DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 11/27/2024 are acknowledged and accepted.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: “comprises at least two lens” should read “comprises at least two lenses” and “two adjacent lenses of the at least one lens” should read “two adjacent lenses of the at least two lenses”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9-13, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yan (CN113641063A, of reference in the IDS dated 11/27/2024, English translation attached).
With respect to Claim 1, Yan discloses a light homogenizing assembly (Fig. 6-- light homogenizing device; [0047]), characterized in that, the light homogenizing assembly (Fig. 6-- light homogenizing device; [0047]) comprises a first light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- element 2a, first light homogenizing element; [0108]), a light-spot shaping lens group (Fig. 6-- element 4, first lens group; [0108]), and a second light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- elements 3a and 5; [0122]) sequentially arranged along an optical path;
wherein the first light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- element 2a, first light homogenizing element; [0108]) is configured to homogenize light emitted by a light source (Fig. 6-- element 1, light source; [0101]);
the light-spot shaping lens group (Fig. 6-- element 4, first lens group; [0108]) comprises at least one light-spot shaping lens (Fig. 6-- right hand lens in element 4, first lens group (Fig. 6-- element 5, second lens group; [0122]); [0108]), the at least one light-spot shaping lens (Fig. 6-- right hand lens in element 4, first lens group (Fig. 6-- element 5, second lens group; [0122]); [0108]) is configured to shape a light spot of light emitted from (Fig. 6—the right hand lens in element 4 converges light emitted from element 2a) the first light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- element 2a, first light homogenizing element; [0108]) and emit the light (Fig. 6—the right hand lens in element 4 allows light to pass through to element 3a) to a light incident side of the, second light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- elements 3a and 5; [0122]); and
the second light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- elements 3a and 5; [0122]) is configured to homogenize light emitted (Fig. 6—element 3a receives and homogenizes light from element 4) from the light-spot shaping lens group (Fig. 6-- element 4, first lens group; [0108]).
With respect to Claim 2, Yan discloses the light homogenizing assembly (Fig. 6-- light homogenizing device; [0047]) according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the second light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- elements 3a and 5; [0122]) comprises a light homogenizing element (Fig. 6-- element 3a, third light homogenizing element; [0122]) and a first lens group (Fig. 6-- element 5, second lens group; [0122]), the first lens group (Fig. 6-- element 5, second lens group; [0122]) comprises at least one lens (Fig. 6—element 5 contains two lenses), and the lens is configured to focus or collimate light (Fig. 6 and [0067]: element 5 is a collimating lens group); and the light homogenizing element (Fig. 6-- element 3a, third light homogenizing element; [0122]) is on a light incident side (Fig. 6—element 3a emits light to pass through element 5) of the first lens group (Fig. 6-- element 5, second lens group; [0122]) and configured to homogenize the light emitted from (Fig. 6—element 3a homogenizes light emitted from element 4) the light-spot shaping lens group (Fig. 6-- element 4, first lens group; [0108]).
With respect to Claim 3, Yan discloses the light homogenizing assembly (Fig. 6-- light homogenizing device; [0047]) according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the second light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- elements 3a and 5; [0122]) comprises a light homogenizing element (Fig. 6-- element 3a, third light homogenizing element; [0122]) and a first lens group (Fig. 6-- element 5, second lens group; [0122]), the first lens group (Fig. 6-- element 5, second lens group; [0122]) comprises at least one lens (Fig. 6—element 5 contains two lenses), and the lens is configured to focus or collimate the light (Fig. 6 and [0067]: element 5 is a collimating lens group); and the light homogenizing element (Fig. 6-- element 3a, third light homogenizing element; [0122]) is on a light exit side ([0129]: the order of the light homogenizing member 3 and the collimating lens group 5 is not limited, element 5 may be arranged such that it emits light onto element 3) of the first lens group (Fig. 6-- element 5, second lens group; [0122]) and configured to homogenize light emitted from the first lens group (Fig. 6-- element 5, second lens group; [0122]).
With respect to Claim 4, Yan discloses the light homogenizing assembly (Fig. 6-- light homogenizing device; [0047]) according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the second light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- elements 3a and 5; [0122]) comprises a light homogenizing element (Fig. 6-- element 3a, third light homogenizing element; [0122]) and a first lens group (Fig. 6-- element 5, second lens group; [0122]), the first lens group (Fig. 6-- element 5, second lens group; [0122]) comprises at least two lens, and the lens is configured to focus or collimate the light; and the light homogenizing element (Fig. 6-- element 3a, third light homogenizing element; [0122]) is between ([0129]: the order of the light homogenizing member 3 and the collimating lens group 5 is not limited, element 5 may be arranged such that a first lens emits light onto element 3 and a second lens receives light from element 3) two adjacent lenses of the at least one lens arranged at intervals of the first lens group (Fig. 6-- element 5, second lens group; [0122]), so as, to homogenize light emitted from one of the two adjacent lenses and emit the light to the other of the two adjacent lenses.
With respect to Claim 5, Yan discloses the light homogenizing assembly (Fig. 6-- light homogenizing device; [0047]) according to claim 2, and further discloses wherein the at least one lens (Fig. 6—element 5 contains two lenses) comprises a first lens (Fig. 6— left hand lens of element 5) and a second lens (Fig. 6— right hand lens of element 5), and a focal point of the first lens coincides with a focal point of the second lens (Fig. 6— right hand lens of element 5), the light homogenizing element (Fig. 6-- element 3a, third light homogenizing element; [0122]) is between the first lens (Fig. 6— left hand lens of element 5) and the second lens (Fig. 6— right hand lens of element 5) and at the focal point of the first lens (Fig. 6— left hand lens of element 5), the first lens (Fig. 6— left hand lens of element 5) is on a light incident side ([0129]: the order of the light homogenizing member 3 and the collimating lens group 5 is not limited, element 5 may be arranged such that it emits light onto element 3) of the light homogenizing element (Fig. 6-- element 3a, third light homogenizing element; [0122]) and configured to converge the light emitted from the light-spot shaping lens group (Fig. 6-- element 4, first lens group; [0108]), and the second lens (Fig. 6— right hand lens of element 5) is on a light exit side (Fig. 6—the second lens receives light from element 3a) of the light homogenizing element (Fig. 6-- element 3a, third light homogenizing element; [0122]) and configured to collimate (Fig. 6 and [0067]: element 5 is a collimating lens group) the light emitted from the light homogenizing element (Fig. 6-- element 3a, third light homogenizing element; [0122]).
With respect to Claim 6, Yan discloses the light homogenizing assembly (Fig. 6-- light homogenizing device; [0047]) according to claim 5, and further discloses further comprising a collimating lens group (Fig. 6-- element 20, fourth lens group; [0124]) and a third light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- element 2b, second light homogenizing element; [0122]) configured for homogenizing light ([0122]: element 2b is a light homogenizing element), the third light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- element 2b, second light homogenizing element; [0122]) is on a light exit side (Fig. 6-- element 2b receives light from element 5) of the first lens group (Fig. 6-- element 5, second lens group; [0122]) or the light exit side of the light homogenizing element (Fig. 6-- element 3a, third light homogenizing element; [0122]), and the collimating lens group (Fig. 6-- element 20, fourth lens group; [0124]) is on a light exit side (Fig. 6—element 20 receives light from element 2b) of the third light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- element 2b, second light homogenizing element; [0122]) and comprises at least one collimating lens (Fig. 6—left hand lens in element 20, fourth lens group; [0124]).
With respect to Claim 9, Yan discloses the light homogenizing assembly (Fig. 6-- light homogenizing device; [0047]) according to claim 2, and further discloses wherein the first lens group (Fig. 6-- element 5, second lens group; [0122]) comprises a first lens (Fig. 6— left hand lens of element 5), the first lens (Fig. 6— left hand lens of element 5) is configured to converge light (Fig. 6—the first lens is convex), the light homogenizing element (Fig. 6-- element 3a, third light homogenizing element; [0122]) is on a light exit side ([0129]: the order of the light homogenizing member 3 and the collimating lens group 5 is not limited, element 5 may be arranged such that it emits light onto element 3) of the first lens (Fig. 6— left hand lens of element 5) and at a focus point of the first lens (Fig. 6— left hand lens of element 5); the light homogenizing assembly (Fig. 6-- light homogenizing device; [0047]) further comprises a third light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- element 2b, second light homogenizing element; [0122]), and the third light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- element 2b, second light homogenizing element; [0122]) is on a light exit side (Fig. 6—element 2b receives light from element 3) of the light homogenizing element (Fig. 6-- element 3a, third light homogenizing element; [0122]) and disposed close to the focus point of the first lens (Fig. 6— left hand lens of element 5).
With respect to Claim 10, Yan discloses the light homogenizing assembly (Fig. 6-- light homogenizing device; [0047]) according to claim 1, and further discloses further comprising a diffusion sheet ([0103: a diffuser assembly may be placed between element 1 and 3), wherein the diffusion sheet ([0103: a diffuser assembly may be placed between element 1 and 3) is on a light incident side of the first light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- element 2a, first light homogenizing element; [0108]) or a light exit side ([0103: a diffuser assembly may be placed between element 1 and 3) of the first light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- element 2a, first light homogenizing element; [0108]).
With respect to Claim 11, Yan discloses the light homogenizing assembly (Fig. 6-- light homogenizing device; [0047]) according to claim 1, and further discloses further comprising a diffusion sheet ([0103: a diffuser assembly may be placed between element 1 and 3), wherein the diffusion sheet ([0103: a diffuser assembly may be placed between element 1 and 3) is on the light incident side ([0103: a diffuser assembly may be placed between element 1 and 3) of the second light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- elements 3a and 5; [0122]) or a light exit side of the second light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- elements 3a and 5; [0122]).
With respect to Claim 12, Yan discloses the light homogenizing assembly (Fig. 6-- light homogenizing device; [0047]) according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein each of the first light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- element 2a, first light homogenizing element; [0108]) and the second light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- elements 3a and 5; [0122]) is configured as a compound eye lens ([0115]: element 2 may be a compound eye lens).
With respect to Claim 13, Yan discloses a projection optical unit ([0174]: projector optical engine) comprising a light source (Fig. 6-- element 1, light source; [0101]), an imaging assembly (Fig. 6-- elements 8 and 9; [0120]), and a light homogenizing assembly (Fig. 6-- light homogenizing device; [0047]), wherein the light source (Fig. 6-- element 1, light source; [0101]) is on a light incident side (Fig. 6—element 1 emits light into the light homogenizing device) of the light homogenizing assembly (Fig. 6-- light homogenizing device; [0047]), and the imaging assembly (Fig. 6-- elements 8 and 9; [0120]) is on a light exit side (Fig. 6—element 8 and 9 receive light from the light homogenizing device) of the light homogenizing assembly (Fig. 6-- light homogenizing device; [0047]) to perform imaging processing ([0120: includes an LCOS imaging chip) on light emitted from the light homogenizing assembly (Fig. 6-- light homogenizing device; [0047]);
the light homogenizing assembly (Fig. 6-- light homogenizing device; [0047]) comprises a first light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- element 2a, first light homogenizing element; [0108]), a light-spot shaping lens group (Fig. 6-- element 4, first lens group; [0108]), and a second light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- element 2b, second light homogenizing element; [0122]) sequentially arranged along an optical path:
the first light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- element 2a, first light homogenizing element; [0108]) is configured to homogenize light emitted by the light source (Fig. 6-- element 1, light source; [0101]);
the light-spot shaping lens group (Fig. 6-- element 4, first lens group; [0108]) comprises at least one light-spot shaping lens (Fig. 6-- right hand lens in element 4), first lens group (Fig. 6-- element 5, second lens group; [0122]); [0108]), the at least one light-spot shaping lens (Fig. 6-- right hand lens in element 4), first lens group (Fig. 6-- element 5, second lens group; [0122]); [0108]) is configured to shape a light-spot of light emitted (Fig. 6—element 5 receives light from element 2a) from the first light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- element 2a, first light homogenizing element; [0108]) and emit the light to a light incident side (Fig. 6—element 2b receives light from element 5) of the second light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- element 2b, second light homogenizing element; [0122]); and
the second light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- element 2b, second light homogenizing element; [0122]) is configured to homogenize light emitted (Fig. 6-- Element 2b receives light from element 4) from the light-spot shaping lens group (Fig. 6-- element 4, first lens group; [0108]).
With respect to Claim 15, Yan discloses a projection device comprising a projection optical unit ([0174]: projector optical engine), the projection optical unit ([0174]: projector optical engine) comprising a light source (Fig. 6-- element 1, light source; [0101]), an imaging assembly (Fig. 6-- elements 8 and 9; [0120]), and a light homogenizing assembly (Fig. 6-- light homogenizing device; [0047]), wherein the light source (Fig. 6-- element 1, light source; [0101]) is on a light incident side (Fig. 6—element 1 emits light into the light homogenizing device) of the light homogenizing assembly (Fig. 6-- light homogenizing device; [0047]), and the imaging assembly (Fig. 6-- elements 8 and 9; [0120]) is on a light exit side (Fig. 6—element 8 and 9 receive light from the light homogenizing device) of the light homogenizing assembly (Fig. 6-- light homogenizing device; [0047]) to perform imaging processing ([0120: includes an LCOS imaging chip) on light emitted from the light homogenizing assembly (Fig. 6-- light homogenizing device; [0047]);
the light homogenizing assembly (Fig. 6-- light homogenizing device; [0047]) comprises a first light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- element 2a, first light homogenizing element; [0108]), a light-spot shaping lens group (Fig. 6-- element 4, first lens group; [0108]), and a second light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- element 2b, second light homogenizing element; [0122]) sequentially arranged along an optical path:
the first light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- element 2a, first light homogenizing element; [0108]) is configured to homogenize light emitted by the light source (Fig. 6-- element 1, light source; [0101]);
the light-spot shaping lens group (Fig. 6-- element 4, first lens group; [0108]) comprises at least one light-spot shaping lens (Fig. 6-- right hand lens in element 4), first lens group (Fig. 6-- element 5, second lens group; [0122]); [0108]), the at least one light-spot shaping lens (Fig. 6-- right hand lens in element 4), first lens group (Fig. 6-- element 5, second lens group; [0122]); [0108]) is configured to shape a light-spot of light emitted (Fig. 6—element 5 receives light from element 2a) from the first light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- element 2a, first light homogenizing element; [0108]) and emit the light to a light incident side (Fig. 6—element 2b receives light from element 5) of the second light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- element 2b, second light homogenizing element; [0122]); and
the second light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- element 2b, second light homogenizing element; [0122]) is configured to homogenize light emitted (Fig. 6-- Element 2b receives light from element 4) from the light-spot shaping lens group (Fig. 6-- element 4, first lens group; [0108]).
With respect to Claim 16, Yan discloses the light homogenizing assembly (Fig. 6-- light homogenizing device; [0047]) according to claim 2, and further discloses further comprising a diffusion sheet ([0103: a diffuser assembly may be placed between element 1 and 3), wherein the diffusion sheet ([0103: a diffuser assembly may be placed between element 1 and 3) is on the light incident side ([0103: a diffuser assembly may be placed between element 1 and 3) of the second light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- elements 3a and 5; [0122]) or a light exit side of the second light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- elements 3a and 5; [0122]).
With respect to Claim 17, Yan discloses the projection optical unit ([0174]: projector optical engine) according to claim 13, and further discloses wherein the light homogenizing assembly (Fig. 6-- light homogenizing device; [0047]) further comprises a diffusion sheet ([0103: a diffuser assembly may be placed between element 1 and 2b), wherein the diffusion sheet ([0103: a diffuser assembly may be placed between element 1 and 2b) is on the light incident side ([0103: a diffuser assembly may be placed between element 1 and 2b) of the second light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- element 2b, second light homogenizing element; [0122]) or a light exit side of the second light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- element 2b, second light homogenizing element; [0122]).
With respect to Claim 18, Yan discloses the projection optical unit ([0174]: projector optical engine) according to claim 13, and further discloses wherein each of the first light homogenizing member and the second light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- elements 2, 3a and 5; [0122]) is configured as a compound eye lens ([0115]: element 2 may be a compound eye lens).
With respect to Claim 19, Yan discloses the projection device according to claim 15, and further discloses wherein the light homogenizing assembly (Fig. 6-- light homogenizing device; [0047]) further comprises a diffusion sheet ([0103: a diffuser assembly may be placed between element 1 and 3), wherein the diffusion sheet ([0103: a diffuser assembly may be placed between element 1 and 3) is on the light incident side ([0103: a diffuser assembly may be placed between element 1 and 3) of the second light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- elements 3a and 5; [0122]) or a light exit side of the second light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- elements 3a and 5; [0122]).
With respect to Claim 20, Yan discloses the projection device according to claim 15, and further discloses wherein each of the first light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- element 2a, first light homogenizing element; [0108]) and the second light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- element 2b, second light homogenizing element; [0122]) is configured as a compound eye lens ([0115]: element 2 may be a compound eye lens).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan (CN113641063A, of reference in the IDS dated 11/27/2024, English translation attached) in view of Gross (Handbook of Optical Systems Volume 3, 2007).
With respect to Claim 7, Yan discloses the light homogenizing assembly (Fig. 6-- light homogenizing device; [0047]) according to claim 6, and further discloses the first lens group (Fig. 6-- element 5, second lens group; [0122]) and the third light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- element 2b, second light homogenizing element; [0122]) is on a light exit side ([0129]: the order of the light homogenizing member 3 and the collimating lens group 5 is not limited, element 5 may be arranged such that it emits light onto element 3) of the first lens group (Fig. 6-- element 5, second lens group; [0122]). However, Yan does not explicitly disclose wherein the first lens group further comprises a third lens, the third lens is on a light exit side of the second lens and configured to converge light, and the third light homogenizing member is on a light exit side of the third lens and located at a focal point of the third lens.
Yan and Gross are related as both pertaining to the field of optical systems. Gross teaches (page, 378 section 33.1.4) that inserting a powerless thin or thick meniscus lens is amongst the operations that an ordinary skilled artisan would typically employ in order to find a lens design with better performance. Inserting a powerless thin or thick meniscus lens involves adding a lens into the system while keeping the focal power of the lens system the same (“zero power operations”, “do not introduce any refractive power”). Gross teaches that inserting a powerless thin or thick meniscus lens can be done without any great perturbation of the existing setup.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to insert a third convex meniscus lens into the first lens group of Yan, because Gross teaches that inserting a powerless thin or thick meniscus lens is amongst the operations that an ordinary skilled artisan would typically employ in order to find a lens design with better performance (Gross, page 378, section 33.1.4). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when making this modification because Gross teaches that inserting a powerless thin or thick meniscus lens does not introduce any refractive power changes and can be done without any great perturbation of the existing setup (Gross, page 378, section 33.1.4).
With respect to Claim 8, Yan and Gross discloses the light homogenizing assembly (Fig. 6-- light homogenizing device; [0047]) according to claim 7, and Yan further discloses wherein the first light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- element 2a, first light homogenizing element; [0108]) comprises a compound eye lens ([0115]: element 2b may be a compound eye lens), the light homogenizing element (Fig. 6-- element 3a, third light homogenizing element; [0122]) comprises a diffusion sheet ([0103: a diffuser assembly may be placed between element 1 and 3), and the third light homogenizing member (Fig. 6-- element 2b, second light homogenizing element; [0122]) comprises a light rod (Fig. 6 and [0115]: element 3 is a light rod).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan (CN113641063A, of reference in the IDS dated 11/27/2024, English translation attached) in view of Janssens (US20140028985A1).
With respect to Claim 14, Yan discloses the projection optical unit ([0174]: projector optical engine) according to claim 13, and further discloses wherein the light source (Fig. 6-- element 1, light source; [0101]) comprises a plurality of light emitting elements ([0018]: element 1 includes multiple light-emitting units), each of the plurality of light emitting elements ([0018]: element 1 includes multiple light-emitting units) is configured to emit light of different colors ([0130]: element 1 emits three primary colors).
However, Yan does not explicitly disclose a light combining element, the light combining element is configured to combine the light of different colors emitted by the plurality of light emitting elements into white light. Yan and Janssens are related as both pertaining to the field of laser projectors. Janssens does disclose a projection optical unit (Fig. 3—element 5, projection system; [0042]) wherein the light source (Fig. 2-- element 12, light source apparatus; [0042]) comprises a light combining element ([0049]: light combiner), the light combining element is configured to combine the light of different colors emitted by the plurality of light emitting elements ([0049]: three or more laser sources) into white light ([0049]: light combiner is used to combine three different colors into white light). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the projection optical unit of Yan with the light combiner of Janssens in order to create a device which is able to homogenize all three primary colors at the same time (Janssens, [0049]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kamm (US 20080204847 A1) discloses aspects of the instant invention, see Fig. 1 and [0067].
/MACKENZI BOURQUINE/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872