Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: securing means (23) in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,9, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchiya (US pub No 20b13/0087943) in view of Avalos (US Pub No 2022/0324602).
Tsuchiya discloses the invention substantially as claimed.
With respect to claim 1, Tsuchiya shows (see fig. 6) a reusable wide-necked container (disclosed paragraph 5) made of plastics material, in particular for non-liquid, flowable filling material, comprising a container base (40), a container body (30) and a neck (20b), wherein the neck (20b) has a neck portion (30) ending in an outlet opening (40) and adjoining a container shoulder (shown not labeled), wherein the neck portion (30) has an inner wall (31) and an outer wall (32), wherein securing means (23) for securing a lid (functionally claimed, reference is capable and made for lid) are arranged on the outer wall (32),wherein the container body (30) has in that the neck portion has a wall thickness (H) that is greater than 1.5 mm (paragraph 86 discloses 1.5mm at narrow neck 22, the neck portion is wider at threads and rings), and less than 3 mm, wherein the neck portion has a peripheral groove (33) at the transition to the container shoulder (shown not labeled) for providing a deformable connection (the section is plastic, plastic is deformable) between the container body and the neck portion.
However Tsuchiya does not disclose claim 1, an average wall thickness (W) that is greater than 0.5 mm, and less than 1.2 mm , claim 9, wherein the securing means for securing a the lid are designed as a single-start thread.
Avalos teaches a wall thickness of 1-1.5mm (paragraph 26) in the same field of endeavor for the purpose of having a reusable bottle, the securing means for securing a the lid are designed as a single-start thread (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the body of the container to have a wall of 1mm in order to durable enough to reuse, the single start thread is a reliable simple connection for the lid.
Claims 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchiya in view of Avalos in view of further view of Druitt, (WO 99/03747) (copy added to file) .
over Tsuchiya in view of Avalos discloses the invention substantially as claimed.
However over Tsuchiya in view of Avalos does not disclose the securing means for securing a the lid are designed as a multi-start thread, wherein the number of thread turns is greater than 6 (6-8 disclosed page 2 line 15).
Druitt teaches the securing means for securing a the lid are designed as a multi-start thread wherein the number of thread turns is greater than 6 (6-8 ridges disclosed page 2 line 15) in the same field of endeavor for the purpose of securing a lid.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the multi-start thread of Druitt in order to have more surface area to allow for a tighter stronger connection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7,10-15, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/03/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. 04/03/2026.
In response to the 112, rejection. The office has removed the rejection. Claim 1, has no reduced thickness for decoupling claimed, so any connection that is deformable meets the claim. The prior art cited is mostly plastic container and plastic is a deformable material having deformable connections.
In response to applicant’s argument against the obviousness rejection. Attacking the references individually and pointing out they solve different problems does not carry much weight. The references are similar prior art, not teaching away from the claimed limitations. The limitations of claim 1, have been found in the prior art and applied with a teaching and motivational statement. In other words they may have different disclosed reasons but the prior art as applied shows the claimed limitations. Further, the thickness of the container body and the thickness of the neck portion are not critical until the thickness of the deformable connection at the peripheral groove, is claimed, which does not happen in claim 1. This is why claim 2, has been indicated as allowable. The claim is quite broad without the deformable connection having a reduced thickness for decoupling.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAWN M BRADEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736