DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-18 of the amended claim set received 11/27/2024 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “feeding the hydrogen containing stream to a purification unit and increasing the hydrogen content of the hydrogen containing stream to produce a hydrogen-enriched stream and a tail gas” of claim 5; “feeding the tail gas to the fuel combustion zone” of claim 14; and “wherein the fuel stream comprises one or more additional fuel sources selected from hydrogen, natural gas, methane, refinery off gas, biogas, the tail gas from the hydrogen purification unit, and a portion of the hydrogen containing stream from the ammonia cracking reactor” of claim 15 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, the phrase "may" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Claim 9 also recites “oxygen in an amount greater of from 5 mol% to 25 mol%” where it is unclear what values are being claimed.
Regarding claim 13, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitations "the tail gas" and “the hydrogen purification unit”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-8, 12-13, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bulat (US 2018/0355794).
Regarding Claim 1, Bulat discloses in the figure, a process for generating power using a gas turbine 2+6 fueled by a carbon free fuel 24 derived from the catalytic cracking of ammonia 3, the process comprising:
supplying an ammonia stream to an ammonia cracking reactor 5;
cracking the ammonia in the ammonia stream (from 3) in the ammonia cracking reactor 5 to produce a hydrogen containing stream 24;
combining the hydrogen containing stream with an oxygen containing feed (compressed flow from compressor 1) and combusting the hydrogen containing stream 24 with the oxygen containing feed to produce a combusted gas stream 26;
using the combusted gas stream 26 to drive a gas turbine 6 and produce an oxygen containing off-gas stream 34;
supplying at least a portion of the oxygen containing off-gas stream 34 to a fuel combustion zone 7; and
combusting a fuel stream 30 or 28 and the oxygen containing off-gas stream 34 in the fuel combustion zone 7 to produce heat energy (in the stream 20) for the ammonia cracking reactor 5 (as read in para. 0016).
Regarding Claim 7, Bulat discloses in the figure, wherein the oxygen containing feed (compressed flow from compressor 1) is a compressed oxygen containing feed.
Regarding Claim 8, Bulat discloses in the figure, wherein the oxygen containing feed is air, oxygen, or oxygen-enriched air (read first sentence of para. 0016).
Regarding Claim 12, Bulat discloses in the figure, wherein the fuel stream 28 comprises ammonia (the fuel stream 28 is an ammonia stream as read in para. 0018).
Regarding Claim 13, Bulat discloses in the figure, wherein the fuel stream 28 comprises ammonia in an amount of from 1 mol% to 100 mol% of the total fuel stream (the fuel stream 28 is an ammonia stream as read in para. 0018), preferably from 5 mol% to 75 mol%, from 10 mol% to 50 mol%, or from 15 mol% to 30 mol% of the total fuel stream.
Regarding Claim 15, Bulat discloses in the figure, wherein the fuel stream 30 comprises one or more additional fuel sources selected from hydrogen, natural gas, methane, refinery off gas, biogas, the tail gas from the hydrogen purification unit, and a portion of the hydrogen containing stream from the ammonia cracking reactor (hydrogen as read at para. 0018).
Regarding Claim 16, Bulat discloses in the figure, wherein the fuel stream 28 comprises ammonia and the ammonia containing fuel stream is supplied from the same source 38 as the ammonia stream being supplied to the ammonia cracking reactor 5.
Regarding Claim 17, Bulat discloses in the figure, wherein the heat energy produced by combustion using the oxygen containing off-gas stream in the combustion zone 7 provides more than 50% and up to 100% of the heat energy required by the ammonia cracking reactor 5 (the elevated temperature of the reactor 5 is achieved by the flow 20 produced in the combustion zone 7 while no other heat input is shown).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bulat (US 2018/0355794) in view of Cocks (US 2022/0162999).
Regarding Claims 2 and 3, Bulat discloses the invention as discussed above. Bulat does not disclose the step of pre-heating the ammonia stream to a temperature of from 350 °C to 1000 °C or wherein the temperature of the ammonia stream at the inlet of the ammonia cracking reactor is in the range of 350 °C to 1000 °C, from 400 to 950°C, from 450 °C to 850 °C, or from 500 °C to 750 °C. Bulat discloses heating the ammonia stream in the reactor 5 as opposed to pre-heating the ammonia stream.
Cocks also discloses, as shown in Fig. 1, supplying an ammonia stream 78 to an ammonia cracking reactor 74; cracking the ammonia in the ammonia stream in the ammonia cracking reactor 74 to produce a hydrogen containing stream 80; and combining the hydrogen containing stream 80 with an oxygen containing feed 58 and combusting (within 46) the hydrogen containing stream with the oxygen containing feed to produce a combusted gas stream 60 and using the gas stream 60 to drive a gas turbine 48. Cocks teaches in Fig. 1 and para. 0036 preheating the ammonia flow 78 before the inlet of the cracking reactor 74 as shown in the figure at the left-most arrow 56 of the figure and wherein the ammonia stream 78 at the inlet of the ammonia cracking device 74 is preheated in the range of 350 °C to 1000 °C (above 500°C as read in the citation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Bulat to include pre-heating the ammonia stream at the inlet of the ammonia cracking reactor to 350 °C to 1000 °C as taught by Cocks in order to achieve ammonia decomposition (Cocks paras. 0035-0036).
Regarding Claim 4, Bulat discloses the claimed invention as discussed above. Bulat discloses the decomposition/cracking of the reactor can be controlled (para. 0016) but does not explicitly disclose the hydrogen containing stream comprises from 40 mol% to 75 mol% hydrogen.
Cocks also discloses, as shown in Fig. 1, supplying an ammonia stream 78 to an ammonia cracking reactor 74; cracking the ammonia in the ammonia stream in the ammonia cracking reactor 74 to produce a hydrogen containing stream (outlet flow from reactor 74); and combining the hydrogen containing stream with an oxygen containing feed 58 and combusting (within 46) the hydrogen containing stream with the oxygen containing feed to produce a combusted gas stream 60 and using the gas stream 60 to drive a gas turbine 48. Cocks teaches in paras. 0034 and 0038, a conversion rate of ammonia to hydrogen and nitrogen over 80%, which amounts to a hydrogen containing stream comprising 66.7 to 75 mol% hydrogen.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include wherein the hydrogen containing stream comprises from 40 mol% to 75 mol% hydrogen as part of an art recognized suitability teaching by Cocks of this mol% for the intended purpose of providing a hydrogen containing stream suitable for combustion with an oxygen containing stream in a gas turbine.
Regarding Claims 5 and 6, Bulat discloses the claimed invention as discussed above but does not disclose further comprising the step of feeding the hydrogen containing stream to a purification unit and increasing the hydrogen content of the hydrogen containing stream to produce a hydrogen-enriched stream and a tail gas and wherein the hydrogen-enriched stream comprises from 50 mol% to 100 mol% hydrogen.
Cocks also discloses, as shown in Fig. 1, supplying an ammonia stream 78 to an ammonia cracking reactor 74; cracking the ammonia in the ammonia stream in the ammonia cracking reactor 74 to produce a hydrogen containing stream (outlet flow from reactor 74); and combining the hydrogen containing stream with an oxygen containing feed 58 and combusting (within 46) the hydrogen containing stream with the oxygen containing feed to produce a combusted gas stream 60 and using the gas stream 60 to drive a gas turbine 48. Cocks teaches in Fig. 1 feeding the hydrogen containing stream to a purification unit 76 and increasing the hydrogen content of the hydrogen containing stream to produce a hydrogen-enriched stream 80 and a tail gas 82 and wherein the hydrogen-enriched stream comprises from 50 mol% to 100 mol% hydrogen (residual ammonia is removed as read in para. 0039 such that the hydrogen enriched stream is at least 75 mol% given the molar breakdown of ammonia into its constituents described in the same paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Bulat to include the purification unit taught by Cocks in order to remove residual ammonia to provide lower NOx emissions (Cocks para. 0039).
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bulat (US 2018/0355794) in view of Allam (2023/0150817).
Regarding Claims 9 and 10, Bulat discloses the claimed invention as discussed above. Bulat discloses the oxygen containing off-gas is the exhaust stream of the gas turbine engine but does not disclose wherein the oxygen containing off-gas stream may comprise oxygen in an amount greater of from 5 mol% to 25 mol% and wherein the oxygen containing off-gas stream is supplied to the fuel combustion zone at a temperature of from 500 °C to 800 °C, from 500 °C to 750 °C, or from 600 °C to 700 °C.
Allam discloses in para. 0146, a gas turbine engine exhaust stream/oxygen containing off-gas generally contains about 11-13% oxygen and has a temperature of about 400 to 650 C.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art the time of invention that the oxygen containing off-gas contains oxygen in an amount from 5 mol% to 25 mol% and a temperature of 500 to 800 C given the Allam teaching that these are values typically found in gas turbine exhaust streams.
Claims 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bulat (US 2018/0355794) in view of Pedersen (2008/0132588).
Regarding Claim 18, Bulat discloses the claim 1 invention as discussed above. Bulat discloses the fuel source for the gas turbine is ammonia 3 but does not disclose implementing the process of claim 1 in an ammonia production facility.
Pedersen discloses in Fig. 1, a process for generating power using a gas turbine engine 160 for generating power 187 and fueled by a fuel 40. Pedersen teaches the fuel 40 is produced within the same plant (captured in Fig. 1; produced at 30) where the gas turbine engine 160 is located.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Bulat such that the process of claim 1 is implemented at a fuel production facility where the fuel source is produced as taught by Pedersen in order to have an integrated fuel production and electric power production facility that can provide both the fuel and electric power (Pedersen para. 0004). It is further obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Bulat operates on ammonia so would be implemented in an ammonia production facility.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose or form a reasonable combination teaching the following in combination with the base claim and intervening claim limitation -
Regarding Claim 11, “wherein the portion of the oxygen containing off-gas stream supplied to the fuel combustion zone is from 5% to 75%, from 7% to 50%, from 8% to 30%, or from 9% to 20% of the total off-gas stream exiting the gas turbine.”
Regarding Claim 14, “wherein the process comprises the step of feeding the tail gas to the fuel combustion zone; and combusting the fuel stream and the tail gas with the oxygen containing off-gas.”
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached Notice of References Cited.
Contact Information
/R.D.F/Examiner, Art Unit 3741
/PHUTTHIWAT WONGWIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741