DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “means for capturing an image of a performance area; means for detecting or more performers in the performance area using the captured image; means for estimating positions of the one or more detected performers; means for smoothing the estimated positions of the one or more detected performers based on prior estimated locations; and means for providing the smoothed estimated positions to display controller circuitry for generation of an interactive effect based on the smoothed estimated positions” (emphasis added) in claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–5, 10–14 and 20–24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over McKennoch et al. (U.S. 11,373,318 B1) in view of Zhang et al. (U.S. 12,670,602 B2).
Regarding claim 1, McKennoch discloses an apparatus for a real-time interactive performance, the apparatus comprising:
at least one memory; (Fig. 3, 312A–312B recording devices)
machine readable instructions; and (Fig. 3, 312A–312B recording devices)
processor circuitry to at least one of instantiate or execute the machine readable instructions to: (Fig. 3, 312A–312B recording devices)
capture an image of a performance area; (Per Fig. 3, at least one of McKennoch’s camera 312–312B analyzes a scene of a physical environment 302. McKennoch col. 8 lines 12–27. [s]uch as the video recording devices 312A-312B, view a scene in the physical environment 302 from two distinct positions)
detect one or more performers in the performance area using the captured image; (Per Fi.g 3, McKennoch’s cameras 312A–312B detect myriad participants. Ibid. [t]wo objects in separate images may be said to match if they correspond to the same participant or object, or satisfy one or more matching criteria.)
estimate locations of the one or more detected performers. (Per Fig. 5, McKennoch discloses point clouds applying a prediction algorithm where participant’s position is estimated. Ibid. col. 11 lines 25–30. [t]he point clouds 520A-520C are sets of points generated as a result of applying a prediction algorithm, such as one or more particle filters, to positions of the first participant 506A.)
However, McKennoch fails to specifically disclose smooth the estimated locations of the one or more detected performers based on prior estimated locations; and provide the smoothed estimated locations to display controller circuitry for generation of an interactive effect based on the smoothed estimated locations.
In related art, Zhang discloses smooth the estimated locations of the one or more detected performers based on prior estimated locations; and (Per Fig. 1, Zhang’s bounding shape estimator 110 filters a location of a bounding shape 112. Zhang col. 8 line 57 – col. 9 line 17. The bounding shape estimator 110 may then apply a filter to predict the location 116 of the bounding shape 112 in the second set of images 106 based on location information for the bounding shape output by the object tracker 108 in the first set of images 106. Zhang’s use of a filter, such as a Kalman filter is understood to produce a smoothing effect on the tracked object.)
provide the smoothed estimated locations to display controller circuitry for generation of an interactive effect (Under a broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), Examiner construed an interactive effect as a bounding shape.) based on the smoothed estimated locations. (Per Fig. 3, Zhang’s bounding shape estimator 110 discloses a bounding shape of a person corresponding to detected motion and proximity thereof. Ibid. col. 9 line 56 – col. 10 line 8. The processor 104 may also determine that the bounding shape of the first person was in close proximity to the bounding shape of the second person.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Zhang into the teachings of McKennoch while other objects remain untracked because of obscurity, a machine learning model outputs a geometrical effect for a tracked object. Ibid. col. 2 lines 47–54.
Regarding claim 10, McKennoch discloses a non-transitory machine readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed, cause processor circuitry to at least:
capture an image of a performance area; (Per Fig. 3, at least one of McKennoch’s camera 312–312B analyzes a scene of a physical environment 302. McKennoch col. 8 lines 12–27. [s]uch as the video recording devices 312A-312B, view a scene in the physical environment 302 from two distinct positions)
detect one or more performers in the performance area using the captured image; (Per Fi.g 3, McKennoch’s cameras 312A–312B detect myriad participants. Ibid. [t]wo objects in separate images may be said to match if they correspond to the same participant or object, or satisfy one or more matching criteria.)
estimate locations of the one or more detected performers. (Per Fig. 5, McKennoch discloses point clouds applying a prediction algorithm where participant’s position is estimated. Ibid. col. 11 lines 25–30. [t]he point clouds 520A-520C are sets of points generated as a result of applying a prediction algorithm, such as one or more particle filters, to positions of the first participant 506A.)
However, McKennoch fails to specifically disclose smooth the estimated locations of the one or more detected performers based on prior estimated locations; and provide the smoothed estimated locations to display controller circuitry for generation of an interactive effect based on the smoothed estimated locations.
In related art, Zhang discloses smooth the estimated locations of the one or more detected performers based on prior estimated locations; and (Per Fig. 1, Zhang’s bounding shape estimator 110 filters a location of a bounding shape 112. Zhang col. 8 line 57 – col. 9 line 17. The bounding shape estimator 110 may then apply a filter to predict the location 116 of the bounding shape 112 in the second set of images 106 based on location information for the bounding shape output by the object tracker 108 in the first set of images 106.)
provide the smoothed estimated locations to display controller circuitry for generation of an interactive effect (Under a broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), Examiner construed an interactive effect as a bounding shape.) based on the smoothed estimated locations. (Per Fig. 3, Zhang’s bounding shape estimator 110 discloses a bounding shape of a person corresponding to detected motion and proximity thereof. Ibid. col. 9 line 56 – col. 10 line 8. The processor 104 may also determine that the bounding shape of the first person was in close proximity to the bounding shape of the second person.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Zhang into the teachings of McKennoch while other objects remain untracked because of obscurity, a machine learning model outputs a geometrical effect for a tracked object. Ibid. col. 2 lines 47–54.
Regarding claim 20, McKennoch an apparatus for real-time interactive performances, the apparatus comprising:
means for capturing an image of a performance area; (Per Fig. 3, at least one of McKennoch’s camera 312–312B analyzes a scene of a physical environment 302. McKennoch col. 8 lines 12–27. [s]uch as the video recording devices 312A-312B, view a scene in the physical environment 302 from two distinct positions)
means for detecting one or more performers in the performance area using the captured image; (Per Fi.g 3, McKennoch’s cameras 312A–312B detect myriad participants. Ibid. [t]wo objects in separate images may be said to match if they correspond to the same participant or object, or satisfy one or more matching criteria.)
means for estimating positions of locations of the one or more detected performers. (Per Fig. 5, McKennoch discloses point clouds applying a prediction algorithm where participant’s position is estimated. Ibid. col. 11 lines 25–30. [t]he point clouds 520A-520C are sets of points generated as a result of applying a prediction algorithm, such as one or more particle filters, to positions of the first participant 506A.)
However, McKennoch fails to specifically disclose means for smoothing the estimated locations of the one or more detected performers based on prior estimated locations; and means for providing the smoothed estimated locations to display controller circuitry for generation of an interactive effect based on the smoothed estimated locations.
In related art, Zhang discloses means for smoothing the estimated locations of the one or more detected performers based on prior estimated locations; and (Per Fig. 1, Zhang’s bounding shape estimator 110 filters a location of a bounding shape 112. Zhang col. 8 line 57 – col. 9 line 17. The bounding shape estimator 110 may then apply a filter to predict the location 116 of the bounding shape 112 in the second set of images 106 based on location information for the bounding shape output by the object tracker 108 in the first set of images 106.)
means for providing the smoothed estimated locations to display controller circuitry for generation of an interactive effect (Under a broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), Examiner construed an interactive effect as a bounding shape.) based on the smoothed estimated locations. (Per Fig. 3, Zhang’s bounding shape estimator 110 discloses a bounding shape of a person corresponding to detected motion and proximity thereof. Ibid. col. 9 line 56 – col. 10 line 8. The processor 104 may also determine that the bounding shape of the first person was in close proximity to the bounding shape of the second person.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Zhang into the teachings of McKennoch while other objects remain untracked because of obscurity, a machine learning model outputs a geometrical effect for a tracked object. Ibid. col. 2 lines 47–54.
Regarding claim 2, McKennoch as modified by Zhang, discloses the apparatus, wherein the processor circuitry is further to compensate the estimated locations to account for latency. (Per Fig. 5, McKennoch discloses filter inputs to compensate reduced image quality. McKennoch col. 12 lines 35–51. [d]ue to any of a variety of factors (e.g., inclement weather, reduced image quality, obscured visibility, an object being blocked by another object, etc.) embodiments of the kinematic analysis system may be unable to detect the object 506A within a particular image frame. In such cases, the particle filter inputs may include such data)
Regarding claim 3, McKennoch as modified by Zhang, discloses the apparatus, wherein to estimate the locations of the one or more detected performers, the processor circuitry is to apply a homograph matrix to translate from a pixel location within the image to a physical location in the performance area. (Per Fig. 1, Zhang’s processor discloses pixel size information to create a bounding box of a tracked object. Zhang col. 7 lines 18–33. The size information may include a size (e.g., number of pixels, or area) for a bounding shape of a tracked object.)
Regarding claim 4, McKennoch as modified by Zhang, discloses the apparatus, wherein to estimate the locations of the one or more detected performers, the processor circuitry is to generate bounding boxes corresponding to each of the detected one or more performers. (Per Fig. 3, Zhang’s bounding shape estimator 110 discloses a bounding shape of a person corresponding to detected motion and proximity thereof. Zhang col. 9 line 56 – col. 10 line 8. The processor 104 may also determine that the bounding shape of the first person was in close proximity to the bounding shape of the second person.)
Regarding claim 5, McKennoch as modified by Zhang, discloses the apparatus, wherein the estimation of the locations of the one or more detected performers is based on locations of midpoints of lower edges of the bounding boxes. (Per Fig. 3, Zhang’s bounding shape estimator 110 discloses a bounding shape of a person corresponding to detected motion and proximity thereof. Zhang col. 9 line 56 – col. 10 line 8. The processor 104 may also determine that the bounding shape of the first person was in close proximity to the bounding shape of the second person.)
Regarding claim 11, it has been rejected in the same manner as claim 2.
Regarding claim 12, it has been rejected in the same manner as claim 3.
Regarding claim 13, it has been rejected in the same manner as claim 4.
Regarding claim 14, it has been rejected in the same manner as claim 5.
Regarding claim 21, it has been rejected in the same manner as claim 2.
Regarding claim 22, it has been rejected in the same manner as claim 3.
Regarding claim 23, it has been rejected in the same manner as claim 4.
Regarding claim 24, it has been rejected in the same manner as claim 5.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6–9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
De Aguiar et al. (U.S. 8,384,714 B2) discloses a variety of methods to create digital representations of figures.
Contact
/BENEDICT E LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2665
/Stephen R Koziol/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2665
1 See Applicant’s Spec. ¶49. He discloses that the means are implemented by image collection circuitry 510.