Status of Claims
Claims 1-8, 14, 17, and 19-20 are amended.
Claims 9 and 18 cancelled.
Claims 1-8, 10-17, and 19-20 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application SE2250688-5, filed on 06/08/2022.
Claim Interpretation
The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. Under a broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. The plain meaning of a term means the ordinary and customary meaning given to the term by those of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time. The ordinary and customary meaning of a term may be evidenced by a variety of sources, including the words of the claims themselves, the specification, drawings, and prior art. However, the best source for determining the meaning of a claim term is the specification - the greatest clarity is obtained when the specification serves as a glossary for the claim terms. The words of the claim must be given their plain meaning unless the plain meaning is inconsistent with the specification. 2111.01 (I). See also In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 799, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir. 1983) ("'[C]laims are not to be read in a vacuum, and limitations therein are to be interpreted in light of the specification in giving them their ‘broadest reasonable interpretation.'"2111.01 (II).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “control unit” in claims 1 and 10. The “control unit” is only doing calculations which is software.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim recites “A computer program product comprising program code for performing, when executed by a processing circuitry ” which is software only and which is not tangible.
In order to overcome this rejection, the Office recommends amending the claims so that they recite only non-transitory media/medium. The Office recommends the use of the phrase “non-transitory media/medium comprising program code for performing…”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. [US20200074239, now Park], in view of Suresh et al. [US20200050893, now Suresh], further in view of Minear et al. [US20100207936, now Minear].
Claim 1
Park discloses a marine surround sensing system for controlling a marine vessel[see at least Park, ¶ 0052 (“According to another aspect of the present invention, an autonomous navigation method of a ship”)] comprises:
Light Detection And Ranging, LiDAR, sensors mounted around the marine vessel for registering surroundings of the marine vessel[see at least Park, ¶ 0194 – 195 (“The object information is not limited to object information obtained through image segmentation, and object information obtained through another sensor, such as a radar or a LiDAR, may also be an input to the obstacle map update operation. It is also possible to combine all or some of the pieces of object information. [0195] The obstacle map refers to a means for presenting object information. As an example, the obstacle map may be a grid map. In the grid map, the space may be divided into unit regions, and object information may be displayed according to each unit region. As another example, the obstacle map may be a vector map. The obstacle map is not limited to being two dimensional and may be a 3D obstacle map. Meanwhile, the obstacle map may be a global map which presents all zones related to ship sailing from a starting point to a destination or a local map which presents certain zones around the ship.”)],
a control unit with a neural network to process information about the registered surroundings which has been registered by the LiDAR sensors, wherein the information registered by the LiDAR sensors is in the form of a 3D point cloud, wherein the processing [see at least Park, ¶ 0042 (“According to an aspect of the present invention, a method for learning a neural network performed by a computing means wherein the neural network receives a marine image and outputs information about a type and a distance of at least one object included in the marine image, the method may comprises: obtaining a marine image including a sea and an obstacle; obtaining a labelling data including a plurality of labelling values generated based on the marine image, wherein the plurality of labelling values includes at least one first labelling value corresponding to the sea and at least one second labelling value corresponding to the obstacle and determined by reflecting a type information and a distance information of the obstacle; obtaining an output data including a plurality of output values by using a neural network, wherein the neural network receives the marine image and outputs the output data, and the plurality of output values includes a first output value corresponding to the first labelling value and a second output value corresponding to the second labelling value; calculating an error value by using the labelling data and the output data, wherein the error value is calculated by considering the difference between the first labelling value and the first output value and the difference between the second labelling value and the second output value; and updating the neural network based on the error value; wherein the plurality of labelling values and the plurality of output values are selected from a plurality of identification values, and at least one identification value of the plurality of identification values is determined by a combination of information about a type and a distance of an object.”)] comprises;
a first projection, by the control unit, of the 3D point cloud into one or two 2D maps; segmentation, by the neural network in the control unit, of the one or two 2D maps, wherein an output of the segmentation is a segmented 2D map with class information for each point in the one or two 2D maps and a second projection, by the control unit of the segmented 2D map back to the 3D point cloud [see at least Park, ¶ 0048 (“According to another aspect of the present invention, a method for situation awareness of a ship using a neural network performed by a computing means, the method may comprise: obtaining a marine image including a sailable region and an obstacle by a camera installed on a ship, wherein the marine image includes a first pixel corresponding to the sailable region and a second pixel corresponding to the obstacle; obtaining an output data by using a neural network performing image segmentation, wherein the neural network receives the marine image and outputs the output data, and the output data includes a first output value corresponding to the first pixel and a second output value corresponding to the second pixel and determined by reflecting a type information of the obstacle and a first distance information of the second pixel; obtaining a second distance information of the second pixel based on a location of the second pixel on the marine image and a position information of the camera, wherein the position information of the camera is calculated by considering a position information of the ship; and updating the second output value by reflecting a final distance information, wherein the final distance information may be calculated based on the first distance information and the second distance information.”); 0003 (“The present invention relates to a situation awareness method and device using image segmentation and more particularly, to a situation awareness method and device using a neural network which performs image segmentation.”); 0203 (“When obstacles are presented as weights, the weights may be categorized into a plurality of numeric ranges. The respective numeric ranges may correspond to the sailable region, the unsailable region, and the unknown region. FIG. 20 is a set of diagrams relating to an obstacle map according to an exemplary embodiment of the present invention. FIG. 20 shows examples of a 2D grid map. Referring to (a) of FIG. 20, whether there is an obstacle in each grid and/or unit region or whether each grid and/or unit region is suitable for sailing is presented using an integer of 0 to 255 as a weight. A smaller value represents that the probability of presence of an obstacle is high or the unit region is unsuitable for sailing, and a unit region without a value has a weight of 255. Unsailable regions may correspond to a weight of 0 to a, unknown regions may correspond to a weight of a+1 to b, and sailable regions may correspond to a weight of b+1 to 255. a and b are integers satisfying 0≤a<b≤254. For example, unsailable regions may correspond to a weight of 0, sailable regions may correspond to a weight of 255, and unknown regions may correspond to a weight of 1 to 254. Alternatively, unsailable regions may correspond to a weight of 0 to 50, sailable regions may correspond to a weight of 51 to 200, and unknown regions may correspond to a weight of 201 to 255. Referring to (b) of FIG. 20, the obstacle map presented with weights may be visualized. For example, the obstacle map may be presented by adjusting the brightness of an achromatic color. In (b) of FIG. 20, a smaller weight is presented with lower brightness. A detailed method of allocating a weight to a unit region will be described below.”)]; and,
where the control unit is programmed to visualize the registered surroundings based on LiDAR data enriched by the neural network displaying an image or map representing the 3D point cloud from the second projection, and wherein the enrichment comprises classification of the registered information into class objects in order to distinct between different types of objects in the surroundings, wherein the control unit is arranged to make decisions adapted to the visualized objects nearby the marine vessel depending on their class objects [see at least Park, ¶ 0103 (“A neural network which performs image segmentation to sense surroundings may receive an image and output object information. Referring to FIGS. 2 and 3, training data and input data may be in the form of an image, which may include a plurality of pixels. Output data and labeling data may be object information. Additionally, it is possible to visually deliver information by visualizing output data and labeling data.”); 0196 (“The obstacle map may include a plurality of unit regions. The plurality of unit regions may be presented in various ways according to classification criteria. As an example, the obstacle map may include a sailable region, an unsailable region, and an unknown region which may not be determined to be sailable or not. Specifically, the sailable region may be a region in which there is no obstacle or any obstacle is highly unlikely to exist, and the unsailable region may be a region in which there is an obstacle or an obstacle is highly likely to exist. Alternatively, the sailable region may correspond to a suitable zone for sailing, and the unsailable region may correspond to an unsuitable zone for sailing. The unknown region may be a region excluding the sailable region and the unsailable region.”); 0208 (“An update region may be determined according to the location of a ship, heading of the ship, and the like. Alternatively, an update region may be determined according to an obstacle detection sensor, such as a camera, a radar, or a LiDAR. For example, an update region may be determined by the angle of view and/or the maximum observation distance of a camera. An update angle may be determined by the angle of view of a camera, and an update distance may be determined by the maximum observation distance. Alternatively, an update region may be a certain region around a ship. An update region may be larger than a minimum region for detecting and then avoiding an obstacle.”)].
Park does not disclose some of the aspects of a marine vessel that Suresh does teach about a marine vessel [see at least Suresh ¶ 0017 (“The objects can include a seashore, a watercraft, an iceberg, a static far object, a moving far object, or plain sea. The watercraft can include a personal non-powered vessel, recreational powered vessel, sailing yacht, cargo ship, cruise ship, coast guard boat, naval vessel, barge, tugboat, fishing vessel, workboat, under-powered vessel, or anchored vessel.”)]; mounted LiDAR sensors [see at least Suresh ¶ 0066 (“LiDAR’s”)]; surroundings analysis [see at least Suresh, ¶ 0014 (“A method is provided in a first embodiment. The method comprises training, using a processor, an object detection network with training images to identify and classify objects in images from a sensor system disposed on a maritime vessel. Objects in the images are identified and classified using the processor in an offline mode. Heat maps are generated in the offline mode. Instructions regarding operation of the maritime vessel are sent using the processor based on the objects that are identified. The instructions include a speed or a heading.”)]; positional information using trained neural network (“In an instance, images can be received by a trained neural network, such as an object detection network, image segmentation network, and object identification network. The neural network can be trained on the cloud. However, once trained, the neural network binary can be deployed to an offline system to identify objects across particular categories or classify the entire image. The neural network can provide a bounding box (e.g., x cross y) or other graphical shape (two-dimensional or three-dimensional) around an object in an image, which can size the object in the image using various methods, which may include using the diagonal length of the shape to infer size. The neural network also can provide a classification of the object in the bounding box with a confidence score.”)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the situation awareness techniques of Park, with the object detection network with images to identify and classify objects in the images of Suresh. Providing a more effective, efficient and safer technique to help a vessel avoid obstacles and other hazards at sea and in ports.
Neither Park or Suresh specifically disclose/teach but Minear more specifically teaches the techniques for taking 2D and 3D images and combine the information needed for the image to have distinct and show the obstacles [see at least Minear, Abstract (“Method and system for combining a 2D image with a 3D point cloud for improved visualization of a common scene as well as interpretation of the success of the registration process. The resulting fused data contains the combined information from the original 3D point cloud and the information from the 2D image. The original 3D point cloud data is color coded in accordance with a color map tagging process. By fusing data from different sensors, the resulting scene has several useful attributes relating to battle space awareness, target identification, change detection within a rendered scene, and determination of registration success.”); 0002 (“The inventive arrangements concern registration of two-dimensional and three dimensional image data, and more particularly methods for visual interpretation of registration performance of 2D and 3D image data. This technique is used as a metric to determine registration success.”); 0008 (“The invention concerns a method and system for combining a 2D image with a 3D point cloud for improved visualization of a common scene as well as interpretation of the success of the registration process. The resulting fused data contains the combined information from the original 3D point cloud and the information from the 2D image. The original 3D point cloud data is color coded in accordance with a color map tagging process. By fusing data from different sensors, the resulting scene has several useful attributes relating to battle space awareness, target identification, change detection within a rendered scene, and determination of registration success.”)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the situation awareness techniques of Park, with the object detection network with images to identify and classify objects in the images of Suresh, further with the ability to a 3D point cloud data and 2D data to provide maps of Minear. Providing a more effective, efficient and safer technique to help a vessel avoid obstacles and other hazards at sea and in ports.
Claim 2
Park, Suresh and Minear disclose/teach the system of Claim 1.
Park further discloses a helm station to visualize the registered surroundings and to provide input for manually controlling a driveline of the marine vessel [see at least Park, ¶ 0054 (“0243 (“The control signal includes a speed control signal and a heading control signal. The speed control signal may be a signal for adjusting the rotational speed of a propeller. Alternatively, the speed control signal may be a signal for adjusting revolution per unit time of the propeller. The heading control signal may be a signal for adjusting the rudder. Alternatively, the heading control signal may be a signal for adjusting the wheel or helm.”); 0248 (“Even in autonomous navigation, information may be required for a person to monitor the ship. Such information may be transferred to a person through visualization. Results used or generated in the above-described situation awareness, path-planning, and path-following operations may be processed and visualized.”)].
Park does disclose this limitation but Suresh also teaches this limitation with more clarity [see at least Suresh ¶ 0082 (“Additionally, instructions may include suggestions to a pilot, helmsman, or captain to make any of these adjustments.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the situation awareness techniques of Park, with the object detection network with images to identify and classify objects in the images of Suresh. Providing a more effective, efficient and safer technique to help a vessel avoid obstacles and other hazards at sea and in ports.
Claim 3
Park, Suresh and Minear disclose/teach the system of Claim 1.
Park further discloses classified information from the classification is disclosed as a three dimensional, 3D, point cloud visualization with positional information and class information [see at least Park, ¶ 0195; 0196 (“The obstacle map may include a plurality of unit regions. The plurality of unit regions may be presented in various ways according to classification criteria. As an example, the obstacle map may include a sailable region, an unsailable region, and an unknown region which may not be determined to be sailable or not. Specifically, the sailable region may be a region in which there is no obstacle or any obstacle is highly unlikely to exist, and the unsailable region may be a region in which there is an obstacle or an obstacle is highly likely to exist. Alternatively, the sailable region may correspond to a suitable zone for sailing, and the unsailable region may correspond to an unsuitable zone for sailing. The unknown region may be a region excluding the sailable region and the unsailable region.”)].
Park does disclose this limitation but Suresh also teaches this limitation with more clarity [see at least Suresh, ¶ 0111 (“FIG. 6 is a flowchart of an example situational awareness system 600 in accordance with an embodiment. At 601, a GPS position is obtained. At 602, a stored nautical chart for 10×10 nautical miles around the GPS position is obtained. At 603, static objects and depth information from the nautical chart may be used to populate the map. At 604, AIS receiver data for 10×10 nautical miles around the GPS position is obtained. At 605, the AIS receiver data is populated on the map. If internet access is available, at 606, the map is compared with the local marine traffic authority's map and missing information is added to the map. At 607, LIDAR data is obtained and used to populate the map. At 608, RADAR data is obtained and used to populate the map. At 609, objects on the map are annotated based on camera data. At 610, duplicate objects are removed and error checks are run. At 611, a consolidated two-dimensional map is displayed on the monitors.”)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the situation awareness techniques of Park, with the object detection network with images to identify and classify objects in the images of Suresh. Providing a more effective, efficient and safer technique to help a vessel avoid obstacles and other hazards at sea and in ports.
Claim 4
Park, Suresh and Minear disclose/teach the system of Claim 1.
Park further discloses classified information from the classification is disclosed as a probability map [see at least Park, ¶ 0203-0204 (“When obstacles are presented as weights, the weights may be categorized into a plurality of numeric ranges. The respective numeric ranges may correspond to the sailable region, the unsailable region, and the unknown region. FIG. 20 is a set of diagrams relating to an obstacle map according to an exemplary embodiment of the present invention. FIG. 20 shows examples of a 2D grid map. Referring to (a) of FIG. 20, whether there is an obstacle in each grid and/or unit region or whether each grid and/or unit region is suitable for sailing is presented using an integer of 0 to 255 as a weight. A smaller value represents that the probability of presence of an obstacle is high or the unit region is unsuitable for sailing, and a unit region without a value has a weight of 255. Unsailable regions may correspond to a weight of 0 to a, unknown regions may correspond to a weight of a+1 to b, and sailable regions may correspond to a weight of b+1 to 255. a and b are integers satisfying 0≤a<b≤254. For example, unsailable regions may correspond to a weight of 0, sailable regions may correspond to a weight of 255, and unknown regions may correspond to a weight of 1 to 254. Alternatively, unsailable regions may correspond to a weight of 0 to 50, sailable regions may correspond to a weight of 51 to 200, and unknown regions may correspond to a weight of 201 to 255. Referring to (b) of FIG. 20, the obstacle map presented with weights may be visualized. For example, the obstacle map may be presented by adjusting the brightness of an achromatic color. In (b) of FIG. 20, a smaller weight is presented with lower brightness. A detailed method of allocating a weight to a unit region will be described below. [0204] Object information for updating an obstacle map may be information based on an attribute of a means for obtaining the object information. For example, location information of an obstacle obtained through image segmentation may be location information relative to a camera which has captured an image input for the image segmentation. The relative location information may be converted into location information on the obstacle map so as to be applied to the obstacle map. One or both of the relative location information and the location information on the obstacle map may be used to update the obstacle map. Hereinafter, coordinates on an obstacle map are referred to as absolute coordinates.”)].
Park does disclose this limitation but Suresh also teaches this limitation with more clarity [see at least Suresh,, ¶ 0073 (“In an instance, images can be received by a trained neural network, such as an object detection network, image segmentation network, and object identification network. The neural network can be trained on the cloud. However, once trained, the neural network binary can be deployed to an offline system to identify objects across particular categories or classify the entire image. The neural network can provide a bounding box (e.g., x cross y) or other graphical shape (two-dimensional or three-dimensional) around an object in an image, which can size the object in the image using various methods, which may include using the diagonal length of the shape to infer size. The neural network also can provide a classification of the object in the bounding box with a confidence score.”)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the situation awareness techniques of Park, with the object detection network with images to identify and classify objects in the images of Suresh. Providing a more effective, efficient and safer technique to help a vessel avoid obstacles and other hazards at sea and in ports.
Claim 5
Park, Suresh and Minear disclose/teach the system of Claim 4.
Park further discloses the probability map is a two dimensional, 2D, point cloud visualization with positional information and class information [see at least Park, ¶ 0195].
Park does disclose this limitation but Suresh also teaches this limitation with more clarity [see at least Suresh, ¶ 0103 (“FIG. 4 is a diagram of an example situational awareness system 400 in accordance with an embodiment. At 401, a map may display a vessel in proportionate size and show all other objects around it. The map may have zoom capability using two-finger expansion and/or contraction. The map may have a grid overlay function with options for changing grid size in the graphical user interface. The depth of the matter represented in each pixel on the map may be color coded. For example, depth greater than 80 feet may be light blue and gradually progress to darker shades of blue until those areas less than 40 feet in depth are black. Land may be represented as yellow, the vessel navigating may be light green, and other vessels may be red. As such, a two-dimensional grid map 402 is enabled.”)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the situation awareness techniques of Park, with the object detection network with images to identify and classify objects in the images of Suresh. Providing a more effective, efficient and safer technique to help a vessel avoid obstacles and other hazards at sea and in ports.
Claim 6
Park, Suresh and Minear disclose/teach the system of Claim 4.
Park further discloses the probability map is a three dimensional, 3D, point cloud visualization with positional information and class information [see at least Park, ¶ 0195].
Claim 7
Park, Suresh and Minear disclose/teach the system of Claim 1.
Park further discloses the classification is done with a projection-based method for semantic classification of a three dimensional, 3D, point cloud [see at least Park, ¶ 0137 (“Obtaining labelling data including distance information will be described in further detail. Distance information may be obtained using a depth camera. The depth camera may be a stereo type, a structured pattern type, a TOF type, or the like or may be a combination of two or more thereof. It is possible to generate one piece of labelling data by obtaining distance information of each pixel in an image from the depth camera. In addition to this, various methods for obtaining distance information may be used.”)].
Claim 8
Park, Suresh and Minear disclose/teach the system of Claim 1.
Park further discloses each point in the visualizations is coloured with a colour of a class object [see at least Park, ¶ 0252 (“Also, it is possible to output obstacle characteristics including the distance, speed, danger, size, and collision probability of an obstacle. Obstacle characteristics may be output using color, which may vary according to the distance, speed, danger, size, and collision probability of an obstacle.”); 0255 (“Alternatively, the black region 610 may present a region with high danger, the grey region 630 may present a region with medium danger, and a white region 650 may present a region with little danger.”)].
9. (Canceled)
Claim 10
Park, Suresh and Minear disclose/teach the system of Claim 1.
Park further discloses the control unit is arranged to make decisions in such a way that: a. if there is another marine vessel within a predetermined distance, the control unit automatically lowers the speed of the marine vessel below a predetermined speed to avoid getting too close to the other marine vessel while, b. If instead a dock is registered, the marine vessel is allowed to drive faster than the predetermined speed when approaching the dock, since a dock is not a movable object compared to the other marine vessel [see at least Park, ¶ 0210 (“ A weight may vary according to the type information of an object. As an example, when a ship and a buoy are detected as obstacles, the weight of the ship may be set to be smaller than the weight of the buoy. As another example, when a stationary object and a moving object are detected, the weight of the stationary object may be set to be smaller than the weight of the moving object.”); 0214 (“As another example, distance information obtained through image segmentation may include only the minimum distance to an object. When type information of the object is additionally used, it is possible to obtain the maximum distance as well as the minimum distance, and weights may be set on the basis of the distance information.”): 0223; 0235 (“FIG. 29 is a block diagram relating to an obstacle map update operation according to an exemplary embodiment of the present invention. Referring to FIG. 29, it is possible to convert location information of an obstacle into absolute coordinates using the location of the ship and/or the camera calculated with the GPS installed in the ship, the position information of the ship obtained by the IMU, and the camera position information based on the camera position information (S3100). A weight may be set using the converted object information, weather environment information, and sailing regulations (S3300), and a final obstacle map of a current frame may be output (S3500) using the obstacle map of the previous frame and an update region set on the obstacle map (S3600).”); 0242 (“In the path-following operation, a control signal is generated so that the ship may follow the planned path. FIG. 32 is a block diagram relating to a path-following operation according to an exemplary embodiment of the present invention. Referring to FIG. 32, in the path-following operation S5000, a following path, ship status information, weather environment information, sailing regulations, etc. may be input, and a control signal for the ship may be output. The input information may include all or only some of the aforementioned information and may also include information other than the aforementioned information.”)].
Park does disclose this limitation but Suresh also teaches control of a vessel with more clarity [see at least Suresh, Claim 1 (“1. A method comprising: training, using a processor, an object detection network with training images to identify and classify objects in images from a sensor system disposed on a maritime vessel; identifying objects in the images using the processor in an offline mode; classifying the objects in the images using the processor in the offline mode generating heat maps in the offline mode; and sending instructions regarding operation of the maritime vessel, using the processor, based on the objects that are identified, wherein the instructions include a speed or a heading.”)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the situation awareness techniques of Park, with the object detection network with images to identify and classify objects in the images of Suresh. Providing a more effective, efficient and safer technique to help a vessel avoid obstacles and other hazards at sea and in ports.
Claim 11
Park, Suresh and Minear disclose/teach the system of Claim 1
Park further discloses a marine vessel comprising the marine surround sensing system [see at least Park, ¶ 0052 (“marine image”); 0524 (“ a ship-oriented obstacle map, an existing path, and an obstacle-avoiding path may be output in a bird's eye view.”)].
Park does disclose this limitation but Suresh also teaches a marine vessel [see at least Suresh, Abstract (“maritime vessel”)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the situation awareness techniques of Park, with the object detection network with images to identify and classify objects in the images of Suresh. Providing a more effective, efficient and safer technique to help a vessel avoid obstacles and other hazards at sea and in ports.
Claim 12
Claim 12 has similar limitations to claim 1, therefore claim 12 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 1.
Claim 13
Claim 13 has similar limitations to claim 3, therefore claim 13 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 3.
Claim 14
Claim 14 has similar limitations to claim 4, therefore claim 14 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 4.
Claim 15
Claim 15 has similar limitations to claim 5, therefore claim 15 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 5.
Claim 16
Claim 16 has similar limitations to claim 6, therefore claim 16 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 6.
Claim 17
Claim 17 has similar limitations to claim 7, therefore claim 17 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 7.
18. (Canceled)
Claim 19
Claim 19 has similar limitations to claim 1, therefore claim 19 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 1.
Claim 20
Claim 20 has similar limitations to claim 1, therefore claim 20 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 1.
Conclusion
/JOAN T GOODBODY/
Examiner, Art Unit 3664
(571) 270-7952