DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (CN106492469A) and Toda (JP2004283476A). Guo discloses an electronic device (Fig. 1) with a power storage section (7) that stores and provides power to motors (8) for rotating a plurality of wheels (9), an image sensor (10) that captures an image of a code at a periphery of the electronic device, a display section (4) that displays an image corresponding to the captured image and a control section (6) that controls operation of the components of the electronic device (page 3). Guo discloses the basic inventive concept with the exception of including a power generation section that generates power and the power storage section storing the power generated by the power generation section. Toda discloses an electronic device with a plurality of wheels (4) driven by motors (9) and a controller (16) for controlling accessory members (5,12) wherein the motors are part of a power generation section that generates power that is then stored in a power storage section (13) that can be used to power the motors and accessories when no power is generated (paragraphs 16-20, 22 & 25). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electronic device of Guo to include the power generation and power storage section as taught by Toda for the predictable result of providing enhanced utility and functionality by enabling the powering of components without having to repeatedly change out batteries or perform separate charging operations.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo and Toda as applied above and further in view of Couture (2009/0314554). Guo and Toda disclose the basic inventive concept, with the exception of having a first control section that monitors the amount of stored power and a second control section for driving the accessories, wherein the accessories are only powered when the value is equal or greater to a predetermined value. Couture discloses an electronic device having a first control section (5411) that monitors an amount of power available and a second control section (55) for controlling operations of the electronic device, wherein the first control section supplies power to the second control section when the predetermined value of power is greater than a predetermined value (paragraph 195). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Guo and Toda to have first and second control sections as taught by Couture for the predictable result of providing enhanced functionality and utility to the device by increasing efficiency of control operations since the operations are managed based on the power available.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo, Toda and Couture as applied above and further in view of Tezuka (WO2021/063721A1). Guo, Toda and Couture disclose the basic inventive concept with the exception of the electronic device having an inertial measurement unit that is capable of driving the second control section when stationary. Tezuka discloses an electronic device (110) with an image sensor for capturing a code (132) that further includes an inertial measurement unit in the form of an accelerometer for determining motion of the electronic device and wherein the device is configured to be held stationary relative to a code to allow the image sensor to capture the code (Fig. 1, page 7 line 30 – page 8 line 24). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art from the teaching of Tezuka to include an inertial measurement unit to the device of Guo, Toda and Couture for the predictable result of providing enhanced functionality to the device by enabling more dynamic interaction which enhances game play characteristics and functions.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo, Toda and Couture as applied above for claim 5 and further in view of Goff (2012/0315820). Guo, Toda and Couture disclose the basic inventive concept, with the exception of the amount of power controlling an imaging interval or contents displayed on the display section. Goff discloses an electronic device with a display section (20) that is configured for detecting an amount of power stored in a power storage section (64) and controlling content displayed on the display section based on the power storage (Fig. 1, paragraphs 37-38). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Guo, Toda and Couture to control contents on the display in response to an amount of power stored in the power storage section as taught by Goff for the predictable result of providing enhanced functionality to the device by providing useful information to a user while the device is in use.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo and Toda as applied above for claim 1 and further in view of Lee (KR20190066780A). Guo and Toda disclose the basic inventive concept with the exception of the display section including electronic paper. Lee discloses an electronic device with a display (111) for displaying content that can take the form of electronic paper (Fig. 1, page 3 paragraph 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the display of Guo with the electronic paper display of Lee since both disclose means for displaying content and substituting one display element for another would achieve the predictable result of displaying content in a known manner.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo and Toda as applied above for claim 1 and further in view of Bouchard (WO2021/202728A1). Guo and Toda disclose the basic inventive concept with the exception of creating an information processing system by including an information processing apparatus with a camera, a recognition section and a display. Bouchard discloses an electronic device (102) with a display that can be triggered during operation to display an image (400) responsive to the triggering in the form of a code that can be processed by an information processing apparatus (410) such as a smartphone with a camera (412) and a display using a recognition section that can recognize the captured code image and display an image on its display responsive thereto (Fig. 4, paragraphs 21 & 42). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Guo and Toda with an information processing apparatus as taught by Bouchard for the predictable result of providing enhanced functionality and utility to the device by enabling a more dynamic and interesting play experience with increased interactivity and play effects.
Conclusion
/A.M.H/Examiner, Art Unit 3711 /EUGENE L KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3711