DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the first filter" and "the second filter". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10, 13, 15-17, 20-21, 25-28, and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (US 5372426 A) in view of D2 (US 5877500 A).
With regards to claim 1 and 7, D1 discloses a fire detection system comprising:
a plurality of detectors 344;
a plurality of filters 342;
a non-imaging optical concentrator 320, 420 having an entrance arranged to receive light incident on the fire detector and an exit arranged to deliver the light to a coupled detector (Figs. 7 and 8; column 13, line 32 – column 14, line 2); and
wherein a first of the plurality of filters transmits light of a first wavelength range (blocks light with wavelengths not in the first wavelength range) to a first of the detectors, and a second of the plurality of filters transmits light of a second wavelength range (blocks light with wavelengths not in the second wavelength range) to a second of the detectors, wherein the second wavelength range is different from the first wavelength range (Abstract; column 8, lines 19-41).
D1 does not expressly teach a plurality of non-imaging optical connectors. However, D2 teaches a multichannel infrared detector comprising a plurality of detectors 102, each associated with a respective optical concentrator assembly 104 (Fig. 2; column 2, lines 35-40). It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify D1 with the configuration taught by D2 in order to increase the energy density incident upon the detector elements while improving SNR and reducing crosstalk between detector channels.
With regards to claim 2, D1 discloses wherein the detectors are pyroelectric detectors (column 10, lines 26-27).
With regards to claim 3 and 13, D1 discloses wherein each detector has a receiving surface comprising a layer of pyroelectric material (column 10, lines 26-27) wherein the receiving surface of each of the plurality of pyroelectric detectors is outside of the coupled non-imaging optical concentrator and at least 150 um from the exit of the coupled non-imaging optical concentrator (Fig. 7).
With regards to claim 4, D1, as modified by D2, wherein the filters 342 are positioned between the exits of the non-imaging optical concentrators and the detectors 344 (Fig. 7).
With regards to claim 5, D1 does not teach wherein the filters are positioned in front of the entrances of the non-imaging optical concentrators, although D2 does (Fig. 3). It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify D1 with the claimed configuration as taught by D2 since optical filters perform the same wavelength-function regardless of their particular location along the optical path.
With regards to claim 6, D1 does not teach the claimed configuration, although such a modification would have been known and considered obvious for the same reasons provided above.
With regards to claim 8, D1 discloses the claimed first and second wavelength ranges (column 18, lines 34-35).
With regards to claim 10, D1 does not teach a rectangular cross-section. However, it would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the cross-section of the concentrators with a rectangular cross-section since the geometry of the concentrator was recognized in the art as a result-effective design parameter selected based on detector arrangement and packaging requirements. Selecting a known geometric shape from a finite number of predictable options constitutes no more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.
With regards to claims 15-17, D2 teaches the claimed configurations (Fig. 2).
With regards to claim 20, D1 discloses wherein the detectors comprise a casing, the casing comprises an entrance window 343 which is coupled to the exit of a non-imaging optical concentrator (Fig. 7).
With regards to claim 21, D1 does not teach wherein the entrance window comprises one of the plurality of filters. However, it would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify D1 with the claimed entrance window in order to reduce component count, simplify assembly, and maintain spectral selectivity.
With regards to claim 25, D1 does not teach the claimed auxiliary pyroelectric detector. However, D1 does teach a reference detector channel, demonstrating that auxiliary detector channels in addition to the primary spectral channels were known (column 9, lines 14-30; column 10, lines 33-35). It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify D1 with the claimed detector in order to obtain a wider field of view and a reference measurement, representing a predictable variation of the known detector architecture.
With regards to claim 26, D1 does not teach the claimed detector. However, those skilled in the art recognize that the FOV of a non-imaging optical concentrator is determined by known geometric parameters of the concentrator and represents optimization of a recognized result-effective variable. It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify on concentrator with a larger FOV than another to obtain a desired gain.
With regards to claim 27, D1 does not teach the claimed wavelength range. However, it would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify D1 with the claimed wavelength range since pyroelectric detectors were conventionally used for detection of human and animal presence as desired.
With regards to claim 28, D1 discloses wherein the plurality of detectors comprise a semiconductor material (column 10, lines 33-35).
With regards to claim 32, D1 discloses a method comprising the steps of:
a) collecting light (Abstract; column 8, lines 19-41);
b) converting the collected light into an electrical signal (column 17, lines 59-66);
c) providing a calculated value for the light collected at each detector (column 18, lines 1-3);
d) comparing differences of the calculated values with reference values (column 12, lines 3-9);
e) using the comparisons to classify the signal as indicating or not indicating the presence of a fire (column 19, lines 21-42).
D1 does not teach a pre-determined time interval. However, it would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to collect radiation over a predetermined time interval since detector systems generally acquire data over a selected sampling interval and is understood as a routine design parameter based on detector response characteristics, SNR requirements, and processor constraints.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20040119020 A1 teaches a common aperture multi-mode optical system, comprising: first fore-optics for imaging electromagnetic radiation through a common aperture to an intermediate image plane; a first imaging module having a first beam-splitter located after the common aperture, for dividing the electromagnetic radiation between a first wavelength band and one or more second wavelength bands, a first detector for detecting the first wavelength band, comprising a plurality of reflective concentrators, one or more second detectors for detecting the second wavelength bands; and an interface for attaching the first imaging module to the first fore-optics and alternatively detaching the first imaging module to the first fore-optics.
/MARCUS H TANINGCO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884