DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Yeo et al. (US Application 2016/0277948, hereinafter Yeo).
Regarding claim 16,23, Yeo discloses a method (Figs. 2,4-10,14) performed by a personal internet-of things (IoT) network (PIN) element (10) with management capability (PEMC) (50) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
the PEMC comprising:
a memory(1420); and a processor (1430,1440) configured to:
detecting, based on an occurrence of one or more fault events, an unavailability of a first PIN element with gateway capability (PEGC) acting as a current PEGC of a PIN([0046]-[0078], which recites When no data has been received from device B for a specific amount of time or no beacon is received from the coordinator, the PAN coordinator detects a fault in the coordinator, as depicted in 606); identifying, based on a PIN profile or PIN dynamic information, a second PEGC which is capable of taking up a role of a PEGC([0046]-[0078], which recites Then, the PAN coordinator sends an Alive Request message to the coordinator and waits for a response, as depicted in 610. If no response is received from the coordinator even after a designated number of retransmissions, as depicted in 610, the PAN coordinator determines that the coordinator is defective and subsequently broadcasts a Coordinator_Candidate Request message, which contains the information shown in FIG. 8, in order to change the current coordinator to another coordinator, as depicted in 611);
transmitting, to the second PEGC, a request to take the role of the PEGC([0046]-[0078], which recites then, the PAN coordinator sends an Alive Request message to the coordinator and waits for a response, as depicted in 610. If no response is received from the coordinator even after a designated number of retransmissions, as depicted in 610, the PAN coordinator determines that the coordinator is defective and subsequently broadcasts a Coordinator_Candidate Request message, which contains the information shown in FIG. 8, in order to change the current coordinator to another coordinator, as depicted in 611);; receiving, from the second PEGC, a response for a success of a PEGC role takeover([0046]-[0078], which recites thereafter, device A sends a Coordinator_Candidate Response message to the PAN coordinator, as depicted in 614);
transmitting, to a PIN server, first information notifying that the second PEGC is a new PEGC of the PIN and the first PEGC is released from the role of the PEGC([0046]-[0078], which recites the PAN coordinator selects a coordinator candidate based on the Coordinator_Candidate Response message sent from device A, as depicted in 615, and sends a Coordinator Request message to selected device A, as depicted in 616. The Coordinator Request message may include the information as shown in FIG. 8.); and transmitting, to a PIN element in the PIN, second information notifying a change in the role of the PEGC([0046]-[0078], which recites the PAN coordinator selects a coordinator candidate based on the Coordinator_Candidate Response message sent from device A, as depicted in 615, and sends a Coordinator Request message to selected device A, as depicted in 616. The Coordinator Request message may include the information as shown in FIG. 8.).
Regarding claims 30, 33, Yeo discloses a method (Figs. 2,4-10,14) performed by a second personal internet-of-things (IoT) network (PIN) element (10) with gateway capability (PEGC) (50) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
the PEMC comprising:
a memory(1420); and a processor (1430,1440) configured to:
receiving, from a PIN element with management capability (PEMC) which detects an unavailability of a first PEGC acting as a current PEGC of a PIN based on an occurrence of one or more fault events, a request to take a role of a PEGC, in case that the second PEGC is capable of taking up a role of PEGC based on a PIN profile or PIN dynamic information([0046]-[0078], which recites When no data has been received from device B for a specific amount of time or no beacon is received from the coordinator, the PAN coordinator detects a fault in the coordinator, as depicted in 606, then, the PAN coordinator sends an Alive Request message to the coordinator and waits for a response, as depicted in 610. If no response is received from the coordinator even after a designated number of retransmissions, as depicted in 610, the PAN coordinator determines that the coordinator is defective and subsequently broadcasts a Coordinator_Candidate Request message, which contains the information shown in FIG. 8, in order to change the current coordinator to another coordinator, as depicted in 611);
transmitting, to the PEMC, a response for a success of a PEGC role takeover([0046]-[0078], which recites the PAN coordinator selects a coordinator candidate based on the Coordinator_Candidate Response message sent from device A, as depicted in 615, and sends a Coordinator Request message to selected device A, as depicted in 616. The Coordinator Request message may include the information as shown in FIG. 8.); and receiving, from the PEMC, the PIN dynamic information updated with relevant details of the second PEGC([0046]-[0078], which recites In the case where device B does not receive a beacon from an associated coordinator, but receives a beacon from another coordinator with a different address during a time slot dedicated for receiving a beacon, device B detects that the associated coordinator is defective, and updates coordinator information based on currently received beacon information, as depicted in 619. Therefore, device B can initiate communications with the changed coordinator without additional protocols.).
Regarding claims 17,24, Yeo discloses the method of claim 16, the method further comprising: updating the PIN dynamic information with relevant details of the second PEGC([0046]-[0078]); and transmitting, to the second PEGC, the updated PIN dynamic information([0046]-[0078]).
Regarding claims 18, 25, Yeo discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the second PEGC has indicated that the second PEGC has a capability to act as the PEGC during a registration process([0046]-[0078]).
Regarding claims 19, 26, Yeo discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the second information includes a reachability information of the second PEGC([0046]-[0078]).
Regarding claims 20, 27, Yeo discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the PIN dynamic information is available at the PEMC([0046]-[0078]).
Regarding claims 21, 28,Yeo discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the one or more fault events correspond to at least one of a down of the first PEGC, a crash of the first PEGC, a power drain of the first PEGC, or a duration of the first PEGC to act as the PEGC is ending([0046]-[0078]).
Regarding claims 22, 29,Yeo discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the PIN dynamic information is updated with relevant details of the second PEGC by the PIN server([0046]-[0078]).
Regarding claims 31, 34, Yeo discloses the method of claim 30, wherein the second PEGC has indicated that the second PEGC has a capability to act as the PEGC during a registration process, and wherein the PIN dynamic information is available at the PEMC([0046]-[0078]).
Regarding claims 32, 35, Yeo discloses the method of claim 30, wherein the one or more fault events corresponds to at least one of a down of the first PEGC, a crash of the first PEGC, a power drain of the first PEGC, or a duration of the first PEGC to act as the PEGC is ending([0046]-[0078]).
Conclusion
/DADY CHERY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418