DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/20/2024, 07/11/2025, 12/10/2025, 01/28/2026 and 08/13/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Objection to claim 7, the phrase “based on the first message” in the claim lacks antecedent basis. The claim should be rewritten to overcome this.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 8, 13 – 15, 17, 19-21, 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. ( U.S. PGPUB 2024/0276470), Zhang hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, Zhang teaches a small data transmission SDT event recording method, wherein the method comprises: (fig. 1 and paragraph 0200 - … the application scenario includes a terminal device 101 and a network device 102. The network device 102 may send small data transmission SDT configuration to the terminal device 101, and when there exists first transmission data for the terminal device 101, the terminal device 101 may determine a target transmission mode of the first transmission data according to the SDT configuration information. .. [0268] sending the first report to the network device; [0269] where the first report includes one or more of an RA report, a logged MDT measurement report, a CEF report and an RLF report.)
receiving, by a terminal device, a first message from a network device, wherein the first message is a measurement record configuration message, the first message comprises a first parameter set, and the first parameter set comprises one or more parameters for recording transmission characteristic information in an SDT period; and (fig. 1 and paragraph 0200 - … the application scenario includes a terminal device 101 and a network device 102. The network device 102 may send small data transmission SDT configuration to the terminal device 101, and when there exists first transmission data for the terminal device 101, the terminal device 101 may determine a target transmission mode of the first transmission data according to the SDT configuration information. ... [0209] The network device may send the SDT configuration information to the terminal device, where the SDT configuration information may include a configuration parameter that guides the UE to perform a data transmission process, including but not limited to various preset thresholds involved in the UE determining the target transmission mode, such as one or more of a preset signal quality threshold of each stage, a timing advance timer TAT duration threshold, a preset number threshold corresponding to the number of SDT, an instruction for specifying the target transmission mode, an instruction for converting a transmission mode, and so on. ... [0268] sending the first report to the network device; [0269] where the first report includes one or more of an RA report, a logged MDT measurement report, a CEF report and an RLF report.)
recording, by the terminal device, the transmission characteristic information corresponding to the one or more parameters in the first parameter set based on the first message. (fig. 1 and paragraph [0268] sending the first report to the network device; [0269] where the first report includes one or more of an RA report, a logged MDT measurement report, a CEF report and an RLF report.)
Regarding Claim 2, Zhang teaches claim 1.
Zhang further teaches wherein the first parameter set comprises at least one first parameter, and the first parameter is used to indicate to record a measurement value of a beam signal of a serving cell. ([0284] RSRP, RSRQ, or SINR) of a signal quality of a reference signal at this time, compares them with a data volume threshold and a first preset signal quality threshold X1 (a threshold of RSRP, RSRQ, or SINR) configured by the network device in the SDT configuration information respectively and records relevant information which may include at least one of the first measured value of the signal quality of the reference signal, a comparison result between the first measured value and the first preset signal quality threshold X1, or the first preset signal quality threshold X1. The relevant information may also include at least one of a data volume of first transmission data, a preset data volume threshold, or a comparison result between the data volume of first transmission data and the preset data volume threshold.)
Regarding Claim 3, Zhang teaches claim 1. Zhang further teaches 3. The method according to claim 1, wherein SDT comprises configured grant-small data transmission CG-SDT or random access channel-small data transmission RACH-SDT; ([0195] … That is, a small data transmission SDT means that the UE uses the CG resource or the RA resource to transmit the small data packet when the UE is in the RRC_INACTIVE state.)
and the first parameter set comprises at least one second parameter, and the second parameter is used to indicate to record an event of the CG-SDT and/or an event of the RACH-SDT. ([0316] 7) If the UE fails to send the small data packet through an RA resource, for example, a cumulative number of SDT exceeds a configured threshold, the UE sends the small data packet through a non-SDT process, and record a reason for performing the non-SDT process.)
Regarding Claim 7, Zhang teaches 7. A small data transmission SDT event recording method, wherein the method comprises:
receiving, by a terminal device, a second message from a network device, wherein the second message is a measurement record configuration message, the second message comprises a second parameter set, and the second parameter set comprises one or more parameters indicating to record service characteristic information in an SDT period; and (fig. 6 and paragraph [0323] S602: optimizing the SDT configuration information configured for the terminal device according to the relevant information. [0324] In one embodiment, the network device may also send the SDT configuration information to the terminal device before receiving the relevant information sent by the terminal device, or may preconfigure the SDT configuration information for the terminal device, and a specific form is not limited here.)
recording, by the terminal device, service information corresponding to each parameter in the second parameter set based on the first message. ([0325] In one embodiment, the relevant information includes at least one or more of the following: [0326] information related to a data volume of the first transmission data; [0327] information related to a signal quality of a measured reference signal; [0328] information related to the determined target transmission mode. ... [0341] information on transmission failure for transmitting the first transmission data using an SDT mode;)
Regarding Claim 8, Zhang teaches claim 7. Zhang further teaches 8. The method according to claim 7, wherein the service characteristic information comprises at least one of the following:
a cache of the terminal device, a frequency at which the terminal device sends data to the network device, data sent by the terminal device to the network device exceeding a preset threshold, a frequency at which the terminal device transmits data to the network device in segments, a time and/or a frequency at which the terminal device receives an MT-SDT message from the network device, a movement trajectory of the terminal device, signal strength of a cell reselected by the terminal device, an event in which the terminal device switches from a first network to a second network in a multi-subscriber identity module Multi-SIM scenario, a reason for entering an idle state by the terminal device, a reason for terminating an SDT session by the terminal device, and an event that triggers the terminal device to request resumption of a radio resource control RRC connected state from the network device.
([0105] In one embodiment, the reason for adopting the non-SDT mode includes at least one or more of the following: [0106] the data volume of the first transmission data is greater than a preset data volume threshold; … [0110] a cumulative number of SDT exceeds a preset transmission number threshold; ... [0316] 7) If the UE fails to send the small data packet through an RA resource, for example, a cumulative number of SDT exceeds a configured threshold, the UE sends the small data packet through a non-SDT process, and record a reason for performing the non-SDT process.)
Regarding Claim 13, Zhang teaches 13. A small data transmission SDT event recording method, wherein the method comprises: (fig. 2)
receiving, by a terminal device, a third message from a network device, wherein the third message is used to indicate the terminal device to record an SDT event and/or measure a minimization of drive tests MDT configuration parameter; [0209] The network device may send the SDT configuration information to the terminal device, where the SDT configuration information may include a configuration parameter that guides the UE to perform a data transmission process, including but not limited to various preset thresholds involved in the UE determining the target transmission mode, such as one or more of a preset signal quality threshold of each stage, a timing advance timer TAT duration threshold, a preset number threshold corresponding to the number of SDT, an instruction for specifying the target transmission mode, an instruction for converting a transmission mode, and so on. ... [0270] ... In one embodiment, the first report includes but is not limited to at least one of the following: an RA report, a logged MDT measurement report (a report recording a MDT measurement value, MDT refers to minimization of drive tests), a CEF (Connection Establishment Failure) report and a RLF (Radio Link Failure) report. ..
recording, by the terminal device based on the third message, the SDT event and/or a measurement result based on the MDT configuration parameter, to obtain a recording result; and ([0270] ... In one embodiment, the first report includes but is not limited to at least one of the following: an RA report, a logged MDT measurement report (a report recording a MDT measurement value, MDT refers to minimization of drive tests), a CEF (Connection Establishment Failure) report and a RLF (Radio Link Failure) report. ...)
sending, by the terminal device, the recording result to the network device. (fig. 2 Step S203 and paragraph [0252] S203: sending the relevant information generated in the process of determining the target transmission mode for the first transmission data to the network device, where the relevant information is used to optimize the SDT configuration information.)
Regarding Claim 14, Zhang teaches claim 13. Zhang further teaches 14. The method according to claim 13, wherein the third message is a measurement record configuration message. ([0270] ... In one embodiment, the first report includes but is not limited to at least one of the following: an RA report, a logged MDT measurement report (a report recording a MDT measurement value, MDT refers to minimization of drive tests), a CEF (Connection Establishment Failure) report and a RLF (Radio Link Failure) report. ...)
Regarding Claim 15, Zhang teaches claim 13. Zhang further teaches 15. The method according to claim 13, wherein the sending, by the terminal device, the recording result to the network device comprises:
sending, by the terminal device, a fourth message to the network device, wherein the fourth message is carried in a radio resource control RRC resume request message or an RRC setup request message, the fourth message is used to indicate that the terminal device has obtained an available recording result or there is an available recording indication in the terminal device; ([0318] 1) A UE may report, in a first dedicated signaling (for example, RRC Setup Complete/RRC Reconfiguration Complete/RRC Reestablishment Complete/RRC Resume Complete), indication information that relevant information generated in a process of determining a target transmission mode for first transmission data is available)
receiving, by the terminal device, a second indication message from the network device, wherein the second indication message is used to indicate the terminal device to send the recording result to the network device; and ([0319] 2) A network device requests the UE, in a second dedicated signaling (such as RRC Reconfiguration/UE Information Request), to report the relevant information generated in the process of determining the target transmission mode for the first transmission data.)
sending, by the terminal device, the recording result to the network device based on the second indication message. ([0320] 3) The UE subsequently reports recorded relevant information generated in the process of determining the target transmission mode for the first transmission data in a third dedicated signaling (such as UE Information Response).)
Regarding Claim 17, Zhang teaches claim 13. Zhang further teaches 17. The method according to claim 13, wherein the sending, by the terminal device, the recording result to the network device comprises:
sending, by the terminal device, a historical recording result obtained after last SDT ends to the network device in each SDT period, wherein the historical recording result is carried in an RRC message or a media access control MAC layer message. ([0270] ... In one embodiment, the first report includes but is not limited to at least one of the following: an RA report, a logged MDT measurement report (a report recording a MDT measurement value, MDT refers to minimization of drive tests), a CEF (Connection Establishment Failure) report and a RLF (Radio Link Failure) report. ... [0318] 1) A UE may report, in a first dedicated signaling (for example, RRC Setup Complete/RRC Reconfiguration Complete/RRC Reestablishment Complete/RRC Resume Complete), indication information that relevant information generated in a process of determining a target transmission mode for first transmission data is available)
Regarding Claim 19, Zhang teaches claim 13. Zhang further teaches 19. The method according to claim 13, wherein the sending, by the terminal device, the recording result to the network device comprises:
receiving, by the terminal device, a third indication message from the network device, wherein the third indication message is used to indicate the terminal device to send the recording result to the network device; and ([0319] 2) A network device requests the UE, in a second dedicated signaling (such as RRC Reconfiguration/UE Information Request), to report the relevant information generated in the process of determining the target transmission mode for the first transmission data.)
sending, by the terminal device, the recording result to the network device based on the third indication message. ([0320] 3) The UE subsequently reports recorded relevant information generated in the process of determining the target transmission mode for the first transmission data in a third dedicated signaling (such as UE Information Response).)
Regarding Claim 20, Zhang teaches claim 19. Zhang further teaches 20. The method according to claim 19, wherein the third indication message is a terminal information request message; and the recording result is carried in a terminal information response message. ([0318] 1) A UE may report, in a first dedicated signaling (for example, RRC Setup Complete/RRC Reconfiguration Complete/RRC Reestablishment Complete/RRC Resume Complete), indication information that relevant information generated in a process of determining a target transmission mode for first transmission data is available. [0319] 2) A network device requests the UE, ... [0320] 3) The UE subsequently reports recorded relevant information generated in the process of determining the target transmission mode for the first transmission data in a third dedicated signaling (such as UE Information Response).)
Regarding Claim 21, Zhang teaches claim 13. Zhang further teaches 21. The method according to claim 13, wherein before the recording, by the terminal device based on the third message, the SDT event and/or a measurement result based on the MDT configuration parameter, the method further comprises:
an SDT timer of the terminal device starts to run. [0329] In one embodiment, if the determined target transmission mode is an SDT mode, the information related to the determined target transmission mode includes at least one or more of the following: [0330] timing advance timer TAT information, where the TAT information includes at least one of a TA duration or whether timeout occurs;
Regarding Claim 23, Zhang teaches claim 13. Zhang further teaches 23. The method according to claim 13, wherein the recording, by the terminal device based on the third message, the SDT event and/or a measurement result based on the MDT configuration parameter, to obtain a recording result comprises:
recording, by the terminal device based on the third message, the SDT event and/or the measurement result based on the MDT configuration parameter; [0209] The network device may send the SDT configuration information to the terminal device, where the SDT configuration information may include a configuration parameter that guides the UE to perform a data transmission process, including but not limited to various preset thresholds involved in the UE determining the target transmission mode, such as one or more of a preset signal quality threshold of each stage, a timing advance timer TAT duration threshold, a preset number threshold corresponding to the number of SDT, an instruction for specifying the target transmission mode, an instruction for converting a transmission mode, and so on. ... [0270] ... In one embodiment, the first report includes but is not limited to at least one of the following: an RA report, a logged MDT measurement report (a report recording a MDT measurement value, MDT refers to minimization of drive tests), a CEF (Connection Establishment Failure) report and a RLF (Radio Link Failure) report. ..
when an SDT session of the terminal device is terminated, stopping recording, by the terminal device, the SDT event and the measurement result based on the MDT configuration parameter; and ([0287] 5) After selecting the UL carrier, the UE determines whether a CG criterion is met, measures a measured value (a value of RSRP, RSRQ, or SINR) of a signal quality of a SSB associated with a CG resource, and determines a TA timer duration. At this time, the UE records the measured value of the signal quality of the SSB and the TA timer duration, and compares the measured value with a second preset signal quality threshold (a threshold of RSRP, RSRQ, or SINR) configured by the network device in the SDT configuration information, determines whether the TA timer times out, and records relevant information which may include at least one of the following: a timing advance timer TAT duration, and/or whether TAT times out:)
obtaining, by the terminal device, the recording result based on the recorded SDT event and/or the recorded measurement result based on the MDT configuration parameter. [0209] The network device may send the SDT configuration information to the terminal device, where the SDT configuration information may include a configuration parameter that guides the UE to perform a data transmission process, including but not limited to various preset thresholds involved in the UE determining the target transmission mode, such as one or more of a preset signal quality threshold of each stage, a timing advance timer TAT duration threshold, a preset number threshold corresponding to the number of SDT, an instruction for specifying the target transmission mode, an instruction for converting a transmission mode, and so on. ... [0270] ... In one embodiment, the first report includes but is not limited to at least one of the following: an RA report, a logged MDT measurement report (a report recording a MDT measurement value, MDT refers to minimization of drive tests), a CEF (Connection Establishment Failure) report and a RLF (Radio Link Failure) report. ..
Regarding Claim 24, Zhang teaches claim 13. Zhang further teaches 24. The method according to claim 13, wherein the recording result sent by the terminal device to the network device is an available recording result; and the available recording result is determined by the terminal device based on a quantity of recorded SDT events and/or a quantity of recorded measurement results based on the MDT configuration parameter. ([0196] Specifically, for first transmission data, the UE selects a SDT or non-SDT process according to an RSRP threshold or/and a data volume threshold configured by a network device)
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. ( U.S. PGPUB 2024/0276470), Zhang hereinafter, in view of Wien (U.S. PGPub 2024/0179757), Wien hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 4, Zhang teaches claim 3.
Yet, Zhang does not expressly teach wherein the event of the CG-SDT comprises one or more of the following:
after sending data to the network device on a CG resource, the terminal device receives no feedback information;
when the terminal device sends data to the network device on a CG resource, a signal value of a target cell is less than a preset threshold, or a signal value of a target beam is less than a preset threshold;
a quantity of times the terminal device sends data to the network device on a CG resource reaches a maximum quantity of retransmissions;
after sending a layer 3 L3 message and/or data to the network device on a CG resource, the terminal device starts a CG-SDT timer, and before the CG-SDT timer expires, receives no acknowledgment message, layer 2 L2 message, L3 message, or scheduled data from the network device; or
a timing advance TA timer of the terminal device expires, and a CG resource becomes unavailable.
However, in the analogous art, Wen explicitly discloses wherein the event of the CG-SDT comprises one or more of the following: after sending data to the network device on a CG resource, the terminal device receives no feedback information; (Alternative)
when the terminal device sends data to the network device on a CG resource, a signal value of a target cell is less than a preset threshold, or a signal value of a target beam is less than a preset threshold; ([0132] (307b) An eighth value, where the eighth value is an RSRP value obtained through measurement of the terminal based on the selected SSB. ... [0134] In this case, if no SSB can meet a threshold when the terminal selects an SSB, for CG SDT, any SSB is not selected to perform the CG SDT. However, for RA SDT, if no SSB meets the threshold, an SSB may be arbitrarily selected to perform the RA SDT. In this case, for the RA SDT, it appears that the eighth value actually measured by the terminal is higher than or lower than an SSB threshold (namely, the seventh value); and for the CG SDT, the eighth value actually measured by the terminal is only higher than the preset SSB threshold. [0135] Based on this, in a possible implementation, for the RA SDT, the terminal may send third indication information to the network side device, to indicate a relationship between the eighth value and the seventh value to the network side device. For example, the RSRP value obtained through the measurement of the terminal based on the selected SSB is higher than or lower than the seventh value. In this embodiment, that flag=1 indicates higher, that flag=0 indicates lower, which are indicated by 1 bit.)
a quantity of times the terminal device sends data to the network device on a CG resource reaches a maximum quantity of retransmissions; (Alternative)
after sending a layer 3 L3 message and/or data to the network device on a CG resource, the terminal device starts a CG-SDT timer, and before the CG-SDT timer expires, receives no acknowledgment message, layer 2 L2 message, L3 message, or scheduled data from the network device; or (Alternative)
a timing advance TA timer of the terminal device expires, and a CG resource becomes unavailable. (Alternative)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhang’s Data transmission method, device and storage medium to include Wen's measurement threshold to maximize battery saving.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. ( U.S. PGPUB 2024/0276470), Zhang hereinafter, in view of Tsai (U.S. PGPub 20220361277) Tsai hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 5, Zhang teaches claim 3.
Yet, Zhang does not expressly teach wherein the event of the RACH-SDT comprises one or more of the following: a reason for failing to send Msg3 and data to the network device by the terminal device; or
a quantity of times the terminal device fails to send Msg3 and data to the network device and/or a total quantity of times the terminal device sends Msg3 and the data to the network device, wherein the total quantity of times comprises the quantity of times of failing to send Msg3 and the data and a quantity of times of successfully sending Msg3 and the data
However, in the analogous art, Tsai explicitly discloses wherein the event of the RACH-SDT comprises one or more of the following: a reason for failing to send Msg3 and data to the network device by the terminal device; (Alternative).
or
a quantity of times the terminal device fails to send Msg3 and data to the network device and/or a total quantity of times the terminal device sends Msg3 and the data to the network device, wherein the total quantity of times comprises the quantity of times of failing to send Msg3 and the data and a quantity of times of successfully sending Msg3 and the data (paragraph [0150] In action 120, the UE performing the SDT procedure may fall back/switch to the RRC connection resume procedure. For example, when the UE receives an indication from the NW (e.g., an RRC resume/RRC Release message), the UE may stop/terminate/complete the SDT procedure and then may initiate an RRC connection resume procedure. In another example, if the initial UL transmission (e.g., in MSGA/MSG3/CG resources) fails a configured number of times, the UE may stop/terminate/complete the SDT procedure and then may initiate an RRC connection resume procedure.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhang’s Data transmission method, device and storage medium to include Tsai's measurement of quantity of times to better monitor and optimize the RACH-SDT procedure.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being over Zhang et al. ( U.S. PGPUB 2024/0276470), Zhang hereinafter, in view of Jeon et al. (U.S. PGPub 2024/0032134), Jeon hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 9, Zhang teaches claim 8.
Yet, Zhang does not expressly teach wherein the reason for entering the idle state by the terminal device comprises: the terminal device triggers radio link failure or the terminal device triggers cell reselection.
However, in the analogous art, Jeon explicitly discloses the reason for entering the idle state by the terminal device comprises: the terminal device triggers radio link failure or the terminal device triggers cell reselection ([0332] … Determination of a failure and/or unsuccessful completion of the SDT procedure may result in transitioning the wireless device to an RRC idle state. …)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhang’s Data transmission method, device and storage medium to include Jeon's entrance of RRC idle state because of failure in SDT procedure to maximally conserve battery power.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. ( U.S. PGPUB 2024/0276470), Zhang hereinafter, in view of Kim et al. (U.S. PGPub 2025/0048475), Kim hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 10, Zhang teaches claim 8.
Yet, Zhang does not expressly teach wherein the reason for terminating the SDT session by the terminal device comprises:
the terminal device receives a first indication message from the network device, wherein the first indication message is used to indicate the terminal device to enter the idle state or an inactive state; or
an SDT timer of the terminal device expires.
However, in the analogous art, Kim explicitly discloses wherein the reason for terminating the SDT session by the terminal device comprises: the terminal device receives a first indication message from the network device, wherein the first indication message is used to indicate the terminal device to enter the idle state or an inactive state; ([0461] … until the last serving base station decides to terminate the SDT session and move the UE back to RRC inactive by sending RRC release message. …)
or
an SDT timer of the terminal device expires (Alternative).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhang’s Data transmission method, device and storage medium to include Kim's reception of indication to enter RRC inactive by receiving RRC release message to achieve reduction in signaling latency.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. ( U.S. PGPUB 2024/0276470), Zhang hereinafter, in view of Chandrashekar et al. (U.S. PGPub 20220086732), Chandrashekar hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 11, Zhang teaches claim 8.
Yet, Zhang does not expressly teach wherein the event that triggers the terminal device to request resumption of the radio resource control RRC connected state from the network device comprises at least one of the following: a non-SDT service arrives, the terminal device triggers cell selection or cell reselection, and in the Multi-SIM scenario, the terminal device switches from the second network to the first network.
However, in the analogous art, Chandrashekar explicitly discloses wherein the event that triggers the terminal device to request resumption of the radio resource control RRC connected state from the network device comprises at least one of the following: a non-SDT service arrives, the terminal device triggers cell selection or cell reselection, and in the Multi-SIM scenario, the terminal device switches from the second network to the first network ([0038] A UE in inactive state can request to resume its suspended RRC connection prior to UL data transmission, in response to a paging message for DL data reception, for RNAU procedure which is triggered periodically by the UE, and/or when the UE reselects a cell outside the configured RNA. ...).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhang’s Data transmission method, device and storage medium to include Chandrashekar's RRC Connection resumption because of reselection to achieve lower latency.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al, (U.S. PGPub 2024/0276470), Zhang hereinafter, in view of Tseng et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0088189), Tseng hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 22, Zhang teaches claim 21.
Yet, Zhang does not expressly teach wherein the recording, by the terminal device based on the third message, the SDT event and/or a measurement result based on the MDT configuration parameter, to obtain a recording result comprises:
recording, by the terminal device based on the third message, the SDT event and/or the measurement result based on the MDT configuration parameter;
when the SDT timer expires, stopping recording, by the terminal device, the SDT event and/or the measurement result based on the MDT configuration parameter; and
obtaining, by the terminal device, the recording result based on the SDT event and/or the measurement result based on the MDT configuration parameter that are/is recorded in a running period of the SDT timer.
However, in the analogous art, Tseng explicitly discloses wherein the recording, by the terminal device based on the third message, the SDT event and/or a measurement result based on the MDT configuration parameter, to obtain a recording result comprises: recording, by the terminal device based on the third message, the SDT event and/or the measurement result based on the MDT configuration parameter; ([0068] The impact of the UE/RAN on the measurements during SDT configurations and SDT procedures are described below. Here, proposed designs are discussed based on the idle/inactive measurement. However, the proposed designs would not be limited to the idle/inactive measurement and may also be applicable to other scenarios (e.g., logged measurement).)
when the SDT timer expires, stopping recording, by the terminal device, the SDT event and/or the measurement result based on the MDT configuration parameter; and ([0070] In addition, a measurement duration may be configured within the idle/inactive measurement configuration. After receiving the measurement duration, the UE may start a timer (e.g., T331) by setting its initial value to the received measurement duration. The UE may store the received idle/inactive measurement configuration and then implement/perform idle/inactive measurement while the timer (e.g., T331) is still counting-down/running. Then, if the timer (e.g., T331) is not running (e.g., stops or expires), the UE may drop/release the stored idle/inactive measurement configuration, and then the UE may stop performing the idle/inactive measurement.)
obtaining, by the terminal device, the recording result based on the SDT event and/or the measurement result based on the MDT configuration parameter that are/is recorded in a running period of the SDT timer ([0070] In addition, a measurement duration may be configured within the idle/inactive measurement configuration. After receiving the measurement duration, the UE may start a timer (e.g., T331) by setting its initial value to the received measurement duration. The UE may store the received idle/inactive measurement configuration and then implement/perform idle/inactive measurement while the timer (e.g., T331) is still counting-down/running. Then, if the timer (e.g., T331) is not running (e.g., stops or expires), the UE may drop/release the stored idle/inactive measurement configuration, and then the UE may stop performing the idle/inactive measurement.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhang’s Data transmission method, device and storage medium to include Tseng’s measurement logging based on running timer to achieve energy (battery) efficient idle mode network monitoring.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This includes:
U.S. PGPUB 2025/0119257 which describes method and device for transmitting or receiving sounding reference signal in wireless communication system
U.S. PGPUB 2024/0365157 which describes communication method and device
U.S. PGPUB 2022/0361277 which describes method of small data transmission and related device
/A.L.O./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472