DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The term “compound of amino acid type” appearing in 15 is interpreted according to applicant’s definition for the term as shown on pg.11 (lines 33-36) of present specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: on line 6, applicant need to change “acids” to --- acid ---. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: on line 1, applicant need to change “compound(s)” to --- the at least one compound ---. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: (i) on line 1, applicant need to change “hydroxylated” to --- at least one hydroxylated ---. (ii) on line 2, applicant need to change “acids” to --- acid ---. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities: on line 2, applicant need to change “silicone(s)” to --- the at least one silicone ---. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 25 is objected to because of the following informalities: on line 2, applicant need to change “cationic surfactant(s)” to --- the at least one cationic surfactant ---. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 26 is objected to because of the following informalities: on line 2, applicant need to change “cationic polymer(s)” to --- the at least one cationic polymer ---. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 28 is objected to because of the following informalities: on line 2, applicant need to change “nonionic polysaccharide(s)” to --- the at least one nonionic polysaccharide ---. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 30 is objected to because of the following informalities: on lien 2, applicant need to change “nonionic surfactant(s)” to --- the at least one nonionic surfactant ---. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 31 is objected to because of the following informalities: on line 2, applicant need to change “non-silicone fatty substance(s)” to --- the at least one non-silicone fatty substance ---. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Claim 15, applicant recite that the composition B comprises at least one hydroxylated (poly)carboxylic acid comprising from 2 to 8 carbon atoms (or salts thereof). However, it is unclear to the Examiner how any hydroxylated (poly)carboxylic acid can have only 2 carbon atoms because it is the Examiner’s understanding that the simplest form of a hydroxylated (poly)carboxylic acid would the structure: HOOC-CH(OH)-COOH, and such compound already has 3 carbon atoms. Appropriate correction and/or clarification is necessary.
Claims 15-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Claim 15, applicant recite the following:
The way it is written is confusing and unclear. To overcome instant 112(b) rejection, applicant need to change claim 15 to state
--- (ii) applying to the hair composition B comprising:
-at least compound of amino acid type; and
- at least one hydroxylated (poly)carboxylic acid comprising from 2 to 8 carbon atoms, or salts thereof, or mixtures thereof; and ---.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rughani et al (US 2018/0280269 A1).
Rughani teaches ([0075]-[0090]) a method of treating hair comprising: (A) cleansing the hair with one or more shampoos comprising one or more surfactants; (B) conditioning the hair with one or more conditioners comprising (i) at least 0.5 wt.% of at least one amino acid or an amino sulfonic acid, and/or a salt thereof (ii) optionally, at least 0.5 wt.% of at least one non-polymeric mono, di or tricarboxylic acid, and/or a salt thereof, (iii) one or more surfactants; and (iv) water; and (C) applying one or more hair-treatment compositions to the hair wherein the one or more hair-treatment compositions optionally comprise one or more surfactant. In Example 1, Rughani gives several examples of its shampoos, all of which contain anionic surfactant and/or amphoteric surfactants. Thus, Rughani teaches instant composition A and instant step (i) of claim 15.
With respect to instant composition B, in Example 4-2, Rughani teaches (see the Table in [0395]) Rinse-Off Conditioner D, which contains 3 wt.% taurine (instant amino acid type compound according to applicant’s definition in present specification), 1 wt.% citric acid (instant hydroxylated polycarboxylic acid of claims 15, 19 and 20) Thus, Rughani teaches instant composition B and instant step (ii) of claim 15.
With respect to instant composition C, Rughani teaches ([0130]) that the hair-treatment composition (that is used in its step (C) shown above) may contain cationic surfactants. Thus, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art to include cationic surfactants in Rughani’s hair-treatment composition. Thus, Rughani renders obvious instant composition C and instant step (iii) of claim 15.
Thus, Rughani renders obvious instant claims 15, 19 and 20.
With respect to instant claims 16-18, Rughani’s 3 wt.% of taurine (used in its Example 4-2 (Conditioner D)) does not teach instant formula (I). However, Rughani teaches (see claim 12) the equivalence of taurine and amino acids, such as glycine, lysine, methionine or proline. Thus, it would be obvious to use 3 wt.% of glycine, lysine, methionine or proline (instead of 3 wt.% of taurine) with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, Rughani renders obvious instant claims 16-18.
With respect to instant claims 21 and 22, Rughani’s Example 4-2 (Conditioner D) contains 0.1 wt.% of thickener(s) which can be chosen from acrylates copolymer, hydroxyethyl cellulose or hydroxypropyl guar. Thus, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art to use 0.1 wt.% of acrylate copolymer (as a thickener) in Rughani’s Example 4-2 (Conditioner D) with a reasonable expectation of success. The acrylate copolymer is a nonionic polymer (instant associative polymer of claims 21 and 22). Thus, Rughani renders obvious instant claims 21 and 22.
With respect to instant claims 23 and 24, Rughani’s Example 4-2 (Conditioner D) contains 1.7 wt.% amodimethicone (instant amino silicone of claim 24). Thus, Rughani renders obvious instant claims 23 and 24.
With respect to instant claim 25, Rughani’s Example 4-2 (Conditioner D) contains 1.3 wt.% of a cationic surfactant(s). Thus, Rughani renders obvious instant claim 25.
With respect to instant claims 26 and 27, Rughani’s Example 4-2 (Conditioner D) does not contain a cationic polymer. However, Rughani teaches (see claim 4 and [0132]-[0133]) that its hair treatment composition (such as a conditioner) may include a cationic polymer, such as polyquaternium-10 or cationic guar derivatives, in the amount of about 0.1 to about 15 wt.% based on the total weight of the composition. It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to include 0.1-15 wt.% of a cationic polymer, such as polyquaternium-10 or cationic guar derivative (both of which are instant cationic polysaccharides of claim 27) in Rughani’s Example 4-2 (Conditioner D) with a reasonable expectation of success. The range 0.1-15 wt.% for the amount of the cationic polymer overlaps with instant range 0.01-10 wt.% for the amount of the cationic polymer, thus rendering instant range prima facie obvious. In the case “where the [claimed] ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness would exist which may be overcome by a showing of unexpected results, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). Thus, Rughani renders obvious instant claims 26 and 27.
With respect to instant claims 28 and 29, Rughani’s Example 4-2 (Conditioner D) contains 0.1 wt.% of thickener(s) which can be chosen from acrylates copolymer, hydroxyethyl cellulose or hydroxypropyl guar. It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to use 0.1 wt.% of hydroxypropyl guar (as a thickener) in Rughani’s Example 4-2 (Conditioner D) with a reasonable expectation of success. The hydroxypropyl guar is a nonionic polysaccharide which is a galactomannan. Thus, Rughani renders obvious instant claims 28 and 29.
With respect to instant claim 30, Rughani’s Example 4-2 (Conditioner D) contains optional ingredients, such as nonionic surfactants, in the amount of 1.2 wt.%. It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to include a nonionic surfactant in the amount of 1.2 wt.% with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, Rughani renders obvious instant claim 30.
With respect to instant claim 31, Rughani’s Example 4-2 (Conditioner D) contains fatty compound, which is mineral oil or cetearyl alcohol (both of which teach instant non-silicone fatty substances) in the amount of 6.2 wt.%. Thus, Rughani renders obvious instant claim 31.
With respect to instant claim 32, Rughani teaches (see claim 2 and [0031]) that its hair treatment composition (such as shampoo) can be left on the hair for about 30 seconds to about 20 minutes. Such range overlaps with instant range from 1 minute to 15 minutes, thus rendering instant range prima facie obvious. In re Wertheim, supra. Thus, Rughani renders obvious instant claim 32.
With respect to instant claim 33, Rughani teaches ([0025]) that in a standard shampooing and conditioning treatment, the hair is cleansed with a shampoo, which is rinsed from the hair, after which a conditioner is applied to the hair. It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to rinse off the shampoo (with water) before applying the conditioner. Thus, Rughani renders obvious instant claim 33.
With respect to instant claim 34, Rughani teaches ([0032]) that a hair treatment composition may be allowed to remain on the hair while a subsequent hair treatment composition is applied to the hair. That is, one or more hair treatment compositions may be layered (or mixed) on the hair and together allowed to remain on the hair for a period of time. Thus, according to Rughani’s such teaching, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art not to rinse-off Rughani’s conditioner (such as Example 4-2 (Conditioner D)) before applying the hair treatment composition in Rughani’s step (C) with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, Rughani renders obvious instant claim 34.
Double Patenting
Claims 15, 16, 18 and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 36 of copending Application No. 18/870,013 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reason:
Claim 36 of App.’013 teaches the following:
Thus, claim 36 of App.’013 renders obvious instant claims 15, 16, 18 and 19.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
/SIN J LEE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613
July 11, 2026