Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9, 11-12 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urai (JPH0221024A) in view of Kumazaki (JP2007069809A).
Regarding claim 1, Urai discloses (in fig. 2a and fig. 10) a cover member (4) including a longitudinally extending fastener (page 6, lines 8-9, zipper) and covering a mechanical element component (2, 5), the cover member (4) comprising: a wall (6 and surfaces of the cover like the instant application) having the fastener (zipper) arranged thereon and forming a space for accommodating the mechanical element component (2, 5); the wall (6 and surfaces of the cover) having a hook and loop fastener (page 3, line 19-page. 4, line 3, adhesive or Velcro, which is a hook and loop fastener located at j in fig. 2a j in fig. 2a or annotated fig. 10) provided thereon.
Urai does not disclose the fastener including a right side element extending along the longitudinal direction, a left side element extending in the longitudinal direction along the right side element and engageable with the right side element, a front slider attached to the right side element and the left side element, And a rear slider attached to the right side element and the left side element and spaced apart from the front slider in the longitudinal direction, during movement of the front slider and the rear slider in the longitudinal direction, the front slider and the rear slider each disengaging the right side element and the left side element from each other while the slider moves in a direction opposite to a side where the other slider is located, and engaging the right side element and the left side element with each other while the slider moves in a direction toward the side where the other slider is located.
Kumazaki teaches (in figs. 1-3) the fastener (20, which is a zipper structure like the instant application) including a right side element (right 22 tape/teeth of the zipper) extending along the longitudinal direction, a left side element (left 22 tape/teeth of the zipper) extending in the longitudinal direction along the right side element (right 22) and engageable with the right side element (right 22), a front slider (front 21) attached to the right side element (right 22) and the left side element (left 22), and a rear slider (rear 21) attached to the right side element (right 22) and the left side element (left 22) and spaced apart from the front slider (front 21) in the longitudinal direction, during movement of the front slider (front 21) and the rear slider (rear 21) in the longitudinal direction, the front slider (front 21) and the rear slider (rear 21) each disengaging the right side element (right 22) and the left side element (left 22) from each other while the slider (rear 21 and front 21) moves in a direction opposite to a side where the other slider (rear 21 and front 21) is located, and engaging the right side element (right 22) and the left side element (left 22) with each other while the slider (rear 21 and front 21) moves in a direction toward the side where the other slider (rear 21 and front 21) is located for the purpose of not allowing foreign matter such as dirt to enter or accumulate inside the slide rail (para. [0005]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the fastener of Urai with the fastener, as taught by Kumazaki, for the purpose of not allowing foreign matter such as dirt to enter or accumulate inside the slide rail (para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 2, Urai discloses (in fig. 2a and annotated fig. 10) linear motion guide unit (fig. 10) comprising:
a rail (2) including a rail upper surface (RUP) and a rail side surface (RSS) each extending in a longitudinal direction,
the rail (2) having a first raceway surface (FRS) provided on the rail side surface (RSS);
a sliding member (1) relatively movably attached to the rail (2),
the sliding member (1) including a sliding member lower surface (SMLS) facing the rail upper surface (RUP) and a second raceway surface (SRS) facing the first raceway surface (FRS);
a plurality of rolling elements (3) rolling on a load-carrying race constituted by the first and second raceway surfaces (FRS, SRS).
a cover member (4) covering the rail (2) and the sliding member (1), the cover member (4) including a fastener (page 6, lines 8-9, zipper) extending in the longitudinal direction;
a moving member (8) arranged outside the cover member (4) and moving together with the sliding member (1);
and a connecting member (CM) connecting the sliding member (1) to the moving member (8);
the cover member (4) including a wall (6 and surfaces of the cover like the instant application),
the wall (6 and surfaces of the cover) having the fastener (fig. 10) arranged thereon and forming a space for accommodating the rail (2) and the sliding member (1),
the wall (6 and surfaces of the cover) having a hook and loop fastener (page 3, line 19-page. 4, line 3, adhesive or Velcro, which is a hook and loop fastener located at j in fig. 2a or annotated fig. 10) provided thereon.
Urai does not disclose the fastener including a right side element extending along the longitudinal direction, a left side element extending in the longitudinal direction along the right side element and engageable with the right side element, a front slider attached to the right side element and the left side element and fixed to the sliding member and the moving member, and a rear slider attached to the right side element and the left side element, spaced apart from the front slider in the longitudinal direction, and fixed to the sliding member and the moving member, during movement of the sliding member and the moving member, the front slider and the rear slider each disengaging the right side element and the left side element from each other while the slider moves in a direction opposite to a side where the other slider is located, and engaging the right side element and the left side element with each other while the slider moves in a direction toward the side where the other slider is located, the connecting member including a support member arranged between the front slider and the rear slider in the longitudinal direction and supporting the moving member.
Kumazaki teaches (in figs. 1, 3, and annotated fig. 2) the fastener (20, which is a zipper structure like the instant application) including a right side element (right 22 tape/teeth of the zipper) extending along the longitudinal direction, a left side element (left 22 tape/teeth of the zipper) extending in the longitudinal direction along the right side element (right 22) and engageable with the right side element (right 22), a front slider (front 21) attached to the right side element (right 22) and the left side element (left 22) and fixed to the sliding member (13) and the moving member (MM1), and a rear slider (rear 21) attached to the right side element (right 22) and the left side element (left 22), spaced apart from the front slider (front 21) in the longitudinal direction, and fixed to the sliding member (13) and the moving member (MM1), during movement of the sliding member (13) and the moving member (MM1), the front slider (front 21) and the rear slider (rear 21) each disengaging the right side element (right 22) and the left side element (left 22) from each other while the slider (rear 21 and front 21) moves in a direction opposite to a side where the other slider (rear 21 and front 21) is located, and engaging the right side element (right 22) and the left side element with each other while the slider (rear 21 and front 21) moves in a direction toward the side where the other slider (rear 21 and front 21) is located, the connecting member (CM) including a support member (11) arranged between the front slider (front 21) and the rear slider (rear 21) in the longitudinal direction and supporting the moving member (MM1) for the purpose of not allowing foreign matter such as dirt to enter or accumulate inside the slide rail (para. [0005]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the fastener of Urai with the fastener, as taught by Kumazaki, for the purpose of not allowing foreign matter such as dirt to enter or accumulate inside the slide rail (para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 3, Urai in view of Kumazaki teaches (in Urai fig. 2a and annotated fig. 10) the linear motion guide unit according to claim 2, wherein the wall (6 and surfaces of the cover) includes a flat plate portion (6), and the hook and loop fastener(page 3, line 19-page. 4, line 3, adhesive or Velcro, which is a hook and loop fastener located at j in fig. 2a or annotated fig. 10) is arranged on one side in a thickness direction of the flat plate portion (6).
Regarding claim 4, Urai in view of Kumazaki teaches (in Urai fig. 2a and annotated fig. 10) the linear motion guide according to claim 2, wherein the wall (6 and surfaces of the cover) has an opening (OP) communicating with the space and the hook and loop fastener (Velcro is at j) is arranged to surround the opening (OP).
Regarding claim 5, Urai in view of Kumazaki teaches (in Urai fig. 2a and annotated fig. 10 and Kumazaki annotated fig. 2) the linear motion guide according to claim 2, wherein the wall (Urai 6 and surfaces of the cover) includes an upper wall portion (Urai UW) on which the fastener (Kumazaki 20) is arranged, and a side wall portion (Urai SW) that extends intersecting the upper wall portion (Urai UW), and the hook and loop fastener (Urai Velcro at j) is attached to the side wall portion (Urai SW).
Regarding claim 9, Urai in view of Kumazaki teaches (in Urai fig. 2a and annotated fig. 10 and Kumazaki annotated fig. 2) the linear motion guide according to claim 2, wherein the wall (Urai 6 and surfaces of the cover) includes an upper wall portion (Urai UW) on which the fastener (Kumazaki 20) is arranged, and a side wall portion (Urai SW) that extends intersecting the upper wall portion (Urai UW), and a portion where the upper wall portion (Urai UW) and the side wall portion (Urai SW) are connected is configured with a curved surface.
Regarding claim 11, Urai in view of Kumazaki teaches (in Urai fig. 2a and annotated fig. 10) the linear motion guide according to claim 3, wherein the wall (6) has an opening (OP) communicating with the space and the hook and loop fastener (Velcro is at j) is arranged to surround the opening (OP).
Regarding claim 12, Urai in view of Kumazaki teaches (in Urai fig. 2a and annotated fig. 10 and Kumazaki annotated fig. 2) the linear motion guide according to claim 3, wherein the wall (Urai 6 and surfaces of the cover) includes an upper wall portion (Urai UW) on which the fastener (Kumazaki 20) is arranged, and a side wall portion (Urai SW) that extends intersecting the upper wall portion (Urai UW), and the hook and loop fastener (Urai Velcro at j) is attached to the side wall portion (Urai SW).
Regarding claim 16, Urai in view of Kumazaki teaches (in Urai fig. 2a and annotated fig. 10 and Kumazaki annotated fig. 2) the linear motion guide according to claim 3, wherein the wall (Urai 6 and surfaces of the cover) includes an upper wall portion (Urai UW) on which the fastener (Kumazaki 20) is arranged, and a side wall portion (Urai SW) that extends intersecting the upper wall portion (Urai UW), and a portion where the upper wall portion (Urai UW) and the side wall portion (Urai SW) are connected is configured with a curved surface.
Claim(s) 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urai (JPH0221024A) in view of Kumazaki (JP2007069809A) and in further view of Oh (WO2020179955A1).
Regarding claim 7, Urai in view of Kumazaki teaches the linear motion guide according to claim 2 but does not teach a portion of the cover member makes an inside visible from an outside.
Oh teaches a portion (transparent viewing window 510) of the cover member (500) makes an inside visible from an outside for the purpose of viewing the guide member and moving member (para. [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the viewing window, as taught by Oh, in the cover member of Urai in view of Kumazaki for the purpose of viewing the guide member and moving member (para. [0025]).
Regarding claim 14, Urai in view of Kumazaki teaches the linear motion guide according to claim 3 but does not teach a portion of the cover member makes an inside visible from an outside.
Oh teaches a portion (transparent viewing window 510) of the cover member (500) makes an inside visible from an outside for the purpose of viewing the guide member and moving member (para. [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the viewing window, as taught by Oh, in the cover member of Urai in view of Kumazaki for the purpose of viewing the guide member and moving member (para. [0025]).
Claim(s) 8 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urai (JPH0221024A) in view of Kumazaki (JP2007069809A) and in further view of Metzger (US 20030177615 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Urai in view of Kumazaki the linear motion guide according to claim 2, but does not teach at least one of the front slider and the rear slider has a seal member operative to sweep an upper portion of a region in which the right side element (right teeth of the zipper) and the left side element (left teeth of the zipper) are engaged.
Metzger teaches (in fig. 1) at least one of the front slider and the rear slider (14) has a seal member (12) operative to sweep an upper portion of a region in which the right side element (right teeth of 14) and the left side element (left teeth of 14) are engaged for the purpose reducing zipper snags to ensure smooth operation (para. [0002]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the seal member, as taught by Metzger, in the linear motion guide of Urai in view of Kumazaki for the purpose reducing zipper snags to ensure smooth operation (para. [0002]).
Regarding claim 15, Urai in view of Kumazaki the linear motion guide according to claim 3, but does not teach at least one of the front slider and the rear slider has a seal member operative to sweep an upper portion of a region in which the right side element (right teeth of the zipper) and the left side element (left teeth of the zipper) are engaged.
Metzger teaches (in fig. 1) at least one of the front slider and the rear slider (14) has a seal member (12) operative to sweep an upper portion of a region in which the right side element (right teeth of 14) and the left side element (left teeth of 14) are engaged for the purpose reducing zipper snags to ensure smooth operation (para. [0002]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the seal member, as taught by Metzger, in the linear motion guide of Urai in view of Kumazaki for the purpose reducing zipper snags to ensure smooth operation (para. [0002]).
Claim(s)10 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urai (JPH0221024A) in view of Kumazaki (JP2007069809A) in further view of Witon (US 20150082582 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Urai in view of Kumazaki teaches the linear motion guide according to claim 2 but does not teach wherein at least one of the right side element and the left side element includes an oil-containing resin provided at a portion where the elements are engaged with each other.
Whiton teaches (in para. [0003]) wherein at least one of the right side element (zipper teeth) and the left side element (zipper teeth) includes an oil-containing resin (plastic, which is an oil-based resin) provided at a portion where the elements are engaged with each other.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the right and left side elements be made out of an oil-containing resin, which is plastic, for the purpose of being a lightweight and flexible, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 17, Urai in view of Kumazaki teaches the linear motion guide according to claim 3 but does not teach wherein at least one of the right side element and the left side element includes an oil-containing resin provided at a portion where the elements are engaged with each other.
Whiton teaches (in para. [0003]) wherein at least one of the right side element (zipper teeth) and the left side element (zipper teeth) includes an oil-containing resin (plastic, which is an oil-based resin) provided at a portion where the elements are engaged with each other.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the right and left side elements be made out of an oil-containing resin, which is plastic, for the purpose of being lightweight and flexible, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record does not disclose nor render the combination set forth in claims 6 and 13.
In particular, for claims 6 and 13, the prior art of record does not disclose nor render obvious the linear motion guide comprising portion of the cover member includes a structure made of a plurality of resin materials of different strengths stacked in combination with the other claim limitations.
Conclusion
/AIMEE TRAN NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3617
/JOHN OLSZEWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3617