DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action in response to communications received on 11/27/2024. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Priority or Provisional
Priority to 06/03/2022 is recognized.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 11/27/2024 are acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: each limitation using the language “means for” (e.g., “traction means for”, “return means for”, “detection means for”, “control means for”) in claims 1, 10, 12-13. The corresponding structure can be found in Pgs. 5-6, “the platform door comprises at least one rail on which mobile panels of the platform door slide and are mounted, the traction means being adapted to move the mobile panels mounted on the rail in an independent manner”, “each mobile panel comprises return means adapted for actuating the traction means of each mobile panel to return to the closing position”, “the detection means comprise a detector of the position of the head of the train parked by the platform, such that misalignments in the stopping area of the train due to tolerances can be quickly reported, for a fast preparation of the mobile panels”, “control means adapted for defining the one or more mobile panels of the platform door that are arranged in front of each train door and actuate these mobile panels to open respective passageways in front of each train door to adopt the opening position”. Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5, recites “in the closed position, each mobile panel is to exceed one of the adjacent mobile panels”. The term “exceed” is a term of degree being measured or a predetermined threshold, and the claim fails to specify the parameters being measured, which makes the claim indefinite.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reichling (US 2015/0040480) in view of Rauch (US 6,360,668).
Regarding claim 1, Reichling in view of Rauch discloses the limitations of claim 1 as follows:
A platform door for accessing train doors from a platform, the platform door comprising a plurality of sliding mobile panels, Reichling, Abstract, Paras. [0001], [0012], [0023]-[0026], and Figs. 1-3, discloses a platform door for accessing train doors from a platform. Sliding doors 10 formed by sliding door panels 16, 18.
and traction means for sliding respective ones of the mobile panels laterally in an independent manner Reichling, Abstract, Paras. [0001], [0012], [0023]-[0026], and Figs. 1-3, teaches that “the sliding door panels 16, 18 may be moved for in the directions indicates by motion arrows 22 and 24 to open and close a passage 26, for which purpose corresponding automated drive means are provided”. And “repositioning of sliding door 10 may be performed within the range of movement thereof independently of other sliding doors arranged along the same platform”.
each mobile panel has a fixed panel length Reichling, Abstract, Paras. [0001], [0012], [0023]-[0026], and Figs. 1-3, shows a fixed geometry of the sliding door panels 16, and 18.
and is to slide when in a closed position the panels leave no passageway between adjacent ones of the panels, Reichling, Abstract, Paras. [0001], [0012], [0023]-[0026], and Figs. 1-3, teaches “a platform door system comprising cover elements and sliding doors arranged along a platform for opening and closing passages between the cover elements, wherein the sliding doors when in a closed state are displaceable into different door positions along the platform, starting from which door positions they can then be opened and closed”, “the invention makes use of displaceable sliding doors and cover elements, which cover the gaps between adjacent sliding doors, so that adjacent sliding doors are able to move toward or away from one another without thereby opening a gap down to the track”.
Reichling does not explicitly disclose:
each mobile panel is to at least partially overlap with one of the adjacent mobile panels in an open position defining passageways between adjacent ones of the mobile panels to provide access to the train doors.
However, Rauch, Col. 1, ll. 54-67, Col. 2, ll. 1-18, Col. 8, ll. 46-61, Figs. 4a-4d, and claim 1, teaches an adaptable platform door system comprising movable barrier elements/panels 12, utilized for trains/subways and are configured to at least partially overlap with adjacent panels, where states: “a platform door system 1 comprising a barrier 10 having screen or barrier elements 12 able to be aligned along a track 3 and/or a platform 4, the barrier elements 12 being able to be so shifted in relation to one another that same at least partially overlap so that freely selectable predetermined openings 5 and opening sizes may be provided along the track 3 and/or platform 4”. And illustrates barrier element 12 pivoting and shifting behind the adjacent barrier element 12’ to uncover the opening.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to modify the platform door system of Reichling to incorporate the adjacent overlapping sliding panels configuration as taught by Rauch, in order to provide a wider and adjustable passageway of train doors.
Regarding claim 2, Reichling in view of Rauch discloses the limitations of claim 1. Reichling in view of Rauch discloses the limitations of claim 2 as follows:
The platform door according to claim 1, wherein the mobile panels are to separate from the adjacent mobile panels when in the open position. Rauch, Col. 7, ll. 31-35, Col. 8, ll. 58-65, and Figs. 2a, 4a-4d, “In the III phase predetermined the door elements are shifted along the guide rail 16' in order to produce a pre-selected opening arrangement. Now the barrier 10 has openings 5 between the platform 4 and the track area 3”, which shows that a barrier element 12 pivots and shifts rearwardly to overlap behind another panel, therefore, it physically separates from its original edge to edge adjacent neighbor, causing the passageway to open. “In FIG. 4b the barrier element 12 is pivoted about a central axis and then shifted behind the adjacent barrier element 12'. This is more especially an advantage if there is sufficient space on the platform side and in the track area. FIG. 4c indicates how the barrier element 12 is firstly shifted athwart the line along the barrier 10 in order to be then shifted in parallelism to the adjacent barrier element 12'”, illustrating that the panel breaking its flush adjacent alignment and separating into an offset plane.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 1 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 3, Reichling in view of Rauch discloses the limitations of claim 1. Reichling in view of Rauch discloses the limitations of claim 3 as follows:
The platform door according to claim 1, wherein, in the open position, at least one of the mobile panels is to at least partially and telescopically overlap with one or more of the adjacent mobile panels. Rauch, Col. 7, ll. 6-30, Col. 8, ll. 1-10, Col. 10, ll. 18-22, Claim 1, and Figs. 2a, 4a-4d, explicitly teaches shifting barrier elements onto a parallel rail so they can slide behind and stack with their neighbors. And teaches that the barrier elements 12 overlap in a telescopic manner using multiple parallel rails to stack the panels side-by-side. To create an opening, barrier element 12 is shifted from a first guide rail onto a second , mutually spaced parallel guide rail 16’ stating: “In the II phase the pre-selected barrier elements 12 are shifted from the fixed guide rail 16 to the free guide rail 16'. This is performed preferably using short offset means which in plan view are perpendicular to (i. e. athwart) the guide rail 16', such means being more particularly short rail elements. The barrier 10 is still closed; the barrier elements are now however ready to be shifted in parallelism with a longitudinal direction for uncovering an opening”, “being able to be shifted on two mutually spaced rails (16 and 16') in relation to one another in such a manner that they can at least partially overlap with each other…”, which constitutes a telescopic overlap under BRI. Please note that: “telescopic” refers to multiple panels sliding into parallel, stacked planes.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 1 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 4, Reichling in view of Rauch discloses the limitations of claim 1. Reichling in view of Rauch discloses the limitations of claim 4 as follows:
The platform door, according to claim 1, wherein, in the open position, at least one of the mobile panels is to telescopically and completely overlap with one or more of the adjacent mobile panels. Rauch, Col. 7, ll. 1-11, Col. 9, ll. 1-12, and Figs. 4a-4d, teaches that the individual barrier elements 12 are of a constant width by stating: “A barrier 10 comprises individual the barrier elements 12 of constant width 13”. And further teaches shifting the elements by their entire width to open a passageway by stating: “For opening two barrier elements 12b and 12c about the width of one element ……….. move the barrier elements 12 and 12c for the width of one barrier element width at the most to the left or, respectively, to the right”. When a barrier element is shifted parallel to and by its entire width behind an adjacent barrier element of the same width, the panels completely overlap.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 1 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 5, Reichling in view of Rauch discloses the limitations of claim 1. Reichling in view of Rauch discloses the limitations of claim 5 as follows:
The platform door, according to claim 1, wherein, in the closed position, each mobile panel is to exceed one of the adjacent mobile panels. Rauch, Col. 3, ll. 29-39, teaches “the barrier 10 comprises barrier elements 12 of different width. Having barrier elements of different width means that optimum combinations of barrier elements may be employed”, shows barrier elements of different widths, therefore one of the panels exceeds the other ones in the closed position.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 1 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 6, Reichling in view of Rauch discloses the limitations of claim 1. Reichling in view of Rauch discloses the limitations of claim 6 as follows:
The platform door according to claim 1, wherein the panel length of each mobile panel is equal. Rauch, Col. 7, ll. 1-11, “A barrier 10 comprises individual the barrier elements 12 of constant width 13…”, and Fig. 4a, shows elements 12, 12’ having the same dimension (i.e., length of each mobile panel is equal).
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 1 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 10, Reichling in view of Rauch discloses the limitations of claim 1. Reichling in view of Rauch discloses the limitations of claim 10 as follows:
The platform door according to claim 1, including at least one rail on which the mobile panels of the platform door are mounted, the traction means to move the mobile panels on the rail in an independent manner. Reichling, Abstract, Paras. [0010]-[0011], [0015]-[0017], [0031]-[0035], and Figs. 1-3, teaches sliding doors panels 16, 18 mounted within door frame 11 and movable independently of one another. And further teaches guide elements in the form of cams at the bottoms of the sliding door panels.
Rauch, also discloses the rail structure for the independently moving panels.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 1 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 11, Reichling in view of Rauch discloses the limitations of claim 1. Reichling in view of Rauch discloses the limitations of claim 11 as follows:
The platform door according to claim 1, including pairs of rails, each of the mobile panels mounted on a pair of rails. Rauch, Col. 7-8, and Fig. 1, Example A, pair of rails 16, 16’ and Example B, pair of rails 16’, 16”.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 1 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 12, Reichling in view of Rauch discloses the limitations of claim 1. Reichling in view of Rauch discloses the limitations of claim 12 as follows:
The platform door according to claim 1, wherein each mobile panel includes return means for actuating the traction means of each mobile panel to return to the closed position from the open position. Rauch, Col. 9, ll. 50-58, Col. 10, ll.4-10, teaches a drive system with a motor and transmission, including a toothed belt, configured to move the panels and return them from an open position back to closed position (return means).
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 1 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 13, Reichling in view of Rauch discloses the limitations of claim 1. Reichling in view of Rauch discloses the limitations of claim 13 as follows:
A system comprising a platform door according to claim 1, installed on a platform, and a train with one or more train doors parked at the platform, the system including detection means for detecting the position of the train doors of the train, and control means for identifying the one or more mobile panels of the platform door in front of each train door and for actuation the identified mobile panels to open respective passageways in front of each train door. Reichling, Abstract, Paras. [0026], [0033]-[0034], and Figs. 1-3, teaches a platform door alongside a train with passenger doors, using sensors in the area of the sliding door panels and/or by camera monitoring of the area of the sliding door panels.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 1 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 14, Reichling in view of Rauch discloses the limitations of claim 13. Reichling in view of Rauch discloses the limitations of claim 14 as follows:
The system according to claim 13, wherein the panel length of each of the mobile panels is equal to or greater than the train door length of each train door. The claimed panel length represents a result of variable performance, and it would have been obvious matter of design choice. It would have been obvious to make the doors wide to fully clear the train entrance for passengers to board safely.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 1 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 15, Reichling in view of Rauch discloses the limitations of claim 13. Reichling in view of Rauch discloses the limitations of claim 15 as follows:
The system according to claim 13, wherein the detection means includes a detector to detect a position of a head of the train parked by the platform. Reichling, Abstract, Paras. [0033]-[0034], and Figs. 1-3, teaches using sensors to detect the position of the parked train to coordinate the alignment and opening the doors. It would have been obvious to detect the head of the train, since monitoring the front of the train is standard in the art.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 1 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 16, Reichling in view of Rauch discloses the limitations of claim 1. Reichling in view of Rauch discloses the limitations of claim 16 as follows:
The system according to claim 1, wherein a distance between the train doors is greater than the panel length. The claimed dimensions represents a result of variable performance, and it would have been obvious matter of design choice.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 1 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 17, Reichling in view of Rauch discloses the limitations of claim 13. Reichling in view of Rauch discloses the limitations of claim 17 as follows:
A method for actuating the platform door of the system according to claim 13, comprising,
detecting the one or more mobile panels that are in front of each of the train doors after the train has parked by the platform; Reichling, Abstract, Paras. [0033]-[0034], and Figs. 1-3, teaches detecting the position of the parked train and its doors to coordinate the opening of the doors. By detecting the train door positions, the system identifies which mobile panels are suited in front of each train door.
and laterally sliding the one or more detected mobile panels to open respective one of the passageways. While Reichling teaches the detection steps, Rauch, Col. 8, ll. 1-10, Col. 9, ll. 1-6, Col. 10, ll. 18-23, Claim 1, teaches the actuation and lateral sliding of the specific panels to open the passageways for passengers boarding and disembarking.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 1 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 18, Reichling in view of Rauch discloses the limitations of claim 17. Reichling in view of Rauch discloses the limitations of claim 18 as follows:
The method according to claim 17, including returning each mobile panel that has been moved laterally to the closed position again. Rauch, Col. 7, ll. 61-65, teaches that after passengers finished boarding or leaving the train, the individual phases are performed in reverse order to shift the door panels “back into the closed form”.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 1 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reichling (US 2015/0040480) in view of Rauch (US 6,360,668), and further in view of Harter (US 2013/0111835).
Regarding claim 7, Reichling in view of Rauch discloses the limitations of claim 1. Harter discloses the limitations of claim 7 as follows:
The platform door according to claim 1, wherein at least one mobile panel of each adjacent pair of the mobile panels is provided with a hollow for the other mobile panel of the pair to pass therethrough. Harter, Paras. [0009], [0029], [0038], and Figs. 5-7, teaches a telescoping paneled partition comprising a plurality of adjacent mobile panels where at least one primary panel is provided with hollow recess to let an adjacent secondary panel to pass therethrough and be stored within, stating: “descenders 232 can be retracted into recesses 240 formed within the main panels prior to moving the main panels”.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the overlapping, laterally sliding panels of Reichling-Rauch combination, to incorporate the hollow recess/sleeve panel as taught by Harter, in order to optimize space efficiency by allowing the panels to nest within each other.
Regarding claim 8, Reichling-Rauch in view of Harter discloses the limitations of claim 7. Reichling-Rauch in view of Harter disclose the limitations of claim 8 as follows:
The platform door according to claim 7, wherein at least one mobile panel of each pair of the adjacent mobile panels has a general arch shape. Harter, Paras. [0029], [0033]-[0036], teaches a telescoping paneled partition designed to fit the irregular interior of an airplane fuselage. The main panels 230 are provided with a curved, arched outer profile to the fuselage 202. And Fig. 5, illustrate the curved outer edges of panels 230.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 7 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 9, Reichling-Rauch in view of Harter discloses the limitations of claim 7. Reichling-Rauch in view of Harter disclose the limitations of claim 9 as follows:
The platform door according to claim 7, wherein adjacent ones of the mobile panels have a first panel width (w1) and a second panel width (w2) in an altering manner.
Harter, Paras. [0029], [0038], and Fig. 5, teaches that the adjacent mobile panels comprise a main panel 230 and a descender panel 232 that retracts into a recess within the main panel. Since the descender panel 232 fits inside the main panel, then they have different widths.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 7 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
References Considered But Not Relied Upon
Radczimanowski (US 2015/0246679) teaches an arrangement for controlling train platform doors of a platform, comprising a door control unit on the platform side for controlling the opening and closing of the train platform doors and means for establishing a communication connection between the door control unit on the platform side and a control unit which controls the opening and closing of the train doors.
Hemmings (US 2009/0307980) teaches a platform screen door system includes a fixed driving panel and at least one door leaf slidable relative to the fixed driving panel.
Conclusion
Accordingly, claims 1-18 are rejected.
The examiner can normally be reached M-F, 9:00 - 5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/P.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615