wall is a plate, see the annotated figure above); or the first wall, the first vertical support and the second vertical support being plates; or the first wall, the second wall, the third wall, the first vertical support and the second vertical support being plates; or the first wall, the second wall, the third wall, the fourth wall, the first vertical support and the second vertical support being plates.
Re claim 29, the furniture being a table (the device is a table, see the annotated figure above) , or a shelf or a chair, or a cabinet or any combination thereof.
Re claim 30, the furniture further comprises a horizontal support (see the annotated figure below); or the furniture further comprises a horizontal support, the first vertical support and the second vertical support are arranged to be connected with the horizontal support; or the furniture further comprises a horizontal support arranged to be connected to a prefabricated part of a wall of the road vehicle.
Re claim 31, the furniture further comprises a third mounting arrangement provided to the first wall; or the furniture further comprises a third mounting arrangement provided to the first wall, the furniture having a third centre line extending in a direction between the first vertical support and the second vertical support, the third mounting arrangement is provided to an opposite side of the third centre line than the first mounting arrangement and the second mounting arrangement.
Re claim 32, Krenser discloses a road vehicle (a motor vehicle, see the abstract), wherein the road vehicle comprises a furniture (a table, see the annotated figure below), a floor (12, figure 1), one or more prefabricated cargo fixing parts (18, 20, figure 1) provided to the floor of the road vehicle and one or more connecting parts (48, figure 1), the furniture is releasably mounted to the one or more prefabricated cargo fixing parts with the one or more connecting parts, the furniture comprises: a first wall (see the annotated figure below), the first wall extending in a horizontal direction, a first vertical support (see the annotated figure below), the first vertical support extending in a vertical direction, a second vertical support (see the annotated figure below), the second vertical support extending in a vertical direction, a first mounting arrangement (see the annotated figure below) , the first mounting arrangement is releasably mounted to the one or more prefabricated cargo fixing part of the road vehicle with the one or more connecting parts, and a second mounting arrangement (see the annotated figure below), the second mounting arrangement is releasably mounted to the one or more prefabricated cargo fixing part of the road vehicle with the one or more connecting parts, the first vertical support comprises a first bottom end and a first top end at distance from the first bottom end (see the annotated figure below), the first vertical support comprising a first bottom support surface provided to first bottom end (the surface facing 20 in figure 1) the first bottom support surface is releasably supported on the floor of the road vehicle, the second vertical support comprises a second bottom end and a second top end at distance from the second bottom end (see the annotated figure below), the second vertical support comprises a second bottom support surface (the surface face 18 in figure 1) provided to the second bottom end, the second bottom support surface is releasably supported on the floor of the road vehicle, the first vertical support is connected to the first wall at a fifth vertical distance from the first bottom support surface, the second vertical support is connected to the first wall at a sixth vertical distance from the second bottom support surface, and the second vertical support is positioned at a sixth horizontal distance from the first vertical support.
Re claim 33, the road vehicle comprises a wheel well and a vehicle wall, the wheel well is provided in the vicinity of the vehicle wall, and the first wall is provided over the wheel well; or the one or more connecting parts are connected to the one or more prefabricated cargo fixing parts; or the one or more connecting parts (48, figure 1) are secured to the one or more prefabricated cargo fixing parts between the first vertical support and the second vertical support (see the annotated figure above); or the road vehicle comprises a wheel well and a vehicle wall, the wheel well is provided in the vicinity of the vehicle wall, the first wall is provided over the wheel well, and the one or more connecting parts are secured to the one or more prefabricated cargo fixing parts between the first vertical support and the second vertical support; or the road vehicle comprises a wheel well and a vehicle wall, the wheel well is provided in the vicinity of the vehicle wall, the first wall is provided over the wheel well, the one or more connecting parts are secured to the one or more prefabricated cargo fixing parts between the first vertical support and the second vertical support, the furniture further comprises a third mounting arrangement provided to the first wall at a first distance from the vehicle wall, the first mounting arrangement is provided at a second distance from the vehicle wall, the second mounting arrangement is provided at a third distance from the vehicle wall, the first distance being greater than the second distance, and the first distance being greater than the third distance.
Re claim 35, the one or more connecting parts comprises one or more connecting rails; or the one or more connecting parts being flexible; or the one or more connecting parts being flexible and the one or more connecting parts comprises a tightening part; or the first mounting arrangement and the second mounting arrangement are provided above the one or more prefabricated cargo fixing parts (as shown by the annotated figure above the mounting arrangements are above 18 and 20); or the first mounting arrangement and the second mounting arrangement are provided above the one or more prefabricated cargo fixing parts and the one or more connecting parts being flexible; or the first mounting arrangement and the second mounting arrangement are provided above the one or more prefabricated cargo fixing parts, the one or more connecting parts being flexible and the one or more connecting parts comprises a tightening part.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krenzer (US Patent 6,055,911) in view of Morgan et al (US Patent 2022/0289089).
Krenzer discloses all the limitations of the claims, as applied above, except for the furniture further comprising a second wall connected to the first wall, the second wall is arranged to be positioned to extend horizontally in a direction between the first side surface and the second side surface of the first wall; the furniture further comprising a fourth wall pivotably connected to the first wall, the fourth wall extending in a direction between the first side surface and the second side surface of the first wall.
Morgan et al. teaches the furniture further comprising a second wall connected to a first wall, the second wall is arranged to be positioned to extend horizontally in a direction between the first side surface and the second side surface of the first wall; the furniture further comprising a fourth wall pivotably connected to the first wall (by a hinge), the fourth wall extending in a direction between the first side surface and the second side surface of the first wall. See the annotated figure below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a furniture, such as that disclosed by Krenzer, to have the furniture further comprise a second wall connected to the first wall, the second wall being arranged to be positioned to extend horizontally in a direction between the first side surface and the second side surface of the first wall, the furniture further comprise a fourth wall pivotably connected to the first wall, the fourth wall extending in a direction between the first side surface and the second side surface of the first wall, as taught by Morgan et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, to allow the table to be extended to extended an thus include more room for items to be placed on top if desired.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krenzer (US Patent 6,055,911) in view of Reddigau (German Patent Publication 19960169).
Krenzer discloses all the limitations of the claim, as applied above, except for the road vehicle further comprises a vehicle wall and one or more wall connecting parts arranged to mount the furniture to the vehicle wall.
Reddigau teaches a road vehicle comprising a vehicle wall (8) and one or more wall connecting parts (7) arranged to mount the furniture to the vehicle wall.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a furniture, such as that disclosed by Krenzer, to have a vehicle wall and one or more wall connecting parts arranged to mount the furniture to the vehicle wall, as taught by Reddigau, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to further secure the furniture from unwanted movement during travel of the vehicle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The cited references all disclose vehicle furniture.
US 2005/0156554 discloses furniture attached to a vehicle by existing vehicle attachment devices.
/JASON S MORROW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612
October 16, 2026