DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
This application is a 371 of PCT/JP2023/018476 filed on May 17, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 27, 2024 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being by Kanazawa et al. (US 2006/0260834).
In regards to claim 1, Kanazawa et al. teaches an electrical junction box (figure 6) that includes: a first wall (12) that comes into contact with a mount target (13, 17b); and a second wall (11) that includes a surface that opposes the first wall (12) and an inner rib that protrudes from the surface (see the figure below), wherein an outer rib protrudes from an opposite surface that is opposite to the opposing surface of the second wall (11)(see the figure below).
In regards to claim 4, Kanazawa et al. teaches the electrical junction box according to claim 3, wherein the outer ribs (see figure 6) are provided in an end portion in the lengthwise direction of the second wall (11)(see figure 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanazawa et al. (US 2006/0260834).
In regards to claim 2, Kanazawa et al. teaches the electrical junction box according to claim 1, wherein the inner rib and the outer rib each have a shape of a plate (see figure 6).
Kanazawa et al. does not explicitly teach a thickness of the second wall is larger than thicknesses of the inner rib and the outer rib.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have made the thickness of the second wall is larger than thicknesses of the inner rib and the outer rib, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Gingrich (US 8,842,421) teaches an enclosure with a slope; Chung (US 2009/156024) teaches an electrical box and a surface with ribs; Yamane (US 6,573,616) teaches an enclosure with ribs; Sato (US 2003/0000720) teaches an electrical junction box having ribs on its outer surface.
Communication
/KRYSTAL ROBINSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2848