Detailed Action
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9-16-2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that Huisman as modified by Sullivan does not teach where the beams have a diameter small enough to collectively fit on a measurement structure on wafer, while not overlapping, and then measuring each such beam individually. The applicant provides no analysis why they do not believe Sullivan teaches this. The limitation as claimed is, “wherein a diameter of the radiation spots is less than a dimension of a target and the radiation spots are non-overlapping, the target being a measurement structure on an object.” However, the examiner doesn’t find this convincing. First due to the lack of explanation the examiner is not sure exactly why the applicant believes this to be true. Sullivan shows a beam split into multiple spots. In Figs. 4a and 4b it shows those spots projected onto a measurement surface in a non-overlapping fashion and obviously the spot size is small enough to all fit on the surface. Thus, since the point of Sullivan having multiple beams is to provide a faster and more accurate measurement of a surface under test it would be obvious to do the same in combination with Huisman. Adjusting this structure for such a combination would be trivial for one of ordinary skill in the art as well. Thus, for these reasons the examiner does not find these arguments convincing. Further, the examiner has changed the rejection to account for the applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-16, & 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huisman et al (PGPub 2021/0132509) (Huisman) in view of Sullivan et al (PGPub 2016/0327493) (Sullivan).
Regarding Claims 1 & 16, Huisman discloses an inspection system (Figs. 4(a), 4(b), & 5, 400) comprising:
a radiation source (412) configured to generate an illumination beam
a first optical structure (414, Fig. 4(a)) configured to route the beam (415) toward the target (418) so as to project the radiation spots together onto the target (418) and to generate scattered radiation from the target (Paragraph 90);
a second optical structure (414) configured to collect the scattered radiation from the target (Paragraph 91); and
a detection system (426 & 428) configured to receive the scattered radiation collected by the second optical structure and to generate measurement signals (Paragraphs 93 & 94);
Huisman fails to explicitly disclose the radiation source configured to generate beams of radiation, wherein an image formed by the beams comprises radiation spots corresponding to the beams, wherein a diameter of the radiation spots is less than a dimension of a target and the radiation spots are non-overlapping, the target being a measurement structure on an object; and wherein each of the measurement signals corresponds to each of the radiation spots;
However, Sullivan discloses a system for wafer inspection where the radiation source configured to generate beams of radiation (Figs. 3A-3D, Paragraphs 35 & 36), wherein an image formed by the beams comprises radiation spots corresponding to the beams, wherein a diameter of the radiation spots is less than a dimension of a target and the radiation spots are non-overlapping (Figs. 4A & 4B, Paragraph 40);
the target being a measurement structure on an object. In this case the measurement structure being the surface of the wafer in Sullivan which is shown (Figs. 4A & 4B) to have multiple non-overlapping spots on the surface but in combination with Huisman it would be obvious to have all of the beam on the measurement structure (418) of Huisman since the point of the multiple beams is to allow for greater illumination flux on the target and thus speeding up and making more accurate the measurement without providing an increased intensity at any one spot;
Further, the limitation, “wherein each of the measurement signals corresponds to each of the radiation spots” would be obvious in combination;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Huisman with the radiation source configured to generate beams of radiation, wherein an image formed by the beams comprises radiation spots corresponding to the beams, wherein a diameter of the radiation spots is less than a dimension of a target and the radiation spots are non-overlapping; and wherein each of the measurement signals corresponds to each of the radiation spots because this provides the advantage of achieving high speed alignment with good reproducibility because machine dynamics (e.g., vibration) can be averaged, which reduces the dynamic reproducibility of machine influence. In addition, enough photons can be measured, so as to realize good reproducibility.
The method of Claim 16 is also met by this rejection.
Regarding Claims 3 & 18, Huisman as modified by Sullivan discloses the aforementioned. Further, Huisman discloses an analyzer (430) configured to analyze each of the measurement signals corresponding to each of the radiation spots to determine a value of a property of the target (Paragraph 97).
Regarding Claim 4, Huisman as modified by Sullivan discloses the aforementioned. Further, Huisman discloses the scattered radiation comprises diffraction orders (Paragraph 91, diffracted radiation sub-beam); and
the analyzer is configured to determine the value of the property based on measurement signals generated from a detected interference of the diffraction orders (Paragraphs 93-95).
Regarding Claims 5 & 19, Huisman as modified by Sullivan discloses the aforementioned. Further, Huisman discloses the scattered radiation comprises diffraction orders (Paragraph 115);
the inspection system further comprises a blocking element configured to block a 0th diffraction order of the scattered radiation (Paragraph 115).
Regarding Claim 6, Huisman discloses the aforementioned but fails to explicitly disclose an actuator to move the radiation spots relative to the target;
However, Sullivan discloses an actuator (106) to move the radiation spots relative to the target (Paragraphs 30 & 36);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Huisman with an actuator to move the radiation spots relative to the target because beam scanning allows one to quickly and comprehensively examine a sample that is larger than the illumination spot.
Regarding Claim 7, Huisman as modified by Sullivan discloses the aforementioned. Further, Sullivan discloses the target (fig. 4A, 112) comprises a region. The examiner is interpreting region in this case to be the whole surface; and
the actuator is further configured to move the radiation spots such that each of the radiation spots irradiates the region (See fig. 4A).
The reasons for combination remain the same as in claim 6.
Regarding Claim 8, Huisman as modified by Sullivan discloses the aforementioned. Further, Sullivan discloses the target comprises regions. The examiner is interpreting each region to be where that particular beam (111d-1 through 111e-4) is scanning; and
the actuator is further configured to move the radiation spots such that each of the radiation spots irradiates a corresponding one of the regions (See fig. 4A).
The reasons for combination remain the same as in claim 6.
Regarding Claim 9, Huisman as modified by Sullivan discloses the aforementioned but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the detection system is disposed at an image plane such that images of the radiation spots are focused at the detection system;
However, the examiner takes official notice this would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Huisman as modified by Sullivan with wherein the detection system is disposed at an image plane because the detector would be placed at an image plane to maintain the proper focus of the beams on it and thus get an optimal detection.
Regarding Claims 10 & 20, Huisman as modified by Sullivan discloses the aforementioned but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the detection system is disposed at a pupil plane, wherein the pupil plane is a conjugate of an image plane at which images of the radiation spots are at focus;
However, the examiner takes official notice this would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Huisman as modified by Sullivan with wherein the detection system is disposed at a pupil plane, wherein the pupil plane is a conjugate of an image plane at which images of the radiation spots are at focus because this would be done when there is a lens focusing the light onto the detector and the lens would be at the image plane thus this would be obvious management of focus on the detector that would allow for an optimal detection.
Regarding Claim 11, Huisman as modified by Sullivan discloses the aforementioned. Further, Sullivan discloses the detection system comprises detection elements (114a, 114b, 116, 118, Paragraph 39, multi-channel detectors), and each of the detection elements correspond to each of the radiation spots (Paragraph 38). The note that increased separation reduces crosstalk between adjacent channels means that each detected beam is on its own channel.
The reasons for combination remain the same as in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 12, Huisman as modified by Sullivan discloses the aforementioned. Further, Huisman discloses the detection system comprises a camera (428) and an analyzer (430) configured to analyze each of the measurement signals corresponding to each of the radiation spots to determine a value of a property of the target (Paragraph 97);
Further Sullivan discloses different regions of pixels of the camera correspond to different ones of the radiation spots (Paragraph 38). The note that increased separation reduces crosstalk between adjacent channels means that each detected beam is on its own channel.
The reasons for combination remain the same as in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 13, Huisman as modified by Sullivan discloses the aforementioned. Further, Sullivan discloses wherein the radiation source comprises an optical device (109) configured to split source radiation to form the beams (Paragraph 35).
The reasons for combination remain the same as in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 14, Huisman as modified by Sullivan discloses the aforementioned. Further, Sullivan discloses wherein the optical device comprises at least one of: a diffraction structure; a multi-aperture structure; a spatial light modulator; a holographic structure; or an optical fiber array (Paragraph 35, DOE). A holographic DOE qualifies as both a diffraction structure and a holographic structure.
The reasons for combination remain the same as in claim 1
Regarding Claim 15, Huisman as modified by Sullivan discloses the aforementioned. Further, Sullivan discloses the radiation source comprises an optical device (109) configured to split source radiation to form the beams such that the radiation spots have different focal planes (Paragraph 36); and
the detection system comprises detection elements corresponding to the different focal planes (Paragraph 36). The focus correction means that each element on the detector does correspond to the different focal planes.
Claim(s) 2 & 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huisman in view of Sullivan and further in view of Oren et al (PGPub 2023/0296436)
Regarding Claims 2 & 17, Huisman as modified by Sullivan discloses the aforementioned but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the radiation source outputs the beams with an aggregate power density sufficient to damage the target and spreads the aggregate power density among the beams such that an average power density of each of the beams is insufficient to damage the target;
However, Oren discusses the fact that using a single spot of sufficient intensity to achieve workable SNR can often damage a workpiece (Paragraph 4);
Further, using multiple spots to prevent damaging a workpiece while maintaining good SNR (Paragraph 71);
Thus, the limitation, “wherein the radiation source outputs the beams with an aggregate power density sufficient to damage the target and spreads the aggregate power density among the beams such that an average power density of each of the beams is insufficient to damage the target” is met;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Huisman as modified by Sullivan with wherein the radiation source outputs the beams with an aggregate power density sufficient to damage the target and spreads the aggregate power density among the beams such that an average power density of each of the beams is insufficient to damage the target because damaging a product while in production causes loss of production which costs the company money.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO 2020064290 A1 this also shows the splitting of a beam into multiple beams that are imaged on a target which is used to monitor the position of a mark on a substrate for alignment.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JONATHON COOK/Examiner, Art Unit 2877 November 4, 2026
/Kara E. Geisel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877